TOP

Reviews for Van Heusen Commander Shirt - Men's TALL SS

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from EXCELSIOR MN on Thursday, August 12, 2004
  • Review: quality was very good.the fit was a little more tapered than other pilot shirts but worked well for me
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

I would buy this product again.

  • By David from Nazareth PA USA on Monday, February 18, 2008
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Difficult to starch since I like starched professional looking shirts with my uniform.
  • Review: This is a very well made shirt. It holds its shape and wears very well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

SIMPLY the best shirt for 25 years.

  • By Larry from tega cay SC USA on Tuesday, September 28, 2010
  • Pros: cotton poly ratio is perfect.. glasses and pens fit nicely in pockets
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Major airline pilot for 25 years. Never have had to use an iron. The material is comfortable and durable....wash and wear right out of the dryer. It is the COMMANDER.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice Shirt Quality.

  • By Steve from Corvallis OR USA on Thursday, April 14, 2011
  • Pros: Good Price, Good Fit, Good Quality
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I have no complaints with the shirts I received. At 6'4" tall, they fit nicely and I did not have any trouble with them coming untucked. Though they were thinner material than other shirts I have used in the past, I certainly didn't mind them for the environment I was operating in; Louisiana region.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Happy with my purchase

  • By Colleen from Water Mill NY USA on Thursday, January 17, 2013
  • Pros: Great Shirt
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Nice shirt. Own 2 of them and they wash and wear well. Has enough length for tall people.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice shirt

  • By Larry from Bakersfield CA USA on Thursday, January 24, 2013
  • Pros: Excellent shirt
  • Cons: Should be available with a 19.5 neck.
  • Review: Only one drawback for me... It should also come in a 19.5 neck. 18 is a bit tight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

very good

  • By paul from Jacksonville FL USA on Wednesday, May 29, 2013
  • Pros: long tail
  • Cons: none
  • Review: good
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great product

  • By Patricia from Chattanooga TN USA on Thursday, November 17, 2016
  • Pros: true to size
  • Cons:
  • Review: The material has a nice feel and weight. The shirt comes out of the dryer wrinkle free.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I needed

  • By Brian from Leonardtown MD USA on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
  • Pros: Price
  • Cons:
  • Review: Exactly the right fit for my 6'5". Durable and looks smart.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Shirt

  • By Richard from Orange Park FL USA on Thursday, August 28, 2014
  • Pros: Comfort
  • Cons:
  • Review: This shirt wears well & is comfortable. It is a durable shirt as well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love these pilot shirts!

  • By David from Grand Haven MI USA on Friday, February 27, 2015
  • Pros: You can't beat the price.
  • Cons: I honestly can not think of any cons.
  • Review: These are great pilot shirts. Very durable and easy to care for. They are available in tall sizes. That works great for me at 6' 4".
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best shirt

  • By Richard from Orange Park FL USA on Tuesday, May 05, 2015
  • Pros: Comfort & durabilty
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: Excellent quality shirt that is built to last.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this shirt again.

  • By Chuck from Tallahassee FL USA on Thursday, July 28, 2016
  • Pros: Tall man's shirt that was long enough.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Thing I liked the most is the quality and it fit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My go to shirt

  • By Joseph from Pompano Beach FL USA on Monday, August 31, 2015
  • Pros: Longer tails to tuck in.
  • Cons: Nine
  • Review: This is the only shirt that works for me. Nice long tails to tuck in. The pockets flaps and the finer material (more cotton) make it a bonus.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great shirt, have owned a ton of them

  • By Tim from Roseville CA USA on Friday, May 17, 2019
  • Pros: stout collar stays good looking
  • Cons: must remove pen partition in the left breast pocket to fit a full size pocket protector)
  • Review: These shirts wash and wear well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My go to shirt

  • By Patricia from Chattanooga TN USA on Thursday, April 20, 2017
  • Pros: wrinkle free
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Stylish shirt that has adequate room for movement. Comes out of the dryer without wrinkle, no need for ironing. This is the only work shirt that I will buy for my son who is actually a marine captain.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent shirt

  • By Thomas from Vermilion OH USA on Thursday, July 23, 2015
  • Pros: all good
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Comes out of the dryer looking like it was ironed!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent CAP corporate uniform option

  • By A Customer from Woodbury MN USA on Wednesday, June 19, 2013
  • Review: Fit is excellent. Material is much better than others Ive purchased.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Matt from Auckland Auckland New Zealand on Wednesday, July 13, 2016
  • Review: Finally I can do my job without constantly coming untucked. Much more cotton in the blend means more comfortable in summer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The only airline shirt I'll buy!

