Yes, we are open and shipping orders! COVID-19 Update.
TOP

Reviews for Van Heusen Commander Shirt - Men's Long Sleeve

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Nice shirts!

  • By Gray from Manhattan, NY on Thursday, December 08, 2011
  • Pros: Generous cut and fit. Good stitching/construction
  • Cons: Are any pilot shirts really "High Quality"?? These are the best I can find among shirts that cost less than $25
  • Review: These shirts have a generous cut. Normally I need "Tall" sizes but these work fine. As an airline pilot, I like to make sure my shirts don't wrinkle easily. These hold a press nicely.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Quality

  • By Stephen from Marcola OR USA on Sunday, January 08, 2012
  • Pros: Heavy, quality material. Well made.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Heavy duty material, stays sharp looking, long enough tails to remain tucked in. Very happy with these shirts.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Duluth GA USA on Wednesday, February 23, 2011
  • Review: It meets my expectation in material, cut, and quality, who has small, slim type of body.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Pockets are interesting...

  • By Dean from Kuna ID USA on Tuesday, March 15, 2011
  • Pros: Wash and wear without ironing
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Great Product. The fabric is heavy and should wear a long time. the shirts wash and dry easily without ironing. I didn't know how I would like the pockets as the flap is sewn on the pocket so the entire pocket is opened all the time... After a few weeks use, I find I quite like that feature... no fumbling with buttons while trying to fly approaches to minimums... quite accessible.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect quality shirt for pilots

  • By Dick from Rancho Mirage CA USA on Tuesday, May 22, 2012
  • Review: This is not my first purchase of the Van Husen Commander line of pilot shirts. I have used them for years and have always been satisfied with how they look and last.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best pilot shirt in my opinion

  • By A Customer from Reading PA USA on Wednesday, March 06, 2013
  • Pros: Quality fabric, crisp look, nice fit, open top pockets, two button cuff
  • Cons:
  • Review: Fits like it should, good quality fabric, polished look. Open top pockets are nice, also like the two button cuffs.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will buy this shirt again!

  • By Robert from Brandon FL USA on Thursday, May 15, 2014
  • Pros: Fits well.
  • Cons: none for me
  • Review: Very comfortable and washes well in the hotel room's sink.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great shirt!

  • By Patricia from Chattanooga TN USA on Thursday, November 17, 2016
  • Pros: good value
  • Cons:
  • Review: The shirt material is a nice weight and drape. It comes out of the dryer without wrinkles or need for ironing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Airline Shirt

  • By Col Monte from Woodbridge VA USA on Wednesday, November 28, 2018
  • Review: I have worn these Commander Shirts for years. They stay pressed well during long haul Asia trips, are comfortable, look sharp, easy to access open pockets for a copy of you sequence (and no unbuttoned flaps flapping around) and slots big enough for a pen and a highlighter. The company gave us new shirts but I tossed them and have stuck with the Commander.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great shirts! I am a return customer.

  • By Jody from Madison CT USA on Friday, March 03, 2017
  • Pros: Great value! High cotton content.
  • Cons: I wish they came in half sizes.
  • Review: These are great shirts with the highest cotton content I have found in pilot shirts. My husband says they are comfortable and they do keep their shape.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Cargo shorts of the pilot shirt world!

  • By A Customer from Norfolk VA USA on Wednesday, May 30, 2018
  • Pros: Great value, strong construction.
  • Cons: A little stiff when new, and can be a little hot in warmer climates.
  • Review: This shirt is durable, with fairly strong heavy weight material. It has ample storage space with the false top open breast pockets and stitched pen slots. The sleeve length and tail length provide ample room for movement.
    I have used these shirts professionally for 15 years with no problems.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will be buying this product again!

  • By David from Hudson WI USA on Wednesday, February 24, 2016
  • Pros: Great quality
  • Cons: No 1/2 sizes, needed to go to next larger my size and product did not shrink any.
  • Review: Great product for great price! Delivered when promised.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love the material!

