TOP

Lightspeed Zulu 3 Pilot Headset

  • 160 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Lightspeed Zulu 3 Pilot Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:

Absolutely the Best ANR Headset I've Ever Seen

  • By Tonytoga from Houston, Texas on Monday, August 01, 2011
  • Pros: Absolutely the Quietest Headset I've Ever Worn
  • Cons: Cabling is a bit light weight
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2]

    Note: This is the first five star rating I've given any product in a very long time.

    Since becoming a private pilot 12 years ago, I've been pretty sensitive to cockpit noise. I didn't damage my hearing with loud music or machines through the years and I wasn't about to do it in a single engine airplane. So I bought the best, the Bose X ANR headphones. But, while clearly better at noise reduction than the rest (I tried several other brands) at the time, I was never completely satisfied with them. They felt awkward on my head, heavier then they should have. The clam shell design didn't fit quite right and while they were the best at the time, as far as I was concerned, they weren't the final state of the art. I always felt someone could do better, (maybe even Bose, but they never did). It was sort of like waiting for the Ford Excursion to come along while driving a GMC Suburban. Suburban was good.....Excursion is a lot better.

    I was delighted when also ran maker Lightspeed upped its game and introduced the Zulu's in 2009. It was with high hope that I bought a pair and tried them out. BINGO! The Zulu's were so comfortable I forgot I had them on. Audio quality was demonstrably better than Bose (in my opinion)....and the features (including bluetooth technology) were well ahead of the never improved upon Bose X series. And, the Zulu's were a couple of hundred dollars less expensive to boot. In every comparison but one (see below), the Zulu headset was between a bit better and blow 'em away better than the Bose. The result was that one of my two pair of Bose units went to the co-pilot's seat and the other replaced an old David Clark pair for pax in the back of the plane. I happily made Zulu my personal headset.

    Flash forward to 2011 and the new Zulu.2. My co-pilot Bose had lost the right side earpiece audio and I had just sent it to Bose for a $185.00 (an outrageous price) re-manufacture when the cabling on my Zulu developed an intermittent short in the mic cable at the control unit. Off it went to Lightspeed to be fixed so now I'm down to one pair of Bose. I was concerned the Zulu repair would take a couple of weeks and, spoiled to the Zulu, I looked for options. I discovered the Zulu.2's where shipping so I decided to add a new Zulu.2 to my flight deck. It was sold as having studio quality mic sound and even better noise canceling so how could I go wrong?

    Having had the new Zulu.2's for a couple of weeks, now, here are my personal opinions:

    Compared to the original Zulu (which beat Bose handily), the mic quality of the Z.2 is not noticeably better, at least not inside my hearing. But look out for the noise canceling! That's where everything changed.....again. These phones are spooky quiet(!) to the point of dramatically changing the engine audio signature from inside the pilot's seat. I actually had to reacquaint myself with the sound signature of the engine with these headphones on. If I can't hear the engine running, is it running? It is truly amazing how quiet these phones are in the ANR mode. And with the wraparound sound feature....ATC (or anything else you're hearing with them) is literally inside your head. The sound doesn't seem to be coming from the phones, it seems to just occur inside your head, not an external sound. Comparing the three: the Bose X, the original Zulu and the new Zulu.2, the Zulu.2 is easily the clear cut winner. I couldn't ask for better.

    A decade ago, Bose reinvented the game when they built a wonderful headset with the Series X. But then they sat on an unchallenged lead for years. Their customer service is rude and demanding (getting them to accept my bad pair for repair required me doing a series of tests to prove to them my diagnosis of the problem was correct before they would accept them for a retrofit that cost nearly 20% of the retail price of a new set) and by comparison to the Zulu's, the X's are overpriced by about 25% from the jump. Sorry, even at this level, game over in my opinion.

    I love to see smug leaders knocked off their perches and that's exactly what Lightspeed has done to Bose with the Zulu/Zulu.2. When you Google "best selling ANR headset" now, the response is: "Lightspeed Zulu." It's just a better product.

    The ONLY complaint I have with the Zulu is that the cabling is lighter weight compared to that of the Bose. As a result, it often wraps around itself (which doesn't happen with the Bose) and obviously does not hold up as well under daily use. The mic short in my two year old pair was a direct result of the light weight cabling becoming tangled with itself through daily use (I commute 50 miles daily to my office in my Saratoga, so they get used just about every day).

    The good news here is that Lightspeed was very friendly and easily arranged an RA for a fix of the problem. They turned the unit around in less than three days and paid for overnight shipping back to me. They even threw in a new pair of ear pads at no extra cost. Couldn't have been happier with their customer service. The Bose guys where jerks by comparison (Lightspeed: laid back dudes versus smug "it's your problem yankees" at Bose)....just my experience in having the opportunity to compare Bose customer service with Lightspeed at the same time.

    Incidentally, even with the audio improvements, the original Zulu is a superb choice, especially in light of the fact that with the new Zulu.2 on the market, I see that the original Zulu's are now selling in lots of places for $740.00, a $160.00 (27%) discount from its original price. If price is a very important consideration, spring for the original Zulu (the Zulu.2 has assumed the $900 price point of the originals). The original Zulu is a wonderful headset....and a real bargain at the price.

    In fact, with a pair of out-of-the-factory re-manufactured BOSE headsets, I thought I might throw them on e-Bay and get enough for them to make buying another set of original Zulu's a super bargain. No dice. Bids on the Bose units on e-Bay were all around $450 bucks for even re-manufactured units (thus, the market works). Oh well...I just threw the "new" BOSE unit in the back with the other pair. So now my passengers have BOSE quality at their disposal. The repaired original Zulu's are now reserved for the co-pilot side up front. The Z.2's (you saw use of that term here first) are mine.

    And for those who might think it....no, I don't work for Lightspeed.

    I wouldn't give up my Garmin 496 for just any old pretender and now I feel the same way about my Zulu.2's.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 36 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great sound quality and extremely comfortable.

  • By Tom from Pleasanton CA USA on Monday, May 01, 2017
  • Pros: Price, comfort and sound quality
  • Cons: Cord length.
  • Review: I purchased the Zulu 3 after I tried out the Bose A20 headset. I loved the sound quality and noise canceling features, however, I found the Bose ear pieces a bit uncomfortable. I read that the light speed had increased the size of theirs with the new Zulu 3. I purchased based on this premise and found no real difference in the Zulu's sound quality or noise canceling ability. I find that at least for me, the comfort of the headset was everything they advertised. My only con is I would like the jack cord a little longer. I fly a 172 with the jacks near the armrest and like to put the controller in the side pocket to keep it out of the way and off the floor. An extra 6" on both side of the controller would make a world of difference.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 23 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent headset!

