CYBER MONDAY DEALS SITEWIDE! See Our Featured Deals Here.
TOP

Reviews for CH Products Eclipse Flight Sim Yoke (200-616)

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Works reasonably well

  • By A Customer from CA, USA on Monday, November 08, 2010
  • Review: If you need a yoke that works with either Microsoft Flight Simulator X or X-Plane this one will do the job. It is basically usable. No major problems or dealbreakers. Also, it's nice that it includes a throttle quadrant and rudder pedals. However you are not necessarily getting top-of-the-line equipment here. It's cheap plastic construction. There is no precise center control position so you're probably going to have to configure your flight simulation software to allow a bit of null zone. In FSX the rudder paddles worked fine. In X-Plane they are extremely noisy and unpredictable. Not sure whether that's the yoke's fault, the USB interface, or the software so I won't detract any stars for that. I'd buy this product again if I needed another yoke, though I might take some time to see if I could find something more solidly constructed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By John from New Castle, De. on Thursday, December 25, 2008
  • Review: Very good unit, it lacks instruction on what all the lights & buttons are for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer on Tuesday, October 09, 2012
  • Pros: easy to set up and use
  • Cons: none
  • Review: The yoke is one thing a simulator pilot needs instead of a joystick. It makes flying so much easier, more like the real thing.I should have bought this before the joystick.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

LOOKS GOOD,WORKS GOOD------BUT ONE SMALL PROBLEM

  • By RICHARD from New Bedford MA USA on Thursday, March 27, 2014
  • Pros: GOOD PRODUCT EXCEPT FOR THE RUDDER
  • Cons: RUDDER PROBLEM AS I MENTIONED ABOVE
  • Review: LETS TAKE THE SMALL PROBLEM FIRST. THE RUDDER IS 180 OUT. PUSH RIGHT RUDDER,AND RUDDER TURNS LEFT. PUSH LEFT RUDDER AND THE RUDDER TURNS RIGHT. ALL OTHER ASPECTS ARE ON THE MONEY 100%
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

incorrect assumption

  • By william from Thomaston GA USA on Monday, January 26, 2015
  • Pros: good product
  • Cons: no written instructions
  • Review: Manufacturer assumes that users will be able to configure with little to no instructions.  Not the case, particularly the mode switch. and, yes, I have searched faq, forums, web sites, etc. no joy. Same applies to the pro throttle which I also purchased.Additionally, would appreciate some help in configuring the throttle to be used as a helicopter collective.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Improved control enhances flying experience.

  • By Garry from Port Clinton OH USA on Saturday, September 29, 2012
  • Pros: Fun to use. Improves control of aircraft.
  • Cons: Flight Simulator's function assignment screen does not recognise some pushbuttons.
  • Review: Performs well in flight. Improves control of aircraft. Has a realistic feel. Smooth and positive. Microsoft Flight Simulator X does not recognise all of the pushbuttons directly from the driver. You cannot use flight simulator's screen to assign funtions to some of the pushbuttons. I have not yet loaded the programming software. The yoke ailerons centering is not adjustible and is slightly off making the plane bank slowly when released.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as advertised

  • By Rob from RANCHO CUCAMONGA CA USA on Wednesday, May 24, 2017
  • Pros: Easy to install, calibrate and is responsive given its price
  • Cons: Still "springy" on the elevator axis
  • Review: I have owned the basic CH Yoke previously and never had a problem with the unit. I just purchased the Eclipse version and so far just as satisfied with the unit. The Eclipse has additional features (buttons, toggles) to provide more Sim flexibility. This is not a high end precision instrument but for the $$$ it does the job.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Great! I'd buy it again!

  • By A Customer from Punxsutawney PA USA on Tuesday, August 30, 2016
  • Pros: Well built. Solid feel. Easy to program.
  • Cons: Poor documentaion.
  • Review: Works just fine on Windows 10
    The rudder was backwards.
    No big problem, just reversed it in the setup.
    Easy enough to program, but better documentation would be nice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Albert W. Duncan retired ATC and corp. jet pilot from Melbourne FL USA on Tuesday, May 11, 2010
  • Pros: I feel it's probably the best FS yoke available
  • Cons: good product BUT not enough installation written instructions. I still have parts not programed. After talking to CH I came away feeling some stuff was already installed but no idea what buttons or funtion. Can't believe in this day and age that a compete package can't bhe turnrd loose to the buyer so weak mon nsupport.
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Super realistic

  • By J T from San Antonio TX USA on Sunday, June 14, 2009
  • Pros: quality, ease of install & use, realism
  • Cons: could add more functionality and raise price
  • Review: Durable and adds greatly to the realiy of airplanes that don't have "sticks". I had no trouble installing it or using it with FSX. Experience even better when paired with the CH Rudder Pedals.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well Made BUT.

