TOP

Reviews for Max Trescott's Garmin G1000 and Perspective Glass Cockpit Handbook

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Right on the money

  • By Phil from Portland OR USA on Monday, March 10, 2014
  • Pros: Easy reading
  • Cons:
  • Review: I purchased Glass Cockpit BEFORE the Diamond DA42(NG) X-Plane simulator was available. Glass Cockpit makes mention of the DA42.

    The Glass Cockpit discussion of the PFD is really helpful. And the presentation of the MFD is way over my head but there when I want it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

G1000 training at its best

  • By John from Naperville IL USA on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
  • Pros: up-to-date
  • Cons:
  • Review: Max Trescott is a great author, and pilot.  This book goes beyond an introduction to the G1000.  Well worth a read.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Time For A Re-write

  • By napleskid from Louisville KY USA on Monday, July 21, 2014
  • Pros: Comprehensive information for the G1000 panel
  • Cons: New books need to written to accommodate the growing differences in the various G1000 platforms.
  • Review: A ton of great information in this book. Just not that easy to find it. I purchased especially for the Cirrus Perspective platform. While reading a chapter, your mind is filled with specific information only to be told at the end of the chapter to disregard most everything you just read and refer to another chapter for the Perspective panel. I really believe that separate publications should now be devoted to the specific G1000 platforms. I really learned a lot from this book, so it still earns 4 stars. However during the evolution of the G1000 platforms, this book has not evolved to support them. As new software is developed, you shouldn't simply throw it in as an appendix at the end of the book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very thorough

  • By William from Key Largo FL USA on Monday, April 02, 2012
  • Pros: Detailed
  • Cons: Detailed
  • Review: Almost too detailed. Deals thoroughly and is good for reference.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Good Intro to Glass Cockpit

  • By Mark from New York NY USA on Wednesday, January 08, 2014
  • Pros: Very readable.
  • Cons:
  • Review: After 30 years, I am considering a return to flying. I knew a lot had changed including GPS navigation and the digitalization of the cockpit. I found this book to be an excellent presentation of the glass cockpit. I did not read it cover to cover as I only wanted to learn the general idea of what was out there. Additionally, I did not feel that "learning" this book was necessary unless I was actively using glass cockpit instrumentation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By William from Nashville TN USA on Tuesday, May 17, 2016
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

a good reference text

  • By A Customer from Santa Fe NM USA on Monday, March 25, 2013
  • Review: A good study and reference text and works nicely with the CD course if you want to look something up quickly. Quite comprehensive
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great instructional book

  • By Randel from Grants Pass OR USA on Thursday, April 26, 2012
  • Pros: Detailed
  • Cons: Difficult at times to find specific information
  • Review: Book was thorough and gave good step by step help
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By JERRY from Dallas TX USA on Tuesday, November 10, 2009
  • Pros: Basic
  • Cons: Was very basic. Had limited advanced info.
  • Review: It is a good basic book. I was looking for an advanced step by step flying guide with explanations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A good place to start

  • By thomas from asheville NC USA on Tuesday, August 03, 2010
  • Pros: comprehensive; reasonable price;
  • Cons: looking for Beech specific application; probably not available except with pilot handbook
  • Review: A very comprehensive book that can be used for initial training and for later review. The simulated flight puts much of the book learning to a practical application. More of that would be welcome. Would like to see more examples of mistakes pilots make with the G1000. Perhaps a chapter or essentials or core knowledge if that is possible.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Larose from Saint-Marc de Figuery QC Canada on Friday, February 02, 2018
  • Review: I would buy this product again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

More then I had hope for

  • By Ray from Raleih, NC on Monday, September 17, 2007
  • Pros: Simple, easy reading, Gets you the basics quickly.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I mainly purchased this product to help me understand Microsoft’s Flight Simulation FSX Deluxe edition. I am not a real pilot YET, soon I will be. I have over 500 hours on MS FSX, so I wanted to take it to the next level and try to be as realistic as possible. So I was very happy and very surprised that reading this book (for real pilots) that I actually knew most of the things he was talking about. If you have done any time using MS FSX and have flown with the Garmin 500, the first several chapters are redundant, so I skipped to the last couple of chapters and that's where I spent all my time. Learning the IFR approaches and understanding the go round procedures. Word of caution for us simmers, if you plan on doing some serious flying using the G1000 and this book or for that matter the Garmin 500, you will need to have the approach plates, it really makes a difference. Also, MS FSX doesn't reproduce the G1000 exactly, so some information he talks about you will not be able to do...bummer. I would suggest that for real world pilots that they purchase MS FSX deluxe or any other software for the G1000 and learn it before they take to the sky...i think it would make a world of difference.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