  • By Richard from Orange Park FL USA on Tuesday, August 05, 2014
  • Pros: Great quality & fabric
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This shirt is not only very comfortable, but it wears well over a long time. It is probably a little more expensive, but you get a nice looking shirt that's lasts a long time
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By John from Cape Coral FL USA on Wednesday, October 12, 2011
  • Review: Shirt met all expectations!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I am ordering more of these shirts

  • By Nick from United Kingdom on Thursday, March 29, 2012
  • Pros:
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Van Heusen Commander Shirts were out of stock when I placed the order, took a couple of weeks for them to come in but they were well worth the wait!
    Excellent materials, properly cut comfortable and smart 5*
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Always a great shirt

  • By Capt. Carl from Savannah GA USA on Monday, June 18, 2012
  • Pros: Great product, pricing & shipping.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Been buying this shirt from MPS for a long time... always satisfied. Shipping is second to none.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Shirt!

  • By Karl E. from Hillsboro OR USA on Monday, August 06, 2012
  • Pros: The shirt is good looking and made with good materials.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: The shirt is what I expected heavier material and well cut. Holds the crease well. A good value.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Thomas from Brighton CO USA on Wednesday, November 14, 2012
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this again

  • By Ena from New Caney TX USA on Monday, October 17, 2011
  • Review: The shirt was for a customer for me to do custom embroidery on, they were very pleased with the shirt and my work.  Thanks for a great product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice, well made shirt, I would buy another one if needed.

  • By Joe from Georgetown TX USA on Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • Pros: Was long enough for me and fit well.
  • Cons:
  • Review: The only thing I did not like about this shirt is the top opening on the chest pockets. This may be convenient for pilots but I wear the shirt as part of my Marine Corps League uniform and I had the o top of the pockets sewn shut.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

COULDN'T BE MORE HAPPY.

  • By Carl from Easton MD USA on Wednesday, June 16, 2010
  • Review: Great product & the shipping! Ordered from Maryland on Friday, had the shirts Monday! Paid no extra for shipping.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect

  • By glenn from Amman, Jordan on Wednesday, October 06, 2010
  • Pros: It's all good
  • Cons:
  • Review: 1st trip spilled a catering tray on my shirt. Put in washer, hung to dry. NO IRONING. Shirt as good as new!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Nice

  • By Valmont from Los Angeles, CA on Wednesday, October 29, 2008
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Very nice quality and look.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By fred from hanover PA USA on Thursday, February 18, 2010
  • Review: Nice Shirt, Like it better than the Aviator.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Buck from USAF Academy CO USA on Saturday, May 16, 2015
  • Review: Excellent--Tall size gives extra length for the tails so they stay tucked in.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It was a gift

  • By Eugene from Concord CA USA on Monday, June 15, 2015
  • Pros: Good Quality
  • Cons: None
  • Review: As far as I know the person I gave it to, likes the shirt very much!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

excellent

  • By A Customer from blakesley northamptonshire United Kingdom on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I recommend this shirt

  • By John Lee from Iron Station NC USA on Thursday, October 08, 2015
  • Pros: Good quality for the price.
  • Cons: I'm worried about the stitching on the left side pocket were I put my pens. It seems like it might come undone.
  • Review: I'm enjoying the shirt. It has a good fit. I'm 6'4" and 230lbs with broad shoulders and the SS Talk 17.5 fits great. A little loose but not too much.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

No eyelets for wings

  • By Timothy from Signal Hill CA USA on Friday, May 12, 2017
  • Pros: Material
  • Cons: No eyelets for wings
  • Review:

    Never have had the fake flap pockets, and would have returned if I had discovered this before washing all the new shirts. Thats not a deal breaker now. The no eyelets for the wings suck. Material top notch. I'll see if holes get bigger from wings.

    [Reply from MyPilotStore:  Only the Pilot style has the wing eyelets, but the Wing Reinforcement Patch is a great solution for your Commander. The Commander is the only style with the non-functional flaps.  The Aviator and the Pilot both have functional flaps.  You can compare them side-by-side at our Pilot Shirt Comparison page.]

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

needs eyelet wing whole option

  • By A Customer from Winter Springs FL USA on Saturday, June 05, 2010
  • Pros: professional
  • Cons: no wing eyelets
  • Review: I like this shirt because it thick enough that it doesn't look thin and see-thru like some of the other pilot shirts.  My biggest complaint is it doesn't have eyelet wing holes and I can't iron and wear...I have to have these sewn on before I can use.  All and all best quality shirt in the bunch.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

O.K. shirt. Heavier material that expected.

  • By A Customer from INVER GROVE HEIGHTS MN USA on Tuesday, August 25, 2009
  • Pros: Length of tall shirt
  • Cons: Heavy material.
  • Review: Material is heavier than expected and will just have to see how it wears. Length is great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good...

  • By A Customer from Houston TX USA on Wednesday, May 30, 2012
  • Review: I just wish it came in a tapered size.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Kingwood TX USA on Tuesday, November 06, 2012
  • Pros: Light weight
  • Cons: Could use eye holes for wings and stronger seems around pocket to prevent from ripping
  • Review: Great shirts
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I plan to buy this product again.

