TOP

Reviews for CH Products Flight Sim Yoke USB ( 200-615 )

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Like flying the old Cessna 150

  • By Buck from Stone Mountain GA USA on Monday, September 19, 2011
  • Pros: feels like the real thing
  • Cons:
  • Review: Love the "Flight Sim Yoke". It it's much better than the joy sticks I've used in the past. The more I use it, the more I find I can do with it. Next, I'll add the pedals.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.

Yoke Expectations

  • By Chicago Flyer 75 from Bloomindale, IL on Thursday, March 17, 2011
  • Pros: Smooth control of flight surfaces. Good trim and speed control. An asset for Instrument approaches.
  • Cons: Throttle and mixture handles can be difficult to use, being on the top of the case. A seperate throttle quadrant lends itself to solving some of this, however, there seems to be a conflict between the two systems.
  • Review: After unpacking the yoke, I found the setup quick and simple. Really, "PLUG-and-PLAY". I have been a Flight Sim enthusiast since early 1993, and had not used a yoke until now. Having used a variety of "sticks", the experience of flying with a yoke definitely enhances realism in the simulation.
    As a student pilot, I found using the yoke makes worlds of difference in "how you fly". It gives a clearer understanding of real world flight.
    The control inputs are sensitive enough to imitate real airplane actions, and "heavy" enough that you can expect what the plane will do given the relative movement of the controls. Initially, there were sensitivity issues, but they were overcome by changing the settings in FSX. I feel this product was a good investment.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Small inequities

  • By Tom from Kingsport TN USA on Monday, September 12, 2011
  • Pros: Easy to use, can leave one hand free. I like the controls as they do what you expect of them.
  • Cons: Pushing and pulling leaves a bit to be desired. When using normally, the shaft seems to drag at the bottom of the input hole making some nose up, nose down moves a bit erratic. If I lift up on the yoke and get rid of the drag, it works much better. But you can't constantly do that because it can throw off the left right motion. I was thinking of vaseline but I'm sure that would gum up the works.
  • Review: Overall the product worked as I expected. It's a little harder to get used to than a joystick, but once you do it's pretty easy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good to Go

  • By Jimmy from APO AE USA on Friday, April 08, 2011
  • Pros: Affordable, realistic feel
  • Cons: You may have to use some tape and velcro to keep it steady
  • Review: I bought this one because CH is a popular company and cause it was more affordable than most models. It seems to do everything I want it to do so far. If your using a table/desk without the proper edge for the hooks, roll up some corrigated cardboard and some duck-tape to create a holding area for the yoke hooks. Mine wanted to tilt back and forth, so I also put some velcro on the desk and the bottom of the yoke to keep it still and firm. From what I understand, this is also a common problem on much more expensive models, so I'm glad I didn't go that route. Works great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

could be better

  • By Andy D. Gall from Faribault MN USA on Wednesday, October 29, 2008
  • Pros: very life like
  • Cons: trim tabs wonder off course.... lack of instructions for setting up buttons.. very hard to attach to desk.
  • Review: Mounting it on a desk becomes a interesting project.. The clamps work when pushing down on the yoke, but will not hold when pulling up.. To over come this problem I mounted it on a large board and I clamp the board to the desk. The lack of setup instuctions delayed my use of this product till I figured it out by trial & error.. Once I was setup and using it and trimmed out for level flight I noticed the trim keeps moving off course and needs resetting offen..
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Thomas from Honolulu HI USA on Thursday, November 24, 2011
  • Pros: plug and play
  • Cons: yoke resistance too strong, a little less.
  • Review: The elevator trim should be on the right side and should have more travel and should a larger wheel. Should have more switches on dash panel.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works good for me

  • By Charlie from Greencastle PA USA on Thursday, July 31, 2008
  • Pros: inexpensive simulator
  • Cons: elevator "feel" little off
  • Review: A big help practicing IFR at home. I got the yoke w/o the foot pedals and it works fine for my purposes. The only problem I've found is the elevator control is alittle "pitchy" compared to the real thing...setting it to the lowest sensitivity helped alot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Decent Sim Yoke

