Yes, we are open and shipping orders! COVID-19 Update.
TOP

Ultimate Kneeboard Fixed Ring

  • 89 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Ultimate Kneeboard Fixed Ring

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for IFR training or Instructing

  • By Walt from West Chester OH USA on Wednesday, April 02, 2014
  • Pros: Convenient and well designed
  • Cons: Fixed rings make it a bit bulkier than other kneeboards but worth it
  • Review: I borrowed one of these from my instructor while doing my initial instrument training. Now a helicopter CFII and finishing up my fixed wing instrument I decided to buy one myself.
    I keep about 30 approach plates in individual sleeves (everything I might fly in the area) and can quickly open the fixed ring clips and put the plates in order for that flight. Winds change and now you need the approach that's on the back and upside down? It takes less than ten seconds to open the rings, flip the plate, and close them, easy enough to do in flight. This is the feature that makes it perfect for IFR training. I bought oversized clear sleeves (always need more than it comes with) from flyboys so the faa plates fit without trimming. Unless you only fly approaches only at one airport the fixed rings are worth their weight in gold despite their bulk. Miniature legal pads fit perfectly on the knee board, fold the plates to the side and there's always paper to copy down clearances. Some guys I fly with use a mini dry erase marker to write clearences and missed instructions directly on the clear plastic sleeves.
    While the fixed rings make this a little bulkier than other knee boards I haven't had a problem using it in r22s r44s and 172 cockpits. With a little thought and proper placement on my leg I have no issues with clearence of the flight controls.
    Ultimate kneeboard? Yes for certain niches, ie instrument instruction or training. Maybe actual IFR flights so you can keep all the approach plates along the route just in case. I use a slimmer kneeboard for vfr flights.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Ryan from Orland Park IL USA on Thursday, December 19, 2019
  • Pros: Easy to use. Comfortable. Keeps everything very neat and organized.
  • Cons:
  • Review: I like the knee board very much. It keeps everything neat and organized. No muss no fuss.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Tuesday, January 05, 2016
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Good Deal

  • By Gabriel from Miami FL USA on Friday, June 06, 2008
  • Pros: Durable and usefull
  • Cons: Should include a clip so you can close it when you finish
  • Review: Very good and usefull, includes great tables and charts.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

So far so good

  • By A Customer from Raleigh NC USA on Tuesday, December 08, 2009
  • Pros: velcro straps, small E6B holder.
  • Cons: no front flap for storing in your flight bag.
  • Review: Well, I have not had a chance to use it in the air yet, but have used it during simulation and it works pretty good. Went to Franklin books and found the hole punch for it and it works great. My only concern now is that I have changed planes and the one I'm flying now has a center yoke and one person comment about the fixed rings getting in the one. So I will try using it on my left leg, or buy the other non-fixed rings. Because I do like the design. The major thing that it lacks is a front cover. Storing it in your flight bag requires some tought.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good Product except....

  • By Ryan from Honolulu, HI on Tuesday, March 04, 2008
  • Pros: Useful pockets, size is good
  • Cons: Fixed rings get in way of controls
  • Review: The wide leg strap is great and doesn't put much pressure on your leg. Originally I flew a C172 and the kneeboard fit perfectly. Recently I've been flying a Diamond DA-40 with the control stick between your legs movement you hit the kneeboard when moving the stick low and right. I think it's only because I have the fixed ring version, it might be better with the loose rings.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Michael from Titusville FL USA on Thursday, February 28, 2008
  • Review: The best buy I have done for the long time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good knee broad

  • By Roy from Chicago IL USA on Thursday, January 07, 2010
  • Pros: reasonable price
  • Cons: NEED MORE clear sheet protectors
  • Review: I am a tactical officer, such knee broad is necessary. good quality for the price compare to the others. However I have alot of informations to put into the pockets. The knee broad comes with 8 that just not enough for practical use, and the same identical pockets are not avaliable for purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Worked as I thought it would

  • By A Customer from Random Lake WI USA on Tuesday, April 01, 2008
  • Pros: Works the way I need it to
  • Cons: Would be nice to have a hard surface when pages are flipped
  • Review: After my dual cross country training, I was looking for a good kneeboard that could also help keep things organized. I liked the ring binder approach since I knew things would not be falling all over. I've used it since on solo cross countries and it works very well for me. The binder holds electronic sectional chart "pages" that are printed at 8.5x11 and folded to fit the kneeboard. During flight the pages then unfold across the other knee. As long as I stay to the course it saves from having the full sectional getting in the way. I then have my flight planning sheet with waypoints, etc. in the binder as well and finally airport diagrams. This allows me to flip pages around as needed in an orderly manner. The side pocket works well for pen and flashlight
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not for use in a 407

  • By Kevin from Fountain CO USA on Wednesday, May 07, 2008
  • Pros: Well made
  • Cons: Interferes with cyclic in smaller airframes
  • Review: Excellent product but the fixed ring system interferes with the cyclic in a Bell 407. I've used a loose ring kneeboard in a larger airframe for the past 16 years and thought the fixed ring was a good idea. I tried it for a few days and found I had to adjust the board to the side of my leg so as not to interfere with cyclic control. Pretty much defeated the purpose of using it and I went back to my old kneeboard.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent kneeboard but bad quality control

