TOP

Reviews for The Pilots Free Flight Atlas - USA

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Felipe from Sugar Land TX USA on Friday, January 29, 2010
  • Review: Excellent product. It has a lot of very good information. Much more than I was expecting. I am surprised it's a German company that is making it!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Very Good Map

  • By Dan from Naugatuck CT USA on Monday, January 14, 2008
  • Pros: Easy to read and understand
  • Cons: Sometimes it is fun flipping back and forth from page to page as you fly.
  • Review: It was what I was looking for. It has been a big help while I fly to point out points of interest and to fulfill curiosity. Would buy it again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Elias from Chicago IL USA on Wednesday, October 07, 2009
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

First Class Flight Planning Tool

  • By Francis from Upperville, Virginia, USA on Monday, March 17, 2008
  • Pros: All of the above
  • Cons: Canadian coverage would be very useful for pilots using it in an Alaskan context
  • Review: I do not see how this could be much improved. For its size and weight it has an extraordinary amount of information. For a pilot considering a long trip, perhaps outside his own region, the maps and included data would give a good idea of the resources, IFR or VFR. Then would come the detail work-but this does not claim to be a full chart atlas and would be ten times the size if it were. (I have put this Atlas to work planning a trip to Alaska, and it has done all I needed so far. If only it had more Canadian coverage!)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The new smaller version

  • By A Customer from Rockton IL USA on Monday, November 12, 2012
  • Review: Like the atlas for those places to remember but can't.  It's more compact now and still easy to read.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Atlas for Pilots

  • By A Customer from Janesville WI USA on Wednesday, June 01, 2011
  • Pros: Good interface of air and ground information
  • Cons: Scale omits some info that would be helpful
  • Review: Generally I'm happy with this atlas. Matching the airspace to the "groundspace" is made easy. It is a good size for handling in a cockpit (about like a magazine) and once you get used to the page arrangement easy to navigate between areas of coverage. If asked to be picky I would say that the scale is a bit large and omits some cultural and geographic features that would be nice to see on the charts.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Tom from Colleyville TX USA on Monday, July 26, 2010
  • Pros: Map detail. Logical layout of charts. Aviation chart data.
  • Cons: No military airports. Northern Alaska omitted.
  • Review: Very good Atlas. Layout of pages follow a logical flow and maps are cross-referenced. Four stars because: Didn't list military bases/airports .Northern Alaska (above Anchorage) was omitted.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It meets my needs

  • By Paul from Charlotte NC USA on Monday, March 29, 2010
  • Pros: VOR's, NDB's and intersections named.
  • Cons: Many airfields in US not listed
  • Review: It misses alot of airports especially listings for AFB's and ARB's. It helps me keep track of where I am flying and I am glad I purchased it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from W. St. Paul MN USA on Tuesday, May 10, 2011
  • Review: Excellent Atlas, format takes a short time to get acclimated to.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Iffy

  • By Airtran 737 from FL USA on Monday, March 28, 2011
  • Pros:
  • Cons: No Airways
  • Review: The atlas has airports and major VORs. But no AIRWAYS. It would be a wonderful Pilot Atlas if you knew where you were in relation to an airway. It's kind of a glorified road map right now.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This could use updating

  • By DC9-82 Guy from West Chicago IL USA on Friday, February 20, 2009
  • Pros: Nice display of terrain and aviation info
  • Cons: frequencies are okay but Idents have changed.
  • Review: I would give this product 4 and 1\2 stars if it was 2004 when I purchased my first one. But now it is in need of updating. Vor Identifiers have changed all over the country making this product out of date.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

ok, not great

  • By Jetcruzer from Knoxville TN USA on Tuesday, July 29, 2014
  • Pros: easy to use, basic information
  • Cons: not current
  • Review: Easy to use, good for general information. some airports have incorrect identifiers, and these are not current changes. Example, Inverness FL and Pensacola FL. The Pensacola graphic is still in the wrong place, as the airport moved about 5 years ago
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Lacks Canadian and Northern Alaska coverage

  • By A Customer on Thursday, October 25, 2012
  • Pros: durable, waterproof
  • Cons: lack of coverage
  • Review: Don't get this for flight planning to Alaska or across Canada. The Alaskan coverage stops before Fairbanks, and the Canadian coverage stops just north of Winnipeg.

    Other than that - the raw map is a rough road & topo map with some airports and VORs overlaid on top. Many of the roads don't have highway numbers, and the topo data is very low resolution. It could carry more info without changing the scale.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.