TOP

Reviews for X-Plane 11 Global Flight Simulator Software

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Superb Airplane Sim

  • By Alex from West Valley City UT USA on Tuesday, May 16, 2017
  • Pros: Realism.
  • Cons: Does not have simulation scenarios or missions.
  • Review: Beautiful scenery. Excellent realism. Superb purchase. Definitely worth buying. It's actually very adjustable as well, so that even more lower end PC's can run it, and with a powerful PC it's incredible, with shadows, reflections, lots of cars on roads, airport utilities moving around, etc. With a gaming laptop I have gotten some incredible performance with high settings and a good frame rate of over 30 fps. The only thing missing is simulation scenarios or missions. Even the iPhone X-Plane game app has that, so I feel it would add a lot of fun and replay value to the PC package game and it seems like something that ought to be added via an update patch.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 44 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great realistic and challenging multi-monitor sim!

  • By Tom (Mad Dog) H. from Starkville MS USA on Saturday, June 05, 2021
  • Pros: Easy setup if you understand the proper terminology, very smooth and accurate response to controls, many great details with all working knobs and switches on the basic aircraft I have been concentrating on.
  • Cons: Had to search to find videos to explain concepts of multi-monitor setup, I have to setup ch rudder pedals each time I start a new flight or change aircraft,
  • Review: As a flight instructor and commercial pilot in single & multiengine airplanes with additional experience in gliders and helicopters, I have flown some very high dollar sims! I had never used x-plane but had used previous MS sims and anticipated great things from their latest version but was very disappointed trying to use it with multiple screens. I found X-plane 11 to have many fans on YouTube to help understand and simplify the proper setup to have a near-perfect panorama display. I have truly enjoyed flying this sim setup for single engine airplane and glider operations, and am working to put together a cockpit setup suitable for teaching my grandchildren to fly! One granddaughter remarked it was so realistic she wanted a seatbelt and harness! I am using a high end gaming computer driving three identical HD monitors with a great and very realistic 135 degree field of view for now.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 29 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from McKean PA USA on Wednesday, February 17, 2021
  • Pros: Realism, works with legacy flight controls
  • Cons: Need extra app to support avionics stack hardware
  • Review: Tried all the flight simulator software out there over the years. Fs2020 included. Xplane is by far the best. 
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 27 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product, great price, received quickly.

  • By A Customer from Memphis IN USA on Thursday, May 24, 2018
  • Pros: Many free aircraft and add-ons available.
  • Cons: None for the price.
  • Review: X-Plane 11 is a great product, and I could not find anything that could beat it for the price. It does everything I need and much, much more!!!

    Don't short yourself or the program by getting a bare minimum game system.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 23 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Extremely well done.

  • By James from Clancy MT USA on Wednesday, January 20, 2021
  • Pros: see above
  • Cons: see above--ATC
  • Review: Excellent flight sim. A/C have the right look and feel. Retired airline captain and I very much enjoy this sim. Graphics are a bit dated compared to MS 2020 but still very acceptable. My biggest complaint is ATC--not going to go into specifics but the old FSX actually has better ATC---voices, instructions, reactions, etc. In any case, it is better than that found in MS2020, IMHO.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 22 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Leroy from Riverside CA USA on Wednesday, July 12, 2017
  • Pros: comes with airports which sames hours of downloading
  • Cons:
  • Review: Shorter load up time and you can continue your last flight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 19 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Amazing Sim

  • By Steven from Tampa FL USA on Thursday, January 24, 2019
  • Pros: Zibo 737-800
  • Cons:
  • Review: I moved to Xplane from FSX (used FSX for about 3 years), and Xplane blows it out of the water. Feels and looks very realistic.

    You can download the Zibo Mod 737-800 for FREE, which has a fully capable FMC and VNAV function, and terrific sounds. The Zibo 738 makes IFR flying a delight. It is just as good as a $60 - $70 aircraft add on in my opinion.

