TOP

FuelHawk Cessna 172 Fuel Gauge

  • 49 Customer Reviews

Reviews for FuelHawk Cessna 172 Fuel Gauge

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ben from Independence KS USA on Monday, January 30, 2012
  • Review: Love it, I use it on every pre-flight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Product !

  • By Rob from Qualicum Beach BC Canada on Wednesday, December 15, 2010
  • Pros: Durable and easy to use
  • Cons: Hard to see the numbers at night
  • Review: Easy to use and accurate. I'm a flight Instructor and purchased this product for my students. We used notched painting sticks till one of my students said that he figured we had enough fuel for the trip when actually we didn't, the stick had been marked incorrectly which startled me. I'll never use a paint mixing stick again. Now I know exactly how much fuel is in the plane at all times to the last drop, and so do my students.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By Don from Everton MO USA on Monday, December 08, 2008
  • Review: One of the biggest problems with aircraft fuel gauges is accuracy. Although a simple idea, it lets the pilot fly with greater confidence in their actual fuel supply.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It works perfect.

  • By Steve from Monticello KY USA on Thursday, June 11, 2009
  • Review: It proved the gauges were off by 2 gallons.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Small price for piece of mind

  • By Ivan from Port Orange FL USA on Monday, July 13, 2009
  • Pros: Cheap, Durable, and easy to use
  • Cons: So far I have no cons to submit.
  • Review: it's a great, easy way to quickly see how many gallons of useful fuel you have in your tanks. It met my expectations and I love it!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Almost perfect

  • By Dave E from Omak WA USA on Wednesday, July 22, 2009
  • Pros: Simple, cheap, easy to use, fool prof
  • Cons: doesn't seal around my thumb as well as I'd like
  • Review: Met expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By nicholas from la mesa CA USA on Friday, July 24, 2009
  • Pros: small and works
  • Cons: none yet
  • Review: Inexpensive, easy to use and accurate.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple & effective

  • By Erick from Pendleton IN USA on Thursday, December 08, 2011
  • Pros: Simple, effective, good value
  • Cons: M
  • Review: This is the second Fuel Hawk fuel gauge I have purchased, the first for a C-150. They work well and are simple. It is very comforting to know EXACTLY how much fuel I have on-board. Highly recommended.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A must have!

  • By Kevin from Pryor OK USA on Friday, December 16, 2011
  • Pros: compact and easy to store,
  • Cons: None
  • Review: No guesswork on your fuel.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Great

  • By John from Hattiesburg MS USA on Tuesday, October 11, 2011
  • Pros: simple. long enough to not be able to fall into the tank
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Simple, easy to read, virtually impossible to get an inaccurate reading.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Cheap Insurance

  • By Sven from Mullica Hill NJ USA on Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  • Pros: Great price and product.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: You can't go wrong with this Dip Stick. The fuel guages are horrible in the old 172's and this Dip Stick is the perfect tool to give you an accurate measurement of the usable fuel in each wing. This will give you peace of mind.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Every GA pilot should have one

  • By Eric P from New Hartford CT USA on Wednesday, June 03, 2015
  • Pros: Light weight, accurate measure, easy to use
  • Cons: Gallon markings can be worn off
  • Review: GA aircraft are notorious for inaccurate fuel gauges, especially Cessnas. This fuel gauge will accurately tell you how much fuel is in your tanks. Don't fly without one. They're a great, no guess fuel reading at preflight. And it's inexpensive.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Simple but effective

  • By Jay from Wheeling, IL (KPWK) on Wednesday, May 30, 2007
  • Pros: So easy to use even a two year old can do it!
  • Cons: No valide excuse anymore for running out of 100LL
  • Review: What can I say; works like it's supposed to. Better then climbing on the wing and looking into the tank. Also better than any other dipstick that I have used. Only downside is that it doesn't work so well when wearing gloves in the winter time. Must move somewhere warm 365 days a year to fully utilize the Fuel Hawk :-)

    Buy one and use it! No more excuses for fuel exhaustion reports from the NTSB!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Simple and handy !

  • By from Netherlands on Wednesday, August 08, 2007
  • Pros: Every pilot should have one.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: A very simple, cheap and reliable tool. Never be in doubt anymore about the amount of fuel.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does The Job Right

  • By Mark on Tuesday, November 10, 2009
  • Pros: Accurate and price worthy.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: The 172/19 model is the pipette you want if you operate a 172 with a total of 38 gallons, both wings combined. I have tested this pipette from several different states of fill and it reports fuel quantities accurately. If you have specific questions about which model to buy, the manufacturer will answer phone calls, very helpful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Peace of Mind!

  • By A Customer from Fort Worth TX USA on Friday, January 25, 2008
  • Pros: Easy to read. No moving parts to wear out.
  • Cons: Haven't found any yet
  • Review: [This review refers to the FuelHawk Cessna 172 Long Range Fuel Gauge version] Ever looked into that deep, dark hole called a fuel tank and wondered just how much fuel is really in there? I always hated that and now there is no more wondering for me. I have a lot more peace of mind knowing exactly how much fuel is in each tank before take-off. I used the "stick method" in the past and all you really know is that you have 5" of fuel but how many gallons is that? How many inches per hour does your airplane use? I didn't know either. The fuel hawk gives you a readout in gallons which is useful information that you can actually use in calculations without having to guess. Great product!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent inexpensive solution fuel measurment

  • By mosaicwolf from Valrico FL USA on Monday, April 28, 2008
  • Review: Great product and very accurate. 172 owners should have one as an important back up or check against those old panel gauges.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By VASILEIOS from MEGARA Greece on Monday, March 01, 2010
  • Review: Very usefull and easy to carry in my pilot bag
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Beware of what the description says.

