TOP

Reviews for Van Heusen Aviator Shirt- Men's Short Sleeve

185
63
26
16
4
Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Thin

  • By P L from Churchton MD USA on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
  • Pros: Low price
  • Cons: Thin material, short tails
  • Review: These shirts fill the requirement; however, they are made from very thin material. I have the cleaners give them some light starch and military creases to enhance the appearance. The tails are a bit short so keeping it tucked in is a challenge.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not sure about another purchase

  • By A Customer on Friday, May 09, 2014
  • Pros: price was good and quality good
  • Cons: too short
  • Review: Shirt length could be longer. Didn't stay tucked in very well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Shirt quality getting worse

  • By robert from Sarasota FL USA on Tuesday, January 02, 2018
  • Review: Have worn this shirt for years. Recent purchases have not lasted as long. Plastic collar stiffeners crack in half causing collars to look sloppy. My last purchase, the top button cracked in half on only the second time I wore it
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Michael from Fort Lauderdale FL USA on Thursday, March 27, 2014
  • Pros: decent price
  • Cons: inferior quality material
  • Review: I purchased a couple of these shirts 2 years ago and am disappointed in the quality of the materials this time. The shirts are of an inferior quality and won't hold up as long as the first earlier purchases, which by the way were just fine. I had lost some weight and that was the reason for the new purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Ok

  • By A Customer from Wheeler TX USA on Tuesday, May 23, 2017
  • Pros: quality
  • Cons: length
  • Review: These shirts seem to be of good quality. They fit well through the shoulders and are comfortable. My only problem is the length. I am a little taller from the waist up, so these shirts do no stay tucked in. I am constantly having to tuck my shirt in. Other than that, I have no problem with them at all.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

could be better

  • By Irby from Weston FL USA on Monday, March 11, 2013
  • Pros: Good.price point
  • Cons: Light weight fabric, collar design and no wing reinforcement eyelets
  • Review: The shirt was value priced but came with two design issues. The first is that the shirt has no reinforcement above the pocket to support pilot wing attachment. This makes for eventual wear issues. It also makes it more difficult to correctly and consistently attach pilot wings. Secondly, the collar material curled and did not lay flat.
    {Editor note:  The Van Heusen Pilot style is the only shirt with wing eyelets.  See our Pilot Shirt Comparison)}
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Too Short

  • By John from Bay Shore NY USA on Tuesday, June 11, 2013
  • Pros: good quality well made
  • Cons: too short in larger sizes
  • Review: Decent quality shirt.....Tails are too short and always coming untucked during usual activity
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Quality lacking

  • By Michael from Brighton UT USA on Monday, August 05, 2013
  • Pros: Price
  • Cons: Fit and quality
  • Review: I have used this product for 30 years and have found the quality slowly diminish. I am now shopping for another brand. The shirt fits like wearing a large trash bag!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good quality at a good price.

  • By A Customer from Waterloo IA USA on Tuesday, November 05, 2013
  • Pros: well designed and well fitting.
  • Cons: need other shirts like it but with a variety of color.
  • Review: The shirt is a quality shirt. It is a really nice shirt that works quite well for what it is designed for. Not too pushy and not too bland.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good but kind of see through

  • By sean from New york, NY USA on Wednesday, October 08, 2014
  • Pros: cheap
  • Cons: slightly translucent
  • Review: good for the price but the body of the shirt is kind of translucent. doesnt bother me because i wear white undershirts, but you cant beat this uniform for the price
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very boxy

  • By A Customer from Sapulpa OK USA on Tuesday, April 24, 2012
  • Review: For a thinner pilot, this shirt is very boxy and not tailored. Ours requested that it be tailored to fit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not Long Enough

  • By Eric from Cass City MI USA on Tuesday, March 10, 2020
  • Pros: Big enough around
  • Cons: Not long enough
  • Review: The shirt was big enough around but I’m a tall guy as well and I can barely tuck it in. Shirt stays are going to be required when I wear it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

collar

  • By Don Porter on Monday, August 10, 2020
  • Pros: looks nice in the picture
  • Cons: see above
  • Review: the actual shirt collar lapels were not as wide as shown in the picture
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Size changed and button came off

  • By Stefan from Europe on Monday, September 30, 2019
  • Pros: Nice shirt to wear
  • Cons: Durability, size
  • Review: I bought one to try as a replacement to my old shirts. Same brand, same label, same size. I was therefore a bit disappointed to find out that the shirts actually got bigger (even though they are the same size according to the label). Specifically the sleeves got wider.
    Also, after wearing (+ washing) it probably 3-4 times, one of the buttons came off already.
    In general I like these shirts, especially the old ones, but I was a bit disappointed with this one. Three stars...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Cristian adonis muñoz padilla from San Diego CA USA on Wednesday, December 02, 2020
  • Pros: Great quality
  • Cons: Size big
  • Review: In my experience it is of good quality for price, what if I did not like it is that the measure is too large for the measure that is said on the page.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Joe from Charlotte NC USA on Monday, March 15, 2010
  • Pros: nice looking
  • Cons: the shirts did not fit
  • Review: The material seemed thinner than last time although the shirts had the same exact labels.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Could use a little more cloth around the middle.

