CYBER MONDAY DEALS SITEWIDE! See Our Featured Deals Here.
TOP

Reviews for CH Products Eclipse Flight Sim Yoke (200-616)

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Traded my Saitek for the CH

  • By william from Metamora MI USA on Monday, October 28, 2013
  • Review: I had nothing but trouble with my Saitek...finally stopped working altogether. I researched the CH yoke and thought I would give it a try. Its a much better YOKE in every aspect. Love it. Wish I had got one sooner. I fly every night for an hour or so and thus far I am not unhappy with the CH performance. Try it...you will like it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great yoke!

  • By Randall from Abilene TX USA on Wednesday, July 30, 2014
  • Pros: Smooth controls
  • Cons:
  • Review: Over the years I've used the various joysticks, the original CH Products Gameport yoke, the Saitek Yoke System and now the CH Products Eclipse. The Eclipse is by far the best.

    The problem with the Saitek Yoke is well known--very sluggish controls, especially for the elevator. The Saitek certainly looks good, especially with the separate throttle quadrant. But looks means nothing without smooth controls.

    In addition, the Saitek seems to have cheaper potentiometers. The throttle quadrant I had became unusable because of spiking after a couple fo years of relatively light use.

    Smooth controls is essential and the Eclipse delivers. Now as far as appearance, the Eclipse does not look as realistic as the Saitek. Unfortunately, in this price range, you have little choice. I'm very happy with the choice I made.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Producct

  • By KyleLofa from Panama City, FL on Friday, August 20, 2010
  • Pros: Built in throttle quadrant and rudder pedals. Easy to use realistic feel. Built in trim tabs.
  • Cons: There wasn't any support documentation or software (MAC). Didn't need it though. Pretty much plug and play.
  • Review: I use the CH Eclipse on my MAC OS X Leopard with XPlane. I plugged in the yolk and started XPlane. After a quick (5 minutes) calibration in the settings menu it was ready to use. The controls are realistic and the rudder pedal thumb paddles are very useful for those who don't want to cough up the extra $150 or so for the foot pedals. Tons of options! Works GREAT!! Helped me immensely in earning my private pilots license.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.

Top Notch CS/Tech Support

  • By Tony Williams from Marietta, GA on Wednesday, July 07, 2010
  • Pros: Fantastic US made craftsmanship
  • Cons: Clear (1,2,3 - A,B,C type) instructions
  • Review: The product itself is high quality, durable in all appearance, and well thought out in functionality. If you have games not requiring the use of Control Manager you are up and flying in the time to load the game. Should you need the Control Manager program, you best be mighty computer savvy. The Customer Support-Technical Support (ask for, and hope you receive Mr. Kenny Fragoso) is fabulous!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Everything you need for your first yoke.

  • By Tom Dini from Simi Valley CA USA on Tuesday, May 23, 2017
  • Pros: Great first yoke!!! Quality parts, easy setup, integrated throttle quadrant, thumb-paddle rudder pedals, gets you fully equipped for simulated flight!!!!!
  • Cons: The spring inside gets a little creaky when turning left, and sometimes I hear a metallic springy "popping" sound when turning left occasionally. It is only a sound though, the yoke feels smooth and I have precise control of the plane at all times.
  • Review: I bought this as my first yoke. I liked the fact that it has an all-in-one solution - there is a complete single-engine throttle quadrant and thumb controlled rudder pedals that offset each other like real ones. There are also switches and buttons (two buttons on the front of the yoke, and two switches on the console) for your radio, AP, landing gear, flaps or whatever you might need. As far as i can tell the knob in the center of the yoke which switches on a yellow, green or red LED, moving left to right, is just for show. I cant find a way to assign that knob to any sim functions.

    The yoke just works with X-Plane 11, truly plug and play with all functions intelligently automapped by Laminar. Centering and resolution are great. No noise, no matter, auto-centering feels very natural and I now have pinpoint control of my aircraft even when all the stability aid in the sim is turned off.

