TOP

Reviews for Jeppesen CR-3 Circular Flight Computer

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

It's great

  • By Gabriel from Niteroi Rio de Janeiro Brazil on Tuesday, April 24, 2012
  • Pros: Quality
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Easy to use, if you know how to use it. International shipping was quick, and it came in perfect condition.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By JO from Pine River MN USA on Tuesday, November 03, 2009
  • Review: Hi! Not quite ready to give helpful comments. Can say for sure that your products put to shame the materials I studied back in 1950 and 1960 to pass all my FAA tests up to and including II (instrument instructor) glider and sea plane. The presentation is overwhealming and may I say beautiful? A map and drawings of approahes or flite plans have always been my favorite art. No, I am not flying presently-I am 82 years old and not quite rich enuf for modern day costs,I got a plane and an instructor for under 50 dollars an hour back then and bought myself an 85 horse Piper Cub to build up time and distance cheaply. But,I still have 20\20 eyesight after cateract surgery,a BP of 125/70.a pulse of 72 and I can ride a bicycle. Keep flying all you guys and yes I will comment on the flite computers. Right now I still like my old E6B because I know it but circular makes better sense and efficiency. JO
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My 2nd CR-3

  • By Ferdinand from Irvine CA USA on Thursday, June 04, 2020
  • Pros: More compact than E6B classic; computes wind problems much faster than with the E6B; cannot scratch the markings; light and easy to carry.
  • Cons: Plastic warps if left in sunshine/inside the car; can scratch the plastic if sand/dust goes between the plastic disks;
  • Review: I was introduced to the CR (circular ruler) computer about 10 years ago by my old instructor - he was carrying a cardboard version in his chest pocket all the time. I got the 4" version, CR-4, and started to use it all the time. (Unfortunately, Jeppesen doesn't produce those anymore.) Because my eye sight is not 20/20 any longer, I was forced to get the larger version, the CR-3.

    I used the CR-3 for over 10 years, and I would still used if if not for me sticking my fingers where they were not supposed to be, and cracking the wind disk in a couple of places around the rivet. It is THAT reliable! and it doesn't need batteries, either. ;-)
    I still use it, but I got a 2nd one for the time when the wind disk will break completely.

    Speaking of ergonomics and work done with it, I find the CR-3 superior to the classic E6B. It does everything the E6B does, and more, in a more compact package that's way easier to carry! And the 4" CR-4 is even easier to carry. I still use it, although I have to squint at the smaller numbers sometimes.

    It is easy to work with, and there is the right amount of friction on the rivet, so the disks do not rotate freely, nor they are stuck, thus needing a lot of force to rotate them. The Chinese knockoff I tried, you would need to be a rock climber or doing pushups on you fingers in order to make the wheels rotate. :-D

    I have two words of advice to give for those looking at the CR computers:

    1. I would advise to stay away from Chinese knock offs. They're poorly made, imprecise, and you feel the wheels scratching against each other, a very annoying feeling. I also find the smoked transparent disk to actually reduce the contrast (thus, readability), rather than improving it. The Jep computer may still be produced in China (what isn't these days?) but there is a definite difference in QA between the actual Jep computer and the Chinese knock off.

    2. I would also advise to stay away from the APR clones (the yellow ones). They put the Mach window in a place that literally takes away all the markings between 20 and 25 on the inner disk...you'll have to guess which tick mark you're using. Stupid design!

    One little thing that annoys me is the temperature coefficients on the true airspeed hairline: one is for standard temperature at sea level, the other for stratosphere. Aside from the fact that they are so close to one another you won't get much difference in your TAS, the question is... who the heck flies in the stratosphere while using a CR-3? However, the APR clone did it again, not only they had a 0.8 Ct (temperature coefficient), they also have a 0.6 Ct. Huh?

    All-in-all, if I would be a student pilot again and had to choose between the E6B classic and the CR-3, I would go with the latter without a second thought.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

The 'Old School' CR Whiz Wheel tech will never die

  • By Old Aeronaut on Monday, December 15, 2014
  • Pros: Considers everything regardless of the aircraft type (high performance and low performance aircraft)
  • Cons: Some fine print - but you get used to it...
  • Review: I learned flight planing with the old Jep Avstar electronic E6-B in Embry-Riddle back in the '80's. When I learned to use the CR Wheel, the Avstar was thrown in to the back of the desk draw and never used again. In my opinion - I don't know why the E6-B was never retired when the CR was introduced... It factors in Compressibility and Ram Rise - which other computers don't - electronic or otherwise, and it's more portable. The 'Wind Side' is just plain stupid-easy. It's nothing more than a 360 cross wind correction chart.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Pablo from Buenos Aires, Argentina on Wednesday, May 12, 2010
  • Pros: Useful in flight and pre-flight
  • Cons: It comes with no user manual
  • Review: It is a really good tool for any pilot. Its a shame that it does not comes with the manual, you have to download from the web.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

