TOP

Lightspeed Zulu 3 Pilot Headset

  • 160 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Lightspeed Zulu 3 Pilot Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Love It

  • By Pete from Brisbane QLD Australia on Monday, February 25, 2013
  • Pros: Easy to use, cheaper, comfortable
  • Cons: Only con is wearing sunglasses with this headset. If there is a gap in the seal, some sound does get in. Keep this in mind when buying sunglasses and get arms the sit flush aginst your head.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I love this headset and would thoroughly recommend it! Lightweight, comfortable and easy to use. I was considering the Bose A20 headset but I don't see much, if any, difference.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 14 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

comfortable headset

  • By A Customer from Los Altos Hills CA USA on Thursday, December 04, 2014
  • Pros: comfortable
  • Cons: not much really.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] This headset is really comfortable. I have a bose X, a Bose a20 and this unit, and of all I find this the most comfortable. Probably because it has a bigger cup, and so sits around my ear without touching it.

    In terms of NR, it's very good, but I'd put the Bose A20 a notch above it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Gait from Karana Downs QLD Australia on Friday, August 30, 2013
  • Pros: good noise cancelation
  • Cons: the cord from the control/battery box to the headset is to long, from the control/batery box to the plugs way to short
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I had just been flying for about half an hour and had been using the stock standard David Clarks that seem to be found in any hired aircraft you put your butt in, and for Lightspeed that probably was lucky, because when I swapped them for the Lightspeed Zulu I I could not believe the difference. I had the feeling that I could hear the engine and prop better with most of the cockpit noise gone your can concentrate on the noise that matters
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Lightspeed Zulu.2

  • By A Customer from Oakland CA USA on Wednesday, May 14, 2014
  • Pros: Nice noise canceling, yet engine and radios are perfectly clear.
  • Cons: Could be more adjustable to accommodate smaller head sizes.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] The Lightspeed Zulu.2 is quiet and comfortable. I use a Bose A20 headset for myself as pilot (I have a small head and the Bose fits perfectly) and love it. I have the Zulu for my passengers as I think it's more versatile for various head sizes, and my husband loves it. The Zulu may surpass the Bose in comfort, but it's just a little too large for me and slips back on my head a bit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

very good

  • By henry from marietta GA USA on Wednesday, January 25, 2012
  • Pros: sound
  • Cons: mic boom does not swivel
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Great headset , OK in comfort, a little to sensitive with on the mic sometimes, the mic boom does not swivel.  L seat OK, R seat has to deal with the cable across the chest and under arm.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.

Love my headset

  • By A Customer from Maine on Monday, June 30, 2014
  • Pros: Great comfort and clarity
  • Cons: The power module
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I realize comfort is subjective but no other headset has been anywhere near as comfortable for me and that's a major factor for a CFI. I've tried the Bose A20 and think the two are virtually identical in sound quality, noise cancellation (both active and passive), but the Bose hurts my head after 1-2 hours. I would give 5 stars but the control module's easy-to-press power button turns on in my bag at the slightest bump and I hate the carrying case. But overall worth every penny, I love them, and you couldn't pay me to trade it for Bose. The best headset I've tried yet, by far.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Trade Up

  • By William from Woodbridge CA USA on Tuesday, September 08, 2015
  • Pros: Excellent fit and very confortable
  • Cons: Nose cancellation is not markedly better than old set
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Purchased for better blue tooth operation. Traded up from the Lightspeed Sierra. Nose cancellation is not noticeable better, but mike works a lot better. Very comfortable, and fits nicely, much better than old.
    Not sure it was worth the increase in price, even with the trade up program.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Everything I expected.

