TOP

Lightspeed Sierra Headset

  • 67 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Lightspeed Sierra Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

It's better than you think

  • By Douglas from Boston MA USA on Monday, October 21, 2013
  • Pros: Build Quality, Audio Quality, Bluetooth Capable, Long Battery Life
  • Cons: Not as light as the Zulu II
  • Review: I was debating between getting this headset or the Zulu II (I know they are in different price groups, but I wanted value with quality). I already have a Bose A20, but I've heard such good things about Lightspeed I thought, why not? So after visiting the Lightspeed booth at EAA Airventure, I tried out the new PFX headset, tried out a Zulu, and tried these headsets out from a friend. Lo and behold, I took these. Why? For hundreds of dollars less, it's almost the same level of sound quality and pretty much the same build quality. I love the ergonomics of this model - it is smaller than the Sennheiser S1, and it's control unit is HALF the size of the PFX (which is abnormally large in the first place), You get more than what you pay for with this model. The only justification I could have with the PFX or Zulu II is if I flew an open cockpit plane, but I don't. These headsets are nearly as quiet as my Bose A20s.

    Save the difference between this and a Zulu II and use the savings to fly more hours!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 14 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Value Very Comfortable

  • By C29 student from C29 on Friday, December 20, 2013
  • Pros: Comfortable, Quiet, A Good Value
  • Cons: Carrying bay could be bigger and offer better protection for the mike boom
  • Review: This is a great forever headset. As a student pilot it was tempting to purchase a less expensive passive headset, to have more money for flight training. After talking with my fellow student pilots I was convinced to purchase an active headset. I was blown away with the performance of this headset compared to the flight schools headset I used on my first flight. The radio calls were extremely clear and I could here my instructor much more clearly. The most impressive feature was its passive noise reduction. On my last flight, i was in a different 172 than I normally fly. I thought the plane was slightly louder than normal. I just assumed it was because I was just in a different aircraft. It was not until I unplugged the headset after the flight that I realized that I had never even turned on the ANR. It was still noticeably quieter than my flight school's headset. In my opinion this headset offers all the performance a pilot could ever want in a headset, with only a small reduction in features compared to the Zulu, at a greatly reduced price. I would recommend this headset and plan to purchase another for my passenger once I get my private pilot ticket. Happy and most importantly safe flying
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I am buying a second one.

  • By Mr Pilot from Van Nuys CA USA on Wednesday, April 17, 2013
  • Pros: Comfortable and Noise Cancelation works fantastic.
  • Cons: External Device Volume Control is not loud enough.
  • Review: In 24 years of flying this is the most comfortable headset I have ever used.
    Noise cancelation is fantastic.
    Only thing I would have liked better is to be able to turn the volume up higher on my iPod which the head set does not allow you to do. The auto mute future build into the headset however works great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.

Everything I could have asked for.

  • By "Tall" Paul from Peoria, AZ on Thursday, May 21, 2020
  • Pros: Great ANR, Clear transmissions, very comfortable
  • Cons: Supplied case is lacking.
  • Review:

    Looking at the prospect of flying professionally I spoke with other career pilots and they told me about LightSPEED. I had flown using a Bose set before, and the Sierra set felt just as good for me. I am incredibly pleased and now four years later have never had the slightest glitch. Totally worth it for me.  

    I have used other "cheap" sets and they put a substantial amount of pressure on my head to provide noise reduction and also felt much heavier. I have not had any issues of fatigue while flying long XC flights. I have used the Bluetooth feature as well as the 3.5mm jack quite a bit with no issues. I can't say enough good about them. 

    The only thing is I use a different case to keep them in as I was concerned that the case they come with might not protect them well enough. Battery life seams to be a little over 50 hours from what I have seen (just an FYI).  

    They present a very professional look, without the "top shelf" price tag (which is a nice bonus when your professional image is important). 