  • By Richard from Beaumont TX USA on Friday, April 06, 2012
  • Pros: Lightweight, comfortable, doesn't pinch, excellent ANR
  • Cons: none
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] This headset is very lightweight and comfortable. I have been using the David Clark passive headsets for years and didn't think it was worth the money to upgrade to ANR headset. I tried a friend's Bose A20 and X11. They were both very good ANR but not quite as comfortable as the Lightspeed Zulu2.

    Although I liked the ANR of Bose, I found that the Lightspeed sounded better at reducing the lower frequency noises of the engine, as well as some of the higher pitches.

    Now that I have used the Lightspeed ANR, it is difficult to go back to passive headsets. I can definitely hear ATC and other traffic much better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 17 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

if you dont like to suck, buy these

  • By devin from windsor CA USA on Tuesday, August 09, 2011
  • Pros: the best your money can buy
  • Cons: they dont taste like apples
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] OK, so I typically live by a few simple rules. One of those rules is when buying electronics or tools, buy the absolute best thing you can afford. If that means saving up for a couple months to get the best, it ALWAYS works to your benefit.

    In my case, I did my research, tried the first generation Zulus and then decided that my money was going to the best I could afford... the NEW Zulu's. Easily the smartest purchase I have made this decade.

    Many of the other reviews discuss in depth the differences between the Bose A20 and the Lightspeed's. The only thing I would add is... just like an Apple person should own an iPhone, not an Android, a Bose person should get the Bose.

    That being said, the Zulu's are the most comfortable, clear, accurate, reliable, comfortable, comfortable headset I have ever worn. The warranty is great, the quality is unmatched (even in the Bose), and they look sharp.

    Some people don't like that you cannot rotate the mic for right/left positioning. I say, I don't like that oranges dont taste like apples, or that I can't use a Ferrari as a boat, or fly a plane to the sun, or... you get my point. If not, I will be more clear. Some things are just not that important in life. Give me quality before you give me gadgety.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Lightspeed Zulu.2 Headset-Fixed Wing

  • By Gregory from Edmond OK USA on Wednesday, October 10, 2012
  • Pros: More comfortable, less expensive, blue tooth enabled, more durable case
  • Cons: none
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I am thrilled with the headset. My first headset I purchased was a Bose A20 non blue tooth because I heard they were the best. I have since bought 3 Lightspeed zulu.2 blue tooth headsets. They are more comfortable on your ears for long flights, easy to work blue tooth and less expensive. I flew from Oklahoma City to Espanola, New Mexico to elk hunt and returned home yesterday. I used the Bose A20 on the way out and the Zulu.2 on the way back just to make sure the more expensive Bose A20 wasn't better and its not.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.

Nice, but I liked A20 better

  • By A Customer on Friday, June 03, 2011
  • Pros: Comfortable, cheaper than Bose
  • Cons: If your head is kinda small, this might be not work well.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Good headset, nothing to complain about really. The ear cups seem to run a bit warm.

    The noise cancelling is just a tad short of Bose A20. A20 is very very quiet.

    However, audio quality, stereo in particular, seemed better than the Bose A20.  More importantly, it didn't fit me well -- too big for my head I suppose. Bose fit me better and doesn't wobble around.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Overall, very satisfied.

  • By Dave from Westminster CO USA on Thursday, March 03, 2016
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I'm a new student and have only used this headset for 11 hours. Overall it's fantastic. Being new to aviation I can't compare it to other brands or models but I can say that everything so far has been near perfect. Comfort, design, construction, sound quality, sound cancelling... They're all 10's.

    If I were on the design team and were looking for improvements for the next model I'd consider a couple things. 1. Sometimes I wish it had control on the earcup. I rarely mess with volume but I forget to turn the sound cancelling on sometimes. It's not a big deal but it would be nice not to need to dig in the pocket to pull out the control box. 2. I'd like a little cover for the back side of the mic. When the vents are blowing in my face it activates the mic and I have to find a perfect spot to get air but without it hitting the mic. These are super trivial but when you're dealing with high end equipment sometimes all you can do is split hairs.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.

Amazing Customer Service

  • By Michael from Bouler, CO on Monday, April 13, 2015
  • Pros: Customer Service
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I purchased two of the headsets about 5 years ago. Shortly after purchasing the headsets, my wife left hers in the plane in Scottsdale, AZ. The control unit melted and we called Lightspeed to see about a repair. We explained it was our fault, but they covered the repair under warranty.

    I stopped flying for about a year and just started back up again. When I pulled out my headset, I discovered the insulation on the cord was badly damaged. I emailed Lightspeed and they covered the repair under warranty - after 5 years.

    I will only ever buy Lightspeed headsets after these two experiences.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A whole nuther level of cockpit Comfort & Performance

  • By Gene from Pearl River LA USA on Tuesday, September 15, 2015
  • Pros: The cockpit environment is so much quieter and comfortable. I love these things !!
  • Cons: None !!
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Very comfortable, light weight, unexpected clarity, Bluetooth is awesome. I didn't realize I'd be able to easily listen to Itunes from my IPAD while using Foreflight. The telephone connection is super clear and people can't even tell I am in an airplane. The headset comes with connection cables needed. The mute for voice priority is so smooth, no hissing or popping. My first use I actually turned the headset off because I couldn't hear the engine well enough. After flying with the Zulu2 I am so much more relaxed because I don't listen to the engine. The aircraft cockpit environment is so much more habitable and comfortable. I bought a unit for my wife right away.... these are terrific !!!!

    The fit is great and even comfortable with my glasses on. I also like that they work even if the batteries fail.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent quality with great features

  • By A Customer from New Zealand on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
  • Pros: Excellent sound quality. Bluetooth. Flightlink. Comfort. Auto off.
  • Cons: No significant Cons
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] After buying Sennheiser HMEC250 and finding them to be a poor fit I decided to go a step up to the Zulu 2s and was not disappointed.
    They are feature rich, have excellent quality sound and are very comfortable.

    To be very picky- If I could change anything I would make the tension a little stronger (clamping strength) and the cables thicker or of the coil type as they tend to get in the way a bit. Also the control unit could be located closer to the headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.

Best Headest EVER!

  • By Caleb from Atlanta, Georgia on Friday, October 12, 2012
  • Pros: Very comfortable, very light, extremely quiet, FlightLink app, Still quiet and comfortable with glasses
  • Cons: You'll now hate wearing any other headset
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] If your questioning about a headset, look no further than the Zulu.2! I bought mine a few months ago, and I have loved it since day one. I no longer find my head "burning" after an hour of flight like my old headset- even after 7 hours of constant use! It is also the quietest I've ever heard- I no longer have to blast the volume to hear, and the noise doesn't even bother me, even in the loudest planes.

    The FlightLink app is a MUST for any all pilots that are receiving flight instruction- especially for the instrument rating. It has a handy scratchpad for quick use, and you can quickly switch between apps (Foreflight, Garmin, etc) with the red banner at the top that alerts that you are recording and the timer. The app is very stable, and has all the features, but simplicity needed. Very good app to listen to what your instructor had to say, or what you need to fix with ATC calls. I really enjoy FlightLink.