    Alot of freeware planes and scenery.

    I am extremely happy with Xplane thus far.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 17 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Phenomenal flight simulator with amazing graphics

  • By Kenneth from Columbia SC USA on Monday, August 12, 2019
  • Pros: Amazing graphics, realistic sounds and a low learning curve
  • Cons: truthfully, finding a computer with enough horse power to run every thing with good frame rates.
  • Review: I truly did not know what to expect from X-Plane 11, I had been using another flight sim that to be honest was rather bland but X-Plane opens up a whole new world of experience. The realism in the graphics is astounding and the sounds are incredible. Because of my work I only get to use the sim Friday through Sunday and this has made my weekends very enjoyable. This has been the best money I have ever spent.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 16 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My 2 cents worth

  • By John from Ottawa ON Canada on Monday, April 02, 2018
  • Pros: Great graphics-but only one texture
  • Cons: No changing available to winter or spring textures
  • Review: Very difficult for beginners.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

X-Plane 11 is a full up flight simulation program!

  • By Rob from Oak Harbor WA USA on Wednesday, December 02, 2020
  • Pros: Powerful physics based flight models with high fidelity avionics - love the Garmin 1000 in the C-172SP
  • Cons: Visuals should be a little more robust around large airports like SEA or SFO, although this could be caused by the limitations of running the simulation on PC hardware
  • Review: I was impressed with the fidelity of the program and the number of aircraft models included. I have flown a few FAA level D flight simulators and a number of GA aircraft for comparisons sake. The program includes a simple " fly by computer mouse" feature that you can use while waiting for your hardware to arrive, but it can be difficult to both fly and interact with the avionics by switching the mouse between functions. The program allows you to select world wide visual coverage, and includes the ability to adjust the level of detail for optimum appearance. I purchased a new HP Omen gaming computer with plenty of RAM and the programs looks great on the two monitors that I use for cockpit and out the window views.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

MY PERSONAL REVIEW

  • By A Customer from El Cajon CA USA on Monday, August 06, 2018
  • Pros: QUITE REALISTIC
  • Cons: NOT QUITE FRIENDLY USER
  • Review: GREAT PRODUCT
    GREAT SELLER
    GOOD PRICE
    I AM A HAPPY CUSTOMER
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By William from Bend OR USA on Tuesday, April 03, 2018
  • Pros: Realism of flight
  • Cons: Slow to load
  • Review: Outstanding sim! Very realistic and brings back many hours of the real airplane. NO question, it will certainly teach the instrument scan again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Don't judge a book by its cover

  • By BRIAN from El Cajon CA USA on Wednesday, October 18, 2017
  • Pros: Good Resolution and compatibility with VR
  • Cons: there are Switches and buttons that are no active ( Don't work ) NOT GOOD
  • Review: I missed a flight plan section similar to Microsoft FSX or better.
    I personally would have preferred a Airbus A321, instead of the Glider,
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jose from Syracuse NY USA on Tuesday, September 05, 2017
  • Review: I would buy this product again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Software...

  • By A Customer on Friday, October 11, 2019
  • Pros: Ease of Use
  • Cons: Ten details of the visuals and images need to be made more REAL and more authentic
  • Review: I love all the whistle and bells that come with the program....
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Wonderful software!

  • By Stephen GIRARD Roetzler from Arlington TX USA on Sunday, November 08, 2020
  • Pros: wonderful
  • Cons: N/A
  • Review: Great software.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Sunday, January 06, 2019
  • Review: No word needed. It's amazing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By john from st catharines ON Canada on Monday, March 12, 2018
  • Pros: All good
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Best flight sim since FS4, very realistic and plenty of airplane choices. Running on windows 10 and sometimes asks me to put first CD in to verify authenticity?
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great service, great product