  • By robert from enfield CT USA on Monday, January 28, 2008
  • Pros: Works reasonably well
  • Cons: Seems overpriced for the quality.
  • Review: I purchased the yoke for Flight Simulator 2004 - it works very well. For the price, it seems like it could have been made better. I feel this yoke is similar in quality to a no-name brand you might buy from a computer fair for $29.95. The clamp is a screw design and requires a desktop thickness of about 1". Fortunately my desk is 1" and the yoke holds tight. I wish that the quality of the unit was better - especially for the price that it is listed for. Hopefully it will last. I'd recommend the unit, only because I don't know of a better unit to recommend.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Works great -- bad clamping fasteners

  • By Joseph from Columbia MD USA on Friday, April 04, 2008
  • Pros: Works well
  • Cons: needs to have the lever quadrant taller so you can move them easier when needed
  • Review: I have a hard time keeping the control box from slipping off the computer table. I had to mount a 2x4 under the table to clamp the unit tight enough to stay put. The unit works great, no complaints
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product for the money

  • By Tasso1 from Beaufort SC USA on Thursday, January 29, 2009
  • Pros: Easy set-up and low price
  • Cons: A little less responsive than I'd like, but it works OK.
  • Review: This is a good product but leaves a little to be desired in sensitivity (i.e. responsiveness of controls). I use it with ASA's IP trainer to learn procedure flying - it works but not as smoothly as my own airplane's controls. However, considering my plane and instructor cost me about $100 / hr vs flying procedures as much as I want from my desk, I can live with it! Precision simulation is a little challenging but adequate.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Works as advertised!!!

  • By Ronald Mixon from Lamar, MO on Friday, March 23, 2007
  • Pros: Self centering and smooth and looks really good.
  • Cons: Short back travil on the yoke
  • Review: The yoke is very programable and feels smooth and solid.

    Don't confuse the wheel on the left side for an elevator trim wheel...it is not! It is a travil center selector.

    I use the left rocker switch for elevator trim and that can be programed in FSX to be as aggressive as you want.

    It could use more switches.

    I think it could use more travel... in a real airplane the yoke has far more aft travel. I do realise there is a space problem so the back stroke on the yoke could have had a telescoping action to gain travil.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Dennis from Inkom ID USA on Monday, November 30, 2009
  • Pros: Easy to install
  • Cons: Needs user manual. Seems too touch near landing
  • Review: I have no alternatives with which to compare the yoke, but for the most part it is satisfactory
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great yoke.

  • By James from Tulsa OK USA on Thursday, November 04, 2010
  • Pros: Great clamping system, Very responsive in all axis. Tension increases in appropriate amounts as wheel is deflected.
  • Cons: Could use a little more movement in the roll axis.
  • Review: This control yoke works great for the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I wuld by it again

  • By Jose from Miami FL USA on Tuesday, January 18, 2011
  • Pros:
  • Cons: throtle should appart from the body of the control
  • Review: It is good for its price. It is almost as good as being in an actual aircraft except for the throtle
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Looks Great in the Box!

  • By Patrick from alvin TX USA on Monday, July 20, 2009
  • Pros: Built very well, great looking, Would always purchase from mypilotstore.com friendly people to deal with!
  • Cons: Programing issues for controls
  • Review: Very hard to program, still unable to use the yoke due to programing issues. Still working on it, having problems programing the brakes and throttle controls. Built very well, very strong and secures to any desk, love the yoke just wish more instructions were involued to use the yoke quicker.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy it again

  • By Douglas from Dakota City NE USA on Friday, December 30, 2016
  • Review: For some reason, the elevator and airleron trim buttons do not always work. Might be the program I am using. Other than that, very satisfied
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's very nice, compared to the old one

  • By Peter from Narsarsuaq Greenland Greenland on Saturday, October 12, 2019
  • Pros: see above
  • Cons: see above
  • Review: The manual trim is NOT good, but you can use the electrical trim, and that is OK. Overall, I find it a useful tool
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Like night & day compared to my previous joystick