    I was stuck between Bose A20, Sennheiser S1, and Zulu.2. The Zulu.2 out beats them all in my opinion. The Bose just fits on your ears and squeezes, while the Zulu actually covers them, and provides AMAZING noise canceling- best I have heard. Out of the many top-notch headsets I've had, the Zulu.2 is by far my favorite in many areas. I wore the Bose and Zulu for many hours before I purchased, along with many other headsets. I wouldn't even consider another headset- I'm attached now!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice headset

  • By Hans from Scottsdale AZ USA on Tuesday, November 10, 2015
  • Pros: comfort, quiet, long battery life, not bad passive
  • Cons: Seems it worth $850 for me, not $900(which I paid)... So now it's absolutely good choice.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Crystal clear comm, quiet like in engine loss em'cy.
    Control box is a little heavy when hang in the air, but you can use wireclip(included) and put somewhere. Control box seems not that big, compared to that of other high end ANR headsets.
    Depending what kind of battery you use, this headset performs kinda differently. I recommend use 2x 1.5v lithium batts than rechargeable 1.2v Nimh ones. Lower voltage than 3v actually degrades ANR proportionally.
    Bluetooth works well. Flightlink voice record feature is a little tricky for me to use, but voice quality is very good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What a difference!

  • By Erik from Woodland Hills CA USA on Wednesday, March 28, 2012
  • Pros: Lightweight, Great Sound Attenuation, Very comfortable
  • Cons: Price (but hey, I've only got one set of ears)
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Very well constructed, even opening the packaging was a delight.

    My wife and I are both going through PPT together and often have one of us flying while the other is in the back seat. We bought one Zulu.2 and one cheaper Softcomm passive headset thinking that whoever was flying would use the Zulu and the one in the back would use the passive set.

    While we're perfectly happy with the Softcomm's given the money we paid for them, they simply can't compare to the Zulu's ANR. We both notice a huge difference in cabin ambient noise between the two. After 1.5 hours with the passive set, I come out of the plane with a dull headache & physically tired. The Zulu's are a dream. The engine drone and air noise are all but unnoticeable while sound changes, like pitch changes from throttling up or back or the stall horn sounding, are clearly audible.

    We were going to wait to buy the second set of Zulu's, but we love them so much we're buying now.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simply the BEST

  • By Christian from Basel BS Switzerland on Tuesday, January 24, 2012
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I have been using a Bose for year and I must say that the ZULU is indeed the best all around Headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Upgrade

  • By Mark from international on Tuesday, May 22, 2012
  • Pros: ANR response
  • Cons: coiled cord
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] [Helicopter Model]  I have been using a Dave Clark ANR from about 10 years ago, so it was time for an upgrade. The ANR in the Z-2 is quite an improvement. Whether it's because of improvements in ANR technology or the Lightspeed's specific algorithms for the ANR process, it's wonderful.

    The Bluetooth range is excellent also, it stays paired up to about 10 meters.

    The sound quality for music is also very good.

    My only complaint (and this applies to most Helicopter headsets) is there is no option for a straight cord. For some reason manufacturers think all helicopter headsets need coiled cords, while most airplane ones are straight. I prefer the straight one because it doesn't bunch up under the seat belt when getting in and out of the aircraft.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Why I waited

  • By Jim from Sarasota FL USA on Tuesday, October 16, 2012
  • Pros: Unbelievably quiet, comfortable and easy to use, crisp, clear communications
  • Cons: the regular price is a tad high
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I waited because I simply didn't know any better would be one excuse. The simple fact is that I had a DC ENC headset and I thought it was really OK. I even tried headsets at some of the trade shows and thought, I don't really hear enough to justify the expense although some of the whistles and bells would be nice to have. I was not impressed with the Bose A20 due to the fact that several of the folks that I have flown with wanted to land when their batteries gave out. I also was not a fan of the clam-shell. The right time to make a decision finally came when my DC started having intermittent send and receive issues and the Zulu 2 went on sale. I bit the bullet, made my purchase from Mypilotstore to take advantage of the sale and free shipping. I was shocked at the difference in headset performance and now kick myself for not having made the switch sooner. The Z2 is quiet beyond belief, is crisp and clear and very comfortable to wear. I wear baseball hats to fly when not flying where a helmet is needed and the Z2 has a gap in the head piece cushions so that metal button on the hats don't indent your head. The whistles and bells? unbelievable- the bluetooth is awesome, the controls are simple, set em and forget em. Why I waited? I can say it was because I really did not know what I was missing! If there was anything I would like to have seen Lightspeed do differently, it would have been to use one of the dip switch settings to change the auto shutoff from time after no noise to just a timed shutoff for those of us parked on a ramp with open doors for awhile.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would recommend this headset to anyone

  • By Andreas from Adelaide SA Australia on Wednesday, August 15, 2012
  • Pros: Everything about it, comfort, lightweight and no pressure around the head
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I have tried both the Bose A20 and the ZULU 2 and would go the Zulu 2 over the Bose any day of the week. Fits well around the head, lightweight comfortable, easy to use and hard carry case provides great protection
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset!

  • By Antonio from Singapore on Friday, February 01, 2013
  • Pros:
  • Cons: A little bigger and chunkier than the Bose.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] This is a great headset. Very good noise cancelling ability and voice comms are very clear... I have used the Bose as well and I think the Zulu is a better deal, value for money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best bang for my bucks

  • By A Customer from SYDNEY NSW Australia on Tuesday, June 11, 2013
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Ear seals do need replacing after constant use - about 300 hrs
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] This is my second purchase of this great headset. After considering all those available at the top end of the market I didn't hesitate to purchase again. My previous set required repair which were returned and promptly completed without any issues. Great customer support convinced me to buy again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

would buy again

  • By joseph from Wolcott CT USA on Monday, August 31, 2015
  • Pros: noise cancelling, comfortable, bluetooth
  • Cons: none
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Great product, even better customer service.  Don't hesitate to purchase this headset from this company.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better than the Boze A20

  • By David from Peoria AZ USA on Wednesday, January 13, 2016
  • Pros: Quality construction, good fit and comfort
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Solidly built and comfortable to wear, the Lightspeed allows just enough sound to hear the engines in a twin. The Boze works well in a single, but seems too quiet for flying twins. My Boze A20 has been relegated to the right seat of my Seneca II.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great headset

  • By Dave from East Fremantle WA Australia on Wednesday, March 18, 2015
  • Pros: comfortable, effective.
  • Cons: slightly large
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Last headset was a DC. This lightspeed is amazing I wish I bought it years ago. I can do 3.5 hours navs without discomfort
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.

All my pilot friends own one.