  • By Richard from Walla Walla, WA USA on Tuesday, January 31, 2017
  • Pros:
  • Cons: None!
  • Review: My husband already had a short sleeve shirt from your store and he needed a long sleeve. I really like the material. It washes nicely and remains crisp and clean looking. Wish all shirts were made of that material!
    The price was also very reasonable!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Peoria IL USA on Thursday, November 01, 2018
  • Review: Great fit, nice material.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Monument CO USA on Tuesday, February 20, 2018
  • Pros: Easy to clean. Irons up nice.
  • Cons: Not sure if I like the open top pocket
  • Review: Way better than our airline standard shirt. Fits great. Easy cleaning and ironing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Fit

  • By Robert from Rockledge FL USA on Tuesday, December 06, 2016
  • Review: Better than I had expected.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

PERFECT PILOT SHIRT

  • By Rog from Clearwater FL USA on Monday, January 22, 2018
  • Pros: ALL OF THE ABOVE.
  • Cons: NONE
  • Review: PERFECT STYLE, FABRIC, AND FIT. CAREFULLY SEWN - NICE DETAILING. UNIQUE POCKETS ALLOW EASY ACCESS, WHILE DUPLICATING A TRADITIONAL STITCHING. WIDE PEN SLOT ALLOWS CARRYING 2 PENS. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS, VERY REASONABLY PRICED, ESPECIALLY FOR 5 STAR QUALITY!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Harold from Roscoe IL USA on Tuesday, September 05, 2017
  • Review: I've worn the Commander Shirt for the past 20 years and it's the best that I have used.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Shirt

  • By Tony from Berlin MD USA on Wednesday, November 01, 2017
  • Pros: Price & Quality
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Excellent quality. Fit true to size. Would buy again!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Thomas from Woodstock GA USA on Thursday, April 16, 2015
  • Pros: Quality, price
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Very high quality garment at a surprisingly good price. Wore it to a CAP wing convention and fit right in!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice Fitted Shirt

  • By Bill from Issaquah WA USA on Monday, January 19, 2015
  • Pros: Great pinpoint fabric, fitted
  • Cons: Cuff is a little small for a larger wristwatch
  • Review: This shirt arrived on time and fits great. It is a fitted shirt which is perfect because I am a small guy. It may not be the best choice if you have a "fuller" torso...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It met my expectations, and more. I would by this shirt again, when needed.

  • By Capt. Wrongway Peter Peachfuzz, Peachfuzz Air Charters from Mt Pleasant MI USA on Friday, February 13, 2015
  • Review: Easy to care for, it gets washed, dried in the drier, hung up and ready to wear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By sandra from Caruthersville MO USA on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
  • Review: very nice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love it.

  • By Jim from Sarasota FL USA on Monday, April 21, 2014
  • Pros: Wrinkle free
  • Cons:
  • Review: Good fit and cut. Love the quality and the wrinkle free aspect. Great value too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy another one and probabliy will.

  • By Frank from Peyton CO USA on Tuesday, April 29, 2014
  • Review: Just a fine shirt.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very fine

  • By Michael from Allentown PA USA on Wednesday, September 25, 2013
  • Pros: Comfortable, easily washable, great pockets, good fit.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Very practical shirt. Have used these exact shirts for 20 plus years.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By DAVID from San Diego CA USA on Friday, December 27, 2013
  • Pros: Good quality- super shirts- hardly wrinkle - almost free of ironig
  • Cons:
  • Review: Good quality , hardly wrinkle , almost no ironing ...Top shirts ; a pitty you can not get them in Europa -so a friend living in San Diego ordered them for me ,and brought the shirts to Belgium with his next visit. Shipping to Europe would have been way to expensive due to the import taxes
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Shaul from Miami Beach FL USA on Monday, February 24, 2014
  • Pros: Great shirts
  • Cons:
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Shirt and made well