    This is a very nice, sturdy piece of training gear and if you are looking for a yoke that gives you mappablw buttons, a full three-lever throttle quadrant and rudder pedals all in one unit so you can get your feet wet without investing in an entire virtual cockpit, the CH Eclipse is definitely going to make you happy. :):)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well on a Mac

  • By Juan from San Jose CA USA on Wednesday, January 12, 2011
  • Pros: Works on a mac with x-plane.
  • Cons: Small pain to lock down on desk.
  • Review: I used this on a Mac (Snow Leopard OS) with X-Plane. Pretty much just plug unit in USB port and configure in X-Plane preferences. Did not require any special plug-ins. Works well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Recommended

  • By Patrick from Pocono Lake PA USA on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
  • Pros: Works as advertised.
  • Cons: The clamping devices are useless. Instructions for setuip would be nice.
  • Review: The CH Yoke makes simulated flying fun. Easy to set up and program. My only complaint is with regard to the clamps for attaching to my desk. Totally useless. I used velcro.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

CH Eclipse

  • By Croset from Lausanne Vaud Switzerland on Monday, October 13, 2014
  • Pros: this is the best product
  • Cons: no complaints
  • Review: Excellent quality product, it is very accurate, easily programmable and highly reliable over time.
    it is used both for a flight simulator for a car simulator.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

very well made product

  • By Richard from Coconut Creek FL USA on Thursday, April 23, 2015
  • Pros: well made,
  • Cons: setting up all the buttons and controls can be a drag
  • Review: very well made product
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Loved it!

  • By A Customer from College Station TX USA on Thursday, July 26, 2012
  • Pros: All in one package
  • Cons: Connectivity for use of all the nobs and buttons. "Wish that button would registers so I can use it"
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By brian from Quinton, VA., USA on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
  • Pros: Like the rudder pedal set-up.
  • Cons: Springs are too tight.Need more instructions re: butttons.
  • Review: Had the Saitek Pro before the Eclipse and have to say it is far better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

All you need to start flight simming

  • By on Saturday, March 02, 2019
  • Pros: Easy to setup
  • Cons:
  • Review: Very good quality and materials, sturdy and ergonomic.  The yoke and its axis came perfectly calibrated out of the box.  It feels really comfortable and is very easy to use.  Configuration does not need any auxiliary software.  I used it with FlightGear in Linux and X-Plane in Win7, in both cases no driver is needed to configure and calibrate and works as expected.
    Very good product, if you cannot buy pedals or a quadrant you can do only with this piece of hardware.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

All you need to start flight simming

  • By A Customer from Uruguay on Saturday, March 02, 2019
  • Pros: Easy to setup, solid and ergonomic.
  • Cons: None already
  • Review: Very good quality and materials, sturdy and ergonomic.
    The yoke an its axis came perfectly calibrated out of the box.
    It feels really comfortable and is very easy to use.
    Configuration does not need any auxiliary software.
    I used it with FlightGear in Linux and X-Plane in Win7, in both cases no driver is needed to configure and calibrate and works as expected.
    Very good product, iI you cannot buy pedals or a quadrant you can do only with this piece of hardware.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

MY ECLIPSE FLIGHT YOKE

  • By Benjamin from Sacramento CA USA on Friday, September 18, 2009
  • Pros: Functionality, Lights and easy programming
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Truly an improvement, the Eclipse Flight Yoke provides a much better experience of flight simming, yet not too advanced, it is not hard to program. Just perfect for the computer pilot. It lacks nothing and there isn't anything I hate about it or not satisfied about, its a whole lot of FUN !
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I am very pleased with this flight sim yoke

  • By Larry from Sun City West AZ USA on Thursday, January 26, 2017
  • Pros: It is easy to attach and has good feel
  • Cons: the fuel mixture and prop control do not function as received
  • Review: This item met all my expectations with one exception. I thought it was preprogramed to function with FSX as shipped.

    The fuel mixture and prop controls are not plug and play.

