TOP

Reviews for Yaesu FTA-750L NAV-COM Aviation Transceiver with GPS

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Good technology

  • By ROBERT C from Alpharetta GA USA on Thursday, June 12, 2014
  • Pros: Excellent display, control features, size and functional controls
  • Cons: Instructions for software a little weak.
  • Review: I needed to update my 10 year old radio. I wanted something that I could transfer the radio data from a software program into the radio. I did have to call Yaesu for some help because the software instructions were not clear. It works excellent in the air. I like the GPS feature and VOR tracking as a backup.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 29 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good price, good features

  • By James from McKinney TX USA on Thursday, January 21, 2016
  • Pros: Transmission on Comm and Emergency situations very fast and intuitive. Navigation modality requires a detailed setup but once set, the VOR and ILS is actually spot on.
  • Cons: Not entirely intuitive. Have to go through instructions a couple of times to gain an understanding.
  • Review: WAAS capable. Comm strong, easy to use. Great back-up when the expected happens. Takes a little time to set up, use and get familiar to utilize all its functions. Does more than a radio, it odes well with ILS and VOR. Program in intersection waypoints fairly easily. Ince you set this Transceiver up, you will find its versatility to be very comforting in the event of an emergency avionics issue. I give this 4.5 stars.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 23 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as advertised straight out of the box

  • By Stewart from Launceston TAS Australia on Wednesday, January 07, 2015
  • Pros: Worked 1st time out-of-the-box
  • Cons: None is far as we can see
  • Review: Our requirement is for coaching of aerobatic flight, in controlled airspace. The unit allows us to run active commentary to the pilot and listen on tower frequency. GPS feature for cross-country is handy. Have flown the ILS feature, glide slope relatively slow to acquire, but worked perfectly, matching the TSO instruments. One touch button on off is good, easy to sort through the system on screen, a very good unit. Huge improvement over icom
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 21 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By EDWARD from Santa Cruz CA USA on Monday, September 18, 2017
  • Review: AS ADVERTISED, THE SYSTEM WORKS VERY WELL. THE YAESU NAV/COMM SYSTEM CAME WITH ALL SUPPLEMENTAL ACCESSORIES AND WAS PACKAGED WELL. INSTRUCTION MANUAL IS WRITTEN WELL.

    THE CHARGING CRADLE/STAND IS NOT WELL DESIGNED. IT FUNCTIONS AS A CHARGER AND IS FAST; HOWEVER, IT IS A LIGHT PLASTIC AND FLIMSY AND TAKES TWO HANDS TO SET THE RADIO INTO POSITION.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Back-Up Radio For Pilots!

  • By To,m from Davenport FL USA on Thursday, July 06, 2017
  • Pros: Long Lasting Rechargeable Battery, Light Weight, Large Screen
  • Cons: There are a lot of functions, may take a while to learn all it can do
  • Review: I purchased this radio as a back up when flying and to listen in on air traffic radio calls while I am learning. easy to use, large well lit screen and the GPS Capability is a must in this day and age. Great value for the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

An excellent backup

  • By from Illinois on Monday, September 21, 2020
  • Pros: works in an emergency, navigation capabilities, included accessories
  • Cons: range
  • Review: As long as you have your expectations properly set, you will be pleased. In particular what I mean is the range. The antenna is small so reception isn't super and the range people can hear you isn't too far due to the antenna but also the transmit power.

    That being said, this radio allowed me to fly from a remote airport to one near my house and then back to my home airport (under a class B requiring transponder and ADS-B) just the other day when my airplane's avionics (comm and nav) went out. I'm so glad I have this.

    Bonus items are it can provide you your GPS location which you can verify on the sectional chart. Plus there are other features I have not tested yet such as VOR and ILS. Very cool radio, very reasonable price considering the features and accessories it comes with.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Airband Radio

  • By kons from London U.K. on Friday, June 16, 2017
  • Pros: Durable, Easy to use, very good sound TX/RX.
  • Cons: I prefer the SMA type of antenna connection and not BNC. Also I would like to have more battery capacity and more memory channels.
  • Review: Very durable radio came with the latest firmware version 2.04 and immediately easy update to 2.06. Works as advertised and meet my expectation. Easy to use at any aspect. Is durable, easy to use, very good sound TX/RX.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I WOULD BVUY THIS PRODUCT

  • By Hal The Pilot from Peabody MA USA on Thursday, January 18, 2018
  • Pros: Very well made.
  • Cons: Not user friendly. Had to go online to online manual for use. Would be nice to have a factory printed user manual which I would be happy to buy.
  • Review:

    It's a great performer, worth the money.  It would be nice if it had a color screen.  The printed manual that comes with it could be better if it had examples for using.  It met 95% of my expectations.  I would be happy to purchase a better a printed manual from YAESU.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Rick from Spring Hill TN USA on Thursday, January 21, 2016
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons: Graphics could be a little better
  • Review: Love this product. Didn't have to look at directions - very intuitive. Easy to use. Works great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By sang bum from seoul South Korea on Tuesday, July 01, 2014
  • Review: Very good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Sturdy and working as expected

  • By A Customer from Cupertino CA USA on Wednesday, July 08, 2020
  • Pros: Sturdy build, easy to read screen, large enough buttons, easy access to most frequently used features.
  • Cons: It has some steep learning curve to get used to the menus.
  • Review: After reading the reviews, especially the negative ones, I decided to purchase this item. I received exactly what I expected.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.