a good G1000 general reference

  • By barry from Normal IL USA on Saturday, December 12, 2009
  • Pros: good walk-through of G1000 operation
  • Cons: see above
  • Review: I had read and enjoyed the previous edition and purchased this one to better understand the newer Garmin features like WAAS. The book does a good job with them while mostly retaining the style of the earlier edition. It seemed, though, that Trescott was stumbling in trying to cover all the differences with all the different G1000 installations, giving this edition a more broken-up feel when reading it. The "newer features" chapter towards the end of the book left me wishing it had been incorporated into the earlier chapters.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Reads more like a textbook, not a quick reference handbook

  • By Mike from New York NY USA on Monday, October 19, 2009
  • Pros: Lot of information
  • Cons: Not laid out for quick reference
  • Review: This book is meant to be read start to finish, and is not laid out for glancing at information quickly. It contains a lot of information on the system, however many sections had footnotes advising to check the appendix for updates, rather than updating the original text.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good book overall

  • By vic from NV USA on Thursday, January 07, 2010
  • Review: A very good overall book. I think chapters were wasted on specific aircraft, of which the one I FLY was not mentioned :( kind of difficult to navigate around to find what you want to do, but that may be the operator...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good read, very informative

  • By Dana from Kingston NH USA on Monday, February 15, 2010
  • Review: Pilots are visual kind of people, thought the mix of figures and charts, photos of the actual screen shots and buttons needing to be pushed made it a good learning tool. I am transitioning between KAP140 to the integrated Auto Pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Easy read for G1000 intro

  • By A Customer from Texas on Friday, September 12, 2008
  • Pros: Easy read
  • Cons: Nothing more than overview
  • Review: Good book to walk you through the G1000 overview. Certainly not a replacement for more detailed training, but good to give you a flavor of the system. Worth the buy for sure.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good content, layout is ok

  • By David from TX USA on Monday, July 14, 2008
  • Pros: Content is very good
  • Cons: Updates have been added to an appendix rather than in-line text
  • Review: I have found this book to be informative on how to use the G1000. However, you really need to use this book in conjunction with a hands-on tool, like a G1000 simulator, to make the best use of it. The thing I dislike the most about this book is that the updates are in the back of the book in an appendix and some of the updates referenced are a little difficult to find.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Recommend for instrument student pilots

  • By Bart from Federal Way WA USA on Friday, December 28, 2007
  • Review: You will benefit greatly if you are currently pursuing a FAA instrument rating or an older GA instrument pilot wanting to learn more about the Garmin G1000.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Book on G-100-book is everything I thought It would be! With next day air it meets my expectations! Thank you Mr.Ronald Trumble

  • By Ronald W Trumble from Hilo HI USA on Thursday, December 27, 2007
  • Pros: Easy to read and understand
  • Cons: I really do not have any.
  • Review: The new Garmin Glass Cockpit Handbook is well writen easy to read and understand. Very good manual to own.Thank you "MyPilotStore". Mr Ronald W Trumble in Hawaii
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent Reference!

  • By Arsenio Delgado Sr. from Tucson, AZ on Monday, October 13, 2008
  • Pros: Easy to follow; excellent technical material.
  • Cons: B&W photos..
  • Review: Good content; Excellent as a study guide before an intro flight in a G1000-equipped a/c. Easy reading, real-life scenarios...I will highly recommend this book to any pilot flying a G1000.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Great Introduction to the G1000

  • By Larry from Tempe AZ USA on Monday, April 20, 2009
  • Pros: The screen shots describing the steps inthe process are very helpful.
  • Cons: Could use additional graphic examples.
  • Review: I am very experienced at operating FMS equipped, transport category aircraft. Those being B737, 757, and the Airbus A319/320/ and 321. I approached this manual as Differences Training and it served me well. Of note, I am stunned that I can now have greater capabilities in a C-172 than that of my current A320. I am now considering attending a factory certified training program. This book is great for preparing for school. You will be more than "One up" on your classmates.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.