  • By Dale from Fort Mill SC USA on Thursday, August 21, 2014
  • Review: I bought two of these shirts because I was not sure I would like them. After wearing them I plan to buy more. Very nice shirt that fits well and in is comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice but

  • By Steve from Murrieta CA USA on Thursday, August 21, 2014
  • Review: Good fitting shirt but it does not have the backing
    To allow putting wings on the shirt. No good
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I'd buy this shirt again

  • By Brian from Page AZ USA on Monday, August 19, 2013
  • Pros: I wear it after washing, and don't even have to iron it to make it look good.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Good shirt for the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Kingshill VI USA on Tuesday, December 31, 2013
  • Pros: good fit with long tails that stay tucked in
  • Cons: polyester blend instead of cotton
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love the longer tails

  • By Chris from Olympia WA USA on Tuesday, May 31, 2011
  • Pros: Looks good after standing up.
  • Cons: none.
  • Review: It's nice to finally have a shirt that stays tucked in after standing up.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will buy this product again.

  • By Steve from Miami, Fl. on Tuesday, June 02, 2015
  • Review: Fits nicely. Easy to clean. Only requires light ironing. Material not irritating to the skin. Cool on hot days.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By James from Blythe CA USA on Thursday, April 26, 2012
  • Review: My one quibble with the product is the pocket on the right side. Most shirts only have a pocket on the left. The pocket on the left is a full pocket with a fake flap. It just doesn't look right when being worn. I would rather have just the flap.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Roger from Shawano WI 54166 on Monday, June 01, 2015
  • Pros: very nice shirt would buy again
  • Cons:
  • Review: Neck should be a little bigger had to get a color extender
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good shirt

  • By Erin from Lafayette LA USA on Wednesday, May 14, 2008
  • Review: Very good quality
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great shirt plan to get more!

  • By Brian from Walla walla WA USA on Tuesday, February 09, 2016
  • Pros: Look and feel great
  • Cons: A little loose around the waste
  • Review: Love these shirts, great quality, easy to iron, wish there was a little bit of a taper around the waist, but overall great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Quality shirt but...

  • By 30,000 hours (I NEED A LIFE!) from Occasionally on the ground on Tuesday, February 07, 2017
  • Pros: Quality shirt
  • Cons: ZERO reinforcement for wings
  • Review: Decent quality shirt for those of us who no longer can, um, wear even semi-tapered shirts. Only shortcoming: No reinforcement of any kind for wings. Geeze, folks, this is a PILOT shirt!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Keep looking.

  • By Ken from Lake Wales FL USA on Monday, June 21, 2010
  • Pros: Crisp, stouter, material holds shape longer.
  • Cons: Phoney pocket flaps
  • Review: I like everything about this shirt except the fact that the pocket flaps are phoney so when you put something like your pocket calender in the pocket, it hangs open whereas with a functional flap, it holds it in. I do like the material better than the others I have had as it seems to hold its shape better and for a longer period of time. I will probably continue to look until I find the perfect one.
    {Reply from MyPilotStore:  While having different material composition, both the Aviator and the Pilot styles have functional flaps and buttons.}
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

almost what I expected

  • By A Customer from Burlington MA USA on Sunday, May 19, 2013
  • Pros: good material
  • Cons: open pocket
  • Review:

    It's a nice shirt in general, however, the pocket does not really close; which was somehow a drawback when compared to a previous model I had bought from MyPilotStore.

    [Reply from MyPilotStore:  Yes, the commander has non-functional flaps sewn to both pockets for easy top entry.  Both the Pilot and Aviator styles have two pockets with functional flaps and buttons.  See all of the differences on our Pilot Shirt Comparison page.]

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Feels like a rough sac when wearing.

  • By Paul from Cranberry Township PA USA on Tuesday, September 25, 2012
  • Pros: None
  • Cons: Not soft enough
  • Review: Feels cheap and like sandpaper.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Van Heusen Quality Cut Back

  • By Jason from Dana Point CA USA on Wednesday, April 23, 2014
  • Pros: Order was delivered quickly and easily.
  • Cons: Product quality has really gone downhill
  • Review: The quality of this shirt is not what it used to be.
    Thinner fabric than my older shirts from several years ago.
    Not at all happy than Van Heusen has cut back on their quality. Will be looking for other shirts in the future.
    Just sad.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

This is a great shirt for cold, fat pilots.

  • By Andy Drake from Memphis, TN on Sunday, October 25, 2009
  • Pros: Extremely flammable. Great as kindling for survival situations!
  • Cons: Scratchy. Pockets sewn on below nipples!
  • Review: The shirt is scratchy, hot, and will not remained tucked in. The commander shirt is tailored for rotund individuals.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.