ADF intercept solution

  • By Phil Hill from Fairbanks, AK on Wednesday, May 09, 2007
  • Pros: Simple, one-handed operation and no batteries for in-flight use. cr-5 is perfect shirt pocket size.
  • Cons: OK, I have to use reading glasses to see the cr-5 but the cr-3 is 'that much' too big to carry in a pocket.
  • Review: I absolutely love this product! I am currently a student studying for my commercial exam and I've gone to using this computer exclusively instead of the E6-B. I was introduced to this device by my instructor who is a 30 year veteran J-3 cub bush pilot here in Alaska who swears by the cr-5: "Simple one-handed operation for any problem during flight and no batteries needed in extreme cold!"

    As per your suggestion to write to you for additional uses of this computer, I learned how to use it along with the ADF indicator to intercept bearings (there was no ADF examples in the instruction book). The wind side (blue radials on cr-5) is a perfect illustration of one's position in the air as if looking down from above. Used as a compass rose, place the present heading under "TC" and observe the desired magnetic bearing radial to be intercepted. Count 30 degrees from either side of that bearing to get the final intercept bearings either left or right depending on your position from the station, then count back from either one of those by each blue (10 degree)radial to get the number of degrees left or right needed to turn to achieve the desired intercept bearing.

    Example: MH: 035. Desired bearing to intercept: 240. Two headings possible to intercept 240 from left or right @ 30 degrees: 210 or 270. Either turn left (if station is to the left) 125 degrees to intercept, or turn right (if station is to the right)175 degrees to intercept. Perfect solution for study work when an ADF indicator is not handy.

    I know that GPS technology is sweeping the nation, but the FAA is still requiring ADF and VOR knowledge on the tests.

    If my above description doesn't make sense, please write me at my E-mail address provided below. I'm always open to learning more and learning from mistakes(on the ground, lol)!

    Thank you Jeppensen!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent tool

  • By Dave Howard CFI, CFII, MEI from Arizona on Thursday, October 16, 2008
  • Pros: smaller than E6B, easy to read, good quality materials and construction.
  • Cons: too big to carry in a pocket
  • Review: I have used one of these for years, even before I learned to fly! Excellent for figuring trip time, fuel mileage, currency conversions, etc. When I started flying, I bought a metal E6B, but kept coming back to the CR3 because it is more compact and solves all the same problems. Wind solutions, crosswind components, time-speed-distance-fuel, etc. Other handy solutions: Off course correction, feet-per-mile to feet-per-minute, feet-per-minute to match glide-slope, time-to-station/distance-to-station, distance flown on an arc, CG shift, etc. I see student pilot using electronic flight computers, electronic calculators, and old fasnioned long-hand math taking much more time to solve problems that this will solve simply and quickly. All I can say is if you have one of these and know how to use it, your life as a pilot is much easier.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By mooka on Thursday, February 19, 2009
  • Review:

    Awesome.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Vicente from Monroe NY USA on Monday, February 16, 2009
  • Review:

    EXCELLENT PRODUCT

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Best chunk of plastic you'll ever buy!

  • By A Customer from Ontario Canada on Tuesday, June 12, 2012
  • Pros: time tested, easy to use
  • Cons: none at all
  • Review: Nothing but good to say. Easy to use when your bouncing around, easy to read, and NO BATTERIES!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would definitely buy this product again

  • By barry from fayetteville GA USA on Friday, February 19, 2010
  • Review: This is easy to use and very accurate. I teach Aircraft Dispatchers, and this reall gives them a heads up on solving flight planning. Always works and you don't even need a battery
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exactly as presented - well pleased

  • By Charles from Ft Smith AR USA on Thursday, January 29, 2009
  • Pros: Helped my solve problems by the size
  • Cons: non to mention
  • Review: Met my needs and expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

A fundamental piece of equipment, useful as long as there is air to fly in.

  • By Old and not bold pilot from Madison Wi on Monday, June 28, 2021
  • Pros: It's compact, versatile, accurate and easy to use
  • Cons: Don't abuse it by leaving it in the sun.
  • Review: I used the cr-3 in for 25 years in corporate flying, it's useful for flying a cub too. I retired 13 years ago and still have mine, use it 3-4 times a week. This one is probably 20 years old. Keep it in the case and it will stay clean longer, you can wash it with soap and water, carefully dry between the disks and Turtle wax car wax in between the disks, then carefully buffed will keep the whiz in the wheel. It's nicer to use when it moves easily.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Portland Oregon on Friday, August 13, 2004
  • Review: Great flight computer, easy to use and very durable
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.