TOP

Reviews for Alpha CWU-45P Nylon Flight Jacket - Sage Green

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Made in China

  • By robert from zanesfield OH USA on Tuesday, October 05, 2010
  • Pros: Price, fit, appearance
  • Cons: Product of China
  • Review: Looks good, fits well (order one size over), priced right, but has one big problem.....I found a tiny little tag below the collar stating "MADE IN CHINA". Big disappointment! I thought this was an American company, proudly making their product in the US!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Timeless quality, if over branded..

  • By Liverboy from Napier, New Zealand on Thursday, June 11, 2015
  • Pros: Great quality - classic design
  • Cons: Too much branding
  • Review: My fourth Alpha industries jacket since the late seventies when I purchased a sage green MA-1 from Flip American Clothing in Long Acre, Covent Garden, London. (Couldn't get one small enough then for my skinny eighteen year old frame, but I paid my twenty pounds sterling wore it with much customised pride for going on two decades including many urban adventures, so it must have been pretty well put together).
    A smaller navy MA -1 went to my girlfriend's brother, and I bought my first CWU from Interstate in Neil St in the early nineties - replica blue, fab jacket that again got worn on and off for a decade or more til some unmentionable nicked it. Someone ( credit where its due) with good taste for a low down tea leaf...
    Coming on winter here in New Zealand -where I now reside -and I look to my winter wardrobe... the leather Schott's looking tatty.. Barbour? So Essex...and not warm... hmmm. an Alpha maybe.. nobody seems to be wearing them these days.. could be cool..(and warm)...
    So was very glad to find the excellent my pilot store website and easy to find sizing etc. quick postage from the States.. arrived a week later - what do you know? Most excellent product as ever! Happy purchaser!
    OK details - the size guide is good ( i'm 36" chest and 5'8".. small is perfect fit for me)
    Now made in China, the build quality is at least as good as any of the jackets I've had previously. Double stitching , heavy nylon fabric, good zips, same great slimline cut ... and now includes an inside pocket ( none before). However - there's more branding - which I don't like, or see the need for. Surely only a cretin would wear the red Flyers tab or the Alpha velcro patch.. and even when you peel off the patch you discover underneath a new Alpha logo ( cheap looking and devalues the product, to my mind ) and a ( albeit relatively discreet) Alpha tab on the arm pocket ( likewise - see above).
    But only a middle aged ex punk rockin anarchist curmudgeon like yours truly would kick up about these details -the quality is really great, it's still fantastic value for the price, and it's warm, well made and just.. very cool. A classic garment which will never go out of style. Not while I'm wearing it, any how ;-) Oh, ok , ....and it'll sure keep you warm ( did I say that?) Slainte!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Warm Jacket

  • By A Customer from East Falmouth MA USA on Friday, January 31, 2014
  • Pros: See above
  • Cons: Ditto
  • Review: Warm jacket, very comfortable this cold winter. Quality seems to be good, although the zippers in these tend to wear out quickly. We'll have to see on that one. Main gripe is: Once again, another product made in China. Note to retailer: I'd pay up to $10 more for an American made product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Almost a 10.

  • By Airfuzz from Puyallup WA USA on Sunday, March 31, 2019
  • Pros: Warmth, comfort and looks,
  • Cons: No hand warmer pockets
  • Review: I thought it was going to have hand warmer slash pockets. But otherwise it is just perfect. Not too bulky, I had my 5th fighter and I'd rather be flying patches sewn on and it looks great. It feels like a warm hug, too hot?, just unzip it.
    Just right on cold mornings. Zip it up if it's cold, windy or wet.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good solid jacket

  • By Tom from Woodstock GA USA on Tuesday, February 09, 2016
  • Pros: Heavy, warm, well made
  • Cons: Bad pen pocket design
  • Review: I was looking for a jacket to wear with the USAF flight suit on CAP missions and this was the most affordable solution. Does the job, very warm, appears well made.
    Only Beefs:
    1. Jacket has 4 pen slots on left sleeve, 2 over 2. Only one is usable: 2 are too small to insert a pen and on the other side inserting a pen in the upper or lower slot prevents use of the other slot.
    2. Since this jacket will normally be adorned with patches, a bit more pre-installed velcro in the appropriate places would be really nice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Nice

  • By Randy from Spokane WA USA on Tuesday, September 20, 2016
  • Review: As good as it gets without being NOMEX . . . . .
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good jacket, very close to my original flt jacket but not quite the same! Not being nomex is probably the difference!

