TOP

Eyeglass Overcasters

  • 60 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Eyeglass Overcasters

23
13
11
3
10
Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Very Lightweight

  • By Michael from Silverdale WA USA on Wednesday, September 25, 2013
  • Pros: Low weight
  • Cons: No storage solution or protective cover/sleeve
  • Review: Very lightweight, very effective, very quick to clip on my glasses. Best view limiting device I have used.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again"

  • By Roy from Ooltewah TN USA on Monday, January 13, 2014
  • Pros: Seem to work as well as other hood type devices I have used in the past.
  • Cons: Material is a little light, flexable. Could be designd to be a little stiffer.
  • Review: Allows me to wear my prescription glasses while flying under the hood.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Do you wear glasses/bifocals? - Then buy this!

  • By DA42PIC from Long Beach, CA on Saturday, January 03, 2015
  • Pros: Allows for proper alingment with biocals
  • Cons: Not enough side coverage.
  • Review: I wear glasses with bifocals and finding a hood that allows for adjustment to meet a bifocal line has been a challenge.
    These solve that issue handily, HOWEVER you MUST extended the side panels as they allow too much periphery. My solution was to cut Velcro fabric to fit. This blocked the side vision completely. My DPE for the ride loved it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Michal from Portage MI USA on Tuesday, April 19, 2016
  • Review: Easy to use but allow some cheating. The best option I've tried so far for wearing over glasses.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Satisfied

  • By Mark Crouse from New York on Friday, July 26, 2019
  • Review: While the strength of the plastic shield has been faulted by others, and I can't disagree, the supporting frame was more than satisfactory to me which made them worthwhile.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Port Ewen NY USA on Wednesday, May 30, 2018
  • Pros: Light weight, good outside vision obstruction, easily removed
  • Cons: Fragile, no protective case therefore hard to store.
  • Review: I found the device excellent with my variable lense eyeglasses. Clip-ons allow slight adjustment on eyeglasses to have both in-focus panel and chart view. ... However big longevity problem is the lack is a case to protect them when not being used.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for the weight and money!

  • By from Chandler AZ USA on Thursday, May 02, 2019
  • Pros: Blocks out the world focuses in the cockpit.
  • Cons: made very cheap, cheap plastic but durable
  • Review: At first it looks like a cheap piece of plastic. But once it clips on and it is effective it works great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Buy!

  • By Victor from Davenport IA USA on Monday, October 12, 2009
  • Pros: Black material
  • Cons: Flimsy
  • Review: The overcasters are overall a good buy. I wear prescription glasses and the normal foggles just did not work for me. I like the fact that because they are BLACK they do not reflect sunlight like normal foggles do. They are really handy in the fact that I can just flip them down to start IFR and flip them up when its time to land. They are rather flimsy, but so far have worked well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great!

  • By David from Tulsa OK USA on Tuesday, April 20, 2010
  • Pros: Excellent with glasses, great view limiting device
  • Cons: Need a carrying case
  • Review: I need my bifocals to see the instruments clearly and the other view limiting devices did not work well with glasses. The Overcasters clip onto my glasses and work quite well. The material is a bit flimsy but if you don't leave them in the heat, this should not be a problem. A carrying case would be nice to be able to drop them in the flight bag. Can't beat the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

They work.

  • By Mark from Kettering OH USA on Thursday, June 03, 2010
  • Pros: I like how they flip up
  • Cons: Only work on larger frame glasses
  • Review: I'm a helicopter CFII and I got these to fill the needs for some of my students. They work best on larger glasses and for older students who need readers to see the panel and plates they're perfect.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does the job

  • By Mark from Laurel MD USA on Wednesday, July 07, 2010
  • Pros: One hand, simple on-off.
  • Cons: Can get misformed if stowed improperly in a packed flight bag.
  • Review: The Overcasters are not fancy, but do the job. I would like to see them made slightly stiffer, but they are adequate as is. I would buy them again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

worth the $

  • By A Customer from FL USA on Wednesday, July 28, 2010
  • Pros: works like a charm
  • Cons: expensive for what it is
  • Review: You can go from simulated IFR to VFR and vice versa in a second and they are adjustable for how low they sit on your glasses. Expensive for what it is but works well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

easy to use

  • By Susan from Springville CA USA on Wednesday, March 23, 2011
  • Pros: compact light weight
  • Cons:
  • Review: Compact, easy to use, a little cumbersome with thick framed glasses to attach I'd buy it again
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.