  • By Donald from Sahuarita AZ USA on Wednesday, September 17, 2014
  • Review: I needed a special shirt for my York Rite Commandry dress uniform and was told to check your shirts.
    I have worn it but found that my shoulders are not broad enough to fill out the shirt. The same with the waist size.
    I really need a medium long sleeve shirt 15 1/2 X 32.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great shirt! Wears very well

  • By A Customer from Westerville OH USA on Friday, August 26, 2016
  • Review: Keeps wrinkles to a minimum! Wears and washes well. Great purchase
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will buy this product again in different sizes to suit our organization

  • By Chuck from a VFW Honor Guard. from Macungie PA USA on Tuesday, October 15, 2019
  • Pros: Great quality. Best in class for pricing. And very quick delivery.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: Great quality. Best in class for pricing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Richard from Seattle WA USA on Monday, October 29, 2012
  • Review: Excellent shirts, however, do not like new pocket treatment. Can't carry 3x5 cards as pen holder cramps the space. I now carry cards in right pocket, but that is inconvenient for me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Gordon from Asheville NC USA on Tuesday, November 29, 2011
  • Review: They look good, fit well, and feel good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Holds up well

  • By Herbert from Fallbrook CA USA on Monday, June 07, 2010
  • Pros: Nice fit, cost
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I found that it cleans easly when you spill anything.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By joel from morrow GA USA on Tuesday, October 12, 2010
  • Review: Excellent quality shirts.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Nice quality

  • By Anton from Kalispell MT USA on Wednesday, June 03, 2009
  • Pros: Launders nice and little or no ironing.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Met All Expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Shirt!

  • By Bobby N. from Las Vegas NV USA on Monday, March 14, 2011
  • Pros: Durable
  • Cons: Things fall out of the open-top pockets
  • Review: All our pilots like this shirt. It's comfortable, durable, and holds its press even after a long day of flying.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will buy this again...

  • By A Customer from metairie LA USA on Thursday, August 20, 2009
  • Pros: great well made shirt
  • Cons: no cons
  • Review: A terrific shirt which fit and looked great. I only wish it came in blue and tan and came with botton down collars. I have no complaints.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent

  • By Alvaro from Doral FL USA on Monday, October 12, 2009
  • Review: Met my expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good quality, even if just for fun!

  • By Paul from Bloomfield Hills MI USA on Tuesday, November 15, 2011
  • Pros: Durable and nicely put together.
  • Cons: I don't know what else I will use it for except for imperonating a pilot!
  • Review: I bought this Commander Shirt as part of a Halloween costume as a Pan Am pilot. It is a fine piece of clothing!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product!

  • By Brad from Gloucester MA USA on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
  • Pros: Made of thick cloth, warm, durable, washes well
  • Cons: Not permanent press fabric, get your iron out
  • Review: The first shirts I had of this model lasted almost 10 years before they started to look ratty. It's a great product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I am very satisfied with the shirt. It exceeded my expectations, It is of outstanding quality.

  • By James from Royal Palm Beach FL USA on Tuesday, March 22, 2011
  • Pros: it is very professional looking and quality made.
  • Cons:
  • Review: excellent quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

EXCELLENT, JUST AS STATED

  • By Connie from Scottsdale AZ USA on Thursday, October 29, 2009
  • Pros: EXCELLENT
  • Cons:
  • Review: EXCELLENT, WILL BUY AGAIN.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Xcellent, etc. etc. etc.

