BLACK FRIDAY DEALS SITEWIDE! See Our Featured Deals Here.
TOP

Reviews for Kennon Sun Shield - Single Engine / Light Twin

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Fits well and does an excellent job of reducing interior heat

  • By For: Larry from Gilford NH USA on Thursday, September 05, 2019
  • Pros: Holds in window nicely
  • Cons: Can be bulkier than polyurethane style.
  • Review: I like these sun shields because they are easy to put in the windows after landing and they do not need velcro to stay in. I found that the glue needed for the velcro style would not hold up in the heat, and would eventually drop to the floor.

    Also, excellent customer service. One window did not fit properly and they immediately shipped a replacement.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Sunday, July 28, 2019
  • Review: I received the Kennon Sun Shield for my 1980 Cessna 172RG. The fit is perfect! It's easy to put in and take out and the individual window pieces are all secure and stay in. It also comes with a great carrying bag. I couldn't be happier! Thank you!! Roy Robertson
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Fit

  • By A Customer from Aledo TX USA on Wednesday, September 12, 2018
  • Pros: Light weight
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Very impressed with the fit on all windows. Works great
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Keeps cabin cool and hides contents from view

  • By Mark T from Madison WI USA on Sunday, August 25, 2013
  • Pros: Fit and quality
  • Cons: None
  • Review: These sun shields fit my 182 windows perfect and take just a few minutes to install and take out! I love them. Very good quality product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect

  • By Harvey from Maitland FL USA on Thursday, January 25, 2018
  • Review: I love this product. This is exactly what I was looking for. It fits in the window perfectly and blocks the sun when you?re flying in the backseat.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would definitely buy this product again

  • By Ron from Cypress TX USA on Thursday, November 17, 2011
  • Pros: Sheilds fit the windows great. No velcro or straps
  • Cons: Can't think of any
  • Review: Sun Shields fit the windows of my Cherokee 6 perfectly and are well marked for the window placement so there is no guessing where or what window each shield goes. They are a great help in protecting the interior of my aircraft.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Fit

  • By Clarke from Littleton CO USA on Tuesday, October 09, 2012
  • Pros:
  • Cons: None
  • Review: High quality and a perfect fit for my PA-28-161. Comes in 2 pieces, one for each side of windscreen.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Cooler and less expensive than a new interior

  • By Bob from Palmdale CA USA on Tuesday, August 25, 2009
  • Pros: Much cooler inside with the shields installed.
  • Cons: A bit bulky when you'd rather carry luggage
  • Review: Sun shields are a definite must for aircraft stored outside here in the desert. No brand of shield will last forever in this sun, but $200 for Kennons every 4-5 years is a minor expense compared to new interiors. Installation is easy but rather than roll them up, I usually just lay them flat on the 172's rear storage shelf. The little retention tabs on the aft window shields slip under the trim easier if you first put a slight bevel on the square edges with a razor blade.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Shelby from Tucson AZ USA on Tuesday, September 22, 2009
  • Pros: keeps the interior of the plane cool, protects the seats
  • Cons: At first was easy to install after awhile they are a little harder to work but I may not be doing it correctly too.
  • Review: I love these shields, I highly recommend them to anyone.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Spencer from Ocala FL USA on Monday, June 18, 2012
  • Review: EXCELLENT
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Kennon Sun Shield for Piper Warrior II - What a Difference!

  • By Alexander from Marana AZ USA on Monday, August 06, 2012
  • Pros: Fast Delivery, Excellent Manufacturing Quality, Perfect Fit, Easy Storage, Light Weight;
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Initially, I thought the price was too high, but after using it for over a month in Southern Arizona, above 100F almost every day, in the glaring sun, I have to admit that it is worth every penny.

    The interior is not just significantly cooler, but also protected from upholstery degrading and people looking to see what may be in the aircraft worth stealing.

    Quality manufacturing, perfect fit, easy storage, light weight, all round protection!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Tom on Monday, August 20, 2007
  • Review: These shields work very well. The interior of my aircraft stays cool even in the 100 degree heat of Sacramento. I had a bit of trouble putting them on the first time - assuming the tabs fit between window and frame. In reality, they fit over the frames, keeping the shields in place.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

product fits to a tee

  • By Harold from Petersburg VA on Tuesday, July 24, 2007
  • Review: The window shields I purchased for my PA28-181 work great they fit in each window without velco and reduce heat greatly in the plane for those out of town trips when the plane is no hangered.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

"Very impressed"

