TOP

Flip Binder for FAA Charts

  • 30 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Flip Binder for FAA Charts

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By A Customer on Monday, October 13, 2008
  • Pros: Clips all open together, hard but flexible cover protects plates
  • Cons: Might be too small for larger sets of plates
  • Review: This holder works great for me. I wouldn't know how well it works for larger sets of plates but it has just enough space for my Missouri/Iowa plates. All of the clips open at the same time which makes getting out a plate quick.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like the product simple yet functional

  • By Wilfredo from Hayward CA USA on Monday, January 09, 2017
  • Pros: Easy to Use
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It meet my intended use of the product, I like the way you put the IAP sheet, avoid fumbling while your flying
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Rowdy from Templeton MA USA on Wednesday, April 08, 2020
  • Review: All you will need to keep you things orderly. 
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

must have for FAA chart users

  • By Joshua from Pomona CA USA on Monday, August 20, 2012
  • Review: Perfect for keeping my FAA charts in half way decent condition
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great binder

  • By Alexis from Memphis, Tn on Sunday, December 13, 2009
  • Review: Great binder. Much better than any other that I have used.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Overall good

  • By Roberto from San Antonio TX USA on Monday, February 16, 2009
  • Pros: Just very good
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This item is just great it does the job right.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for keeping approach plates neatly stored

  • By Larry from Pennsylvania on Friday, February 19, 2010
  • Pros: Sturdy covers with holes that won't rip. Looks good.
  • Cons: Rings could be a little larger, which would make it easier to insert a full set of approach plates at once. With the small rings it is necessary to separate the plate set into at last two sections first.
  • Review: I use this binder to keep my NACO loose-leaf approach plates stored until I need them, at which time it is easy to open the binder rings and take out the pages I need. The rings are a little small but big enough to hold a region's entire set of plates.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Flip Binder

  • By John from Little Elm TX USA on Monday, January 18, 2010
  • Pros: Compact size. Perfect fit for my flight bag.
  • Cons: Would prefer they had a single openning tab / lever
  • Review: I like the loose leaf FAA plate binders since they allow me to remove the plates I only have a use for. (Simillar to how I used the previous Jepp charts and binders.) I would buy these binders again as I obtain additional coverage areas.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Seems to hold what I need

  • By Dave on Thursday, November 13, 2008
  • Pros: Good size
  • Cons: Be nice if it had a leg strap
  • Review: I'm just starting IFR training. It appears that approach plate organization needs some better solutions. This 1 inch binder will hold the limited number of charts that I will need but, what do I do with the rest? It looks like I need a 1.5 inch binder for each separate set of charts I have then, I pull the ones I need and put them in the 1 inch binder and just carry that one. This 1 inch binder is 5.875 wide and 9.5 long. I wouldn't want any bigger for on my leg. Looks like the 1.5 inch binder is too long for cockpit but, good for home organization. The covers are simple, thin, hard plasitc with scored lines to help them fold over. Covers are good for protection but, you can't stand it up like a hardback book. Rings seem sturdy enough.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from West Lafayette IN USA on Tuesday, November 16, 2010
  • Pros: Easy to use as a book or to pull the chart out as a separate sheet of paper.
  • Cons: more difficult to view back side of charts in binder.
  • Review: I found it more difficult to flip around and look at charts on the back side of the page than the front side. I use the book more for a way to store the charts, and pull out the individual chart I need for the approach.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very functional

  • By Vin from San Francisco CA USA on Wednesday, December 03, 2008
  • Pros: Compact
  • Cons: Front cover doesn't flip all the way thru.
  • Review: Compact and handy. Its small rings hold more than the necessary plates most of us usually need.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for IFR pilots

  • By sean from Washington on Wednesday, January 05, 2011
  • Pros: small compact, plastic is a tough cover
  • Cons: rings could be a little bigger
  • Review: Worked great, Would have liked a slightly larger ring to make taking out and putting in charts easier, the fit is tight. this does however keep the size small in my bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Depends what you need it for.

