TOP

Eyeglass Overcasters

  • 60 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Eyeglass Overcasters

23
13
11
3
10
Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

It functions as intended, but....

  • By Sam Carr from Spring TX USA on Tuesday, May 09, 2017
  • Pros: light weight; they do block the vision, they fit on my glasses
  • Cons: flimsy and they melt with not much heat
  • Review: I live in the south. It is hot. Theses things, if left in the plane or your car will melt at about 110 degrees, causing deformity and they lose their ability to work. This pair I bought to replace the melted ones. Now I have to put them in a box and keep them in air conditioning.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What you see is what you get

  • By Derin from Amityville NY USA on Monday, May 04, 2015
  • Review: This product is good for eyeglass wearers but is a bit flimsy. It's very awkward to flip up or down and takes 2 hands to really get it. They don't fit very well on the lenses with its mounting system but for the money, they work and provide adequate blockage for IFR training. Good, not great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Work Ok but way over priced!

  • By Larry from Stroudsburg PA USA on Thursday, May 08, 2014
  • Pros: work
  • Cons: overpriced
  • Review: The Eyeglass Overcasters fit on the glasses OK and work fairly well for flying under the hood. They are very cheaply made and way overpriced for the quality of the product. $4.95 seems about right same as cheap sunglasses not $18.00 for a piece of plastic on plastic clips. Could do the same thing with a pincer close pin and a piece of cardboard cut to fit leaving only a small sight spot out of glasses but, probably this idea would not be FAA approved!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fragile

  • By Keith from Tigerton WI USA on Wednesday, April 03, 2013
  • Pros: Small and easy to carry in flight bag
  • Cons: Fragile and hard to clip to my glasses
  • Review: Good idea, but this view limiting device is fragile. Watch where you store it between flight. It is also cumbersome to clip on my glasses. Back to the drawing board.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from Alabama on Tuesday, February 06, 2007
  • Pros: lightwieght, small ,inexpensive
  • Cons: can break easily.
  • Review: I must wear glasses while flying and while I was recently finishing airplane instrument training I became tired of caring around a bulky hood. I was told by another pilot friend that this little device is the one he keeps in his plane. This lightweight device takes up no room in the cockpit and meets the requirement for hood time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

They slide around

  • By Ron Gawer from Omaha, NE on Friday, April 27, 2007
  • Pros: Convenient for wearing your glasses
  • Cons: they don't stay in place
  • Review: They do work, but slide around on my glasses. They don't restrict your side vision as much as jeppshades, allowing a little cheating.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Idea

  • By Gary from Lexington NC USA on Friday, December 18, 2009
  • Pros: Easy, non-invasive design
  • Cons: a little flimsy. Could use stronger material.
  • Review: Excellent Idea. Nice and lightweight, easy to use, and doesn't add to the disruption of your headset seal.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Lewisville TX USA on Tuesday, January 27, 2009
  • Pros: light-weight and clips onto my sunglasses.
  • Cons: VERY susceptible to head warping.
  • Review: Just like the other reviews said, this product is VERY susceptible to head warping. Mine actually arrived somewhat warped. The plastic can be reshaped as it becomes completely limp and moldable at a very specific temperature and hardens completely within a few degrees. I was able to 'fix' mine by holding it over a stove top and then putting a book on it as it cooled. It's not perfect, but it's pretty close. I like that it's very light-weight and clips onto my sunglasses.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Gary from Jacksonville Beach FL USA on Wednesday, September 08, 2010
  • Review: Its probably the best for those who wear eyeglasses as long as you don't let it get heated up. On the flip side if it does, as mine did, simply mold it back into shape and cool it off. It is a great inexpensive fix that works good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not bad

  • By A Customer from Livermore ca USA on Monday, October 04, 2010
  • Pros: Light, allows airflow to reach forehead and face
  • Cons: cheaply constructed. As delivered cut into nose
  • Review: More comfortable than a hood. Had to cut the plastic to keep it from cutting into my nose. A little difficult to make work with bi-focals
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer on Tuesday, November 06, 2012
  • Pros: Works better than a dog collar
  • Cons: Geeky, must have glasses that aren't short
  • Review: Plastic cover, pretty straight forward. The plastic was slightly deformed, but it wasn't a big deal to me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.