  • By Kimberly from North Palm Beach FL USA on Thursday, October 28, 2010
  • Pros: well made, fit perfect,, keeps a/c very cool inside,
  • Cons: none
  • Review: After unloading our Aztec in the Bahamas for a long weekend I pulled out our Kennon Sun Shield for the first time. The labels on each panel made it easy to install. The shades went in place with ease and stayed in place. Much easier than putting on the old canvas outside cover (and better on the windshield and windows,less scratching with the salt and sand). Returning to the plane, it was just as easy removing the shades and putting them back in the bag, very light and compact, and surprised how cool the inside of plane was.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Definitely a winner

  • By Sue Ann from Pleasanton TX USA on Tuesday, November 25, 2008
  • Pros: Lightweight
  • Cons: Lots of pieces
  • Review: I had no idea it would be a separate shield for each window and they all fit perfectly. We will probably use the front sets mostly, but it's nice to have the option. Thank goodness for the labels for each window!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very cool...in several ways

  • By Suzan from Van Nuys, CA USA on Wednesday, June 17, 2009
  • Pros: Fits windows perfectly & is easy to install and remove. Very effective at keeping the cockpit cool.
  • Cons: A bit bulky to store while we're flying, but worth the slight inconvenience.
  • Review: Easy to use...keeps the 172 cool. I would definitely recommend the Kennon Sun Shield!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect cut

  • By Gary from Kennesaw GA USA on Tuesday, September 05, 2017
  • Review: Absolutely perfect...fits in all the side windows without worry of them falling

    Only issue is the rear window should come with suction cups
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Sun Shield!

  • By Alan C. from Saratoga Springs UT USA on Tuesday, October 17, 2017
  • Pros: Good fit, fair price, fast service
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I bought the Kennon Sun Shield for my Bonanza which has a modified speed-slope windshield. It fit perfectly and provided great protection on a trip where my plane sat outside the protection of a hangar.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fits like a glove!

  • By Michael from Orlando. FL USA on Monday, August 31, 2015
  • Review: Rolls up nice for storage and fits perfectly into airplane. High quality product drops temperature and looks good
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Product

  • By William from Panama City FL USA on Thursday, March 01, 2012
  • Pros: Works as advertised
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Light and easy to install--keeps the sun and the heat on the outside of the plane--It Works
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good fit for old Cherokee 235-B

  • By A Customer from Oakland CA USA on Wednesday, August 14, 2019
  • Pros: Does the job, all screens fit the windows with no gaps. You have to press them into the edges of the window so they actually stay in place.
  • Cons: Had to wrangle the shields a bit to fit in the front windscreen, but was a little easier the second time.
  • Review: I was surprised that, although not a perfect fit due to a few anomalies in the cockpit, the sun shields fit pretty darn well. They stay in place when pressed into the window; each shield is labeled so you know which goes where; the plane was cooler and the avionics were well protected while my plane was on the field. Fairly easy to use, easy to remove, roll up and store in the baggage compartment.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good, not perfect

  • By Brian from Council Bluffs IA USA on Wednesday, September 09, 2015
  • Pros: Good material and sewing,reasonably good fit and nice bag to store them in when you're done using them.
  • Cons: They could have been cut a bit more accurate especially around the vent window on a Bonanza
  • Review: Front windshield sun shield is as close a fit as you will ever get, the rest of the windows were pretty good not perfect but they did stay in place for the 2 days I was away from the plane. This was the first time I used the shields.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good work keeping the sun out

  • By A Customer from New york, new york on Friday, September 02, 2016
  • Pros: Great keeping the cockpit cool from the sun.
  • Cons: I have noticed that the sunshield from the windshield in some parts the sun doesn't get in but you can see like a the light a bit brighter like if it was breaking and penetrating the aluminum layer.
  • Review: Well these covers I ordered them for my Cessna Skyhawk 1974 M and they fitted perfect to the windshield. The copilot door could have a better cut so it can stay in place because it doesn't very well. The same thing with both back baggae area windows. Other windows fitted perfectly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Monday, February 25, 2019
  • Review: Quality product..!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Almost what I expected

  • By A Customer from Castle Rock CO USA on Monday, February 24, 2014
  • Pros: Keeps sun and looky loos out
  • Cons: Back window covers fall out of 172
  • Review: It does what it's supposed to do. It keeps the sun out. Had these in a Lear Jet and they worked perfect, but in a 172 the back way back window covers don't want to stay put.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Product as advertised!