    Lastly, every time I make a radio call it is nice and clear, and most important I can hear every call very clearly. It is so nice not having to either repeat myself, or asking ATC to repeat themselves. Aside from all the features, that is what is number one for me.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Heath TX USA on Friday, October 27, 2017
  • Review: Met all my expectations. Just finished two 8 hour cross country trips. Headset was comfortable. Noise canceling was great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

you'll like this headset.

  • By Larry from Currie NC USA on Friday, September 09, 2016
  • Pros: light, nicely styled,performs as advertised.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I wore this headset for a 5 hour flight right out of the box, and found it very comfortable . To me, performance is just as good as good as the higher priced headsets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

All round awesome!

  • By Jeffrey from Stonewall LA USA on Tuesday, August 30, 2016
  • Pros: Just as advertised.
  • Cons: Free would be better.
  • Review: Hardly notice I have anything on,, comfort is a 5.
    I fly a LOUD Glasair, noise reduction is outstanding.
    I would make this purchase again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Friday, January 08, 2021
  • Review: It's Lightspeed, what more can I say. I already have two of these and wanted to make sure the second passenger also had a great flight experience while retaining their hearing! Nice comfy ear cushions, not too heavy, and with Bluetooth for private audio/telephone for flight-plan filing/clearance delivery. Highly recommend, and years later, if they've seen some rough times, you can always use the refurbish program.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

Great value for active noise-cancelling

  • By John from San Diego, CA on Tuesday, November 03, 2015
  • Pros: Price, active-noise cancelling, independent volume control.
  • Cons: Mic may need to be rotated towards mouth for best results
  • Review: This headset sounds and feels just as good as the Lightspeed Zulu 2 or Bose A20, and much less expensive. I haven't tried the Bluetooth in flight, but my phone recognized the headset and connected to it while on ground, so I don't expect a problem there. Very comfortable and impressive. Highly recommended.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Sounds of Silence

  • By A Customer from Knoxville TN USA on Monday, November 10, 2014
  • Pros: noise reduction
  • Cons: REALLY dislike the case! Headset could be more comfortable on small heads
  • Review: I bought this headset in hopes of hearing controllers better. It worked. The plane noise is greatly diminished and cockpit/radio conversation is easily heard. I really like the way this headset made flying quieter. I don't think it was designed, though, with females in mind--headset is quite big and bulky. I wish there was a smaller, less bulky version of the same headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset

  • By Raz from Israel on Monday, October 06, 2014
  • Review: Great headset, very good ANR, fantastic sound quality.
    Shipping to Israel very expensive because of israeli post service and VAT
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headset

  • By Scott from Sugar Grove IL USA on Friday, October 24, 2014
  • Pros: comfort and excellent ANR function
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Can't beat this headset for the quality, features and comfort for the cost. Probably can't even get close for the cost.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Comfortable Headset!

  • By Lance from Plantation FL USA on Tuesday, January 17, 2012
  • Pros: Super comfortable and no head squeeze headaches.
  • Cons:
  • Review: The headset is being used in a open cockpit biplane; and it copes very well with the additional noise. I did need to add a larger mic muff to eliminate wind noise activating the intercom, but that happens with any headset. I also noticed that battery life is much longer than my old ANR headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My husband loves it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • By Nancy from Biloxi MS USA on Friday, January 27, 2012
  • Review: My husband loves this and if he is happy then it is a great product. He researches everything before he buys, but would not purchase for himself, so when he received at Christmas he was not only surprised but extremely happy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best headset for the price. Made in the US.

  • By CFII from San Antonio TX USA on Wednesday, April 25, 2012
  • Pros: The quality of the sound, especially the music.
  • Cons: Cant connect mp3 via bluetooth
  • Review: It execeded my expectations. It's so quiet that the first time I flew a multi with my Sierra I had to really pay attention to sync the props.This headset is up there with the big boys only half the price. Best ANR headsets for the price and made in the US.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I can hear clearly again