  • By dn from Milwaukee, WI on Tuesday, August 14, 2007
  • Pros: It's all about service and they deliver
  • Cons: 1 cent sale might be nice
  • Review: Already knew the product.
    Easy ordering.
    Fast delivery.
    What else can you ask for?
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great product

  • By David Nash from Rifle CO USA on Tuesday, November 27, 2007
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Need a skosh more girth for senior pilots
  • Review: Looks and feels expensive and will last many years.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

fantastic great quality

  • By Will from Calais ME USA on Tuesday, November 03, 2009
  • Pros: n/a
  • Cons: n/a
  • Review: Met exceeded our expectations, in fact, I am buying a couple more!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Greg from Tulsa OK USA on Friday, November 27, 2009
  • Pros: good fit
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Fit was good. Good quality material
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Super product, great to wear

  • By JH from Painesville OH USA on Monday, March 10, 2008
  • Review: Comfort is formost, looks second and this shirt does it all. Even after a long flight with two stops the shirt looks fresh and neat.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good Shirt - Bad Sizing (for some at least)

  • By Lonnie from Tyrone Georgia USA on Wednesday, March 19, 2008
  • Pros: Construction quality, cotton content
  • Cons: Only available in XX+1/2 neck sizes -- Van Heusen needs to at least make the neck size in 15 and 16 without the 1/2
  • Review: I use to buy the much cheaper Arrow shirts. Thank goodness they stopped making it. This is a great shirt. The only problem is the sizing. I understand that Van Heusen wants to save cost by getting rid of some sizes (only availailable in XX+1/2 neck sizes), but whoever starts making this quality of shirt in the size 16 neck size will get my money. Forget about searching the internet for the other sizes (15, 16, 17, etc.). Even it they list it, it does not exist. Believe me I tried for days. In the interim, this is the best value -- including prompt professional service.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Shirt

  • By CAPT GARY from HADDAM CT USA on Monday, January 11, 2010
  • Review: Terrific body, hardly wrinkles. Very happy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Very durable nice looking shirt.

  • By A Customer from Anchorage AK USA on Thursday, February 14, 2008
  • Review: This is an awesome shirt for under thirty bucks. It looks, feels, and fits great. Good buy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good Product

  • By Ateeq Tayyib from Alain UAE on Thursday, March 27, 2008
  • Review: Excellent quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

repeat purchuser - great fit and quality

  • By william from Charlotte NC USA on Tuesday, February 02, 2010
  • Review: bought over a dozen over the years - always great quality
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Value

  • By A Customer from KY USA on Thursday, March 04, 2010
  • Pros: The larger sizes I need
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great price, quality and service. The shirts are comfortable and wear well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Will buy more of this product

  • By David from Smithfield UT USA on Wednesday, December 03, 2008
  • Review: Comfortable and of good quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Delores Page from Rosebud MO on Tuesday, January 04, 2011
  • Review: Beautiful hand to fabric, excellent tailoring.. Husband First Lt. Jack W Page was a fighter pilot in WWII and this brought back proud moments. He "did the right thing". Now at 87 this shirt was the highlight of his Christmas...Glad I found you.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect blend of material

  • By Chet from Boise ID USA on Monday, January 10, 2011
  • Review: It isn't course and scratchy around the neck, requires minimal ironing, has long tails that don't come out easily and looks great. When I need more shirts I will definitely purchase these again. Thank you, Chet
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very nice shirt.

  • By Robert from Fox Island WA USA on Monday, January 24, 2011
  • Pros: Style and fabric
  • Cons: 15.5x36/37 discontinued
  • Review: Terrific shirt sorry I didn't find it years ago. It is a crying shame my size has been discontinued. Glad I'm to start flying Shanghai soon so I can have some made;^)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great shirt from a Great Company

  • By Capt. Carl from Savannah Georgia USA on Monday, January 24, 2011
  • Pros: Great shirt (as always) and great delivery
  • Cons: Doesn't come with cash in the pockets (kidding)
  • Review: Quality, durable shirt... and I abuse them. I captain large passenger vessels and my job dictates time in the engine room along with my home in the pilot house. Live in a seasonally hot city, also, so it sees more than its share of sweat & grime.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I buy these long sleeved shirts every 2 years.