  • By Francis from Reston VA USA on Sunday, June 13, 2010
  • Pros: Neat. Priced right.
  • Cons: Need a little more room around the middle.
  • Review: Nice shirt. About what I expected. Priced right. However, appartently pilots are expected to be rather trim. Yes, I take a 17" which would normaly place me in the XL size. This shirt is cut straight without a pleat in the back. Therefore, somewhat tight around the middle. Especially when one sits. I have to unbuttton one button to be comfortable sitting. A little more cloth would raise my opinion to 4 or maybe 5 stars.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Don't be so stingy with the fabric

  • By Gary from Chandler OK USA on Monday, August 09, 2010
  • Pros: nice fabric and stitching
  • Cons: too tight in chest & shoulders
  • Review: Neck is a perfect fit but the shoulders/back/chest are a bit too snug. Other than that, a very nice shirt.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Inferior to M&H Uniform Shirts

  • By Everett from SALISBURY MD USA on Monday, March 23, 2009
  • Pros: inexpensive, smart cut
  • Cons: thin fabric, no pen-sleeve, no reserve button
  • Review: Although the Aviator shirt has a nice fitted cut, the quality of the material is poor. I bought three short-sleeve Aviators to replace shirts by M&H, my company's supplier. The Aviator's 65%polyester, 35%cotton material is thin, a little rough, and neither irons or withstands wrinkles as well as my M&H shirts. The shirt does wash well in machines. The collar is smoothly and firmly bonded. There is no extra button included. The Aviator does have a pen hole in the left pocket. Unfortunately, the hole is approximately 1.5" wide and lacks a pen-sleeve inside the pocket. This may be fine for big Mont Blanc pens with clips but thin ballpoints from hotel rooms tend to fall sideways, disappearing into the pocket. Lastly, the top crease of the sleeve bisects the epaulet. This looks smart but makes precise pressing difficult. When folded and packed, the shirtsleeve tends to crease again from the back of the epaulet. My next shirts will be M&H. They may be blousy in cut, but they iron well and I do not lose my pens.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good shirt

  • By tony from Cheyenne WY USA on Tuesday, June 30, 2009
  • Review: good shirt, would be great if they offered in tall size, unless they do and i missed it.
    [Editor:  Yes, we do offer a Tall version of the Van Heusen Aviator Shirt.  It is only available in short sleeve.]
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice but not tappered

  • By Michael from Magnolia TX USA on Tuesday, August 11, 2009
  • Review: Fabric is very thin...Need to offer large neck sizes in a tappered version. I have to have the blouse altered to fit small waist.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

You get what you pay for.

  • By A Customer from Fleetwood PA USA on Friday, January 06, 2012
  • Pros: price
  • Cons: quality
  • Review: They are low grade shirts, but are priced so. They fit nice, but are poorly constructed and wear prematurely in the wash.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would not buy these shirts again.

  • By A Customer from Seattle, WA USA on Tuesday, January 17, 2012
  • Pros: Price under $20
  • Cons:
  • Review: These shirts are ok but the material is very thin.I do not expect them to last.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Hmmmmm

  • By Jerry from Chandler AZ USA on Saturday, January 10, 2015
  • Pros: Same great fit
  • Cons: Thinner fabric
  • Review: I have bought a ton of these shirts over the past 20 years 2 to 4 per year. I always felt they were the best for the price. The 2 shirts I just bought seem to have a thinner fabric than previous VH shirts. Is it because they are using a micro-fiber polyester or just a cheaper material? If they last, than they may be more comfortable during the summer. But if they don't last.....
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Okay for the price

  • By Doug from Frederick MD USA on Monday, August 01, 2016
  • Pros: For a medium built person, the fit is fine.
  • Cons: Material is a bit thin.
  • Review: The material is sort of thin and the epaulet holders are too long for my taste. The shirt pockets actually have buttons (rather than Velcro) and there is a pen slot only on the left pocket. I'm happy with the fit and this shirt does okay.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jeff from Laveen AZ USA on Tuesday, May 17, 2016
  • Pros: Light weight material
  • Cons: Sealed pocket, not as durable material as the commander
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.