  • By Richard from Jarrettsville MD USA on Tuesday, November 08, 2011
  • Pros: Excellent Noise Cancelling
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I was using a rented David Clark passive headset and decided that I wasn't always hearing clearly ATC. I decided to buy an active unit. Purchased Lightspeed Sierra and have used it for approx 12 hours. I can hear communications much clearer because of the active noise cancelling. Headset works well with sun glasses, and Isn't even felt on my head after about 5 minutes. I connected it to my phone, but haven't used this feature yet. If the headset holds up, and I see no reason why it won't, I feel I have made a very wise choice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good headset

  • By BRIAN from Crystal River, Fl. USA on Wednesday, February 02, 2011
  • Pros: quiet
  • Cons: slightly bigger than the zulu
  • Review: Bought this headset for my co-pilot, i have the Zulu.  The Sierra appears to be comparable to the Zulu, just a little big larger.  Co-pilot stated that the Sierra is light and quiet.  For the $200 less, it is well worth the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Caleb from Newport News, VA on Thursday, January 05, 2012
  • Review: I purchased this headset to replace my David Clark H10-30S that I had been using for almost 3 years. The transition from passive to active noise reduction was amazing. I work as full-time flight instructor so I spend all day in a Skyhawk. Normally, the cockpit noise is fatiguing but the Sierra mitigates this significantly and makes flights a bit more enjoyable. The headset seemed a little bulky at first but now I hardly notice it. It is easy to adjust and sits comfortably on my head. The sound is crisp and clear. Air traffic controllers now sound like they are sitting in the plane with me. I haven't had the opportunity to test the Zulu or Bose headsets but don't feel like I'm missing much. Fellow instructors, this is an incredible headset that you won't have to starve for a month to just afford!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice headset

  • By Max from El Paso TX USA on Sunday, January 08, 2012
  • Pros: Affordable ANR, COMFORTABLE
  • Cons: Mono switch hard to change
  • Review: Has performed well so far. Like it better than my David Clarks.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great headset

  • By Kevin from colorado springs CO USA on Tuesday, August 07, 2012
  • Pros: cost
  • Cons: everything else
  • Review: I have limited experience with headsets as a student pilot, but I can honestly say the experienced pilots where I fly use this and the Zulu headset and seem pretty happy with it.
    the noise cancellation works great, if it were any better I think the cockpit would be a little too sterile and it would be difficult to hear changes in the RPM. I've flown Cessna 172 and now a diamond star DA-40 the thing I hear most in the diamond is the air rushing through the vents, but I can barely hear the engine itself with noise cancelling on.
    i have not tried the audio line in while in flight but have tried to see how it sounded on the ground. the quality is great and clear.
    ATC transmission much easier to hear with this headset verses the passive david clark as expected.
    overall other than cost this is a great headset. I highly recommend and light speed was very helpful when trying to figure out how to get the bluetooth connected.
    in fact I managed to bring up something that helped them with the connection process that they felt was useful during our conversation so they sent me a free windscreen for the boom mike.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Lincoln NE USA on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
  • Pros: light, comfortable, noise reduction is great
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Great headset for the money
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

so far, so good

  • By A Customer from Azle TX USA on Monday, October 31, 2016
  • Pros: The ANC has to be the greatest benefit.
  • Cons: None, yet.
  • Review: It has met my expectations thus far. It's comfortable to wear, not too heavy. A little too thick on the padding on top, but tolerable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Comfortable and Excellent ANR

  • By Brian from Groton MA USA on Monday, August 05, 2013
  • Pros: Great ANR, Comfort, Weight, Bluetooth
  • Cons: Cord After Controller Too Short
  • Review: The headset is light and comfortable. The noise reduction exceeded my expectations. I successfully linked my Samsung Galaxy S3 audio input connection.

    I have used my DC 13.4 headset since starting my training and buying a plane. After getting my license I needed another headset. I tried a DC 13x before buying which was in the same price range. The Sierra's ANR performance was much better and the headset was much lighter and more comfortable.

    My only complaint is the the amount of cord between the controller and the mic/phone plugs is too short. But that is kind of unique to my plane. My headset plugins are behind my seatback in the baggage area. The controller just makes it over the back of my seat and must hang down there between me and the passenger. I could buy a headset cord extension, but I have decided to move the plug sockets to under the panel.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Performs as expected.