  • By A Customer from Bristol WI USA on Monday, February 14, 2011
  • Pros: They stay pressed even on a long day.
  • Cons: The neck tags are uncomfortable. I cut them out the first week.
  • Review: This is a good all purpose uniform shirt. I buy the short sleeved shirts one year, and the long sleeved shirts the next. I am a career commercial pilot and find these to stay just fine with home laundering and pressing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best shirts out there

  • By A Customer from Granger IN USA on Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  • Pros: Fabric fit and true to size
  • Cons: Poor sewing and lots of loose threads
  • Review: Best fabric and fit of any pilot shirt. Not first class construction as with all Van Heusen shirts but they work. Pockets are sewn level which is refreshing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice shirt but epaulets too loose

  • By A Customer from Lakewood CO USA on Monday, March 18, 2013
  • Pros: Quality materials and good fit.
  • Cons: Epaulets loose due to button placement.
  • Review: Nice high quality shirt. After wearing it under leather jacket, epaulets would crease and look bad. Noticed the epaulets were loose and flopping off of the shoulders. I moved the buttons that secure the epaulets 1/2" closer to the collar and it fixed the problem.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does the job

  • By William from Atwater CA USA on Friday, March 29, 2013
  • Pros: Open pockets, durability
  • Cons: Hard to get collar inside white after a while
  • Review: Just what I needed. Durable and attractive. Crisp white and well made
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This is the only pilot shirt I buy.

  • By A Customer from Parker CO USA on Monday, January 28, 2013
  • Pros: Wears well, long lasting.
  • Cons: Epaulet buttons not sewed on well enough.
  • Review: Reliable shirt over the years. Consistently good quality. Sometimes the epaulet buttons come off from wearing against the cockpit seat shoulder straps, so I have to sew them back on.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for Public Travel

  • By Smokey from Lake City FL USA on Thursday, March 08, 2012
  • Pros: Pressed, good look for company travel
  • Cons: Aviator shirt is better for hot, humid days,
  • Review: I use this shirt to travel on other airlines when good appearance is a necessity.
    It stays pressed for long periods and doesn't develope the "Worn Out" look of the Aviator shirt.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not bad.

  • By Michael from Naperville IL USA on Monday, January 23, 2012
  • Review: Pretty good. True to size. Wish it was a little more wrinkle-free, but better than most.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Levon from Juneau AK USA on Monday, June 18, 2012
  • Review: It was what I ordered; a basic white uniform shirt that can display my epaulets. It fits well and looks appropriate. The only improvement I could wish for is a choice of tasteful off-white color options, Other than that, it is a white uniform shirt. There is something about a uniform that certain people are attracted to...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good price

  • By Ti mothy from Cornelius NC USA on Wednesday, January 13, 2016
  • Review: 4.5 stars. Need to offer tapered with 18.5 neck. Less wrinkled after washing
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Buttons

  • By Steven from Tucson AZ USA on Thursday, June 04, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to iron
  • Cons: See narrative
  • Review: Needs one more button down the front. Buttons could be a whiter shade to more closely match the shirt.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great quality

  • By Greg from Kingston WA USA on Wednesday, April 22, 2015
  • Pros: Well built.
  • Cons: Not tapered enough.
  • Review: Was a little too loose. Was told it was more tapered. With that said, I needed the smaller neck size which Inwill buy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good quality shirt

  • By A Customer from San Francisco CA USA on Wednesday, January 13, 2016
  • Pros: Good price for the product
  • Cons:
  • Review: Shirt quality is good for the price. Epaulets holder is sewed a bit forward instead of right on top of the shoulders. It feels like the Epaulet is falling forward, but this is a minor detail.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Quality shirt but.....