    Other functions including throttle, landing gear and flap controls do work
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Friday, November 24, 2017
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

EXCELLENT to use with Mac and X-plane 11

  • By James on Thursday, December 05, 2019
  • Review: Responsive
    Easily customizable for X-plane
    Easily attaches to a desk
    Works very well in MacOS
    Nothing not to like
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

ch eclipse sim yoke

  • By john a from ocala FL USA on Tuesday, April 05, 2011
  • Review: This is working very well, no problem's
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works reasonably well

  • By A Customer from CA, USA on Monday, November 08, 2010
  • Review: If you need a yoke that works with either Microsoft Flight Simulator X or X-Plane this one will do the job. It is basically usable. No major problems or dealbreakers. Also, it's nice that it includes a throttle quadrant and rudder pedals. However you are not necessarily getting top-of-the-line equipment here. It's cheap plastic construction. There is no precise center control position so you're probably going to have to configure your flight simulation software to allow a bit of null zone. In FSX the rudder paddles worked fine. In X-Plane they are extremely noisy and unpredictable. Not sure whether that's the yoke's fault, the USB interface, or the software so I won't detract any stars for that. I'd buy this product again if I needed another yoke, though I might take some time to see if I could find something more solidly constructed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By John from New Castle, De. on Thursday, December 25, 2008
  • Review: Very good unit, it lacks instruction on what all the lights & buttons are for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer on Tuesday, October 09, 2012
  • Pros: easy to set up and use
  • Cons: none
  • Review: The yoke is one thing a simulator pilot needs instead of a joystick. It makes flying so much easier, more like the real thing.I should have bought this before the joystick.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Improved control enhances flying experience.

  • By Garry from Port Clinton OH USA on Saturday, September 29, 2012
  • Pros: Fun to use. Improves control of aircraft.
  • Cons: Flight Simulator's function assignment screen does not recognise some pushbuttons.
  • Review: Performs well in flight. Improves control of aircraft. Has a realistic feel. Smooth and positive. Microsoft Flight Simulator X does not recognise all of the pushbuttons directly from the driver. You cannot use flight simulator's screen to assign funtions to some of the pushbuttons. I have not yet loaded the programming software. The yoke ailerons centering is not adjustible and is slightly off making the plane bank slowly when released.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

LOOKS GOOD,WORKS GOOD------BUT ONE SMALL PROBLEM

  • By RICHARD from New Bedford MA USA on Thursday, March 27, 2014
  • Pros: GOOD PRODUCT EXCEPT FOR THE RUDDER
  • Cons: RUDDER PROBLEM AS I MENTIONED ABOVE
  • Review: LETS TAKE THE SMALL PROBLEM FIRST. THE RUDDER IS 180 OUT. PUSH RIGHT RUDDER,AND RUDDER TURNS LEFT. PUSH LEFT RUDDER AND THE RUDDER TURNS RIGHT. ALL OTHER ASPECTS ARE ON THE MONEY 100%
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

incorrect assumption

  • By william from Thomaston GA USA on Monday, January 26, 2015
  • Pros: good product
  • Cons: no written instructions
  • Review: Manufacturer assumes that users will be able to configure with little to no instructions.  Not the case, particularly the mode switch. and, yes, I have searched faq, forums, web sites, etc. no joy. Same applies to the pro throttle which I also purchased.Additionally, would appreciate some help in configuring the throttle to be used as a helicopter collective.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as advertised

  • By Rob from RANCHO CUCAMONGA CA USA on Wednesday, May 24, 2017
  • Pros: Easy to install, calibrate and is responsive given its price
  • Cons: Still "springy" on the elevator axis
  • Review: I have owned the basic CH Yoke previously and never had a problem with the unit. I just purchased the Eclipse version and so far just as satisfied with the unit. The Eclipse has additional features (buttons, toggles) to provide more Sim flexibility. This is not a high end precision instrument but for the $$$ it does the job.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Albert W. Duncan retired ATC and corp. jet pilot from Melbourne FL USA on Tuesday, May 11, 2010
  • Pros: I feel it's probably the best FS yoke available
  • Cons: good product BUT not enough installation written instructions. I still have parts not programed. After talking to CH I came away feeling some stuff was already installed but no idea what buttons or funtion. Can't believe in this day and age that a compete package can't bhe turnrd loose to the buyer so weak mon nsupport.
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well Made BUT.