  • By Darryll from Fort Myers FL USA on Monday, July 24, 2017
  • Pros: Excellent construction.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: They're certainly not the least expensive product on the market, but they're superb quality. Comfortable and sturdy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A solid headset that will not disappoint, and definitely worth it's weight in $$

  • By A Customer from Chesapeake VA USA on Tuesday, July 16, 2019
  • Pros: Active noise reduction
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I own a Zulu and tried the Tango, but found this a comfortable and affordable option for my passengers.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Duluth MN USA on Saturday, March 24, 2012
  • Review: I love it for the price!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By Stephen from Cookeville TN USA on Friday, June 27, 2014
  • Review: Clear, Comfortable, Lightweight, High Quality
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Impressive Headset

  • By A Customer from Fairbanks AK USA on Wednesday, August 15, 2012
  • Review: Great headset. Very comfortable, good ANR. Good price. Will see how it holds up over time....
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Sierra head set

  • By Jerry from Fremont OH USA on Monday, January 24, 2011
  • Review: I compared many sets and I was about to buy a Boies set but I didn't want to pay a $1000.00 for them. I chose to serria set and I am very satisfied. I am 70 an a little hard hearing, but this set is wonderful, I can hear perfecly. The noise canceling, is you cannot believe it, its like one pilot said "I though my engine quit"
    The price is acceptable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

They work great

  • By Edward from Oceanside CA USA on Tuesday, January 25, 2011
  • Pros: The ANR is so good I want to wear them while watching TV at home.
  • Cons: No bluetooth music, you have to use a cable.
  • Review: The headphones are comfy and work as advertised.

    A pleasant surprise is the batteries lasting longer than I expected. Perhaps because I haven't used the bluetooth?
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Good

  • By Kenneth from Hamilton OH USA on Monday, June 13, 2011
  • Pros: very comfortable, easy to hear
  • Cons:
  • Review: Outstanding product for the price. No need to spend a grand with this product available.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Head set is great

  • By Bradley from South Jordan UT USA on Monday, August 15, 2011
  • Pros: Light
  • Cons: No blue tooth or telephone
  • Review: This headset is a great value. I also have the Lightspeed Zulu and when wearing either of them can not tell much difference, The Zulu has more features and if you need them great, But if you only use the headset as a headset and dont need Blue tooth and telephone, save your money and buy the Siera.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By alex from Lancaster CA USA on Monday, May 16, 2011
  • Review: Well built, great quality, not a huge difference with Zulu series. well worth it. excellent costumer service from my pilot store, payed the extra 40 bucks for shipping on a Thursday, arrived at my door step by Friday, I was using them by Sat morning on my flight lesson with my instructor who happens to have the same set. loves it as well. BUY IT !!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

not sure why anyone would pay for zulu

  • By chad from Urbandale IA USA on Wednesday, August 18, 2010
  • Review: Best headset I have ever owned hands down. I compared this side by side in the cockpit with Zulu and couldn't tell the difference aside from the way it fits over the top of your head. So if you want to pay the difference for a couple of ounces less go for the Zulu, otherwise save your money and enjoy the same features comfort and noise reduction.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headset

  • By Jon from Folsom CA USA on Saturday, October 16, 2010
  • Pros:
  • Cons: wish it came with a better case
  • Review: This is a great headset. I tried out a lot of headset's at my flight school, including the Zulu, before I purchased the Sierra's. The Sierra's may look a little bigger than the Zulu, but they work just as well. This headset canceled almost all noise when the ANR is on, it's so quiet. The boom mic is perfect size and everything comes in clear. Only complaint is that I wish it came with a better carrying case. Other than than, great headset and I highly recommend them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By Tim from Savannah GA on Monday, November 08, 2010
  • Pros: great sound quality, light weight
  • Cons: have not found any concerns
  • Review: I was excited to give my new headsets a run for their money, and they were well worth it. Although they were more than I had wanted to spend on headsets, they were half the cost of the set I was actually concidering (A20 by BOSE). The sound quality is great, with or without the sound dampening so if your batteries die, you will not have any problems. I don't recommend using your iPod or Cell Phone blue tooth in high traffic areas as it will just get anoying with the fade in/out for incomming transmissions, however the feature is great to have on long trips and in areas with little to no radio traffic. I would recommend these to anyone.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best Value