  • By Marcel from Naperville IL USA on Friday, August 08, 2008
  • Pros: well designed, easy to customize due to ring folder
  • Cons: QUALITY CONTROL OF STICHING!, one little larger pocket to hold a thicker than tiny flashlight
  • Review: The kneeboard is an excellent design. However after 5 times of use(!!!), the velcro to strap the board came loose. After having a careful look, I noticed that one of the sides (the most important one) has not been stiched at all, so it basically had to fail and was just a matter of time. I decided to restich the velcro properly and now it works just fine. My instructor happens to have the same kneeboard. His velcro is stiched properly. Bottom Line: excellent kneeboard and (basically) very robust design, but the people have to have a more careful eye on the quality control, if they don't want to get bad reputation...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice Kneeboard

  • By Jason from Mc Elhattan PA USA on Monday, October 25, 2010
  • Review: Being my first kneeboard I wasn't exactly sure what to expect, but after taking a few flights with it's performed well. One thing I'd recommend is is getting a 7-hole punch. If you just try to fold an 8.5x11 sheet of paper and slide it in the plastic sleeve you'll find that the folder paper is too wide and hits the rings so you'll want the punch.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great kneeboard!

  • By Dan from Dayton, OH on Tuesday, June 30, 2009
  • Pros: Most condensed kneeboard I've found
  • Cons: Needs a few minor tweaks
  • Review: Overall this kneeboard has been great. Its a great way to keep everything you need right in one place, pen/pencil, light, charts, etc. If you make checklists the right size they'll fit in the sleeves, too! As I've flown with it I've only had a few minor changes I'd make to it: 1. I could use a smaller elastic band around the leg, 2. I wish it had a clip like the ones on ASA kneeboards, this one is too small for a notepad and chart together, 3. I'd make the pen holders parallel to the thigh, so I didn't stab myself in the leg so often. :( 4. Larger sleeves for NOS plates.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love It

  • By Mac from Oregon City OR USA on Monday, July 13, 2009
  • Pros: Comfortable
  • Cons: Only a small complaint that it take two hands to open the rings.
  • Review: Very comfortable. Low profile. Fairly easy to operate the ring opener. There are notebooks available at office supply stores that allow opening the rings with one hand. This takes two, and while it's not a big deal, one of the new style ring systems would make this the ultimate kneeboard. I've had several boards over the last three decades, and this is the best one yet.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Broke one in the remaking process

  • By A Customer from Guaynabo, Puerto Rico-USA on Monday, July 20, 2009
  • Pros: Fixed ring system-The Best!
  • Cons: Vertical pen/pencil holders and velcro fastening system
  • Review: After more than 15 years into aviation, I had finally come to own the "perfect" kneeboard. Just one little fix: the vertical pen/pencil holders needed to be horizontal (pen and pencils got stuck in the helmet bag and pinned on my leg. I got carried away with the project and tried to fix the attachment band in the process, by changing it to a snap system.Results- a broken clipboard (soft plastic instead of aluminun), unaligned rings and unsewn/ripped cordura fabric. Nevertheless, it was a good kneeboard!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Fort Smith AR USA on Tuesday, September 22, 2009
  • Pros: Makes check list very handy
  • Cons: Not wide enough
  • Review: I wish the broad was a little wider. Other than that, it works good...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice!

  • By Jeff from Yakima WA USA on Monday, November 21, 2011
  • Pros: Nice materials and fit.
  • Cons: Opened the wrong direction for me, I modified it. Not enough clear sheet protectors.
  • Review: Great product! I modified it so it opens to the right and it is perfect this way! Does not come with enough clear sheet protectors, so order extras (I could not find them locally). I recommend this kneeboard highly!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product

  • By William from Hurricane WV USA on Monday, August 01, 2011
  • Pros: Very stable for writing. Sheets turn easily. Comfortable.
  • Cons: In smaller aircraft yoke tends to hit the rings (I am 6" so it may not be an issue for smaller pilots)
  • Review: I like the product. It works as advertised. Easy to remove and replace sheets. Well designed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jerry from Santa Paula CA USA on Tuesday, May 15, 2012
  • Review: It is the epitome of the rule we used when I used to mountaineer and moutain climb. "make two stacks of items 1. everything you know you are going to need and 2. everything you think you might need. Leave the second stack at home."
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Full of info

  • By Justin from Frankfort KY USA on Tuesday, October 16, 2012
  • Review: This kneeboard is great. I only have one issue with it. I fly a piper pa28 and it does interfere with the controls a little. I think I would have bn better off with the loose ring version.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

So so but smaller than other kneeboards

  • By Paul from Sacramento CA USA on Tuesday, September 11, 2012
  • Pros: Plastic strap very useful, not too bulky in thickness of board
  • Cons:
  • Review: Plastic strap is very useful, but the board still gets in the way of cyclic if flying Robinson helicopters. Metal clip tends to reflect a lot as well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Ultimate Kneeboard

  • By Ken from East Williston NY USA on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
  • Pros: Easy to use. Laid out well.
  • Cons: Elastic band that's suppose to hold a flashlight is too small
  • Review: Really liked this kneeboard. The only complaint I have is the elastic band that is suppose to hold a flashlight isn't big enough to hold a small flashlight. Maybe one that has the diameter of a pen, but let's face it most of the small LED lights today are about 3/4" - 1" in diameter. So all I have is another pen holder.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.