  • By Louis from Dingmans Ferry PA USA on Monday, April 13, 2009
  • Pros: Well made and very accurate controls
  • Cons: Better Instructions and better programing software.
  • Review: The Yoke is well made and the basics run fine. But on line support is very scarce all the links come back empty. The Rotating switch have no programing docs. I use the yoke with FSX it has no opttions for the rotory sw. making it useless. All the other switches & buttons work fine. Some programing downloads for simulators that work would help.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good bang for the buck

  • By Max from Miami FL USA on Friday, June 05, 2009
  • Pros: Solid, responsive, highly programmable
  • Cons: oversensitive rudder and creaky springs
  • Review: Some background: I've only used joysticks, although I've used a few "good" ones. So this isn't the most informed review you'll see. This yoke exceeded my expectations. Sure, it's made out of plastic, but it has a very solid feel for a plastic part. The controls are generally very smooth and responsive, with the exception of the rudders axis: I have to dial down the sensitivity A LOT on FSX to use them in any meaningful way. Having yoke controls at my immediate disposal was a welcome relief, and programming keys was quite easy even though the product comes with no software. The yoke also mounts solidly to my desk and simply does not move at all if I've screwed it down tight. The only problem I encountered was that the springs on the rudder started to creak moderately after a few weeks. It's annoying, but not a big enough deal for me to mess with the yoke. The creaky springs and the rudder are the only problems, and they don't overwhelm the fact that the controls are generally great and that the unit feels quite solid. So this gets four stars in my book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Alvise from Mussolente Italy on Tuesday, July 27, 2010
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great flight yoke

  • By Lou from Henderson NV USA on Monday, June 15, 2015
  • Pros: Ease of use and storage ability
  • Cons: could use 2 built in throttles
  • Review: Works great and easy to set up. I read about the issues with using thumbs for rudder and what I've done is to place a loose ty-wrap around the L/H "pedal" then slip my left thumb into it. Thus no problem taking off. I also use the fwd yoke buttons for the brakes. It moves very easily form the desk to storage, I don't have a dedicated flight sim desk. Overall very nice. Two throttle quads would have been nice as I'm a king-air guy
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best PC flight yoke I've used.

  • By Tim from Prosser WA USA on Friday, June 24, 2016
  • Pros: Smooth control, solid mount, no drivers required, trim wheels.
  • Cons: Rudder paddles in the way, Throttle Prop Mixture in the way, base top.rounded
  • Review: My Saitek yoke finally gave up the ghost after about 10 years (hat switch died). Since Saitek was unavailable at the time (May 2016) I was forced to find an alternative. I'm happy I did! This yoke is much better than the Saitek which had a big problem with binding which I could only resolve by removing springs for ailerons.

    PRO'S- smooth movement of aileron and elevator (no binding), solid mounting options for thin desktop, no driver install required (I don't use the CH software), Plenty of programmable buttons & switches via FSUIPC, trim wheels on front of yoke.

    CONS- These are my personal preferences. The rudder paddles on the yoke are useless and in the way. I don't need the throttle, prop & mixture controls on base since I use separate controls & I would like a flat top on the base for holding a checklist (like the Saitek).

    I am currently using this yoke with the PMDG 737 & the A2A Simulations Cherokee 180 running on FSX with several addons which works very well! I also use separate Saitek throttle, prop pitch & mixture controls as well as CH rudder pedals. I've found no need to modify by replacing springs as it is not that difficult to apply elevator as long as you are trimmed. I would like to remove the throttle, prop pitch & mixture levers but no other mods are necessary.

    Overall I am very happy with this yoke!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Looks nice-works well

  • By Richard from Irving TX USA on Wednesday, May 29, 2013
  • Pros: Looks good, works nicely
  • Cons: Little support literature
  • Review: I could give a better review if I could figure out how to program the various buttons. I believe it will be great once I get this figured out.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

CH Yoke works

  • By Mac from Sunrise FL USA on Friday, December 27, 2013
  • Pros: Plug and play with MFSX. Customizable to a large extent without add ons
  • Cons: sometimes need to reset buttons when switching from laptop to desktop.
  • Review: This is great practice for IFR trips and procedures. I like being prepared and the Yoke with Microsoft Flight Sim X is a great combo. Gave me perfect familiarization for my BFR and instrument check ride.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Beats using the keyboard and mouse

  • By Tom from Humble TX USA on Tuesday, February 28, 2017
  • Pros: Plenty of buttons to customeize
  • Cons: Spring is much too tight outside of middle range
  • Review: Biggest criticism of online reviews was spring was to tight. I would agree with this criticism. It would be nice if there were a way to reduce the tension on the spring especially when landing. Plenty of buttons to customize and otherwise works as I expected. It would be nice if the controls for the flaps and landing gear were higher on the unit. Current location is hard to get at. Setup can also be a little difficult when dealing with the throttle, yoke and rudders at the same time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's ok

  • By David from Diana TX USA on Wednesday, February 08, 2017
  • Review: Springs are too strong.centering needs work other than that is ok.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Realistic

  • By Ron from Shawnee KS USA on Friday, June 03, 2016
  • Pros: Looks, feel and response is very realistic in one unit.
  • Cons: Had to reset after pausing FS 2004 at one point, it was like it went back to default setting
  • Review: Added another level of the real world to the flight sim experience. Getting the correct height on the mounting surface was one challenge that I did not consider when ordering. To maximize the benefit you need to be one who enjoys tweeking things. Fine tuning required.

    Would buy again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.