  • By Markku from Somerset West South Africa on Monday, September 20, 2010
  • Pros: comfortable and quiet
  • Cons: still a lot of money
  • Review: Have owned a Zulu for a year, love it. Now upgraded the rest of the family to Lightspeed as well. The Sierra does a perfect job. The first trip was a three hour leg, they said they didn't even notice wearing a headset. Everyone gets their own iPod connection and time flies!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Bought it; Love it....

  • By Archer Pilot from Twin Cities, MN on Tuesday, December 07, 2010
  • Pros: Great low frequency sound suppression and clear audio.
  • Cons: Nothing so far (well...price).
  • Review: What everybody else has said. Great replacement for my old David Clarks. $50 cheaper here than what I paid a few months ago.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

The best headset i have ever used

  • By Kingair300 from Homestead, Florida on Tuesday, September 28, 2010
  • Pros: comfortable, light weight, quiet
  • Cons: none
  • Review: It was time for an upgrade and I decided to buy the Sierra for a first time ANR, it is made of great quality and it seems like it will last many years of flying and it was also very comfortable and quiet.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By flashgarvi from fort mill SC USA on Monday, September 12, 2011
  • Pros: Good price.. comfortable fit
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Great product at a great price! The headset is so comfortable I almost forget that I'm wearing them!  The sound quality/clarity is mcuh better than previous headsets I have tried out.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again.

  • By Alan from Petaluma CA USA on Monday, June 13, 2011
  • Pros: Comfortable and quiet.
  • Cons: None so far.
  • Review: Met and exceded my expectations. Very comfortable and quiet. I don't need all the bells and whistles of the Zulu so I felt this was almost as good for a lot less money. I wore the headset for a five-hour flight without any head-squeeze or discomfort. Blue-tooth phone answering is pretty cool also, but not a huge reason for buying the headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

fine product

  • By david from punta gorda FL USA on Wednesday, March 07, 2012
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Cool runnings!

  • By Caleb from Newport News VA USA on Tuesday, February 07, 2012
  • Pros: Outstanding value, comfortable, music!
  • Cons: the mic boom could be a little sturdier
  • Review: I've been using this headset for a few weeks. I used to have a PNR David Clark headset. When I put these things on for the first time in the airplane, I was blown away. I've been living under a rock all these years! Active Noise Reduction is a must for flight instructors. I can't drive without music so it was tough being able to fly without it. This headset solves that problem. It feels slightly bulkier than my old David Clark but the ear seals are extremely comfortable. My only nitpick is the mic boom could be little sturdier.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Lon from Cumming GA USA on Tuesday, February 07, 2012
  • Pros: Great comfort.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: This was for my co-pilot. Did not need all the features of the ZULU and my kids and spouse love the comfort of the headset for long flights. The noise cancellation makes it easy to stay in the plane longer with out the fatigue of the old passive headsets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By John from Prattville AL USA on Tuesday, April 03, 2012
  • Pros: Fits well and can be used in left or right seat with this microphone
  • Cons: no cons
  • Review: This headset met all my expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset!

  • By Richard from Ventura CA USA on Friday, June 14, 2019
  • Pros: Good noise cancellation and light weight
  • Cons: Adjust them carefully or they will slip during your flight.
  • Review: I really enjoy this headset. After the training, my David Clarks were stolen I decided to get my own pair. Didn’t want to break the bank but wanted a good pair to last me awhile. These feel good while you are wearing them. Noise cancellation is great too. It was a really hot day the other day and my CFI and I decided to fly with the windows open. No problems hearing him or ATC! I’m very happy with them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By David from Jackson WY USA on Monday, December 10, 2018
  • Review: Very satisfied, would purchase again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.