TOP

Reviews for Van Heusen Pilot Shirt - Men's Long Sleeve

Sort By:
Filter By:

  • By Anthony from Las Vegas, NV on Sunday, January 14, 2007
  • Pros: Poly/Cotton blend is strong
  • Cons: A bit rough until washed a few times
  • Review: Shirt is same design as U.S. Air Force long sleeve uniform shirt, including tapered pockets and equalets, making for a professional appearance no matter what the occasion. Although material feels a bit rough at first, a few washings and dryings (with fabric softner) will "soften" it up. Ironed in creases will stay once created, a definate plus when caring for your own shirts. Material is a poly/cotton blend, and is excellent for stain release, although it is not stain-proof. Absorbtion of material is minimal, and if you spill something on it, or have a short stint in the rain, it will easily shed the liquid. Shirt is full cut, not tapered, excellent for those with a few extra pounds or who like a roomy shirt. Shirt is also approved for wear with Civil Air Patrol uniform, as it is the same as USAF Class A/B uniform shirt, except white.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

I would buy this product again and again

  • By Hiroto from Yokohama Japan on Friday, December 28, 2007
  • Review: Perfect from the point of view of both design and quality, as far as I can judge.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Robert from Greensboro NC USA on Monday, January 30, 2012
  • Pros: Could not ask for much better.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I like the shirt in every possible way. Above the left pocket it has two slits through which I can mount a name badge. I wish it had the same on the right side. I have a company name badge to use on the left and a personal name badge for the right side. The additional slits or button holes would really help.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome Fit

  • By SHELLY from TWINSBURG OH USA on Monday, July 09, 2012
  • Pros: cost, fit, the look
  • Cons: none
  • Review: The fit is great. The look is great. This is also a very comfortable fitting shirt. I will purchase more. Great investment.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I'm buying another one!

  • By A Customer from Westhampton Beach NY USA on Monday, October 22, 2012
  • Pros: quality, fit, price
  • Cons:
  • Review: This pilot shirt fit perfectly, washes well and the price can't be beat. I'm buying another one!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Sharp Pilot Shirt

  • By Gary from Gig Harbor WA USA on Tuesday, May 13, 2014
  • Pros: Quality, Comfort.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Good Quality and features for the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Shirts are easy to wash, iron and wear

  • By Just call me "Bill" from SoCal on Saturday, August 23, 2014
  • Pros: Good shirt to look shart, but not over glamorous
  • Cons: Hmmm, let me see if I can find one
  • Review: I'm not what you call a small guy. As a matter of fact, I could fill the captain's "toilet-bowl" with a 6'4" frame wearing an XXL long sleeve shirt. The shirt is not tight which is something I like while flying. Nothing is worst than flying in a tight fitting shirt and 'that", for me, will simply not do. These shirts are very comfortable, even when I wear a tie. The shirt has plenty of pocket room and the button holes for the pockets are not sewn tight. Meaning the pocket flaps can be buttoned and unbuttoned quickly without fighting the button hole. The vertical buttons on the shirt are sewn actually as well. When dressing, the shirt is easy to button up, even at the top collar button. When wearing the short with a "Double-Winsor" knot, the shirt lines up excellent at the top. It really looks very sharp. If you are wearing military ribbons, even the ultrathin ribbons, the shirt looks superb for mustard. So in short, for a $20 bill, you can't go wrong with this short. I believe the shirt was made with the large man in mind. If you're a body builder or Hercules. Then this shirt would not probably fit you that well. You would have to do a bit of alteration to get that fitted look, but if you're a regular "joe" like me and a gazillion other guys and gals, then this shirt is the one to get. You'll enjoy the flight plan a lot more. And no, I don't work for Van Heusen or MyPilotStore.com. I am just a regular guy just like the rest of you that enjoy being comfortable while flying (or mowing the lawn).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By robert from Tulsa OK USA on Tuesday, May 02, 2017
  • Pros: Most everything
  • Cons: no sleeve buttons
  • Review: My only complaint was a lick of buttons on the sleeve opening. It is nice to have when one want to roll upi our sleeves and fit properly on the forearm. Otherwise an excellently made shirt.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Yes,I would buy this product again