  • By Jesse - L Bird Pilot from San Antonio, Texas on Thursday, August 06, 2015
  • Pros: Good price, awesome ANR, clear, and most of all, very comfortable
  • Cons: None Noted
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I borrowed a set from a friend and was totally amazed. It was very comfortable, awesome noise reduction, and the clarity was just unbelievable. I had also tried the Bose A20, but for the price, this set beats everything else out in the market. I plan on buying two - one for my wife, and one for me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset!

  • By Johnny b from Villa Hills KY USA on Sunday, November 09, 2014
  • Pros: Excellent noise reduction/product quality!
  • Cons: None rom my experience.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] This is my second LightSPEED Zulu.2 (older one is now my backup) and I have been very happy with it. I use this headset while flying 2-6 legs a day in the CRJ series of aircraft and it is perfect. A very durable design, I switched over from the Bose X headset which was good but kept on breaking (plastic yoke that held ear cups)The new Bose design is better than the series X but I'm sold on the Zulu! Still a more durable design for every day use. While wearing sunglasses you might have to tilt the Zulu slightly back on your head to maintain the seal around your head but NOT a issue. Great service from Mypilotstore on the trade in on my Bose X, couldn't be happier!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love it!

  • By A Customer from Sammamish WA USA on Saturday, July 20, 2013
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Comfortable & effective.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I love the clear sound.

  • By jerry from hinckley OH USA on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
  • Pros: Louder then old set.
  • Cons: none yet.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I expected and received what I got.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

So far do good

  • By Jason from Locust NC USA on Monday, June 17, 2013
  • Pros: Very vomfortable
  • Cons: Expensive
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] First headset I bought on recommendation of my instructor and have been pleased. Don't lnow what else you could ask for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Headset,Good PNR, Great ANR (Helicopter usage,B407)

  • By B407 Pilot from Mexico on Monday, December 03, 2012
  • Pros: Comfortable, clear crisp sound, bluetooth ANR and PNR
  • Cons: Haven't found any, pricey ??? (hearing aids cost more)
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I am very pleased with the Zulu.2, ATC and intercom communications are as clear as they can be. Bluetooth works perfect, Sound quality is excellent. And the best part is that you have no problem hearing and distinguishing those important sounds ( Turbine,Rotor,Alarms..etc.) You fly way more comfortable, and your workload seems lower without all the noise. Your hearing feels protected.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Silent and comfortable; Bose matched at less money

  • By Matthias from Ueken AG Switzerland on Wednesday, November 14, 2012
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Just a perfect ANR headset. I am an aviation professional an I got what i expected.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome headset!

  • By Doc Mike P from SOUTH PASADENA CA USA on Wednesday, October 17, 2012
  • Pros: Noise attenuation & Bluetooth
  • Cons: None so far. :)
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Excellent headset. I fly in noisy single piston aircraft (Diamond DA40) & the active noise attenuation was amazing. Matched that of the Bose A20's but simply fit me better (also fit better than the new Sennheiser S1). All great headsets but the Zulu 2's fit better. The Bluetooth works seamlessly & the FlightLink app for the iPad & iPhone is really cool for writing ATC clearances & verifying communications from ATC.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very very good

  • By Tyler from Grand Forks ND USA on Thursday, August 23, 2012
  • Pros: Anr, feel, looks
  • Cons: Mike seems to go only on the left side. You can't bend it to the other side.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I love these things. Had a old pair of dc and these just blow them out of the water. I've tried the Bose A20s and I still like the Zulu 2 better. It looks better. The feeling on the head is different than the a20. The a 20s have more stiff ear muff things. Meaning it sits more than sucks to the ear. The Zulu mush more and provide better grip and noise canceling. It comes down to pref and price. The Zulu 2 is cheaper and has bluetooth rather than the a20 without Bluetooth that costs 50 bucks more and you get less.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Bit pricey, but perform awesome

  • By A Customer from Oklahoma on Thursday, March 15, 2012
  • Pros: Super quiet, crystal clear radio work
  • Cons: Work poor with dead battery, no warning on low battery
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I bought this headset because of the 60 day guarantee and the fact that I don't want to lose any more hearing. I am very impressed by the noise cancellation. I have only used about 4 different headsets, but these are noticeably quieter, even compared to other high-quality, noise-cancelling sets. First time I flew with them I was pretty amazed. They are very light and comfortable even after hours of flying. Seems like my batteries lasted for about 10 hours of flying. But they went dead during my check ride! They don't perform well with dead batteries, but they still work. You will have no aural warning the batteries are going dead, until they're dead.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Peter from Moree NSW Australia on Thursday, March 01, 2012
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Works great,I dissmantled it and installed it into my Alpha Helmet.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great!

  • By A Customer from THE WOODLANDS TX USA on Saturday, March 03, 2012
  • Pros: Comfortable. Clear. Quiet.
  • Cons: None so far.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] No complaints about the headset. Perfect so far.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very nice, easy to use.

  • By Kathy from Rockville IN USA on Tuesday, January 31, 2012
  • Pros: very quite and the blue tooth and music options are great
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] My new Lightspeed headset is eveything that I had hoped for the sound is perfect and they are very comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

best performance ever

  • By Doron from Givat Shmuel Israel on Monday, October 03, 2011
  • Pros: light, quit, convenient
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Light and convenient yet does the job perfectly alright - true silencer.
    I have the ZULU 1 for quite some time. Just purchased a 2nd headset - ZULU 2. Can't say I feel any difference but both do gr8 job.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Loud and Clear and Comfortable

  • By Nick from Bayview ID USA on Monday, May 20, 2013
  • Pros: Great ANR, comfortable, cheaper than competitors of similar value
  • Cons: cost, cord tangles easily
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Awesome headset! Very comfortable. Like the bluetooth connectivity and the precise ANR. Took a little getting use to how quiet the cockpit is now, after switching from the old DC headset. Love the hardshell case. I like the slender straight cord once I'm in the pilot seat. Although, it can tangle easily when removing the headset from the case. All in all, great value for the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Wanted the best and think I have them.

  • By Alan from Kent WA USA on Monday, August 13, 2012
  • Pros: Cuts all of the low noise sounds out, very comfortable. Great controls
  • Cons: Case could be larger. Allows the 'on' button to be pressed when sotring the headset.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Comfort and noise cancelling are excellent. In addition the auto shutoff has save me a lot of batteries in that I inadvertently turn it on at times when putting it away in its case.

    Used the Blue Tooth with my phone and it works well but haven't used it while flying.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very clean audio and comfort. I recommend Lightspeed

  • By Jason from Las Vegas NV USA on Tuesday, August 07, 2012
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] The Zulu lightspeed wears comfortably. The case is professional in appearance and when my buddy and I swapped his Bose for my Lightspeed, there was no notable difference - and for nearly $200. less.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very pleased

  • By Rick from Placerville CA USA on Wednesday, August 09, 2017
  • Pros: Effective ANR, Lightweight, Auto shut-off, BlueTooth integration.
  • Cons: Pricey but competetive with others with same capabilities.
  • Review:

    New flexible cord works as well as the Noise Reduction - Very Effective. The Bluetooth/Cell phone connection is amazing and should please my wife next time she flies with me.

