TOP

Reviews for Pilots Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge / Airplane Flying Handbook Combo

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Essential Books for a Pilot's Library

  • By Martin from Montreal QC Canada on Monday, April 10, 2017
  • Pros: Up to date, comprehensive, informative FAA publication
  • Cons: Not enough pilots read and understand these books.
  • Review: These two up to date books lay the theoretical and practical essentials for all new pilots and serve as an ongoing review for all current ones. A comprehensive range of topics is covered in great detail and supported with clear color illustrations. Additional topics for those upgrading to additional ratings as well as human factors training make these two books indispensable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

HUGE improvement over previous edition!

  • By Michael from Oak Park MI USA on Monday, February 27, 2017
  • Pros: Concise and informative
  • Cons:
  • Review: The previous (2008) edition had an errata list nearly as long as the book. Most were glaringly obvious errors that didn't get caught before printing. It made you wonder if no one had proof read it.

    This new edition corrects all of those errors and explains some concepts more thoroughly. Yes, it took 8 years for the government to just simply correct its own error-riddled publication, but they finally did it.

    The weather theory section could be a bit more complete since it's important to know. I also would've liked to have a few pages of exercises rather than just the single example problem for each topic (e.g. weight & balance, performance calculations, E6-B, use of the plotter, dead reckoning, etc).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great facts, great examples, great materials

  • By Gordon from Janesville WI USA on Monday, April 10, 2017
  • Pros: Well written, comprehensive and good illistrations.
  • Cons: Both books do have redundancy, but I understand why.
  • Review: This combination of books, is a great resource for both beginners and intermediate flyers. Material is very comprehensive and easy to understand. So far, I'm very glad with the purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Must have for pilots in training

  • By A Customer from Grovetown GA USA on Tuesday, September 21, 2010
  • Pros: Color diagrams, easy to read text
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Excellent book. Helpful diagrams, tables. The text is easy to read and explains things very well. A must have for any pilot wanting to know how and why things work!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Official text for my flight students

  • By Sage from Idaho on Sunday, January 13, 2013
  • Pros: Thorough, practical and even exciting at times.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: These two books are of the best educational value of any flight book that I have read. Hats off to the FAA for making a useful affordable resource for all GA pilots.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Every pilot should have these two books.

  • By Dave from Hemet CA USA on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Non
  • Review: They both have a wealth of information. One covers recommended procedures for various types maneuvers, and avionics. The other explains everything aviation. It is good to go back and review something you might be a little foggy on. It is a must have for all pilots, especially beginner pilots.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By james from Bloomington IN USA on Monday, March 25, 2013
  • Pros: Generally readable and logical. Illustrations helpful.
  • Cons: Sometimes way over the head of a low time private pilot with just vfr and single engine, land.
  • Review: Books lived up to their advertised content.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent material and presentation !!

  • By A Customer from Greenville ME USA on Monday, July 22, 2013
  • Pros: All Good
  • Cons: So much info that I wonder how many readers actuallyn finish both books.
  • Review: Tons of good information.
    Pilots and student pilots NEED to know this material.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Enfield CT USA on Thursday, October 24, 2013
  • Pros: It met my needs
  • Cons:
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Kevin from Mount Juliet TN USA on Wednesday, October 15, 2014
  • Pros: Great referance
  • Cons: Cost
  • Review: Used for teaching
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great books. helping me sail through my flight instruction

  • By BOYD from Bloomsburg PA USA on Thursday, October 23, 2014
  • Pros: speed at which i recieved the training materials. i was able to start my studies right away
  • Cons: none
  • Review: These books had everything I needed and more. Would buy them again.  In fact I will be doing all my shopping at MyPilotStore.  I most like the speed I received all items from MyPilotStore.   I look forward to shopping at MyPilotStore in the future.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent

  • By michel from Pembroke ON Canada on Wednesday, May 13, 2015
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Great customer service on some great books

  • By Steve W. from Portland, OR on Tuesday, April 03, 2018
  • Pros: Thorough books yet easy to read and follow along. Great illustrations!
  • Cons: None
  • Review: My review covers two things, the customer service at MyPilotStore.com and the books themselves.

    The staff at MyPilotStore handled a challenge I had with a pre-paid VISA card courteously and swiftly. I ordered my books on a Saturday and received them on Monday. Fantastic!

    The books are the best of both worlds: thorough and easy to follow. I highly recommend them to student pilots.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Wednesday, February 07, 2018
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like the books! Very well put together!

  • By Benjamin from Lufkin TX USA on Monday, April 10, 2017
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love the combo

  • By Caleb from Spring TX USA on Monday, March 27, 2017
  • Review: Two essential reads in one deal, great combo!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good source for aviation Information/instruction

  • By Matthew from Uniontown OH USA on Thursday, March 30, 2017
  • Pros: answers my questions
  • Cons:
  • Review: The book is very through in explanations with pictures defining concepts. This helps supplement my Piper Colt operating manual.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good text and good reference

  • By A Customer from Wichita Falls TX USA on Friday, August 06, 2010
  • Review: Every pilot needs it in his/her library
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A lot of knowledge

  • By Glen from Chesterton IN USA on Tuesday, January 29, 2019
  • Pros: Better details than what I learned in ground school
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It gave a more in-depth detail of information
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good topics and value

  • By Matt from Lincoln NE USA on Tuesday, February 21, 2017
  • Pros: lots of info
  • Cons: log winded
  • Review: Good value.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dave from Lake City FL USA on Sunday, January 29, 2017
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Buy!

  • By Joseph from Berea KY USA (I39) on Wednesday, April 22, 2009
  • Review: This book has exceeded my expectations. Both books are filled with lots of information and color pictures. I great reference for anyone interested in flight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The Govt did something right for a change

  • By Ernest from Murfreesboro TN USA on Friday, February 06, 2009
  • Pros: I like the full color illustrations.
  • Cons: Put it all under one roof
  • Review: This is an excellent primer on aviation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Buy this

  • By Hoovman45 from Oklahoma City OK USA on Monday, April 22, 2019
  • Pros: Great technical info
  • Cons: Should be concise
  • Review: Great combo. It is almost perfect. Technical writers still suck, but it will absolutely supplement your education.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Wednesday, April 10, 2019
  • Review: Great price, great shipment.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.