  • By Allen from Cressona PA USA on Saturday, March 01, 2008
  • Pros: Made flying a lot more enjoyable & more realistic.
  • Cons:
  • Review: My only problem was that the prop control once pulled back from the 100% position would only return to about 70% when pushed fully forward again. I compensated by switching the prop & mixture control.Calibrating didn't help. Little bit of spring noise. Not that botherson.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

worth the investment

  • By Anthony from lachine, Canada on Wednesday, January 02, 2008
  • Pros: very realistic.
  • Cons: Need for printed information on buttons and levels.
  • Review: Exactly what I expected. But the the wheel is noisy due to the moaning of the springs. The throttle, propeller and mixture controls should be in the appropriate colours so that it would be more authentic to an actual airplane. However it's a wonderful product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

real

  • By Kevin from American Fork UT USA on Friday, January 25, 2008
  • Pros: just plain fun
  • Cons: ground steering
  • Review: As a pilot I have flown old to new yoke and joy stick type aircraft. The joy stick is good to use with fly by wire sim- aircraft, but the yoke is so realistic it brings me to the edge of my seat in some flights...Its great, I love it and would recommend this product to any one who wants to feel the real......Thanks for your time. capt. K.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Simulation Made More Realistic

  • By CenVA from Richmond, VA on Monday, April 09, 2007
  • Review: This is an excellent product for the price and features. I use it with MS Flight Simulator X. There are issues with how the devices reacts with FSX, but I feel that is Microsoft's insistence on pushing your video/graphics card to the maximum. Otherwise, the device works fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Decent product for the price.

  • By A Customer from Silver City NM on Saturday, May 05, 2007
  • Review: The control yoke works well; I would make the throttle, propeller and mixture controls in the appropriate colors so that it would be more authentic to an actual airplane.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Never back to sticks

  • By Heikki Sillman from Finland on Tuesday, May 15, 2007
  • Review: CH YOKE is small and light but fits to big hands too. All levers and buttons are clear and easy to handle. But the wheel is very noisy, the springs are moaning all the time You pull or push the wheel.
    One kind of handbook should be needed telling about adjusting the sensitiveness. First my Cessna was a moon rocket, then the B737 needed ten miles runway and now all planes are between rocket and plane. In the settings in FS 2004 the sensitiveness is near zero.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Worth the investment

  • By Mitch from Knoxville, TN on Saturday, August 04, 2007
  • Pros: Good control response (pitch and roll).
  • Cons: Hat switch cannot be fully utilized
  • Review: The controls and transitions from neutral are quite good. Mounting is stable and secure.

    More toggles switches could be put to use. The 'hat' switch could only be set at the top, bottom, left, and right. The four diagonals could not be set.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

solid

  • By Brian from Ottawa, ON on Monday, August 06, 2007
  • Pros: Lots of programmable control switches
  • Cons: Spring loading is too heavy
  • Review: Generaly pretty good. but the elevayor centering was a bit off and needed constant adjustment
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Great work by CH Products,

  • By A Customer from Mwanza . Tanzania on Monday, November 26, 2007
  • Review: Perfect, works well with MS Flight Simulator X.
    Excellent piece of equipment to practise IR Approaches.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By AIRPLANE33 from Andrews N.C. on Thursday, February 08, 2007
  • Review: Its great I use it for many things, and it has never failed me yet. You could add some things to it though. Stuff like working instruments, G Force effect, More Buttons such as autopilot nobs and displays, So far I'm happy with the product!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Martin Cutter on Sunday, March 18, 2007
  • Review: The only problem you really should address is the clamping arrangement. My desk is just over ¾" thick and I have to insert spacers to enable the clamp fingers to bite. Do you make alternative fingers that would allow clamping to anything less than an inch thick?
    Otherwise, the yoke works as I expected.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

love it!

  • By puredelight78 from Fort Lauderdale FL USA on Saturday, April 12, 2008
  • Review: I LOVE MY CH FLIGHT SIM YOKE. Sometimes I forget I'm playing a simulator. I cant imagine playing a simulator game without one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Check your desk shape

  • By FDX183 from Henderson NV USA on Thursday, July 31, 2008
  • Pros: stated above
  • Cons: stated above
  • Review: I am very pleased with the product for it's intended purpose...The device makes flying more enjoyable. Also, you can control the airplane much better... CON's: check and make sure the edge of your deck is flat without a thicker edge...In my situation it's a little difficult to get a very tight fit, which you really need. I have to place a spacer like a tape cassette between the top of the desk and the bottom of the device in the back so when I clamp down there is a tighter fit...I would suggest they make the clamps and holding device a little stronger perhaps out of metal instead of plastic...I am not sure how long this product will last..
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.