  • By David from Sarver PA USA on Monday, December 29, 2008
  • Pros: Nice size for bag.
  • Cons: Doesn't make things any easier.
  • Review: This holds a set of charts for my purposes, but I could see some sets being too big for this binder. I thought I'd be able to figure out a way to strap this to my leg, but it was a pain in the butt. So, I ended up just pulling out the charts I need and putting them on my knee board. I may use binders just to keep charts protected in my bag. No good system for this stuff when you're learing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Meets requirements

  • By Marshall from Johns Island SC USA on Monday, February 05, 2018
  • Pros: Right size
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It is what it says it is and works.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I works for me

  • By Richard from MI USA on Friday, October 28, 2016
  • Pros: lets me put the chart on the yoke holder.
  • Cons: rings are small
  • Review: I like it since I want to put keep the chart at the top of the yoke and reference it as I'm on the approach. I would give it a five if the rings were bigger. It is hard to put the paper back in the rings when doing multiple approaches. I will now have to do this back on the ground.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It Does The Job

  • By A Customer from Monterey CA USA on Wednesday, November 28, 2012
  • Review: Works just fine
    Cover could be a little more flexible...kinda stiff
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Flip Binder for FAA Charts - Review

  • By Scott from Oak Creek WI USA on Tuesday, September 18, 2012
  • Pros: Snap ring design, fold-over cover, size, looks.
  • Cons: Snap rings could be larger in diameter
  • Review: I like the sturdy snap binder rings better than the cheaper individual rings on other loose-leaf IAP binders I have used. This feature makes it easy to replace IAP subscriptions or remove individual plates. It is also easy to fold the top cover over to put the whole binder on my knee. The binder is nice looking too; black is my favorite color. My only criticism is that the rings could be a little larger in diameter to accommodate larger IAP subscriptions.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Flip Binder needs larger rings

  • By Ken from Raleigh NC USA on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
  • Pros:
  • Cons: not large enough (needs larger dia rings)
  • Review: All of the pages of one approach plate binder barely fit into one binder
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Farmingdale NY USA on Monday, March 21, 2011
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Matthew from Brunswick OH USA on Friday, December 07, 2007
  • Pros: Price and size
  • Cons: Will only hold a limited amount of charts
  • Review: Great binder for the price, but doesn't hold much.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Richard from Albuquerque NM on Monday, November 21, 2011
  • Review: Works great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Rings too small for entire EC-3

  • By Scuba Steve from Oshkosh, WI on Wednesday, February 14, 2018
  • Pros: Quality
  • Cons: Rings too small
  • Review: While I think this product is of good quality, it would probably be worth buying another one to hold the other half of my plates. The one just looks like the buttons on my shirt after thanksgiving dinner, barely holding up.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Alright for a novice

  • By A Customer from Chicago IL USA on Tuesday, September 20, 2011
  • Review: I like the binder only thing is the rings are not big enough to hold one set of the charts and the other is you cant flip the binder all they way around.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Nice, but small

  • By Chris from Atlanta on Friday, July 10, 2009
  • Pros: Inexpensive; nice for keeping commonly-used plates protected
  • Cons: Too small for entire set of plates; cover won't flip around
  • Review: Nice for what it is, and inexpensive, but rings are too small to fit entire GA/AL plate set, so am forced to pull out some plates to put in this and store the rest in another binder. The cover doesn't flip around, so this is mostly just a storage location in my bag, not a use-in-your-lap cockpit tool.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Functional product

  • By Earl Rogers from Mendota IL USA on Monday, March 21, 2011
  • Review: Holds IAPs adequately. Rings not large enough to accommodate well all the plates in my area. Actually need two to do the job. Price may be a little high considering it is composed of only a few rings and a few pieces of plastic.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Not for entire nos chart package.

  • By chris from Spokane, WA on Wednesday, June 27, 2007
  • Pros: small / simple
  • Cons: too small for entire chart package
  • Review: The description is telling the truth when it says for "smaller number of charts." You can fit an entire package of charts but just barely.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

OK Until You Flip

  • By Michael from Cambridge MN USA on Tuesday, April 03, 2012
  • Pros: Small neat compact.
  • Cons: As Above
  • Review: Product is great until you flip to see a chart on the reverse side. If you flip it completely over, the bottom part of the plate (about 1/2 inch)is at an angle of 90 degrees. However not really sure how this could be overcome.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works better than the glued type.

  • By Richard from New Orleans LA USA on Saturday, October 25, 2014
  • Pros: Stays flat better.
  • Cons: Works est with thinner books.
  • Review: It works as expected.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Flip isnt really flip...

  • By A Customer from Ionia, MI on Tuesday, July 19, 2011
  • Pros: Rings a sturdy and big enough for my set up approach plates (EC1)
  • Cons: It doesn't flip over all the way like the description says
  • Review: The main issue with this product i have is that in the description it says " Scoring on front and back covers allows you to flip charts completely around the rings and display the one you want on top." However, you cant flip the approach plates all the way around because the rings are attached to the back piece of plastic. I really wanted it because i could flip the approach plates all the way around.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jon from Oshkosh WI USA on Thursday, February 27, 2014
  • Review: Rings are way too small for TPPs
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.