TOP

Reviews for Yaesu FTA-750L NAV-COM Aviation Transceiver with GPS

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Good technology

  • By ROBERT C from Alpharetta GA USA on Thursday, June 12, 2014
  • Pros: Excellent display, control features, size and functional controls
  • Cons: Instructions for software a little weak.
  • Review: I needed to update my 10 year old radio. I wanted something that I could transfer the radio data from a software program into the radio. I did have to call Yaesu for some help because the software instructions were not clear. It works excellent in the air. I like the GPS feature and VOR tracking as a backup.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 29 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good price, good features

  • By James from McKinney TX USA on Thursday, January 21, 2016
  • Pros: Transmission on Comm and Emergency situations very fast and intuitive. Navigation modality requires a detailed setup but once set, the VOR and ILS is actually spot on.
  • Cons: Not entirely intuitive. Have to go through instructions a couple of times to gain an understanding.
  • Review: WAAS capable. Comm strong, easy to use. Great back-up when the expected happens. Takes a little time to set up, use and get familiar to utilize all its functions. Does more than a radio, it odes well with ILS and VOR. Program in intersection waypoints fairly easily. Ince you set this Transceiver up, you will find its versatility to be very comforting in the event of an emergency avionics issue. I give this 4.5 stars.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 22 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as advertised straight out of the box

  • By Stewart from Launceston TAS Australia on Wednesday, January 07, 2015
  • Pros: Worked 1st time out-of-the-box
  • Cons: None is far as we can see
  • Review: Our requirement is for coaching of aerobatic flight, in controlled airspace. The unit allows us to run active commentary to the pilot and listen on tower frequency. GPS feature for cross-country is handy. Have flown the ILS feature, glide slope relatively slow to acquire, but worked perfectly, matching the TSO instruments. One touch button on off is good, easy to sort through the system on screen, a very good unit. Huge improvement over icom
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 20 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By EDWARD from Santa Cruz CA USA on Monday, September 18, 2017
  • Review: AS ADVERTISED, THE SYSTEM WORKS VERY WELL. THE YAESU NAV/COMM SYSTEM CAME WITH ALL SUPPLEMENTAL ACCESSORIES AND WAS PACKAGED WELL. INSTRUCTION MANUAL IS WRITTEN WELL.

    THE CHARGING CRADLE/STAND IS NOT WELL DESIGNED. IT FUNCTIONS AS A CHARGER AND IS FAST; HOWEVER, IT IS A LIGHT PLASTIC AND FLIMSY AND TAKES TWO HANDS TO SET THE RADIO INTO POSITION.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Back-Up Radio For Pilots!

  • By To,m from Davenport FL USA on Thursday, July 06, 2017
  • Pros: Long Lasting Rechargeable Battery, Light Weight, Large Screen
  • Cons: There are a lot of functions, may take a while to learn all it can do
  • Review: I purchased this radio as a back up when flying and to listen in on air traffic radio calls while I am learning. easy to use, large well lit screen and the GPS Capability is a must in this day and age. Great value for the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Airband Radio

  • By kons from London U.K. on Friday, June 16, 2017
  • Pros: Durable, Easy to use, very good sound TX/RX.
  • Cons: I prefer the SMA type of antenna connection and not BNC. Also I would like to have more battery capacity and more memory channels.
  • Review: Very durable radio came with the latest firmware version 2.04 and immediately easy update to 2.06. Works as advertised and meet my expectation. Easy to use at any aspect. Is durable, easy to use, very good sound TX/RX.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Rick from Spring Hill TN USA on Thursday, January 21, 2016
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons: Graphics could be a little better
  • Review: Love this product. Didn't have to look at directions - very intuitive. Easy to use. Works great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By sang bum from seoul South Korea on Tuesday, July 01, 2014
  • Review: Very good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I WOULD BVUY THIS PRODUCT

  • By Hal The Pilot from Peabody MA USA on Thursday, January 18, 2018
  • Pros: Very well made.
  • Cons: Not user friendly. Had to go online to online manual for use. Would be nice to have a factory printed user manual which I would be happy to buy.
  • Review:

    It's a great performer, worth the money.  It would be nice if it had a color screen.  The printed manual that comes with it could be better if it had examples for using.  It met 95% of my expectations.  I would be happy to purchase a better a printed manual from YAESU.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

An excellent backup

  • By from Illinois on Monday, September 21, 2020
  • Pros: works in an emergency, navigation capabilities, included accessories
  • Cons: range
  • Review: As long as you have your expectations properly set, you will be pleased. In particular what I mean is the range. The antenna is small so reception isn't super and the range people can hear you isn't too far due to the antenna but also the transmit power.

    That being said, this radio allowed me to fly from a remote airport to one near my house and then back to my home airport (under a class B requiring transponder and ADS-B) just the other day when my airplane's avionics (comm and nav) went out. I'm so glad I have this.