    Ear cups fit over my hearing aids and glasses comfortably.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would recommend this headset to any1

  • By Reymond from Fort Pierce FL USA on Wednesday, November 07, 2012
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Best headset ever! I had the David Clark but this is the best. I would choose this over the Bose A20 anytime. ANR works perfect, ATC is loud and clear and the feeling with it on is amazing
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

amazing headsets

  • By Diego from Brooklyn NY USA on Monday, June 23, 2014
  • Pros: noise cancellation. bluetooth. and comfortable headsets
  • Cons: a little problem when I use sunglasses with them but is not the big deal.....
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I think these are the best headset in aviation the noise cancellation works excellent. I tried in my first flight and I feel very comfortable with them every communication is clear. I am really happy for having bought the zulu 2. I'd recommend to every pilot. is the best choice and these arent too expensive like boseA20.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

very good!!! 100% happy with the product.

  • By Bruno from Honolulu HI USA on Tuesday, April 09, 2013
  • Pros: great bluetooth, superb noise cancelling
  • Cons: size (could fit smaller heads)
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I am very happy with the zulu.2, it works great!!!
    I have a small to average head and the only thing is that it could get smaller to fit better anyone with small head. I use mine in the smallest possible setting and it is just fine, could be just a little smaller.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

quiet fabulous

  • By david from israel on Tuesday, February 05, 2013
  • Pros: excellent sound and comfort
  • Cons: none
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Beyond my expectations!
    Excellent sound.
    Very comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset

  • By Casey from Claremore OK USA on Monday, March 03, 2014
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Great headset. As good if not better than the Bose headset. I currently have 2 sets and they work perfectly. The fit is very nice, light. I regularly wear these on 2+ hour flights and never get tired of it or feel that the clamping force is to great. Its just right.

    I highly recommend this headset to new pilots as well as seasoned.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The only headset you'll ever need.

  • By Clifferd from Prescott Valley AZ USA on Monday, March 03, 2014
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Above and beyond what I expected in a headset. Light, comfortable and block outside noise really well. After a while you forget you have them on. Didn't want to start with any other headset and then feel obligated to upgrade after a year or two. I'm glad I made the right choice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Value

  • By A Customer from Seattle, WA on Friday, September 23, 2016
  • Pros: Comfortable, affordable value
  • Cons: Large
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I bought this headset after my first Solo and have now used it for about 30 hours of flying.
    It's a great headset, the noise cancellation works very well and it's comfortable to wear for hours.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

works great. Headband pad is too small.

  • By DC from Fayetteville AR USA on Tuesday, April 28, 2015
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Like everything except the headband causes two hot spots. Needs a nicer pad that is one larger piece instead of 2 smaller ones. Bose A20 is more comfortable. I can dear this one OK though and keep the extra dollars Bose costs.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Bought 2nd set

  • By Ed from Mukilteo WA USA on Wednesday, March 30, 2016
  • Pros: Clarity, comfort
  • Cons: Price
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] My wife bought me a pair and I liked them so much I bought her a pair. The clarity is unbelievable
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Happy with My Purchase

  • By Jeff from Racine WI USA on Monday, July 25, 2016
  • Pros: Excellent noise reduction. Comfortable.
  • Cons: Always carry an extra pair of AA batteries. Wish the carry case had a slat bottom on the hinged side so I could sit it upright in my closet between flights.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Good quality product. Excellent noise reduction. Always carry an extra set of AA batteries.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dennis from Moscow ID USA on Wednesday, August 19, 2015
  • Pros: Good noise canceling
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I was amazed at the noise canceling effectiveness. Even waring the headset in a noisy enviroment allowed me to understand conversation, without being plugged into the aircraft, of a person standing 10 ft from me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just bought my second set

  • By Stuart from Port Elizabeth Easter Cape South Africa on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Awesome ANR, crystal clear and really comfortable even after extended use. A instructor friend ahs a set and they have never given a moments trouble in extensive hours of use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very pleased.

  • By William from Houston TX USA on Tuesday, November 25, 2014
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] It works well, fits well. No problems.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By David from Cypress TX USA on Wednesday, November 12, 2014
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I would buy this product again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Highly recommend them

  • By Gerald from Fredericksburg VA USA on Monday, May 20, 2013
  • Pros: I would buy a future product from lightspeed
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] They work great.  Bluetooth is excellent
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Would Recommend Over Bose

  • By Anastasia from Scottsdale AZ USA on Tuesday, May 08, 2018
  • Pros: Noise Cancelling, Bluetooth Connection, 7 Year Warranty
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I love this product very clear noise cancelling and very helpful for the new pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best set I have ever used

  • By Jim from La Quinta CA USA on Tuesday, April 23, 2013
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Student pilot and I have used all brands and styles it seems, these are incredibly comfortable, the noise canceling is excellent. Haven't tried the blue tooth but will soon enough.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By navion driver from Evansville WY USA on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] This is my second set of lighspeeds, I passed my old set down to my passenger. I've been using these headsets for about five years now with no complaints
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent product

  • By Timothy from Nampa ID USA on Friday, April 04, 2014
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Lightweight, comfortable, great sound quality!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice Headset

  • By bigredpilot from Lake Arrowhead CA USA on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
  • Pros: Nice fit, comfortable.
  • Cons: A bit heavy
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Met my expectations. Very comfortable, excellent noise canceling. I'm sure I'll get many years of good use out of this headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Highly Recommended!

  • By TJLP from Saint Anthony ID USA on Wednesday, August 01, 2012
  • Pros: Great Noise Cancellation, Comfortable, lots of Great Features
  • Cons: None really, they are a bit on the heavy side...but not very noticeable
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Great Headset, used to replace older David Clark. Very comfortable, and noise reduction system works wonderfully. I haven't owned them for very long, but I have not noticed any problems with battery life etc. The Bluetooth feature works great as well!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Stephen from Cambridge WI USA on Monday, July 09, 2012
  • Pros: Comfort Quality of communications if busy airspace is excellent.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] The Zula 2 in the cockpit environment is a pleasure to wear. The real test is how they perform, re sound quality, in busy airspace, and I have no excuses should I miss a call from ATC or other pilots. My green DC headphones will now be enjoyed by passengers.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exellent Product

  • By Will from Carefree AZ USA on Tuesday, September 11, 2012
  • Pros: Its active noise supression is excellent. Voice clerity excellent. I plug my cell phone and XM from a Garmin 496 in at times, with good results. It's comfortable or long flights.
  • Cons: It's expensive.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I've been a satisfied Zulu user for several years and recently upgraded to the Zulu 2 based on reviews in the leterature. The Zulu 2 lives up to its excellent reputation ad my expectations completely.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Dramatic improvement

  • By David from Whanganui Manawatu New Zealand on Monday, June 18, 2012
  • Pros: Large reduction in perceived noise and clear communication.
  • Cons: Battery container
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] More than met my expectations.
    Very comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

1000% BETTER THAN EXPECTED!!!!