  • By Ronald from Cornelius NC USA on Wednesday, September 17, 2014
  • Pros: Quick response on correcting an issue
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Initial try at windscreen cover was wrong size. Kennon replaced it quickly at no charge. Rest of screens fit well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good one

  • By Arturo from Laredo TX USA on Tuesday, October 28, 2014
  • Pros: works pretty well
  • Cons: none at this time
  • Review: Very good product, the price can be a little lower.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does the job

  • By A Customer from Loomis CA USA on Wednesday, May 13, 2015
  • Pros: Effective in keeping temperature in plane down and preventing sun danage.
  • Cons: Not specifically fitted for a Cessna 182T.
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great, except for the rear window shield

  • By Mandy from Baton Rouge LA USA on Wednesday, June 17, 2009
  • Pros: Works well, Keeps plane cool
  • Cons: Rear shield won't stay in window
  • Review: I think this is a great product. The shields are a little awkward to get in and out at first, but are fine once you get used to them. The shields do a good job of keeping the plane cool. The only problem is that the rear window shield isn't staying anymore. It seems a touch too small for the window and keeps falling out. I will be contacting the company to see if this can be remedied.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

PRETTY MUCH AS ADVERTISED

  • By James Richard Ungar from Truckee, CA on Thursday, August 23, 2007
  • Pros: Works as advertised; easy to install
  • Cons: Not all window sections secure as well as would be ideal
  • Review: THe Kennon Sun Shield was custom made for my Comanche 250 and thus all window covers are cut to comform to the available window space on the aircraft. In general the fit is good and held in place by plastic friction tabs. With six separate sections (two for right and left sides of windshield) all hold in place well, except for the co-pilot window that just doesn't want to seat properly. It does stay put, but it requires some extra maneuvering to get it right. The aircraft spends a lot of time in Central California where the daytime temperatures frequently hit triple digits. The sun shields are excellent and keep the interior cool enough so that you can enter the aircraft in mid-day and still feel comfortable in the closed cockpit space.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Couldn't be any happier with this purchase!

  • By Michael from Torrance CA USA on Tuesday, December 18, 2007
  • Pros: Fit perfectly. High quality sun shade that is light weight.
  • Cons: A little difficult getting the two piece shade in, on the front wind screen.
  • Review: Overall, couldn't be any happier. I parked my C-182 in the Calif desert and when I came back to the A/C, it was surprising cool, what a nice change! The pieces are all marked, so you know where each shade goes for each window. The shade is of high quality material and it works very well. It takes a little bit of time to get all the pieces in but it is worth it when you come back to the A/C and it is cool inside!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Fred A from Sandia Park NM USA on Thursday, April 10, 2008
  • Pros: Good material, good design
  • Cons:
  • Review: Arrived on time and undamaged. Pretty much meets expectations. A little hard to fit in my aircraft windows, until it molds itself to window shapes. Otherwise, seems to work well. Haven't seen anything growing in the aircraft, so must be keeping sunshine out.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Casper J from Fayetteville NC USA on Friday, May 02, 2008
  • Pros: Protection from sunrays and keeping inside cool
  • Cons: Getting them to fit properly.
  • Review: I like that it not only block the harmful sunrays, but blocks visual view of the equipment within the aircraft. The front shields are a little hard to get in. To me that's the small price I'm willing to pay to protect my investment.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product but hard to stay in place on a Cessna 350/400

  • By Greg from Big Pine Key FL USA on Sunday, April 04, 2010
  • Pros: Effectiveness as advertised. Cool and UV protection.
  • Cons: Friction fit.
  • Review: Love the product but the pilot and co-pilot side window panels often do not stay in place. I plan to contact the company in the next week and see what we can do to sort this out. The problem is with the shape of the window sides in the plane. There is almost no area for the edging to grip for the friction fit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice Materials Bad Fit

  • By Bryan from Friendswood TX USA on Friday, June 14, 2019
  • Pros: Materials
  • Cons: They don't fit the windows very well.
  • Review: Materials are of good quality.
    Not the best fit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Dont fit well

  • By Bernard from Saint Barthelemy France Guadeloupe on Wednesday, February 06, 2013
  • Pros: Very efficient sun protection
  • Cons: Do not fit as well as the Old ones
  • Review: I already had Kennon sunshields that fitted well but they were Old and needed to be replaced.
    The new ones do not fit well and they do not stay in place easyly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

They are okay, not more

  • By Peter from Nuertingen BW Germany on Tuesday, August 14, 2012
  • Pros: Fitting well in the Piper Arrow III.
  • Cons: Fitting not that well in the BE33. They are a little bit to large in 3 of 6 windows..
  • Review: After using the Kennon sunshields for 7 years in our Piper Arrow we ordered them now for our new Beech Bonanza F33A. But compared to the older ones they doesn't fit that well into the windows.
    I think all in all they are okay, but with the experience we had we expected more.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.