TOP

Lightspeed Zulu 3 Pilot Headset

  • 160 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Lightspeed Zulu 3 Pilot Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Product okay

  • By Mel from Motueka Tasman New Zealand on Saturday, August 10, 2013
  • Pros: Noise cancelling
  • Cons: Read above
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Good noise cancelling and very comfortable to wear. No headaches with a headset like this. Extremely bad passive and very little warning that the batteries are about to die. Lets in noise whenever I turn my head or look up, regardless of whether I'm wearing sunglasses or not. They fall off in aerobatics so I have to wear a headtorch to keep them on. Have tried a Bose A20 set and they are much better. I think thats the way I'll go in the future.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Defective out of the box, Factory repair. Okay for now.

  • By James from Rancho Cucamonga CA USA on Friday, January 18, 2013
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Defect on arrival
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] First let me say it is working well and I am happy but not sure I'd go this way again. Ordered on line (11/12/13), arrived 7 days later, tried them that day without an airplane and observed noisy buzz in one ear. I thought it might be due to the fact that they were not plugged in. Wasn't the case; at next opportunity to fly same issue issue, defective right out of the box. Was told that I had to send back to Lightspeed for repair. Was sent RMA and mailing label (paid return is not usual policy). Took 5 days there, 1 day to fix and 5 days return on 1/16/13.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not impressed

  • By Michael from La Fontaine IN USA on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
  • Pros: Looks nice
  • Cons: Doesn't perform as well as much cheaper headsets
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] I was disappointed with the noise reduction capability. I have an older D Clark anr headset that performs better than the ZULU. The ZULU is NOT worth the $. I really wish I had purchased the new DC headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Performance not conclusive

  • By David from Marshall Ct Airport IL USA on Tuesday, June 19, 2012
  • Pros: HIgh quality fit and finish and packaging
  • Cons: Wind guard comes off - noise canceling not obvious
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Replacement for Bose in prior aircraft. Noise canceling is not obvious when turned on and some wind nose from vents is not cancelled. It was obvious with my Bose. The common complaint wind boot on the mike comes off happened in second week, used a small rubber band to secure it. Blue Tooth pairing and ground test with cell phone was easy and successful. My ACA Explorer is reasonably quiet and I have not seen that much improvement over a set of David Clark passive headsets but have to experiment more to prove to myself headset is working correctly. I have verified all the dip switches were properly set as delivered.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ron from Delta CO USA on Monday, February 20, 2012
  • Pros: Quiet
  • Cons: Mic cover falls off all the time
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] Alot of $ for nothing but an headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

Fragile plugs

  • By Jim C Mooney driver from Cincinnati on Tuesday, February 07, 2017
  • Pros: Work well when they work.
  • Cons: Fragile plug connections.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Zulu.2] First use was great. Next use terrible. I guess I bent the cables too much at the plug connectionsomehow, although I was not abusive.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.