  • By 30,000 hours (I NEED A LIFE!) from Occasionally on the ground on Tuesday, February 07, 2017
  • Pros: Quality shirt
  • Cons: ZERO reinforcement for wings
  • Review: Decent quality shirt for those of us who no longer can, um, wear even semi-tapered shirts. Only shortcoming: No reinforcement of any kind for wings. Geeze, folks, this is a PILOT shirt!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good but not available tapered

  • By jeffrey from Charlotte NC USA on Wednesday, July 26, 2017
  • Pros: see above
  • Cons: see above
  • Review: Good overall quality. Tight pinpoint style stitching. Looks professional, esp starched. I have bought before. Only negative is the long sleeve variety is not available tapered so you will have to pay a tailor to alter.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will but this shirt again for my VFW Honor Guard

  • By Charles from Macungie PA USA on Wednesday, February 24, 2016
  • Review: The shirt is advertised as 'wash and wear.' While that is sort of true, it needs touch up ironing. Even using the most delicate setting on my dryer, there are some wrinkles.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good shirt, fair price.

  • By Robert from Fort Collins CO USA on Thursday, January 21, 2016
  • Pros: Good price
  • Cons: Sleeves were 34/35 but seemed a little short.
  • Review: I bought this shirt for the Marine Corps League uniform. The quality is high for the very reasonable price. (Much more affordable than the Uniform Shop.)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Shirt

  • By A Customer from Ventura CA USA on Tuesday, January 17, 2017
  • Pros: Good cut. Nice material. Wears well
  • Cons: Epaulets are set a bit too far forward, but this is minor fault
  • Review: Met expectations and I like the feel of the material. I work on a boat, and was able to stay comfortably warm with an under-Armor shirt underneath and didn't need a jacket.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Staten Island NY USA on Tuesday, June 07, 2016
  • Review: Good solid product so far
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

taper

  • By A Customer from Cornelius NC USA on Wednesday, January 07, 2015
  • Pros: 4 star
  • Cons: wide at waist with 18.5" neck
  • Review: Wish there was a tapered version for both long and short sleeve with 18.5" neck. I have 38" waist and I have too much room at waist otherwise enjoy the shirt very much. It's my go to shirt.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Value

  • By A Customer from Reno NV USA on Monday, May 07, 2012
  • Review: Good value for cost. Been wearing VH shirts and uniform shirts for 20+ years.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Be a Commander!

  • By Capt. Todd from Harrisburg SD USA on Tuesday, October 13, 2009
  • Pros: Excellent construction and price
  • Cons:
  • Review: Sure, it's kind of dorky looking, but the Van Heusen Commander shirt is like other Van Heusen shirts--well made and well priced. For those of us who have to wear Civil Air Patrol uniforms, it is ideal.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from Tennessee on Tuesday, January 30, 2007
  • Pros: good shirt
  • Cons: Epaulets need to lie more flat.
  • Review: Excellent material, feels good, fine workmanship. The epaulets are looser (more open) than I thought. Need to lie more flat.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I will buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Scottsdale, AZ on Tuesday, May 01, 2007
  • Review: Higher quality. Met my expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good overall, a little stiff.

  • By Poeman from DFW, TX on Wednesday, August 08, 2007
  • Pros: Great shirt as far as coming from the cleaners but...
  • Cons: Pockets are open on top, very annoying.
  • Review: [This review refers to the LS 15.5 x 32/33 option] Great shirt as far as coming from the cleaners but...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Clive from Springvale ME USA on Wednesday, December 09, 2015
  • Review: Very well constructed,but overall made to fit a larger body than mine. Wrist size is about 3/8" too big. Shoulder and Neck size, though, is fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Van Heusen quality is intact

  • By Doug from SAINT CLOUD FL USA on Tuesday, December 01, 2009
  • Pros: Good service by MyPilotStore. Consistant quality from VanHeusen.
  • Cons: The above problem with the epalet flap.
  • Review: My order was filled accurately and shipped promptly. As for the shirts, they are replacing the same Van Heusen shirts and the new ones are of the quality that I have come to expect from Van Heusen. However, the epalet tabs are not sewn flat to the shoulder, so initially they do not lay flat. If ironing them down it does not help. I will have to sew them down.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

nicely made, good product

  • By N600DR from Allentown, PA on Tuesday, September 04, 2007
  • Review: [15.5 x 30/31] well made, good material, fits well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Van Heusen Commander Shirt