  • By Pamela R. from Melbourne Beach FL USA on Tuesday, May 21, 2019
  • Pros: Absolutely no complaints
  • Cons:
  • Review: Very helpful customer service rep. Rapid delivery. Product ordered was just what I wanted and of best quality. Would definitely shop your site again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Needles Centered

  • By IMC in da place to be! from Lone Star State on Thursday, May 19, 2022
  • Pros: Excellent IFR trainer and instrument-skills maintainer!
  • Cons: XC column is present, but logbook doesn't record cross-country time. It shows "0".
  • Review: It's an inexpensive and powerful tool which helps maintain instrument proficiency from the convenience of a PC desktop. Graphics are smooth as melted butter on a fast, 64-bit, RAMed up system.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy it again it's a great value.

  • By A Customer from Montrose CO USA on Sunday, February 04, 2018
  • Pros: Graphics are great, control interfaces (Stick, Yoke, Rudder Pedals) work very well
  • Cons: start up loading is slow ( to be expected as... a lot of stuff is loading)
  • Review: It met my expectations. It is very realistic. Everything works.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

It is the best value

  • By Jeff Brandt from Albuquerque on Friday, December 03, 2021
  • Pros: It is better and less expensive
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I purchased it direct over a year ago and find it very good. I have had every MS version since 98 and it is better. The company is focused, and unlike MS on again off again and overpriced, it is my choice. It also runs on Linux so I am not captive to MS which I genuinely abhor after they erased MS Flight that I paid for and can’t retrieve. It to mention they wrote a “bug” that ended MIDI port support so the $200 rudder pedal set I had became worthless.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love this simulator !!!

  • By Charles from Lewisville TX USA on Wednesday, July 08, 2020
  • Pros: Again...excellent graphics, true flight simulation and plenty of aircraft !
  • Cons:
  • Review: This is a great quality product. Really awesome graphics.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Frank J Closkey from Springfield PA USA on Tuesday, September 29, 2020
  • Review: The Flight Simulator  is very outstanding .
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Gary W from Camano Island, WA - USA on Wednesday, April 07, 2021
  • Pros: I spent considerable time reading what flight sim enthusiasts had to say about X-Plane before I selected it as my choice. I was more interested in flight dynamics that more closely represent the characteristics of real world aircraft. For me, that was the primary concern.
  • Cons: Overall, I really can’t think of any serious drawbacks. I did not require the entire surface of the earth nor the over-the-top computer memory to store every square mile of scenery around the globe. My focus is the Pacific Northwest which is augmented with ORBX True Earth Washington and other scenery enhancement from freeware developers.
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Frank Joesph Closkey from Pennsylvania on Thursday, September 24, 2020
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I sincerely liked to have bought with you!!

  • By Ladisllaw José from Maringá Paraná/ Brasil Brazil on Saturday, July 20, 2019
  • Pros: Agilidade no atendimento e na entrega, produtos altamente confiáveis.
  • Cons: nothing against
  • Review: I hope to make other purchases soon.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good

  • By Giulio from Hamilton NJ USA on Monday, August 19, 2019
  • Pros: Simple
  • Cons: Good for its size
  • Review: Good
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Robert L MILLER from Saddlebrooke AZ USA on Tuesday, October 20, 2020
  • Pros: Stability of the software.
  • Cons: Too many options for assignment to buttons on the flight wheel. A lot of these options would never be used. As a result, it is hard to find the more obvious ones that are needed.
  • Review: I would like to have the option of moving practically anything on the instrument panel to a second screen. I think that the old MS FS has this capability and it was very useful. For instance, I need to access the autopilot a lot during instrument flight, and I have to stop pause the program to scan down and see the controls to do that. I am a licensed pilot and this is what I need to do in the airplane.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 21 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I love it.

