Yes, we are open and shipping orders! COVID-19 Update.
TOP

Reviews for Van Heusen Commander Shirt - Men's Long Sleeve

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Best shirts out there

  • By A Customer from Granger IN USA on Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  • Pros: Fabric fit and true to size
  • Cons: Poor sewing and lots of loose threads
  • Review: Best fabric and fit of any pilot shirt. Not first class construction as with all Van Heusen shirts but they work. Pockets are sewn level which is refreshing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice shirt but epaulets too loose

  • By A Customer from Lakewood CO USA on Monday, March 18, 2013
  • Pros: Quality materials and good fit.
  • Cons: Epaulets loose due to button placement.
  • Review: Nice high quality shirt. After wearing it under leather jacket, epaulets would crease and look bad. Noticed the epaulets were loose and flopping off of the shoulders. I moved the buttons that secure the epaulets 1/2" closer to the collar and it fixed the problem.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does the job

  • By William from Atwater CA USA on Friday, March 29, 2013
  • Pros: Open pockets, durability
  • Cons: Hard to get collar inside white after a while
  • Review: Just what I needed. Durable and attractive. Crisp white and well made
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This is the only pilot shirt I buy.

  • By A Customer from Parker CO USA on Monday, January 28, 2013
  • Pros: Wears well, long lasting.
  • Cons: Epaulet buttons not sewed on well enough.
  • Review: Reliable shirt over the years. Consistently good quality. Sometimes the epaulet buttons come off from wearing against the cockpit seat shoulder straps, so I have to sew them back on.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not bad.

  • By Michael from Naperville IL USA on Monday, January 23, 2012
  • Review: Pretty good. True to size. Wish it was a little more wrinkle-free, but better than most.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Levon from Juneau AK USA on Monday, June 18, 2012
  • Review: It was what I ordered; a basic white uniform shirt that can display my epaulets. It fits well and looks appropriate. The only improvement I could wish for is a choice of tasteful off-white color options, Other than that, it is a white uniform shirt. There is something about a uniform that certain people are attracted to...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for Public Travel

  • By Smokey from Lake City FL USA on Thursday, March 08, 2012
  • Pros: Pressed, good look for company travel
  • Cons: Aviator shirt is better for hot, humid days,
  • Review: I use this shirt to travel on other airlines when good appearance is a necessity.
    It stays pressed for long periods and doesn't develope the "Worn Out" look of the Aviator shirt.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great quality

  • By Greg from Kingston WA USA on Wednesday, April 22, 2015
  • Pros: Well built.
  • Cons: Not tapered enough.
  • Review: Was a little too loose. Was told it was more tapered. With that said, I needed the smaller neck size which Inwill buy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good quality shirt

  • By A Customer from San Francisco CA USA on Wednesday, January 13, 2016
  • Pros: Good price for the product
  • Cons:
  • Review: Shirt quality is good for the price. Epaulets holder is sewed a bit forward instead of right on top of the shoulders. It feels like the Epaulet is falling forward, but this is a minor detail.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good price

  • By Ti mothy from Cornelius NC USA on Wednesday, January 13, 2016
  • Review: 4.5 stars. Need to offer tapered with 18.5 neck. Less wrinkled after washing
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Buttons

  • By Steven from Tucson AZ USA on Thursday, June 04, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to iron
  • Cons: See narrative
  • Review: Needs one more button down the front. Buttons could be a whiter shade to more closely match the shirt.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Quality shirt but.....

  • By 30,000 hours (I NEED A LIFE!) from Occasionally on the ground on Tuesday, February 07, 2017
  • Pros: Quality shirt
  • Cons: ZERO reinforcement for wings
  • Review: Decent quality shirt for those of us who no longer can, um, wear even semi-tapered shirts. Only shortcoming: No reinforcement of any kind for wings. Geeze, folks, this is a PILOT shirt!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good but not available tapered

  • By jeffrey from Charlotte NC USA on Wednesday, July 26, 2017
  • Pros: see above
  • Cons: see above
  • Review: Good overall quality. Tight pinpoint style stitching. Looks professional, esp starched. I have bought before. Only negative is the long sleeve variety is not available tapered so you will have to pay a tailor to alter.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Value

  • By A Customer from Reno NV USA on Monday, May 07, 2012
  • Review: Good value for cost. Been wearing VH shirts and uniform shirts for 20+ years.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Be a Commander!

  • By Capt. Todd from Harrisburg SD USA on Tuesday, October 13, 2009
  • Pros: Excellent construction and price
  • Cons:
  • Review: Sure, it's kind of dorky looking, but the Van Heusen Commander shirt is like other Van Heusen shirts--well made and well priced. For those of us who have to wear Civil Air Patrol uniforms, it is ideal.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from Tennessee on Tuesday, January 30, 2007
  • Pros: good shirt
  • Cons: Epaulets need to lie more flat.
  • Review: Excellent material, feels good, fine workmanship. The epaulets are looser (more open) than I thought. Need to lie more flat.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I will buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Scottsdale, AZ on Tuesday, May 01, 2007
  • Review: Higher quality. Met my expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good overall, a little stiff.