  • By Carlos Pesina from Brownsville TX USA on Monday, August 19, 2013
  • Pros: I love the way the look and how light they are. Bluetooth connection is very good and the Active Noise Reduction really makes a difference.
  • Cons: Bad points: strong vibrations may cause the headset to lose some of the isolation around the ear and, if the ANR is activated, you might get some "cavitation" phenomenon that could be uncomfortable.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] It met everything I expected of the product from the reviews posted on the net and the Lightspeed ads.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This May Be My Last Headset

  • By Steve Craigle from Arlington WA USA on Monday, July 01, 2013
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Comfort; 3hr cross countries with no pain at all.
    Turns off automatically; Even turns ON when engine noise detected!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice but not wonderful

  • By john from Downers Grove IL USA on Monday, May 20, 2013
  • Pros: Cheaper than the Bose but with Bluetooth music
  • Cons: $200 less design and ruggedness than the Bose. Less satisfying
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] The Zulu headset promised a lot of features, and it delivered them. If I did not already own a Bose A20, I probably would have been completely satisfied. After weeks of using it as my primary headset, I keep finding myself going back to the Bose.
    The Bose has a better feel to it. It
    The Zulu noise reduction sounds tinny and not as solid.
    The Zulu feels floppy and less rugged than the Bose
    When settling the ear cups on my ears, I can produce a high pitch squeal when manipulating them
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

pricey.....but suits my needs

  • By sal from hillsboro MO USA on Tuesday, May 07, 2013
  • Pros: light....comfortable
  • Cons: pricey
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I fly fairly long distance EMS flights ....tried the Bose A20 first.....the straight cord sucked for helicopter application....sold it, & got the Lightspeed with coiled cord. Very comfortable, & works well on long flights...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

maybe not so good for a smaller head

  • By Douglas from Virginia Beach VA USA on Monday, July 18, 2011
  • Pros: the noise cancellation is excellent
  • Cons: the cups let in noise even if I turn my head just a little bit
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Meets expectations.

    Strange as it sounds it might be better if it actually squeezed the head a little bit more to keep the cups from breaking the seal with even slight head turns.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Litespeed Zulu 3

  • By James from Aguila AZ USA on Friday, January 04, 2019
  • Pros: Well made, quality product. Phone and mic jac cabling is superb for use in small cramped cockpit. Better priced than comparable headsets.
  • Cons: Higher clamping pressure on head, more background noise compared to previous headset
  • Review: The Zulu 3 headset is well made and looks and feels high quality throughout. All indications are that it will be very durable over the long haul. The mic and phone jack cables are small and flexible, feel very durable and are easy to manage in the cockpit. Communication wise (external and intercom) the Zulu 3 is very clear.

    I have previously been using a Bose A20's headset in my RV6 prior to this purchase. The RV6 is not noted for being a quiet environment (headset required aircraft). After using the Zulu 3 for a month I have switched back to using the Bose A20 headset.

    My observations is that the Zulu 3 has higher clamping pressure on my head compared to the Bose so the Bose is more comfortable. The background noise/sounds with the Zulu seem louder when compared to the Bose A20. In addition, when turning my head from facing straight ahead, the background sound level increases noticeably with the Zulu 3 something I don't detect with the Bose.

    Having read it many times before, I have now proved to myself that aircraft headsets are very user subjective so your mileage may vary.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does the job it says it will very erll

  • By A Customer from PARAMOUNT CA USA on Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  • Pros: Quality, price, comfort
  • Cons: Supplied case could be improved to take up less room in flight case
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Overall excellent headset and compared very well to its rivals. Very good comfort, good quality. Bluetooth works very well however I find the noise reduction facility for when a radio transmission is received rather fiddly and do far not managed to get it going properly(albeit I've only tried it once so far!) control box can get in the way a little at times in the cockpit but a minor issue. Although headset folds into a small unit it can only fit in the case one way do that facility it rather pointless without designing a smaller case which would be very usefull indeed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By daniel from Yakima WA USA on Tuesday, May 09, 2017
  • Pros: Great weight, comfort and ANR.
  • Cons: A real bear so far adjusting it for Bluetooth call quality in helicopter cockpit
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By Tom from Shreveport LA USA on Wednesday, January 13, 2016
  • Pros: Comfort
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Was recommended to me by my instructor for comfort and quality. He was right! Very comfortable and I have not had any issues with them so far.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like it

  • By Kathleen from Everett WA USA on Thursday, August 01, 2013
  • Pros: Clear, good sound, good noise cancelling
  • Cons: a bit big
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I don't have much to compare this to, as I'm new to flying, but this product sure beats the cheap rentals that are offered at the flight school! I agree with some assessments that it can be a bit loose on smaller heads (like mine), but so far that has not caused any problems, I just have to make sure they are adjusted and sitting on top of my head properly. Good noise cancelling & sound, ok price from what I have seen.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again.