  • By Charlie from Jackson MI USA on Tuesday, October 10, 2017
  • Review: The flight training could be a little more detailed on how to use the instruments.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 17 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A handy tool for a new Student Pilot

  • By Dry Creek from Central Texas on Thursday, May 26, 2022
  • Pros: Accurate airplane physics. Comes on DVD discs so you don't spend your life downloading.
  • Cons: Doesn't have the "eye-candy" appeal of MSFS 2020. 14+18 isn't 34 (runway hdg)
  • Review:

    I must say that I really enjoy the upgrade from MSFS-X to X-Plane 11. I use the simulator for practicing the maneuvers that my CFI covers on each lesson, plus I use it to get the "feel" for the other airports we visit during the training sessions.

    I also use MSFS 2020 and FlightGear 2020. This is where I will start my comparisons.

    X-Plane 11 excels in having a steam-gauge C-172 stock. The actual flight characteristics in the modeling (physics) are very, very close to the older C-172H models in use at the flight school I am using. I just have to mentally convert Knots to MPH. The real-world weather seems to be accurate and closely mimics the conditions out of the field I fly from. I also have a computer that is not the strongest when it comes to flight simulators (limited by GPU - nVidea GT 1030, 2GB). It runs the Vulkan shaders and I can get a very decent FPS during all stages of flight.

    The main complaints I do have about this offering is visual realism. Right now I have the runway markers called up for KGDJ. How can we have a choice of 14 - 34 ? No, I can assure you that the runway, while short, is straight. Simple error, but obvious to even a pre-solo SP like myself. I am running the graphics a high settings, but sadly they just don't compare to the eye-candy offered in MSFS 2020. It just doesn't have the little visual cues I use for even my pattern work. On the 14 approach, I have a spot picked out for downwind leg alignment, and a certain spot to turn base at - plus another one a little further down if it's gusty and I want a longer final to ensure that I am stabilized. Neither of those points are there. The same goes for the other visual cues I look for when "practicing" pattern work at KCPT or KMWL. So, I use MSFS 2020 (on low settings) to be able to find and use those visual cues. If I am practicing maneuvers though, it's X-Plane all the way. I don't have access to a G-1000 cockpit, and MSFS 2020 doesn't offer a sixpack steam gauge C-172 in the package level I purchased. I have tried to download the "free" version of one, but I haven't been successful at getting it loaded into the hangar.

    FlightGear 2020.3 is "buggy". But, it's free and uses a lot of the same maps used in X-Plane 11.

    If X-Plane 12 can get to the level of realism for the scenery what MSFS 2020 does - while maintaining the excellent physics and modeling of the C-172, I will really consider upgrading!

    I consider the flight simulator as a useful tool for a Student PIlot. I don't use it as a "game". I will confess to flying and trying to locate our home and ranch, not identifiable with X-Pane 11, but very, very accurately presented in MSFS 2020.

    Peripherals:
    Saitek/Logitech Yoke, Throttle Quadrant, Rudder Pedals (really dislike the rudder pedals).
    Computer: i7 7100, 16GB RAM, 1 TB SSD, Zotac GForce (nVidea) GT 1030 w/2GB DDR5 VRAM. Monitor is a surplus 32" HDTV

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ken from Vicksburg MS USA on Tuesday, February 27, 2018
  • Pros: Easy installation from dvd. Great world community support structure.
  • Cons: Takes up too much "honey-do" time.
  • Review: This is an excellent flight simulator. Well worth the price. Installation and upgrading with ease. The ability to use ortho-photographic mapping in the sim is great. Bring on the "Google street view".
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Impressive!!!

  • By Sean from Napa, CA on Thursday, February 22, 2018
  • Pros: Good default scenery
  • Cons: Misplaced objects
  • Review: Has really good default scenery and aircraft. It does have bugs, such as houses in the middle of helipads and trees, utility poles in the middle of the road. Good flight modeling. I love how the airports follow the terrain, as not all runways are completely flat.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It is more elaberate that microsoft flight sim X, but great

  • By Robert from Goodview VA USA on Tuesday, May 28, 2019
  • Pros:
  • Cons: no cons at this time
  • Review: It is challenging and I look forward to getting fluent with it. The program tells me that my rendering options are to high, can someone tell me where to find them and fix them by lowering them. I will thank you for that help.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

LOOKS A LOT BETTER THAN OLD SOFTWARE.