  • By Louis from Dingmans Ferry PA USA on Monday, April 13, 2009
  • Pros: Well made and very accurate controls
  • Cons: Better Instructions and better programing software.
  • Review: The Yoke is well made and the basics run fine. But on line support is very scarce all the links come back empty. The Rotating switch have no programing docs. I use the yoke with FSX it has no opttions for the rotory sw. making it useless. All the other switches & buttons work fine. Some programing downloads for simulators that work would help.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Super realistic

  • By J T from San Antonio TX USA on Sunday, June 14, 2009
  • Pros: quality, ease of install & use, realism
  • Cons: could add more functionality and raise price
  • Review: Durable and adds greatly to the realiy of airplanes that don't have "sticks". I had no trouble installing it or using it with FSX. Experience even better when paired with the CH Rudder Pedals.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Great! I'd buy it again!

  • By A Customer from Punxsutawney PA USA on Tuesday, August 30, 2016
  • Pros: Well built. Solid feel. Easy to program.
  • Cons: Poor documentaion.
  • Review: Works just fine on Windows 10
    The rudder was backwards.
    No big problem, just reversed it in the setup.
    Easy enough to program, but better documentation would be nice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Beats using the keyboard and mouse

  • By Tom from Humble TX USA on Tuesday, February 28, 2017
  • Pros: Plenty of buttons to customeize
  • Cons: Spring is much too tight outside of middle range
  • Review: Biggest criticism of online reviews was spring was to tight. I would agree with this criticism. It would be nice if there were a way to reduce the tension on the spring especially when landing. Plenty of buttons to customize and otherwise works as I expected. It would be nice if the controls for the flaps and landing gear were higher on the unit. Current location is hard to get at. Setup can also be a little difficult when dealing with the throttle, yoke and rudders at the same time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good bang for the buck

  • By Max from Miami FL USA on Friday, June 05, 2009
  • Pros: Solid, responsive, highly programmable
  • Cons: oversensitive rudder and creaky springs
  • Review: Some background: I've only used joysticks, although I've used a few "good" ones. So this isn't the most informed review you'll see. This yoke exceeded my expectations. Sure, it's made out of plastic, but it has a very solid feel for a plastic part. The controls are generally very smooth and responsive, with the exception of the rudders axis: I have to dial down the sensitivity A LOT on FSX to use them in any meaningful way. Having yoke controls at my immediate disposal was a welcome relief, and programming keys was quite easy even though the product comes with no software. The yoke also mounts solidly to my desk and simply does not move at all if I've screwed it down tight. The only problem I encountered was that the springs on the rudder started to creak moderately after a few weeks. It's annoying, but not a big enough deal for me to mess with the yoke. The creaky springs and the rudder are the only problems, and they don't overwhelm the fact that the controls are generally great and that the unit feels quite solid. So this gets four stars in my book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Alvise from Mussolente Italy on Tuesday, July 27, 2010
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great flight yoke

  • By Lou from Henderson NV USA on Monday, June 15, 2015
  • Pros: Ease of use and storage ability
  • Cons: could use 2 built in throttles
  • Review: Works great and easy to set up. I read about the issues with using thumbs for rudder and what I've done is to place a loose ty-wrap around the L/H "pedal" then slip my left thumb into it. Thus no problem taking off. I also use the fwd yoke buttons for the brakes. It moves very easily form the desk to storage, I don't have a dedicated flight sim desk. Overall very nice. Two throttle quads would have been nice as I'm a king-air guy
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best PC flight yoke I've used.

  • By Tim from Prosser WA USA on Friday, June 24, 2016
  • Pros: Smooth control, solid mount, no drivers required, trim wheels.
  • Cons: Rudder paddles in the way, Throttle Prop Mixture in the way, base top.rounded
  • Review: My Saitek yoke finally gave up the ghost after about 10 years (hat switch died). Since Saitek was unavailable at the time (May 2016) I was forced to find an alternative. I'm happy I did! This yoke is much better than the Saitek which had a big problem with binding which I could only resolve by removing springs for ailerons.

    PRO'S- smooth movement of aileron and elevator (no binding), solid mounting options for thin desktop, no driver install required (I don't use the CH software), Plenty of programmable buttons & switches via FSUIPC, trim wheels on front of yoke.

    CONS- These are my personal preferences. The rudder paddles on the yoke are useless and in the way. I don't need the throttle, prop & mixture controls on base since I use separate controls & I would like a flat top on the base for holding a checklist (like the Saitek).

