BLACK FRIDAY DEALS SITEWIDE! See Our Featured Deals Here.
TOP

Reviews for The Cockpit Navy G-1 Antique Lamb Leather Jacket (Dark Brown)

Sort By:
Filter By:

Almost the Real Thing - Maybe Better

  • By Bobby from Virginia on Saturday, January 19, 2013
  • Pros: Warm, beautiful
  • Cons: Close, but not a replica of the real Navy issue.
  • Review: My wonderful, beautiful wife got me one of the ultimate Christmas gifts - a leather flight jacket! This is my second jacket from mypilotstore. I returned the first one, the A2, because it was too "Army-AirForce", and I am retired Navy! Unfortunately, the lining of the two is reversed - the A2 has a Navy lining (Wings of Gold), and this, the G1, has the USAAF European escape map lining. Overall, jacket quality is great, much nicer than my original nylon green flight jacket, which I still have with all its patches and faded glory of days long ago. I wear a suit jacket size 42L, am 6-4", with a shirt size 15.5 x 36, and the large G1 jacket fits just fine. Please note these other little differences with the real Navy issue: No perforated "US Navy" zipper wind flap; the zipper leather pull has a "C" molded into it; lining is wrong (see above); side entry front pockets (but this is a nice feature - even tho that's a no-no for military types - get the green Nomex gloves instead! I do love the jacket overall, and would recommend it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice leather but sewing isn't flawless

  • By Tri-Pacer guy from Prunedale CA USA on Friday, June 24, 2016
  • Pros: Warm land looks nice from a distance
  • Cons: Heavy and sewing quality is inconsistent
  • Review: For 600 bucks I expected perfection, but that wasn't the case. The sewing on the left cuff cut into the hide as the tension was obviously set too tight for traversing the seam. The stitches were too close and the leather was cut about 3/8". Also, the large button hole on the left pocket flap is partially unraveled and fraying. It was delivered that way and I didn't discover it until I'd worn it for a few hours. All told I get more annoyed at these defects the more I think about them. I mean, this is a nice jacket overall, but the defects in sewing are just about inexcusable. The jacket is true to size and even a little large. I initially ordered medium but it was way too big. The exchange was well coordinated, but the replacement wasn't of the same quality as the first.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very warm and sturdy

  • By Charles from Avon CT USA on Wednesday, May 06, 2015
  • Pros: warm, sturdy
  • Cons: very heavy and bulky
  • Review: The jacket is extremely heavy. I will wear it only in very cold weather. Otherwise, it will be too hot. It seems that it will take a long time to break in. As other reviewers have noted, the sleeves are about 2 inches too long. The cuffs are almost invisible. I would have preferred that the fleece collar be white, although I can imagine that it would have eventually become discolored by perspiration.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My husband loves this jacket!

  • By Cheryl from Escanaba MI USA on Saturday, January 19, 2013
  • Pros: Great leather.
  • Cons: Zipper is stiff and hard to get started. Has to be worn more to fully evaluate
  • Review: Wonderfully soft leather. Great fit and design . Package had to be re routed to a different state and the service was great . Having some challenges with the zipper or would have given a 5 star. This is a replacement as the first jacket had a grommet missing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By James from New York NY USA on Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  • Pros: Nice Look and Warm
  • Cons: Heavy
  • Review: Needs Inside Leather flap at top of neck zipper to keep cold air out.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

overall good purchase

  • By A Customer from great neck NY USA on Sunday, October 23, 2011
  • Pros: well made and supple
  • Cons: sleeves on the long side
  • Review: I've had other leather flight jackets in the past, the cockpit G3 is made from a thicker weight leather. This jacket is put together well and seems very sturdy.
    It has a shiny finish right out of the box but does not look "antique". The lining is quite interesting with the map. This jacket is not made for a warm day, I would say 35-55 degreesF. The only thing I did not like is that the sleeves are a little on the long side. The body is relaxed fitting enough so you can get a light sweater underneath without any trouble. I wear 44 Reg and the large was a good fit. Overall a eye catching garment.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Don't judge a book by it's cover.