  • By Carl B. from Lititz PA USA on Tuesday, October 04, 2016
  • Pros: Excellant fit
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I liked the fit of this shirt and the quality of the Material. The price was right.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Millington TN USA on Thursday, January 12, 2017
  • Review: Have worn these shirts for years.
    Good fit and easy to laundry
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Louis from Sarasota FL USA on Wednesday, March 27, 2019
  • Review: I wish it would have been a 16 neck size and tapered like the short sleeve I ordered on the same day.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Juan from Wilmington DE USA on Thursday, March 19, 2015
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By L. Gene from West Jordan UT USA on Wednesday, July 02, 2014
  • Review: Fits well and cleans up nicely
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will buy this product again

  • By David from Wellington FL USA on Monday, October 12, 2009
  • Pros: Great fitting shirts
  • Cons: none
  • Review: All my pilot shirts are of this type. Nice cut, nice material and does not wrinkle very easily.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

An excellent shirt

  • By Larry from Bakersfield CA USA on Thursday, January 24, 2013
  • Pros: Good value!
  • Cons:
  • Review: Well made and a nice fit... works for me!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Preston from Sylacauga AL USA on Friday, July 08, 2011
  • Review: Looks great, fits great.  Would recommend to anyone.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

High quality shirt. Have already recommended to my Civil Air Patrol buddies.

  • By Manny from Pennsauken NJ USA on Monday, January 16, 2012
  • Pros: Very good material. Good cut.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Very good quality shirt. Worth the money. Will buy short sleeve version in the spring. Thank you
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

As always, quality and sevice performs above expectations

  • By Capt. Carl from Savannah GA USA on Wednesday, January 18, 2012
  • Pros: Time after time, my go-to source that performs above expectations.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Great Customer Service.
    Product exactly as described.
    Shipping couldn't be better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Windsor CT USA on Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  • Pros: Wears very comfortably
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Very nice shirt. Holds its shape. Pretty much wrinkle free.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best Pilot Shirt

  • By Thomas from Racine WI USA on Monday, May 07, 2012
  • Pros: Best looking pilot shirt on the market and has holes for wings.
  • Cons: Long sleeves only come in half sizes. Holes for wing posts not spaced for traditional size wings.
  • Review: Over my 40+ flying career, the Van Heusen "Pilot Shirt" is the best. It irons up nicely, looks sharp with the button down pocket flaps, and has the holes for the wings. Over the years, however, they done two things I don't like: 1. They decreased the spacing for the holes of the wings. We wear tradional quality built wings with the posts spread apart at 2 3/4 inches. Newer wings must be cheaper and hence smaller spacing on the posts. 2. Long sleeves available only in half sizes.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Travis from Placerville, CA on Sunday, June 13, 2010
  • Review: Fits nicely, resists stains, breathes pretty nicely, and doesn't hold wrinkles.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

perfect fitting shirts.

  • By Jeffery from Harlingen TX USA on Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  • Review: Actually above my exceptions.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Gordon from knoxville TN USA on Monday, November 07, 2011
  • Review: I would buy this product again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Shirt

  • By Randall from Newfoundland NJ USA on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Sandra from Shavertown PA USA on Friday, October 09, 2015
  • Pros: Great quality
  • Cons: None
  • Review: The shirt is made really good
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good quality

  • By Capt.Glenn from Pembroke Pines FL USA on Thursday, January 07, 2016
  • Pros: ease of ordering, fast shi0ping.
  • Cons: neck too tight
  • Review: Sizing fit perfect but neck was too tight. Otherwise a good purchase
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Doug from New Hudson MI USA on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
  • Review: I will buy product again. It is a good quality shirt at a reasonable price. Service from my pilot store was quick and easy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

nice collars

  • By A Customer from perkasie PA USA on Wednesday, March 14, 2012
  • Pros: true to size
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Overall a good shirt, sleeves are the specified length . I have had Van Heusen shirts before with huge crooked collars but these are OK.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good quality

  • By A Customer from Page AZ USA on Tuesday, May 21, 2013
  • Pros: Good quality, long enough to tuck in and stay in
  • Cons: Wish it tapered towards the waist
  • Review: Shirt is well made. I bought a size larger than I normally wear. It shrank slightly after the first wash and fit well. I have short arms and wide shoulders. I only wish they made a tapered version.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By lawrence from Las Vegas NV USA on Friday, April 04, 2014
  • Pros:
  • Cons: does not come with neck size 17"
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Shirt!