  • By Poeman from DFW, TX on Wednesday, August 08, 2007
  • Pros: Great shirt as far as coming from the cleaners but...
  • Cons: Pockets are open on top, very annoying.
  • Review: [This review refers to the LS 15.5 x 32/33 option] Great shirt as far as coming from the cleaners but...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

nicely made, good product

  • By N600DR from Allentown, PA on Tuesday, September 04, 2007
  • Review: [15.5 x 30/31] well made, good material, fits well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Van Heusen quality is intact

  • By Doug from SAINT CLOUD FL USA on Tuesday, December 01, 2009
  • Pros: Good service by MyPilotStore. Consistant quality from VanHeusen.
  • Cons: The above problem with the epalet flap.
  • Review: My order was filled accurately and shipped promptly. As for the shirts, they are replacing the same Van Heusen shirts and the new ones are of the quality that I have come to expect from Van Heusen. However, the epalet tabs are not sewn flat to the shoulder, so initially they do not lay flat. If ironing them down it does not help. I will have to sew them down.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

i would buy this again

  • By sondra from new boston MI USA on Friday, January 11, 2008
  • Pros: easy care
  • Cons: would prefer wrinkle free
  • Review: very nice fit. easy to take care of.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

As advertised

  • By David from anchorage AK USA on Monday, February 04, 2008
  • Pros: looks good
  • Cons: could be hot in the middle of the desert
  • Review: The long sleeve VH has become my favorite shirt
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Really nice shirt

  • By Andrew from Pittsburgh PA USA on Monday, February 18, 2008
  • Pros: General fit and construction
  • Cons: Epaulet flaps much too large.
  • Review: I really like these Commander shirts, much better then what my airline supplier provides and at less cost. The only downside is that they do seem to wrinkle faster and the epaulet flaps are HUGE. You could put TWO four bar captains epaulets on each flap. Nice shirts though and I hope that they continue to sell them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Van Heusen Commander Shirt

  • By Joe from Kirkville NY USA on Tuesday, March 16, 2010
  • Pros: Comfortable fabric
  • Cons: Comes only in half sizes e.g. 16.5, 17.5
  • Review: Very durable and looks good, not flimsy. Stiff until washed a couple of times.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jimmy from Asheboro NC USA on Tuesday, March 23, 2010
  • Review: Material for the shirt is good; like the weight of the shirt.   Do not like the way the pockets open up above the flap; troublesome to get into the pocket - keep trying to raise the flap
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great shirt

  • By A Customer from Buffalo MN USA on Wednesday, March 10, 2010
  • Review: Great fitting shirt. Durable and well constructed. Easy to iron and packs well. I would definitely buy again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good quality shirt

  • By A Customer from Skillman NJ USA on Monday, November 03, 2008
  • Pros: Professional
  • Cons: See through!
  • Review: Nice shirt, does its job. However, this shirt is very light, which means it is a little see through! Be sure to wear a tee shirt under this.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Stanley from South Duxbury VT USA on Tuesday, July 21, 2009
  • Pros: wrinkle free
  • Cons: After a few washings, collar started to deform inside.
  • Review: The shirt holds its form very well even when packed in a carry on case for a few days.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good shirt, fair price.

  • By Robert from Fort Collins CO USA on Thursday, January 21, 2016
  • Pros: Good price
  • Cons: Sleeves were 34/35 but seemed a little short.
  • Review: I bought this shirt for the Marine Corps League uniform. The quality is high for the very reasonable price. (Much more affordable than the Uniform Shop.)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will but this shirt again for my VFW Honor Guard

  • By Charles from Macungie PA USA on Wednesday, February 24, 2016
  • Review: The shirt is advertised as 'wash and wear.' While that is sort of true, it needs touch up ironing. Even using the most delicate setting on my dryer, there are some wrinkles.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Shirt

  • By A Customer from Ventura CA USA on Tuesday, January 17, 2017
  • Pros: Good cut. Nice material. Wears well
  • Cons: Epaulets are set a bit too far forward, but this is minor fault
  • Review: Met expectations and I like the feel of the material. I work on a boat, and was able to stay comfortably warm with an under-Armor shirt underneath and didn't need a jacket.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Staten Island NY USA on Tuesday, June 07, 2016
  • Review: Good solid product so far
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

OVER ALL SATISFACTORY WITH SHIRTS

  • By NRB from Blairsville PA USA on Monday, July 01, 2013
  • Pros: SATISFIED WITH QUALITY, PRICE AND DELIVERY
  • Cons: NOT SATISFIED WITH 1/2 SIZES WHEN ORDERING
  • Review: SATISFIED WITH PRICE, QUALITY AND SHIPPMENT.
    HOWEVER, WE WERE NOT SATISIFIED WITH THE SHIRT
    SIZES..SHIRTS COMES IN 1/2 SIZES, WHICH SOMETIMES
    TOO SMALL OR TOO LARGE. WOULD BE NICE IF THEY ALSO CAME
    IN EVEN SIZES...AS FAR AS QUALITY AND PRICE, WOULD
    BUY AGAIN AND RECOMMEND TO OTHERS......THIS REVIEW
    COVERS ALL THE SHIRTS (21 OF DIFFERENT SIZES) WE ORDERED.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

taper

  • By A Customer from Cornelius NC USA on Wednesday, January 07, 2015
  • Pros: 4 star
  • Cons: wide at waist with 18.5" neck
  • Review: Wish there was a tapered version for both long and short sleeve with 18.5" neck. I have 38" waist and I have too much room at waist otherwise enjoy the shirt very much. It's my go to shirt.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Reading PA USA on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Clive from Springvale ME USA on Wednesday, December 09, 2015
  • Review: Very well constructed,but overall made to fit a larger body than mine. Wrist size is about 3/8" too big. Shoulder and Neck size, though, is fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy again

  • By Peter from Scottsdale AZ USA on Monday, March 12, 2012
  • Pros: Fabric quality and workmanship is excellent.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Epaulettes are too forward. Could be more on top of the shoulder.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.