  • By SMALIDEN2 from Columbia MS USA on Tuesday, October 10, 2017
  • Pros: I LOVE THE BLUETOOTH AND THE CORD CLIPS THAT KEEP IT IN YOUR LAP.
  • Cons: NONE YET!
  • Review: TRUE STORY! THE FIRST TIME I USED THE ZULU 3 HEADSET I WAS ACUALLY PRETTY UPSET! I COULDN'T HEAR ANYTHING AND I KNEW THE DANG THING WAS BROKEN RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX. THATS WHEN I SAID OUT LOUD WHAT THE HELL, AND REALIZED THE HEADSET WAS ON AND WORKING THE ENTIRE TIME! SO I CALLED THE FBO FOR A RADIO CHECK AND WALAAA! THE ZULU 3 IS WAY BETTER THAN I EXPECTED, AFTER USING LOW END HEADSETS THIS THING BLOWS THE COMPETITION AWAY.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The comfort is as good as it gets as far as I am concerned.

  • By Rex from Lago Vista TX USA on Tuesday, April 18, 2017
  • Review: I love the new cable type wiring connector.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excelent Sound quality and noise suppresion

  • By Ted from Norwalk IA USA on Tuesday, July 05, 2011
  • Pros: Sound quality and noise suppresion excellent
  • Cons: A bit heavy.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I really enjoy the clear sound and noise suppression.
    I found the headset sliding around when it was hot while sweating.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Lightspeed Zulu

  • By Dennis from San Angelo TX USA on Monday, June 13, 2011
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Great comfort and quiet headset. Bluetooth works great. Overall I'm very impressed!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product...

  • By John A. from Trinidad CO USA on Wednesday, December 07, 2011
  • Pros:
  • Cons: The microphone cover falls off.... Need to work on that!
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Outstanding noise reduction with super audio input.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best headset ever

  • By Mark from Temecula CA USA on Monday, November 07, 2011
  • Pros: Comfort, noise reduction
  • Cons: none yet
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I have owned a number of headsets. This is the best one ever. My last headset was a Lightspeed 3G. I have found the the comfort of this headset is truly a major step forward. The ear cups rotate as you move your head to keep their alignment. I have used the bluetooth feature and have found it useful. It quotes every time you get communication through the radio.

    The noise reduction is outstanding. Battery usage is very similar provided Bluetooth is not being used.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Stands the test of time!

  • By James from Abilene KS USA on Monday, September 25, 2017
  • Pros: Comfortable, good sound, blue-tooth, etc.
  • Cons: None yet.
  • Review: I have a Zulu 2 and just started using the Zulu 3. The wireless that I had was not working with my radio setup. The Zulu 3 is as good and perhaps fits a little better than the Zulu 2. Both are outstanding and the newer power cords just might be better. I am a happy camper (OSH)!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Amazing product....pay for the quality.

  • By Corky from San Diego CA USA on Wednesday, June 27, 2012
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: price...but suck it up buttercup, this is avaition
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] The headset was so amazing that that my flight instructor had to have a pair as well...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love the Lightspeed Zulu 3. Extremely comfortable even on the longest days, 8-10 hrs. Hu fan of the Bluetooth. All around a great headset.

  • By A Customer from Raleigh NC USA on Tuesday, November 12, 2019
  • Pros: Quality, comfort and function.
  • Cons: Cord clamp poor design needs to be much more durable.
  • Review: Overall quality is excellent. Comfort, noise canceling ability(especially passive), Bluetooth and communication clarity exceed expectations. Only negative is the cord clamp broke after 2 months use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Pleasantly surprised at the ANR quality!

  • By Kirk from Homer Glen IL USA on Saturday, May 18, 2019
  • Pros: ANR, Bluetooth, cost
  • Cons: Larger/ bulkier than Bose
  • Review: Bought these to replace old DC headsets in my A36. Took one to work just to try out and compare with the Bose A 20, haven’t switched back to the Bose!! Great ANR and Bluetooth! Curious to see how hold up over time with daily usage. Great bang for your buck!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Product

  • By Murray from Providence RI USA on Monday, September 24, 2012
  • Pros: everything
  • Cons: kit should come with a backup mike foam cover
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Can wear all day and night; truly a first class headset
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome GA Headset!

  • By Jeremy from Manheim PA USA on Friday, November 30, 2012
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] This is my second Lightspeed Zulu.2. Love it just as good as my first set. Great noice cancelling and clear mic pickup.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for old ears

  • By Richard Attea from North Boston NY USA on Thursday, January 31, 2013
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Excellant for clarity
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

All it's said to be!

  • By Thomas from walnut CA USA on Saturday, January 26, 2013
  • Pros: Great price and performance
  • Cons: None so far
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] This headset has exceeded my expectations. The ANR is great and it's very comfortable to wear over long periods.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By David from Gooding ID USA on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
  • Pros: Good value for the money
  • Cons: Need to go on more flights to use it more
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Does great canceling out the noise and comfortable to wear
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome Headset!

  • By Mitchel from West Des Moines IA USA on Friday, April 04, 2014
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Great headset, noise cancellation is amazing. Battery life is great as well. Included case is perfect for inserting into my flight bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headset!

  • By Gerry from Middletown RI USA on Tuesday, May 28, 2013
  • Pros: Comfortable with great sound clarity.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I find the Lightspeed Zulu.2 to be extremely comfortable to wear for several hours at a time without any problems.

    The overall performance exceeded by expectations!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headset

  • By Jeff from Henrietta TX USA on Tuesday, August 30, 2016
  • Pros: Noise cancelling and comfort
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] More then exceeded my expectations, the noise cancelling is unbelievable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headset!!!

  • By Dane from Mascoutah IL USA on Thursday, July 28, 2016
  • Pros: Comfortable, Works
  • Cons: None so far
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I should have bought one of these headsets years ago. You won't just be able to hear better, but it will reduce pilot fatigue overall as well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this headset again!