  • By A Customer from San Diego CA USA on Tuesday, January 20, 2015
  • Review: Jacket was close to what I expected! I think my XL size is a bit smaller than my original navy flt jacket! Probably could have gotten one size bigger! Other than that, it's a good jacket! Color and quality are very good!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Happy with this product

  • By 97C from North Carolina on Wednesday, February 03, 2016
  • Pros: Good Fit, Material is heavy and good quality, stitching is holding up so no complaints.
  • Cons: Collar is a bit thin.
  • Review: This is a great product, quality material. Perfect for temps between 0 and 40 deg F. I am 6'2" and 220 lbs and purchased the XL. Very good fit, although could be a bit longer in the back however I think this is typical for flight jackets. I purchased the Sage Green version as this works with the CAP Flight Uniform.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

(mostly) Satisfied customer

  • By Rob from Renton WA USA on Wednesday, January 13, 2016
  • Pros: Well made, good service from MyPilotStore
  • Cons: Jacket is "shorter" than I'm used to having had other CWU-45 jackets in the past
  • Review: I love the jacket. Seems to be well made. I wear it often. I've had other CWU-45P jackets in the past and for whatever reason, this one seems "shorter". That's the only reason I've knocked a star off of my rating. Add another inch or so to the length of the body of this jacket and I'll give it 5 stars. I suppose the possibility exists that I received a defect. If I order another one, I guess I'll have my answer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My husband very pleased with gift!!!

  • By Arlene from Waretown NJ USA on Sunday, December 20, 2009
  • Pros: zipper is metal, not plastic; roomy inside pocket
  • Cons: front pockets open only at top & very high on chest
  • Review: Would have liked to have seen a back view -- didn't realize arm seams were so puckered, stitching seems to "pull" at shoulder(but husband doesn't care). Jacket is warm & comfortable, a good fit despite my husband being at the very upper weight range of XL (was afraid we'd need 2X-mostly for waistline). Unhappy that velcro patch apparently not stitched on completely, & has already pulled away from jacket surface, after only one time attach & remove of id tag ! Would be nice if one could have additional side hand entry to front pockets -- but made to military specs, so.....
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Close but no cigar

  • By Ronald J. from Centreville VA USA on Monday, February 21, 2011
  • Pros: Styling is excellent, Just like the real flight jacket
  • Cons: Since is was made from nylon, when the sleeves were constructed, the sewing bunched too much of the length of the arms up and reduced its length, making the arms a little short.
  • Review: The jacket is an exact replica of the one I wore while on active duty, albiet a little short, should offer long sizes. It was not made of nomex, but that was expected and is not a disqualifer.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Santa Rosa CA USA on Friday, January 18, 2013
  • Review: Good purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By JOHN W. from SPRINGFIELD OH USA on Monday, April 26, 2010
  • Review: I flew in the Navy and I remember a flight jacket like this one but had a Knit coller.... However this one I have no real complaint.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By FRED from Medford MA USA on Tuesday, January 07, 2014
  • Review: DON'T CARE FOR LOGO ON CHEST
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Takes me back fifty six years

  • By ARNE from Dothan AL USA on Monday, June 03, 2013
  • Pros: close to what I was issued
  • Cons: collar...wish it could be removed
  • Review: Won't be flying with this jacket...Got it to wear to a flying tiger reunion this fall, and as a general purpose jacket. It's really good looking and almost just what I wanted if I couldn't have my original one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great jacket

  • By Timothy from New York NY USA on Tuesday, February 16, 2010
  • Pros: Great fit and design
  • Cons: zipper on left arm pocket sticks
  • Review: I bought this jacket to replace the one I used to have when I was in the Navy. Excellent product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.