  • By Rick from Houston TX USA on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
  • Pros: Clarity of sound and light weight
  • Cons: Battery access
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Noise reduction and clarity are well above average. Comfort is above average. Access to battery compartment is tricky at first (a bit of a pain)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good sound control

  • By A Customer from Midlothian TX USA on Tuesday, May 28, 2013
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Needs to be bluetooth to aircraft radios, one plug into the dual jack and wireless to the headset!!!!!!
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2]
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

comfortable , stylish , effective

  • By Harry Greaves from Bulawayo Zimbabwe on Sunday, July 29, 2012
  • Pros: light , comfortable , easy to use
  • Cons: The blue tooth fixture does not seem to work very well for phone calls , for music it is fine
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] These are light, comfortable, and sound quality is excellent . The bluetooth linked to my BlackBerry does not seem to work when trying to make phone calls . Only other small thing is foam cushion over the microphone comes off easily .
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Zulu 3 vs DC passive

  • By Lance from Mulberry AR USA on Tuesday, October 10, 2017
  • Pros: Noise reduction, clarity
  • Cons: Terrible thumping noise with the window open on runup
  • Review: Great sound and clarity with excellent noise reduction. My only other phones are passive David Clarks so I cant judge vs any other brands. Microphone must be worn on left side which is not good for me as a CFI. Runups in a C172 with the window down created a terrible thumping noise. No solution known except to close the window ( very hot in summer )
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I buy one for me and 6 month later one for my wife

  • By A Customer from Fort de france Martinique Martinique on Monday, July 09, 2012
  • Pros: very comfortable and efficient
  • Cons: price
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] For ears it is perfect. Only the bluetooth need to be reinitialised each time. This can be inconvenient.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from mayerthorpe AB Canada on Tuesday, October 09, 2012
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Mic boom could be longer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well, my wife likes them

  • By Mark from Yatala Queensland Australia on Sunday, May 19, 2013
  • Pros: Bluetooth, ANR, battery life
  • Cons: PNR could be better, price
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Bought them for my wife. She likes the comfort and features.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Zulu3

  • By Bill from Arlington TN USA on Monday, December 10, 2018
  • Pros: Comfortable and functions well
  • Cons: Extremely short cable, and my direct email asking to send it back to add cable or acquire and extension lightspped referred me to another vendor that want $55 for an extension. Very poor approach to an obvious and frequently repeated complaint.
  • Review: Excellent ANR, very comfortable, but cables way too short for my flying.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product!

  • By Mark from Dewitt MI USA on Monday, July 29, 2019
  • Pros: Outstanding audio in noise cancelling mode.
  • Cons: Mike boom does not rotate 180 deg's so you can put on right side of your head.
  • Review: These are great head sets. They are comfortable when adjusted properly. The noise cancelling mode is outstanding and has quality audio in that mode. As a CFI I wish the mike boom would rotate 180 deg's since I sit mostly on the right side of the aircraft. This is only reason I could give it 5 stars. The case is protects the headset well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Pros and cons over Bose.

  • By SDKA from Milton FL USA on Wednesday, January 02, 2019
  • Pros: Amazing cord, lightweight. Active and passive reduction great.
  • Cons: Lost ANR on transmitting. Hard to adjust
  • Review:

    Well, hard to say. If you’re moving up from a passive headset, this will be the best thing ever. 

    I came over from an older Bose and had mixed reviews. The overall build, materials, and cord seem much more robust compared to Bose. The Bluetooth is included at no extra cost. If I was solo, this would be the headset.

    The cons, hard to adjust often. In my aircraft, crews switch seats and the headset stays. Getting each persons settings on size, volume and mic gain is hard. We had a constant issue to control the cockpit noise while transmitting.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.