  • By Marcelo from Southport QLD Australia on Thursday, August 21, 2014
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Very happy with my Zulu headset. Beautiful design, very comfortable and quiet. Have tested the Bluetooth at the house but in my opinion the headset is not really design for music so it needs more bass but I did not care for this feature. I would use the Bluetooth to call tower for instance in case of comm failure whitch is a good feature to have. Just remember to carry extra batteries specially if you are using the ones that come with. My batteries went down 10 min in a 3 hour flight, not pleasant.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Product

  • By Sean from Arroyo Grande CA USA on Wednesday, October 28, 2015
  • Pros: Great fit and very comfortable
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] This headset is as described. Very comfortable even during long flights up to 6 hours. The noise cancellation feature works great. The only down side is it cancels so much noise the engine is harder to hear. The ear cups are very soft and comfortable, so I wonder just how long they will last. There is no wear signs after 60 hours of flight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ross from Whakatane BOP New Zealand on Wednesday, July 20, 2016
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Very good fit around ears
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] This is the second light speed headset I have purchased. I would have liked a coiled cord. (same as the first one) but I received a straight cord.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Thank goodness for an ANR that is reasonably priced

  • By Ric from Marion MA USA on Sunday, February 22, 2015
  • Pros: Great noise reduction and comfortable.
  • Cons: Boom only works from the left and it goes through AA batteries
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] This is the first ANR that I have owned and all I can compare it with is a David Clark H10-13.4. I'm employed as a pilot flying turboprops for a regional carrier. I was exposed to a set of Bose A20 on another aircraft and they were very good. These are as good for a lot less money. It made long hours in the aircraft much more enjoyable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great

  • By Chris from Bakersfield CA USA on Monday, July 09, 2012
  • Pros: Comfortable ,cool look
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] It looks great , very comfortable, in fact I put my Bose headsets on the co-pilot side and wear these
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

I recommend the Zulu2

  • By A Customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on Monday, September 03, 2012
  • Pros: Fit and noise cancelling.
  • Cons: None noted thus far.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I tried the Bose A20's, but I liked the fit and feel of the Zulu's better. Comfort and fit are important, and for me the Zulu's were the one. The noise cancelling is good, but not so much that you can't hear the engine if it starts running rough and you can still hear the stall warning and even the lost of slipstream when nearing a stall. I am a new pilot and I found that the noise cancelling helps me hear the ATC more clearly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very happy with the headset, does all they claim it will.

  • By Waz. from Coffs Harbour NSW Australia on Tuesday, October 02, 2012
  • Pros: Very comfortable
  • Cons: Slightly heavy.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Very comfortable and the noise cancelling is excellent.
    They are a little bulky maybe but then my head is not large.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ted from Bakersfield CA USA on Tuesday, August 08, 2017
  • Review: Great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Highly recommend this headset

  • By Norm from Murfreesboro TN USA on Saturday, September 08, 2018
  • Pros: Comfort, noise cancellation, sound quality. Hard case is a plus
  • Cons: None
  • Review: A friend who fly's corporate has both Bose A20 and Zulu 3. He recommended I try both before buying and so I did. Ear caps are too small on Bose. I could hear wind noise from vents. Zulu 3 sound quality is better, their more comfortable, and they did a better job of cancelling noise. The choice was easy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By David from Bluff Dale TX USA on Tuesday, January 08, 2019
  • Review: More comfortable than Bose.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best Buy ANR Headset

  • By taj shoemaker from Kodiak, Alaska on Monday, September 30, 2019
  • Review: This headset is much more durable than the older Zulu's with the unbraided cord. ANR is top of the line. Will keep up with the new Bose. A bit heavier and clunkier than the Bose but just as comfortable to me and better price and durability.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Better than I thought!

  • By Offshore Pilot. from Pensacola, Florida. on Friday, September 13, 2019
  • Pros: Lightweight, fits very well, doesn’t hurt your ears after hours of flying, very good quality, good on details and a wonderful idea having that lightweight cord.
  • Cons: So far I don’t have yet.
  • Review: I fly helicopters offshore. And my experience with the Zulu 3 was incredible. Doesn’t hurt the ears it all , very comfortable and very good quality ANR. I have used others ANRs before but the Zulu 3 beats all the odds. The best purchase of the year for me! Congrats Lightspeed you did a awesome job!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My Lightspeed Zulu 3 has become my new best flying friend.

  • By Laura from Merritt Island FL USA on Monday, December 10, 2018
  • Pros: Quality materials and construction. Quiet and comfortable.
  • Cons: Supplied storage case takes up quite a bit of space in my flight bag. Such a minor point given how great the head set is.
  • Review: My first active noise canceling headset and I love it. Very well made. Not cheep plastic like the Bose. Make flying much less fatigueing. Noise canceling works great. Ear seals are comfortable. Feels lighter than you would expect given that it has very little plastic. A truly quality piece.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would recommend this product to anyone

  • By A Customer from Kingwood TX USA on Tuesday, July 11, 2017
  • Pros: Niose cancelation feature, microphone quality
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Noise cancelling effect is superb. Clarity in the microphone is outstanding.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Terry from Dickinson ND USA on Wednesday, April 04, 2012
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] No complaints at all, works and fits like it should, I am very happy with the zulu 2's
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Doug from Fort Smith AR USA on Saturday, January 07, 2012
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2]
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By William from Seattle WA USA on Wednesday, February 08, 2012
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Works as advertised
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love It

  • By Joel from Marietta GA USA on Tuesday, July 05, 2011
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] It's expensive, but I love it. This is the first headset that I've bought in almost 20 years. It's far more comfortable than what I had been using. I no longer get headaches on long flights. The noise reduction and sound quality are excellent.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Birmingham AL USA on Tuesday, November 15, 2016
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] This is my second LightSpeed headset and I am pleased with the purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Dennis from Henderson NV USA on Tuesday, January 02, 2018
  • Pros: The rope style cord is great
  • Cons: Cord could be a little longer
  • Review: Great audio, Fly 3-4 hours daily and the batteries still good after 30 days.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Steven from Lynden WA USA on Tuesday, February 27, 2018
  • Review: Very comfortable to wear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Value and Performance

  • By Paul from Texas on Friday, December 01, 2017
  • Pros: Noise reduction, comfort, earpads, cord, control
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Wore it yesterday for the first time. Total of 3.6 hours. Very comfortable - really didn't notice it. And I have a large head and big ears. The ANR was very effective over my whining Rotax 912. Also like the cord - lightweight and flexible.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I’ve been totally satisfied

  • By Tom from Lafayette LA USA on Thursday, December 19, 2019
  • Pros: Comfortable less expensive
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Light and very comfortable around the ears even on long flights. I used Bose previous to this and this is less expensive and does the job
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jean-Pol from Kingwood TX USA on Friday, May 17, 2019
  • Pros: Perfect fit, even with glasses on. Great clarity, awesome quality of equipment.
  • Cons: None!
  • Review: Love everything about the Zulu 3. Exceeded my expectation!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best Headset I Could Have Invested In

  • By Garrett from Pleasant Prairie WI USA on Wednesday, July 08, 2020
  • Review: Excellent ANR, Extremely Comfortable and Adjustable, High Quality Braided Cord, Soft Leather Material.  Great Battery Life as Well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great sound, comfortable to wear, easy to use

  • By Gerald from Watertown SD USA on Monday, September 25, 2017
  • Pros: Price, great comfort fit
  • Cons: None
  • Review: First tried this product in a long cross country. The headset fits comfortably and perform flawlessly with great sound both from the onboard avionics as well as Bluetooth music.
    Not completely intuitive to adjust the stereo mono switch under the battery-compartment based on avionics installed in the airplane I needed to contact customer support which was very helpful troubleshooting the problem setting.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Lightspeed Zulu 3 Headset - Love it!