  • By Joel from Los Angeles CA USA on Friday, July 18, 2008
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Description is not fully defined in the store.
  • Review: Although I think the product itself is great, the online representation doesn't state that this fuel gauge is really for the older 172s. This is for lower capacity fuel tanks. Although there is a "high capacity" version, someone (like me) who doesn't know when Cessna introduced larger fuel tanks as standard will end up with a gauge that cannot accurately measure the fuel in newer 172s.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A good basic tool

  • By Frederic from Penfield NY USA on Monday, April 26, 2010
  • Pros: Allows you to know how much fuel is left
  • Cons:
  • Review: This product replaced an identical item that was misplaced or stolen. I've been using the Fuel Hawk dip stick for 20 years and find it to be fairly accurate and useful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works excellent

  • By mark from fenton MI USA on Monday, July 12, 2010
  • Review: Worked great. More confidence than Cessna fuel gauges.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dustin from Watseka, IL on Monday, November 08, 2010
  • Review: Great product, and quick shipping! I will keep using MyPilotStore.com for the majority of my supplies. Never been dissapointed in a product yet, and shipping is fast! I ordered this fuel gauge, and needed it in about a week, I had it in 4 days with just standard shipping!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

So simple.

  • By Dean from Calgary AB Canada on Monday, June 04, 2012
  • Review: From the first time I used this device I loved it. Easy to use and simple to read. Makes the fuel calculations a breeze.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Joe from East Bend, NC on Tuesday, October 02, 2012
  • Review: Works perfect, I love it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does the job well

  • By DLB from Noblesville IN USA on Wednesday, September 19, 2012
  • Pros: Easy to read. Easy to use.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: It works fine for a C-172N. Simple device for a simple task. Does the job well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple easy to use!

  • By Richard from Albury NSW Australia on Wednesday, May 08, 2013
  • Pros: light
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I would be lost without this product ... light, pratical and easy to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

clean and simple, works well

  • By George B from Neptune NJ USA on Monday, October 28, 2013
  • Pros: works great
  • Cons: cant use it while underway
  • Review: Simple and sturdy
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

exactly what I wanted

  • By Ian from Fairview AB Canada on Monday, September 22, 2014
  • Pros: easy to use
  • Cons: could have a safety strap attached to top
  • Review: It's simple and works precisely
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect product - durable

  • By Christian from Muelheim an der Ruhr NRW Germany on Friday, August 05, 2016
  • Pros: durable
  • Cons: none in general - for metric users you just have to convert gal/ltr
  • Review: Ordered these from Germany for various aircraft types in the fleet. I will place a new order soon for customers. The ones we had from a company in Germany are more glass type. Very rigid. They are even more expensive. Those broke latest after a couple of times of usage when bounced against hard surface.
    Fuelhawks are almost unbreakable compared to those we had before. They are even a little flexible which makes them hard to break by accident.
    Thumbs up!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Sterling IL USA on Monday, October 31, 2016
  • Review: Not much to review, it's light weight and plastic so it won't break easy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fuel Gauge

  • By Bill B. from McClellan CA USA on Monday, December 12, 2016
  • Pros: Easy and fast to use, accurate
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Works very well. Its the best and only gauge you'll need. Seems durable so I expect it will last many years.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By JOHN on Friday, January 26, 2018
  • Review: Simple to use. The ONLY way to know how much fuel you have is to CHECK IT yourself. This does the trick.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Marco from Petersberg Hessen Germany on Friday, August 18, 2017
  • Review: This FuelHawk works great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for our C172

  • By CHARLES from Lenoir City TN USA on Wednesday, September 23, 2015
  • Pros: Perfect match for C172 19 gallon tanks. Very convenient.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Never trust the gages! Our club's C172 has 19 gallon tanks in each wing, so this is perfect for checking fuel levels. Highly recommend. Bonus: These are also made for other aircraft fuel tank configurations, as well. Would highly recommend.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as advertised

  • By C-172 from Durham NC USA on Monday, November 09, 2015
  • Pros: Works well
  • Cons: Have to look quick as the fuel will slowly run out the tube. Needs to be used on ladder or stool
  • Review: Works well. Trust it over the plane's gauges and time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would recommend

  • By Thomas from Benton PA USA on Thursday, March 24, 2016
  • Pros: Works simply
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Clear & concise markings
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By james from Emerson GA USA on Wednesday, March 30, 2016
  • Review: Great product, wouldn't fly without it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exactly what I wanted

  • By Charles from La Marque TX USA on Tuesday, April 19, 2016
  • Pros: Excellent for it's purpose.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I had seen them before and when I purchased a 172 Skyhawk with 38 gallons usable fuel it was exactly what I wanted.So I bought one and use it everytime I fly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ron from Pittsburgh PA USA on Friday, December 30, 2016
  • Pros: Perfect for the job
  • Cons: None. Maybe it needs a case?
  • Review: Easy to use! Essential! And the price is right.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.