TOP

Reviews for Lightspeed Zulu 3 ANR Pilot Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Defective out of the box, Factory repair. Okay for now.

  • By James from Rancho Cucamonga CA USA on Friday, January 18, 2013
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Defect on arrival
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] First let me say it is working well and I am happy but not sure I'd go this way again. Ordered on line (11/12/13), arrived 7 days later, tried them that day without an airplane and observed noisy buzz in one ear. I thought it might be due to the fact that they were not plugged in. Wasn't the case; at next opportunity to fly same issue issue, defective right out of the box. Was told that I had to send back to Lightspeed for repair. Was sent RMA and mailing label (paid return is not usual policy). Took 5 days there, 1 day to fix and 5 days return on 1/16/13.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Product okay

  • By Mel from Motueka Tasman New Zealand on Saturday, August 10, 2013
  • Pros: Noise cancelling
  • Cons: Read above
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Good noise cancelling and very comfortable to wear. No headaches with a headset like this. Extremely bad passive and very little warning that the batteries are about to die. Lets in noise whenever I turn my head or look up, regardless of whether I'm wearing sunglasses or not. They fall off in aerobatics so I have to wear a headtorch to keep them on. Have tried a Bose A20 set and they are much better. I think thats the way I'll go in the future.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 14 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not impressed

  • By Michael from La Fontaine IN USA on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
  • Pros: Looks nice
  • Cons: Doesn't perform as well as much cheaper headsets
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I was disappointed with the noise reduction capability. I have an older D Clark anr headset that performs better than the ZULU. The ZULU is NOT worth the $. I really wish I had purchased the new DC headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Performance not conclusive

  • By David from Marshall Ct Airport IL USA on Tuesday, June 19, 2012
  • Pros: HIgh quality fit and finish and packaging
  • Cons: Wind guard comes off - noise canceling not obvious
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Replacement for Bose in prior aircraft. Noise canceling is not obvious when turned on and some wind nose from vents is not cancelled. It was obvious with my Bose. The common complaint wind boot on the mike comes off happened in second week, used a small rubber band to secure it. Blue Tooth pairing and ground test with cell phone was easy and successful. My ACA Explorer is reasonably quiet and I have not seen that much improvement over a set of David Clark passive headsets but have to experiment more to prove to myself headset is working correctly. I have verified all the dip switches were properly set as delivered.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.

Good But Not Great

  • By A Customer from DTW on Tuesday, August 03, 2021
  • Pros: Comfortable, Good Noise Cancelling if Sealed Properly
  • Cons: Overpriced Accesories, Customer Service Is Not What It Used To Be, Blinking Light On Controller All The Time
  • Review: I owned an original Zulu for many years and now have a Zulu 3, and while I would say it's a good headset, it also has some issues. One annoyance is that in a loud GA aircraft if you do not have a perfect seal around your ear the headset will make a loud popping sound, which I assume is the ANR trying to compensate for the noise. This is especially noticeable with sunglasses on or when flying aerobatics or in turbulence when the G forces tend to jostle the headset around. Another annoyance that I notice a lot in jets is an electrical interference noise if there are any devices in the vicinity that are not in airplane mode.

    Beyond that is the overall nickel and diming nature of Lightspeed as a company these days compared to when I owned my original Zulu. For instance, I recently needed to send my Zulu 3 in for a warranty repair since the boom mic kept falling down (which is a common complaint on these headsets) and they made me pay for shipping to Oregon despite it being a covered defect. They have also seriously started overcharging for accessories. For example, it is $50 for a new carrying case, $35 for new ear seals, and a full $5 for a new mic muff! Part of the reason I got a Zulu 3 was Lightspeed's reputation for great customer support, but unfortunately it seems some of that has waned over the years. Heck, they wouldn't even give me a new Lightspeed hat this year at Oshkosh to replace the one I got six or seven years ago at the show. They told me if I wanted a hat I needed to buy another headset. It's trivial but I think it serves as an example of the overall direction the company has gone, which is really a shame.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ron from Delta CO USA on Monday, February 20, 2012
  • Pros: Quiet
  • Cons: Mic cover falls off all the time
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Alot of $ for nothing but an headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.

Fragile plugs

  • By Jim C Mooney driver from Cincinnati on Tuesday, February 07, 2017
  • Pros: Work well when they work.
  • Cons: Fragile plug connections.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] First use was great. Next use terrible. I guess I bent the cables too much at the plug connectionsomehow, although I was not abusive.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.