    I am currently using this yoke with the PMDG 737 & the A2A Simulations Cherokee 180 running on FSX with several addons which works very well! I also use separate Saitek throttle, prop pitch & mixture controls as well as CH rudder pedals. I've found no need to modify by replacing springs as it is not that difficult to apply elevator as long as you are trimmed. I would like to remove the throttle, prop pitch & mixture levers but no other mods are necessary.

    Overall I am very happy with this yoke!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Looks nice-works well

  • By Richard from Irving TX USA on Wednesday, May 29, 2013
  • Pros: Looks good, works nicely
  • Cons: Little support literature
  • Review: I could give a better review if I could figure out how to program the various buttons. I believe it will be great once I get this figured out.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

CH Yoke works

  • By Mac from Sunrise FL USA on Friday, December 27, 2013
  • Pros: Plug and play with MFSX. Customizable to a large extent without add ons
  • Cons: sometimes need to reset buttons when switching from laptop to desktop.
  • Review: This is great practice for IFR trips and procedures. I like being prepared and the Yoke with Microsoft Flight Sim X is a great combo. Gave me perfect familiarization for my BFR and instrument check ride.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Realistic

  • By Ron from Shawnee KS USA on Friday, June 03, 2016
  • Pros: Looks, feel and response is very realistic in one unit.
  • Cons: Had to reset after pausing FS 2004 at one point, it was like it went back to default setting
  • Review: Added another level of the real world to the flight sim experience. Getting the correct height on the mounting surface was one challenge that I did not consider when ordering. To maximize the benefit you need to be one who enjoys tweeking things. Fine tuning required.

    Would buy again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's ok

  • By David from Diana TX USA on Wednesday, February 08, 2017
  • Review: Springs are too strong.centering needs work other than that is ok.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Cecil - Prius 5 from Ottawa IL USA on Monday, November 30, 2015
  • Review: I had an earlier model , and I was very happy with it. I wish you had included a list of instructions with the yoke . The older model was simple to use - but the new Eclipse is complicated . For example - what are the three buttons [lights] on the front for ? They don't seem to do anything.

    Cecil
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Sam Rose from Ozark, Alabama on Friday, January 09, 2009
  • Review: I find this is a Good Flight Simulator Yoke, and the Rudder Pedals work Great...The Buttons,and Lights are a problem, with no information on there function, and can't talk Positive on this Product......
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Juan E Guidi from Miami FL USA on Monday, March 01, 2010
  • Review: Perfect!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By LLOYD from Andover MN USA on Friday, November 20, 2015
  • Pros: BUILT STURDY
  • Cons: RUDDERS ARE BACKWARDS. CALIBRATION DOES NOT HOLD
  • Review: HARD TO CALIBRATE. I BOUGHT IT TO GO WITH CH THROTTLE QUADRANT
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Inferior Clamping system / No documentation/ instructions

  • By A Customer from USA on Monday, February 09, 2009
  • Pros: no pros really
  • Cons: Clamps dont hold
  • Review: Poorly documentated! Clamps do not secure to my desktop sufficiently to hold. I was told by CH tech. "Steve" not to tighten to much as it would strip the threads. The unit ended up in my lap several times while attempting to pull up on approach, thus a "crash". CH Tech. said I could purchase clamp extentions that might help. More "bells and whistles" but not the yoke for me. I'm returning it and will see if Saitek is any better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

very poor product

  • By Andrew from Statesville NC USA on Tuesday, March 31, 2009
  • Pros: With some work this could be a good system
  • Cons: as noted above.
  • Review: 1. After many trials, using years of experience with earlier CH Yokes, I am not able to calibrate the throttle to realistic operation. Advancing the throttle from idle results in no change in Manifold Pressure until, at half throttle the engine increases to full power and remains there, regardless of the throttle setting within the upper half of its travel. The result of this is only two engine speeds available, idle and maximum. 2. The propeller and mixture controls have no discernible function. They show on the calibration screen but their actions do not seem to be present in the aircraft. 3. When flying, the aircraft sometimes takes a sudden, unpredictable, mostly left, sharp nosedown spiral, requiring full opposite control to recover. This is certainly an abnormal feature.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.