  • By Joe from Kirkville NY USA on Tuesday, March 16, 2010
  • Pros: Comfortable fabric
  • Cons: Comes only in half sizes e.g. 16.5, 17.5
  • Review: Very durable and looks good, not flimsy. Stiff until washed a couple of times.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jimmy from Asheboro NC USA on Tuesday, March 23, 2010
  • Review: Material for the shirt is good; like the weight of the shirt.   Do not like the way the pockets open up above the flap; troublesome to get into the pocket - keep trying to raise the flap
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great shirt

  • By A Customer from Buffalo MN USA on Wednesday, March 10, 2010
  • Review: Great fitting shirt. Durable and well constructed. Easy to iron and packs well. I would definitely buy again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Really nice shirt

  • By Andrew from Pittsburgh PA USA on Monday, February 18, 2008
  • Pros: General fit and construction
  • Cons: Epaulet flaps much too large.
  • Review: I really like these Commander shirts, much better then what my airline supplier provides and at less cost. The only downside is that they do seem to wrinkle faster and the epaulet flaps are HUGE. You could put TWO four bar captains epaulets on each flap. Nice shirts though and I hope that they continue to sell them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

As advertised

  • By David from anchorage AK USA on Monday, February 04, 2008
  • Pros: looks good
  • Cons: could be hot in the middle of the desert
  • Review: The long sleeve VH has become my favorite shirt
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

i would buy this again

  • By sondra from new boston MI USA on Friday, January 11, 2008
  • Pros: easy care
  • Cons: would prefer wrinkle free
  • Review: very nice fit. easy to take care of.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Reading PA USA on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

OVER ALL SATISFACTORY WITH SHIRTS

  • By NRB from Blairsville PA USA on Monday, July 01, 2013
  • Pros: SATISFIED WITH QUALITY, PRICE AND DELIVERY
  • Cons: NOT SATISFIED WITH 1/2 SIZES WHEN ORDERING
  • Review: SATISFIED WITH PRICE, QUALITY AND SHIPPMENT.
    HOWEVER, WE WERE NOT SATISIFIED WITH THE SHIRT
    SIZES..SHIRTS COMES IN 1/2 SIZES, WHICH SOMETIMES
    TOO SMALL OR TOO LARGE. WOULD BE NICE IF THEY ALSO CAME
    IN EVEN SIZES...AS FAR AS QUALITY AND PRICE, WOULD
    BUY AGAIN AND RECOMMEND TO OTHERS......THIS REVIEW
    COVERS ALL THE SHIRTS (21 OF DIFFERENT SIZES) WE ORDERED.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy again

  • By Peter from Scottsdale AZ USA on Monday, March 12, 2012
  • Pros: Fabric quality and workmanship is excellent.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Epaulettes are too forward. Could be more on top of the shoulder.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Stanley from South Duxbury VT USA on Tuesday, July 21, 2009
  • Pros: wrinkle free
  • Cons: After a few washings, collar started to deform inside.
  • Review: The shirt holds its form very well even when packed in a carry on case for a few days.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good quality shirt

  • By A Customer from Skillman NJ USA on Monday, November 03, 2008
  • Pros: Professional
  • Cons: See through!
  • Review: Nice shirt, does its job. However, this shirt is very light, which means it is a little see through! Be sure to wear a tee shirt under this.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By coert from huntingtown MD USA on Tuesday, October 25, 2011
  • Review: Shirt is made for fat people. Now I have to pay for a tailor.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Made for fat people

  • By Ron from Anchorage AK USA on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
  • Pros: Nice looking shirt
  • Cons: Made just for fat people
  • Review: This product for everything else is perfect. You need to offer a tapered style. Yes, I lift weights and have a larger neck and need an 18.5" neck in my shirts but this shirt has approximately 10-12" of additional material for "thickness at the belly" .. Makes for a nice fitting shirt at the top and nery sloppy, loose and unkept look at the waistline. Due to that alone, this shirt looses 2 of the 5 points total.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Off White