    Bonus items are it can provide you your GPS location which you can verify on the sectional chart. Plus there are other features I have not tested yet such as VOR and ILS. Very cool radio, very reasonable price considering the features and accessories it comes with.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Sturdy and working as expected

  • By A Customer from Cupertino CA USA on Wednesday, July 08, 2020
  • Pros: Sturdy build, easy to read screen, large enough buttons, easy access to most frequently used features.
  • Cons: It has some steep learning curve to get used to the menus.
  • Review: After reading the reviews, especially the negative ones, I decided to purchase this item. I received exactly what I expected.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Hollywood FL USA on Monday, January 22, 2018
  • Pros: A lot of functions
  • Cons: Need some time to progrprogram
  • Review: Very good value for your money. It's my first hand held radio .I gave it only 4 star the instructions to program and use the radio is not clear and it take an effort to program correct.  In general I am very pleased with it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 16 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

it works for me

  • By Jess T from Soldotna AK USA on Thursday, January 08, 2015
  • Pros: good trans/receive, gps
  • Cons: screen easily scratched, software
  • Review: Bought this for airband and gps for my plane.  Works for me.  Software is ok and instructions are incomplete, but once you figure it out... it's ok.  Screen can be scratched and has to be protected.   Otherwise... radio works great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Bob from Keene CA USA on Wednesday, July 08, 2015
  • Review: I am a first time user of a hand held Nav-Com so i will not be a good candidate to do any review, but around Bakersfield CA the Yaesu product is preferred.
    The unit is complex and has a great selection of options and Fetchers! i like them but a little green on how to use them.
    Is there a training DVD available explaining the fetchers for this FTA-750L NAV-COM? If so i would like to have one?
    Thank you
    Bob
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fulll functioning Radio with all the Bells and Whisltes

  • By Jerry from Cave Creek AZ USA on Monday, February 27, 2017
  • Pros: Comlpact, full features and good backup unit.
  • Cons: Very hard to get figured out to use some features.
  • Review: Lots of capabilities and does what is advertised.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fantastic radio

  • By Mike from Queen Creek AZ USA on Tuesday, December 04, 2018
  • Pros: Plenty of memory slots for many airports
  • Cons: The programming manual needs help, it would be nice to group airports into groups and be it is there just need to figure how to do it.
  • Review: The radio itself is great, very easy to read, the buttons are easy and it just works
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

Nice concept, needs some improvement on the user friendliness of the interface

  • By Andy from Overseas on Sunday, April 20, 2014
  • Pros: see above
  • Cons: see above
  • Review: The Yaesu FTA-750L is a solid radio with a great concept: Integrated Nav, Comm, GPS and ILS with a decent sized, though hard to see, display. The navigation displays are easy to use and logical. Overall, however, the navigation within the radio software is cumbersome, illogical and could use a great deal of improvement. The directions are not well written so don't help much with the overall experience.

    What I liked:
    Solidly built, water resistant
    Good battery
    Included extras (headset adaptor, AA case, desk stand, cig lighter cord)
    Large display
    Navigation displays (HSI!)

    What I didn't like:

    Not intuitive
    Confusing in many areas (for instance, if you are in memory mode, it looks almost the same as comm mode yet you can't change frequencies and you find yourself wondering what's wrong with the radio)
    Have to wade through many levels of the menu to get to what should be top functions
    Can't change ILS course in ILS mode (directions say you can but they are confusing and I couldn't figure out with much exploration of menus).
    GPS dropped signal a lot in cockpit.
    Scanning useless
    Display hard to see in sunlight due to glare on display cover and poor contrast
    Can't program length of time backlight is on
    Directions poorly written
    Included (downloadable) programming software only for Windows

    Comm range tested out to about 10 miles hand held in the cockpit. I tested it with a Lightspeed Zulu2 headset and the included adaptor worked well.

    I've been flying for many years and am quite versed in the use of electronics and have studied and practiced pilot-machine interfaces at all levels from basic to very complex. One would think with such an expensive radio that more time would have been spent to polish the interface, especially in the age of iPhones and ease of use. Since this is software, I hope Yaesu does some major updates to fix what I perceive are considerable shortcomings in user friendliness. Would I buy it again? Probably since it's about the only thing out there with this feature set, but if Icom comes out with a similar model that is better executed, I would probably switch.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 126 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Looks Good but has some short comings!!!

  • By Stan from Chino Hills CA USA on Tuesday, December 19, 2017
  • Pros: Good product, good display screen, easy to read.
  • Cons: is a little hard to program in new frequencies and locations
  • Review: This transceiver is a good product, I would buy products from this dot com again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Read the fine print...

  • By Darrell from Phoenix, AZ on Saturday, January 31, 2015
  • Pros: Solid - seems well built
  • Cons: Poor user interface. Poor GPS and LOC/VOR functionality
  • Review: Appears solidly constructed and accessories are well imagined and complete. Unfortunately, the interface for the user is awful. Anything but intuitive. The reason for buying in my case was its advertised robust ability to provide backup gps and LOC/VOR. From a pilot's perspective, the value of both in this unit of is almost worthless. You cannot enter a LOC/VOR frequency - it will tell you when it receives one. Seemingly never occurred to them that several may be in the same area. Similarly, the GPS has little if any value in the cockpit except to give you a lat/long or record a point flown over. No aviation database to reference. Your phone would be of more service. Only reason for 2 stars is the radio quality seems very good, but could get that in a basic model.
    Lesson learned - just because it says it can do something does not mean that it can do so usefully. It may be intended for pilots, but it is clearly not designed by pilots.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 60 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Difficult to program. Keys are small. Not an intuitive user interface. User must scroll continuously to locate features...not practical in a task-intensive environment like a cockpit.

  • By Mark from Lithia FL USA on Monday, January 07, 2019
  • Review: Would not recommend
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.