  • By Ini from Miami Fl USA on Tuesday, August 15, 2017
  • Pros: Comfortable, durable.
  • Cons: None so far!
  • Review: Shirt is exactly what I wanted. Glad I could find it here after checking several other online and physical uniform outfitters.
    Will definitely patronise again!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exactly what I was looking for

  • By Carl D. from Strongsville OH USA on Tuesday, January 13, 2015
  • Pros: Pocket design
  • Cons: Slight pink hue to the shirt color.
  • Review: Wish long sleeve shirts came in half sizes. Took a 16 1/2 when I really needed 16. Still the extra room is welcome at work.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

"I will buy this product again."

  • By Robert from Greensboro NC USA on Tuesday, January 04, 2011
  • Pros: Comfortable collar and sleeves.
  • Cons: Time will tell.
  • Review: The size fits great. I like the slits over the left pocket for name badge pins. I wish they were also on the right side. It looks good after ironing. I do not like a spread collar--this shirt does not appear to have that and I like that. Time will tell how serviceable it is.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good substitute for Army (ASU) shirt. Drop the pen pockets.

  • By Karl from Asheville NC USA on Thursday, January 27, 2011
  • Pros: Good alternative for older soldiers.
  • Cons: Pen slits and no pleats
  • Review: Thank whoever I can cover the penslits with my ribbons or badges. The pockets are cut properly and with a larger waist, it goes well with the new Army uniform for us older guys. If you sewed in the five pleats and marketed it to soldiers, Regular, Reserve and National Guard 30 and older you would have a good seller.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Van Heusen Pilot Shirt

  • By Patrick from Elmhurst IL USA on Wednesday, November 29, 2017
  • Review: Nice shirts. I like that they have wing eyelets on long sleeve shirts.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Took some time but we got our order.

  • By A Customer from Parsonsburg MD USA on Monday, June 21, 2010
  • Pros: Good price and easy to place our order online
  • Cons: delivery was a little slow
  • Review: Our order came eventually, but it took longer than I had expected to arrive (5 days). One other small detail to mention: the color of the fabric has a sort of pinkish tint to it. My husband did not notice it until I pointed it out. He was worried but I assured him that it was not that noticeable and would probably fade out.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

GOOD QUALITY

  • By cindy from goddard KS USA on Monday, October 12, 2009
  • Review: WOULD LIKE TO HAVE HAD 17 INCH WHY ARE LONG SLEEVE IN 1/2 SIZE? ALSO NEED THE OPTION OF ORDERING FITTED. I WILL HAVE TO TAKE THIS UP BECAUSE THE WAIST SECTION IS SO BIG.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Practical standard shirt

  • By Juan from Dayton OH USA on Wednesday, October 29, 2014
  • Pros: Read above
  • Cons: Read above
  • Review: Really liked the way the front pockets are designed, with space for a pen. Not having to iron them is also a plus and the collar seems pretty sturdy. It would be nice if it came with a designated space for the wings, like the commander version.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Length a bit short for a tall guy

  • By A Customer from Burlington CT USA on Monday, February 05, 2018
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Short for tall guy, would like to have heavy-weight fabric option
  • Review: I ordered 2 shirts with sleeve length of 36/37. The length of the body of the shirt was not increased with the very long sleeve length, and there is no option to order a tall in long-sleeved shirts. These shirts are 2 inches shorter in body length than the size tall short-sleeved Van Heusen Pilot Shirt that I always wear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Clive from Springvale ME USA on Wednesday, November 29, 2017
  • Review: I resent having to buy a half size larger than I need. Although the construction of the shirt is satisfactory, with the exception of the collar stiffener piece sewn into it which can't withstand chlorine bleach.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Shirt Fit Ran Small

  • By james on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
  • Pros: good material
  • Cons: short tails
  • Review: While the shirt was made well, I think it was smaller than other similar sized shirts I owned. Wore them on a trip and not very practical. Going to send them to charity. My recommendation: get a full size bigger than you'd normally buy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Disappointed that I couldn't get a fitted shirt.

  • By MARK from Seattle, WA on Sunday, May 02, 2010
  • Pros: The shirt was white just as I expected.
  • Cons: The shirt was big enough to wear in my third trimester.
  • Review: We're not all fat captains. Not yet, anyway. Some of us can still wear fitted shirts. Please bring back some style to the cockpit. I returned the shirts and I'm waiting for a refund.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.