  • By tom stevens from Laguna Hills CA USA on Tuesday, April 16, 2019
  • Pros: lOOKS MUCH BETTER THAN OLD SOFTWARE
  • Cons: NOT EASY TO SET UP.
  • Review: I NEED HELP SETTING THIS UP ON MY LAPTOP. IS THERE ANYONE IN ORANGE COUNTY, CA, THAN i CAN HIRE TO SET UP THIS SOFTWARE ON MY LAPTOP SO I CAN USE MY SIMULATOR?
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

X-Plane 11 Needs attention and fixes

  • By James from Fenton MO USA on Thursday, June 15, 2017
  • Pros: Read Review
  • Cons: Read Review
  • Review: Great scenery but lacks in landmarks, like the Gateway arch in St. Louis?? Loved the cloud formation's and sounds of aircraft, auto pilots are lacking won't hold altitudes! Need detailed instructions for each plane with illustrations, Hard to get on website to get help.And to get some updates or fixes. I'm sure I will find more problems, I live in the same town (Fenton, Missouri) as the guy that posts flights on youtube wish I could get some help from him?
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 20 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Scenery Disappointing

  • By Ausonius from Albuquerque NM USA on Saturday, September 21, 2019
  • Pros: Accurate aircraft performance and detail.
  • Cons: Very basic and unrealistic scenery.
  • Review: The aircraft and flight performance are pretty realistic, but the scenery is very basic in detail and highly inaccurate in portraying population centers, roads, railroads, and natural phenomena (ie. Niagara Falls etc.) which is often the basic navigation methodology for private pilots.
    Given the choice, I would have payed a lot more for the inclusion of real-life scenery (assuming that is even possible).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 19 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not overly impressed

  • By John from Lake Sherwood CA USA on Friday, May 04, 2018
  • Review: Not overly impressed. P3d is superior in visuals in my opinion.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Bill from Davie FL USA on Tuesday, April 05, 2022
  • Review: The actual Aircraft is easier to fly!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Not for licensed private pilots

  • By from Avasiliou1956@gmail.com on Sunday, December 27, 2020
  • Pros: If you fly VFR don’t expect to see any familiar landmarks (they don’t exist). For example flying VFR to W29 (baybridge airport in Stevensville MD) the baybridge, one of the biggest bridges is If you fly VFR don’t expect to see any familiar of the biggest bridges is missing. missing.
  • Cons: A Vasiliou
  • Review: Ok for games played by amateurs and has good cockpit resolution.

    If you fly VFR don’t expect to see any familiar landmarks (they don’t exist). For example flying VFR to W29 (baybridge airport in Stevensville MD) the baybridge, one of the biggest bridges is missing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Disapointed

  • By Ralph from Broad Run VA USA on Wednesday, July 08, 2020
  • Pros: I really like the airplanes avaiable. :-)
  • Cons: Computer freezes after a few minutes of flying especially with jet aircraft.
  • Review: Not impressed with this program compared to MS Flight sim. Not as easy to use as MS Flight sim (which I have been using many versions for over 20 years.) Computer freezes after a few minutes of flying. Computer has 32 Gigs of memory, I-7 CPU at 1.80 GHz 1.99 GHz , 64 Bit system, Windows 10 pro so I don't under stand why it freezes.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Would not recommend. Too complex and inconsistent.

  • By John from Georgetown TX USA on Thursday, July 15, 2021
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Wasn't happy at all with it.

  • By Ben Ihde on Wednesday, April 28, 2021
  • Review: Troubles during installation and operation. Could not get it to fuction. Attempted to contact xplane for assistance to no avail.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.