  • By Steve from Little Ferry NJ USA on Thursday, March 03, 2011
  • Pros: Good looking Jacket.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Overall, I'm satisfied with the G-1 Jacket in all aspects except for the bi-swing back which seems to remain expanded when not being stretched out. It dosen't remain flat at rest. The fit is good and the leather quality is fine along with the general style of the Jacket. Note also that the zipper is very hard to get aligned and started.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Robert from Bartlesville OK USA on Thursday, February 17, 2011
  • Pros: Appearance, feel, style
  • Cons: Improper fit
  • Review: Quality, feel, appearance great. Fit is only problem. I am 5' 5", 155 lbs. Med. jacket fits girth, but jacket is too long and sleeves 2 1/2" too long. Knit cuff is completely hidden. In a suit jacket, I wear 40 short. If you had offered a Med short, it would have fit much better. The Med. I got would probably be a good fit for a man about 5' 10" and 155 lbs. I did not exchange, because I thought a small would be too small for waist & chest.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I wouldn't buy this jacket again.

  • By Gordon from Waterville ME USA on Thursday, January 27, 2011
  • Pros: Great fit and construction, Nice soft leather. Side entry pockets.
  • Cons: Fur collar too large, no "USN" on zipper flap
  • Review: What I like: Great fit, very well constructed, Nice soft leather. I like the hidden side entry pockets.
    What I don't like:
    The fur collar too large and looks like I have an animal draped over my neck. Yes...it's removable but I originally planned on wearing the jacket with it's fur collar...like my original flight jacket. Now I can't.
    I also missed the "USN" that was embossed on the inner zipper flap of the original flight jacket. I don't understand why your less expensive jacket has it and the most expensive model doesn't?!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great jacket, but . . .

  • By Barbara from Saint Paul MN USA on Thursday, November 20, 2014
  • Pros: Well made with high quality materials
  • Cons: none such for women
  • Review: I have been looking for bomber jackets for women that are constructed like the ones for men. They don't exist. So. I bought a man's. Of course it's too long and too wide through the shoulders for me, but I guess it's the best I can do. Frustrated.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love this Jacket

  • By Thomas Marshall from Nashville TN USA on Monday, January 07, 2019
  • Pros: Great looking and very authentic
  • Cons: Fur collar is pilling with minimal ware; received this for Christmas and have worn it maybe a dozen times. I am a little concerned about the quality of the collar.
  • Review: Love the jacket. As authentic as I remember during my Naval Service in the early 1970's. High quality, very warm and while it's heavy it's very comfortable to ware. I'm proud to ware it and get many compliments when I do.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Loved the jacket

  • By Mary from Croton on Hudson NY USA on Friday, February 03, 2012
  • Pros: Good Fit
  • Cons: The knit waistband
  • Review: Very happy with the jacket and the fit was perfect. On the whole I was very happy with the purchase and the person I bought it for was happy also.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By dave from South Chicago Heights IL USA on Wednesday, February 19, 2014
  • Pros: warm---
  • Cons: not easy to zip
  • Review: very warm---not easy to zip
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

nice jacket but a lot of $

  • By Kent Magnuson from Kearney,NE on Tuesday, July 07, 2009
  • Pros: fit and overall quality
  • Cons: high price
  • Review: These are nice, but you can have one custom-made for less money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Close to authentic

  • By William from Escondido CA USA on Thursday, December 27, 2007
  • Pros: Authentic look and feel.
  • Cons: Too heavy compared to what I remember.
  • Review: My father and I both had leather jackets during service and although the appearance and function of the jacket is as we remembered them, this jacket was considerably more heavy than the ones we wore. I like it and will keep it for trips to the mountains, but it is too heavy to wear in San Diego.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

My husband loved it!

  • By nancy from farmington NY USA on Wednesday, January 02, 2008
  • Pros: The leather
  • Cons: The collar
  • Review: The leather was nice. I loved the lineing. The "fur" collar was lacking in style and taste yet my husband thought it was great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good deal

  • By Kenneth from Oakton VA USA on Monday, March 18, 2019
  • Pros: Love the collar and warmth
  • Cons: Sleeves and stiff leather overall
  • Review: Sleeves are a little long and the leather is stiff.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.