TOP

Reviews for Kennon Sun Shield - Single Engine / Light Twin

Sort By:
Filter By:

PRETTY MUCH AS ADVERTISED

  • By James Richard Ungar from Truckee, CA on Thursday, August 23, 2007
  • Pros: Works as advertised; easy to install
  • Cons: Not all window sections secure as well as would be ideal
  • Review: THe Kennon Sun Shield was custom made for my Comanche 250 and thus all window covers are cut to comform to the available window space on the aircraft. In general the fit is good and held in place by plastic friction tabs. With six separate sections (two for right and left sides of windshield) all hold in place well, except for the co-pilot window that just doesn't want to seat properly. It does stay put, but it requires some extra maneuvering to get it right. The aircraft spends a lot of time in Central California where the daytime temperatures frequently hit triple digits. The sun shields are excellent and keep the interior cool enough so that you can enter the aircraft in mid-day and still feel comfortable in the closed cockpit space.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Couldn't be any happier with this purchase!

  • By Michael from Torrance CA USA on Tuesday, December 18, 2007
  • Pros: Fit perfectly. High quality sun shade that is light weight.
  • Cons: A little difficult getting the two piece shade in, on the front wind screen.
  • Review: Overall, couldn't be any happier. I parked my C-182 in the Calif desert and when I came back to the A/C, it was surprising cool, what a nice change! The pieces are all marked, so you know where each shade goes for each window. The shade is of high quality material and it works very well. It takes a little bit of time to get all the pieces in but it is worth it when you come back to the A/C and it is cool inside!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Fred A from Sandia Park NM USA on Thursday, April 10, 2008
  • Pros: Good material, good design
  • Cons:
  • Review: Arrived on time and undamaged. Pretty much meets expectations. A little hard to fit in my aircraft windows, until it molds itself to window shapes. Otherwise, seems to work well. Haven't seen anything growing in the aircraft, so must be keeping sunshine out.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Casper J from Fayetteville NC USA on Friday, May 02, 2008
  • Pros: Protection from sunrays and keeping inside cool
  • Cons: Getting them to fit properly.
  • Review: I like that it not only block the harmful sunrays, but blocks visual view of the equipment within the aircraft. The front shields are a little hard to get in. To me that's the small price I'm willing to pay to protect my investment.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product but hard to stay in place on a Cessna 350/400

  • By Greg from Big Pine Key FL USA on Sunday, April 04, 2010
  • Pros: Effectiveness as advertised. Cool and UV protection.
  • Cons: Friction fit.
  • Review: Love the product but the pilot and co-pilot side window panels often do not stay in place. I plan to contact the company in the next week and see what we can do to sort this out. The problem is with the shape of the window sides in the plane. There is almost no area for the edging to grip for the friction fit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great, except for the rear window shield

  • By Mandy from Baton Rouge LA USA on Wednesday, June 17, 2009
  • Pros: Works well, Keeps plane cool
  • Cons: Rear shield won't stay in window
  • Review: I think this is a great product. The shields are a little awkward to get in and out at first, but are fine once you get used to them. The shields do a good job of keeping the plane cool. The only problem is that the rear window shield isn't staying anymore. It seems a touch too small for the window and keeps falling out. I will be contacting the company to see if this can be remedied.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Monday, February 25, 2019
  • Review: Quality product..!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Almost what I expected

  • By A Customer from Castle Rock CO USA on Monday, February 24, 2014
  • Pros: Keeps sun and looky loos out
  • Cons: Back window covers fall out of 172
  • Review: It does what it's supposed to do. It keeps the sun out. Had these in a Lear Jet and they worked perfect, but in a 172 the back way back window covers don't want to stay put.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Product as advertised!

  • By Ronald from Cornelius NC USA on Wednesday, September 17, 2014
  • Pros: Quick response on correcting an issue
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Initial try at windscreen cover was wrong size. Kennon replaced it quickly at no charge. Rest of screens fit well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good one

  • By Arturo from Laredo TX USA on Tuesday, October 28, 2014
  • Pros: works pretty well
  • Cons: none at this time
  • Review: Very good product, the price can be a little lower.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does the job

  • By A Customer from Loomis CA USA on Wednesday, May 13, 2015
  • Pros: Effective in keeping temperature in plane down and preventing sun danage.
  • Cons: Not specifically fitted for a Cessna 182T.
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good, not perfect

  • By Brian from Council Bluffs IA USA on Wednesday, September 09, 2015
  • Pros: Good material and sewing,reasonably good fit and nice bag to store them in when you're done using them.
  • Cons: They could have been cut a bit more accurate especially around the vent window on a Bonanza
  • Review: Front windshield sun shield is as close a fit as you will ever get, the rest of the windows were pretty good not perfect but they did stay in place for the 2 days I was away from the plane. This was the first time I used the shields.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good work keeping the sun out

  • By A Customer from New york, new york on Friday, September 02, 2016
  • Pros: Great keeping the cockpit cool from the sun.
  • Cons: I have noticed that the sunshield from the windshield in some parts the sun doesn't get in but you can see like a the light a bit brighter like if it was breaking and penetrating the aluminum layer.
  • Review: Well these covers I ordered them for my Cessna Skyhawk 1974 M and they fitted perfect to the windshield. The copilot door could have a better cut so it can stay in place because it doesn't very well. The same thing with both back baggae area windows. Other windows fitted perfectly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good fit for old Cherokee 235-B

  • By A Customer from Oakland CA USA on Wednesday, August 14, 2019
  • Pros: Does the job, all screens fit the windows with no gaps. You have to press them into the edges of the window so they actually stay in place.
  • Cons: Had to wrangle the shields a bit to fit in the front windscreen, but was a little easier the second time.
  • Review: I was surprised that, although not a perfect fit due to a few anomalies in the cockpit, the sun shields fit pretty darn well. They stay in place when pressed into the window; each shield is labeled so you know which goes where; the plane was cooler and the avionics were well protected while my plane was on the field. Fairly easy to use, easy to remove, roll up and store in the baggage compartment.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.