  • By A Customer from Las Vegas NV USA on Wednesday, March 16, 2011
  • Pros:
  • Cons: many loose threads
  • Review: Very dull collar with almost a yellow tint...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Howard from San Carlos CA USA on Tuesday, May 27, 2008
  • Review: The pockets should be about one inch higher and the top should be sewn closed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By louis from Cornelius NC USA on Thursday, February 26, 2009
  • Review: The shirt was fine and I'm sure it will wear well. The problem was that I didn't received the requested sleeve length which was 32/33, I received instead 34/35. I had to wear it as is, as it was no time to exchange.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By John from Tucson AZ USA on Tuesday, June 16, 2009
  • Pros: Good material, good breast pockets
  • Cons: Fits like a tent unless you get it tailored
  • Review: Good Shirt,but can Double as a Mumu
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I would buy this product again.

  • By James from Sherman CT USA on Saturday, November 03, 2007
  • Review: Hey, it's a shirt and it fits well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good material

  • By Aldo from Babylon NY USA on Tuesday, January 16, 2018
  • Pros: Breathable
  • Cons: Need to be taken in after you bought it.
  • Review: Material was better then expected.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice shirt but...

  • By Steve from Weatherford TX USA on Tuesday, March 10, 2020
  • Pros: Comfort and fit
  • Cons: Flimsy buttons
  • Review: These are the first long sleeve Commanders I’ve worn. I'm a big guy and they are very comfortable. But the epaulet buttons broke when the cleaners pressed the shirts. Sadly, this is the same as the short sleeved Commander shirts.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Peter from Henderson NV USA on Wednesday, March 30, 2011
  • Pros: cheap prices
  • Cons: having to pay shipping for returns that were not a fault of mine
  • Review: The epulette holder is much to long and causes it to arch up and look funky... A bit disappointed. Also bought 5 SS 17.5 shirts and one of them felt like the neck size was a 16 even though it says 17.5. My wife had to move the top botton over but its still tight compared to the others. Thought about sending it back but we pay for shipping and I wore it once and washed it. Very disappointed about that too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well built, hard to iron.

  • By Flyin B from Santa Ynez CA USA on Tuesday, September 04, 2012
  • Pros: Good quality construction.
  • Cons: Very difficult to press, easily wrinkles.
  • Review: The quality is what you'd expect from an $18 shirt. Next time I'll spend a little more for a higher grade material that holds a pressing longer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not completely happy with VanHeusen Commander

  • By Dutch from Calhoun GA USA on Saturday, April 07, 2012
  • Review: The quality of these shirts doesn't seem to be what it used to be, and I'm very disappointed that the even numbered sizes are no longer available! 15.5 is a little tight, and 16.5 gapes open at the neck.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Richard from Atlanta GA USA on Monday, May 07, 2012
  • Review: Poorly sized ... you need to oeder a size bigger in the neck and sleeve than usual.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ian from Point Roberts WA USA on Thursday, April 16, 2015
  • Pros: Reasonable material
  • Cons: Poor collar design
  • Review: I do not like the cut of the collar
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Poor quality build

  • By Selma from Quebec QC Canada on Saturday, May 24, 2014
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Build quality
  • Review: The product if looking good but it torned when my husband first tries it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Like the style hate everything else

  • By James from Torrance CA USA on Friday, December 27, 2013
  • Pros: No flap pockets
  • Cons: Construction, fit
  • Review: This is the only pilot shirt I wear because of the no pocket flap feature that allows me access to glasses without bothering with opening and closing a flap. But I've had trouble with the fit, the construction (one batch had epaulets that were all too long) and the availability of my correct size. If I had another choice I'd buy it, but unfortunately I don't.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

LOOK AT THIS SHIRT WRONG AND IT WRINKLES

  • By Anonymous User from Undisclosed Location on Thursday, October 25, 2007
  • Review: VERY HARD TO KEEP THIS SHIRT LOOKING GOOD.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.