TOP

Reviews for The Cockpit Antique Lambskin A-2 Leather Jacket (Dark Brown)

Sort By:
Filter By:

  • By Chuck Moles from Springfield, Illinois on Tuesday, October 25, 2011
  • Pros: It's a nice replica for those interested in WWII.
  • Cons: It doesn't have the same quality as the same jacket made about 15 years ago by the same company.
  • Review: Unlike most other reviewers, I've been somewhat disappointed in this jacket. It was purchased to replace basically the same jacket I purchased about 15 years ago. At the time, Cockpit went by the name Avirex. As a result I have something to compare the new one to. The new one seems "cheaper"--for want of a better word. The zipper is reluctant to start and always snags half-way up. In the earlier version, the grain on the outside was little more pronounced, the pockets on the inside were larger and lower for easier access (getting my wallet in and out of this one is a nuisance!), and the little extras like the pin-up (which was much cuter in the earlier version) and the Italian lira were both protected by a plastic cover. I know that's a little thing, but the reason I bought this newer version is because the inside of my original jacket is mostly in tatters now. So, the little extras here will eventually be torn and fall off.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A bit disappointing

  • By Paul from Elm Grove WI USA on Wednesday, November 28, 2012
  • Review: The style is authentic and terrific. Also, like the insulating factor and silk lining.

    The leather itself is very stiff and does not bend to the body when seated. I'm thinking of having it conditioned to make it softer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.

Nice Leather, Cuff Material Cheap

  • By Gary from Utah on Friday, January 07, 2011
  • Pros: Nice Leather
  • Cons: Cheap Knit Components
  • Review: Leather is beautiful and soft. Been wearing it since christmas and the cuffs and waistband are already pilling up and looking kind of ratty. I don't think it will last even close to how long the leather will. Not sure if I got one with a bad batch of Knit. Seems a bit thin and whimpy for such a heavy coat.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great look! Bad smell...

  • By Holly from Orem UT USA on Monday, December 27, 2010
  • Pros: Beautiful look, construction, and feel! Authenticity is a big plus!
  • Cons: Fishy smell hard to get over.
  • Review: I bought this for my husband for Christmas. When I opened the box and took off the plastic cover I was washed over with the smell. I had to hang the coat in the garage for 5 days to let it freshen and off-gas. It is wearable now, but no nice smell of leather. For a few days I was scared I had wasted my money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Time will tell

  • By Keiven from Salt Lake City UT USA on Monday, October 03, 2016
  • Pros: Looks good.
  • Cons: Leather has small flaws.
  • Review: Superior stitching & zipper.

    "Pilling" on waistband already.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Bit Disappointed

  • By Chuck from Springfield IL USA on Saturday, November 19, 2011
  • Pros: It's still a very nice jacket, especially for someone interested in WWII.
  • Cons: It doesn't have the same quality as the same jacket made about 15 years ago by the same company.
  • Review: I bought this jacket back in the 90's when the company still went by the name of Avirex. I bought this one because the inside of the earlier one is mostly in tatters. Because of the earlier purchase, however, I have something to compare this one to. Therefore, I might be a bit harsh. The workmanship doesn't appear to be as good on the newer jacket. The texture of the lambskin is more slick, the zipper is hard to get started and then snags halfway up, and the earlier version featured protective plastic coverings on the pin-up (who was cuter before) and the Italian lira. Those nice little touches made the jacket a little more fun to put on.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Nice warm jacket but

  • By Dan from Road Warrior on Saturday, October 17, 2009
  • Pros: Warm, well stitched, quality lining.
  • Cons: Bad leather
  • Review: I really looked forward to getting this jacket but was disappointed with the leather. It has stripes where the leather had not adhered to the backing causing it to look like a large cat had scratched the lamb before they skinned it. Other than that, the jacket is well stitched, warm, and a quality item. It's just too bad they used factory second leather on my jacket.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from south shore of Lake Erie on Saturday, February 03, 2007
  • Pros: lovely leather texture
  • Cons: disappointing leather weight, crooked label, pilling waistband
  • Review: While the leather of which the jacket is constructed is very attractively textured, I am disappointed by its light weight compared to the Avirex Varsity jacket that I have been wearing and enjoying for years; and by the facts that the label most visible when the jacket is hanging is sewn in crooked, and the inside of the jacket's elastic waistband is pilling most grievously. Altogether I do not think I really got my money's worth.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Kristen from Bartlett IL USA on Tuesday, January 12, 2010
  • Review: My husband loved his present but we are disappointed that the pocket is starting to have lose threads and pulling away from the jacket. Not what you would expect for what was paid!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.