  • By Tom from Westminster CO USA on Monday, January 29, 2018
  • Pros: Quality, noise cancelation, sound quality
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Enjoy the headset, noise cancelation works like a champ and sound is fantastic. Bluetooth to my phone for background music works great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Beats Bose in everyway

  • By John from Oklahoma City OK USA on Thursday, June 08, 2017
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Absolutely the cats meow!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Have recommended this to others

  • By Jeffrey from Racine WI USA on Tuesday, July 19, 2016
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Comfortable, good noise reduction, clear audio.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By ALEJANDRO from Miami FL USA on Thursday, January 21, 2016
  • Pros: Very happy with the headset
  • Cons: Nothing so far.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Good quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Quality

  • By Thomas from Gilroy CA USA on Tuesday, March 21, 2017
  • Pros: Good
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Well made with quality materials.
    I've used other anr headsets and always had issues with getting a good seal. Not the case with this headset. The sound clarity is exceptional.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Glenn from Xenia OH USA on Tuesday, October 13, 2020
  • Pros: new cords are tougher.
  • Cons:
  • Review: So quiet the stall warning horn is hard to hear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does a good Job

  • By Skot from Madison WI USA on Monday, September 09, 2019
  • Pros: Cover ears well, nice microphone, lightweight flexible cord.
  • Cons: A little bit of audio weirdness if the seals are not snug.
  • Review: These headsets are in my opinion sound-wise, equal to the Bose I have, only different. I like the (side tone) sound of the microphone, the earcups are a nice size, the seals are good and I must say the battery life is great so far, and they are easy to shut off. (In my Bose, the auto power shutoff I suspect doesn’t shut off at all or completely, so I need to keep a supply of batteries on the seat). Flexible cord is nice, and so far the cord clips are intact (they are very similar to the Bose clips...which break). All in all, I’m satisfied and they seem quite robust. Time will tell for sure.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The best Headset that I ever had. I love it.

  • By Ricardo from Pensacola FL USA on Wednesday, October 30, 2019
  • Pros: Very light a good quality.
  • Cons: I can’t use it in my car...!!!
  • Review: Very nice in comfort and sound.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Would buy again and again

  • By Joe from Henderson NV USA on Friday, August 09, 2019
  • Review: Comfortable And lightweight. This was my first noise cancelling headset and it works wonderfully. I would definitely recommend this headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

When silence is good

  • By David from New Freedom PA USA on Wednesday, September 12, 2018
  • Pros: Kills all the most intrusive noise I use to hear, nice to be able to bluetooth my Iphone, nice case and really like the cord
  • Cons: Price.
  • Review: Took me a few years to finally pay for these. My Zulu 3 Headset is great. Upgraded from passive headsets. I fly a 2 seat ultralight that has a Rotax 2 stroke engine. It runs at 5000-5800 rpm at cruise and is very noisy. The Zulu virtually kills all the drone and low frequency noise from the prop and engine. It makes it much easier to hear my passenger and radio. It still lets the higher frequency noise thru but has been worth every penny I paid for it. A night and day difference to my old headset. I Definitely recommend this headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My Lightspeed ANR

  • By Phil from Punta Gorda FL USA on Tuesday, August 14, 2018
  • Pros: Fits my head and my helmet very nicely.
  • Cons: None so far.
  • Review: Haven't used it to much yet as I'm still building my gyro. But soon😀
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

It does everything I need

  • By Bear Lemley from Bangkok , Thailand on Friday, October 12, 2018
  • Pros: Two AA batteries last a long long time, very light and comfortable, very quiet and clear, great microphone, works well in the gulfstreams
  • Cons: low battery warning could be a little longer. (nitpick)
  • Review: I use this for my work as a corporate pilot. This is a headset that I can wear all day. We have legs with two crew up to 10 hours and more with crew rotation (so I would have it on less). I have own this head set now for a couple of years. I sold my Zulu and Zulu 2's in perfect working order. I fly about 30 hours a month (15 day duty) around the planet conversing with all different dialects of the world. This headset make that an easy task. The batteries last so long it's hard to remember when it was that I last replaced them. I think it's about 3 times a years with lithium AA's. they are so comfortable I used them to watch movies when I am in the airplane doing nav updates for hours. I have used customer service to order fresh ear pads about every 20 months and the reps at Lightspeed are always knowledgeable cheerful and helpful. shipping is immediate even to Thailand.
    I will not be trading up, as I cannot do four batteries for a fraction of the operating time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

BETTER THAN BOSE FOR LESS

  • By Robert from Clinton Twp MI USA on Monday, September 14, 2020
  • Pros: ULTRA QUIET, AWESOME SOUND REPRODUCTION
  • Cons: EXPENSIVE
  • Review: I HAD THE BOSE A20, AND BOUGHT THESE. WITHOUT A DOUBT THE ZULU IS BY FAR A BETTER, MORE COMFORTABLE, BETTER NOISE CANCELLING AND A BTEER OVERALL VALUE.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exceeds my expectations

  • By William from Corpus Christi TX USA on Wednesday, October 07, 2020
  • Pros: Features, fit, price, long-battery life
  • Cons: Ear cups are soft, fit well, but pop off the headset too easily if bumped. Check your surroundings. :)
  • Review: Great ANR, clarity, and mic. Lightweight, minimal ear pressure. Durable Lightweight, flexible cables. Great for long distance. The Compriority feature is solid. Haven't tried the music or cellphone yet but the BT for aviation apps alerts is great. The auto-shut-off is a selling point which contributes to the long battery life. The Bose may look 'sexier' but for performance, features, price, and 7 year warranty this headset has VALUE written all over it. My wife tried these on and promised she'd fly more often if she had a set.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best Headset I Could Have Invested In

  • By Garrett from Pleasant Prairie WI USA on Wednesday, July 08, 2020
  • Pros: Excellent ANR, Extremely Comfortable and Adjustable, High Quality Braided Cord, Soft Leather Material. Great Battery Life as Well.
  • Cons: None
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer on Wednesday, April 26, 2017
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2]
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I bought this product again, because I like to use it

  • By Sergey Pivovar Van's RV-10 Pilot from Lipetsk Lipetsk province Russia on Thursday, September 08, 2016
  • Pros: The presence of Bluetooth
  • Cons: No
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Reliable, comfortable, effective reduce noise, aesthetic.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.