TOP

Reviews for Van Heusen Pilot Shirt -Men's Short Sleeve Tapered

28
25
22
14
4
Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Tapered is not really tapered

  • By James from Greeley CO USA on Wednesday, October 10, 2012
  • Pros: high quality with buttoned flap.
  • Cons: WAY TO BIG. Did I mention they are HUGE?
  • Review: This shirt is high quality. I like everything about it except that they are made for 250 pound people. I am 6'1" and 170lbs. I am at ideal weight for my height. I ordered tapered thinking it would fit but was disappointed to find the shirt is ENORMOUS!!! You would have to have a size 40 waist to even come close to this thing fitting. Spent $15 each getting each shirt altered. Why can't they make these shirts realistic???
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Quality in decline??

  • By Ace from Philadelphia PA USA on Monday, April 10, 2017
  • Review: Usually a good cheap shirt but an epaulet button fell off after one trip. Seems to be lower quality stitching than years past
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Has some issues

  • By Thomas from Grapevine TX USA on Monday, February 05, 2018
  • Pros: Better than nothing
  • Cons: Insufficient length
  • Review: I've been a fan of Van Heusen tapered/fitted shirts for years. So finding a pilot shirt from them seemed like a great deal.
    Although the shirts are fitted compared to other brands, the "drop" from collar to waist is not enough. I still had to have the waist and sleeves taken in.
    Even worse, the length is not great. The front of the shirt is barely long enough, but the sides are significantly shorter, which results in them not staying tucked in on the side. They pull up and make the shirt look like a muffin top. I'm disappointed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Kevin from Kingwood TX USA on Friday, June 19, 2015
  • Pros: good taper
  • Cons: too thin material, epaulet strips are a odd cut.
  • Review: The shirts material is too thin. You can see right through the material. The epaulet strips are odd too. The are too long or thin and the epaulets slip way down to the outside, just don't seem to stay in place. I think I would buy a different shirt next time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Still quite boxy - good material though

  • By read5756 from Oakland CA USA on Tuesday, October 20, 2009
  • Pros: Good, quality material
  • Cons: Still to flappy
  • Review: I expected the 'slim fit' to be more fitted. It's not, so make sure your doors are securely shut to prevent it flapping in the wind :)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Material was see through thin.

  • By Robert from Oak Leaf TX USA on Tuesday, October 20, 2020
  • Pros: Fit well
  • Cons:
  • Review: Material too thin.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

ok...

  • By Michael from West Islip NY USA on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
  • Review: Very thin. I used a Tide pen and it separated the fabric.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Shrinkage

  • By Steven from Goodyear AZ USA on Tuesday, March 31, 2020
  • Pros: Well made, comfortable
  • Cons: shirts shrink about half a size in the collar and insufficient tapper for a fitted shirt
  • Review: Recently I purchased the same size shirt I have been wearing for many years. After receiving them I tried one before opening the others, it fits as I would expect. I washed all the shirts before going out on a trip. To my unpleasant surprise, I found they had shrunk.

    The shirts shrank in a normal wash and dry by about a half size forcing me to purchase the next half size up. They too shark but to the size I require. The shirts are nice, could have a bit more taper for a truly fitted shirt. I give the shirt 3 stars for the shrinkage and the lack of a true tapper expected from a fitted shirt.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Fit - Bad Stitching

  • By Cory from Eagle ID USA on Monday, May 07, 2012
  • Pros: Good fit
  • Cons: Thin fabric, poor stitching
  • Review: I order this shirt because I like how it fits. However, if I could find a pilot shirt that fit as well for similar price, I would definitely switch. One of my shirts which I have only worn a handful of times already has a ripped pocket not due to an aggressive action on my part. Also, threads are exposed everywhere revealing cheap production. Writing this review causes me to begin the search for a better product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Tapered?!?! NOT

  • By A Customer from new egypt new jersey USA on Wednesday, March 12, 2008
  • Pros: good quality van heusen shirt
  • Cons: HUGE
  • Review: This is a good quality shirt, I have bought from here before with no problem. They used to be "fitted" and are now "tapered". The shirt is NOT fitted or tapered. If you need a slim fit through the body, keep looking. These shirts are HUGE and fit like a trash bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Nice Shirt, Body is too short.

  • By A Customer from Cleveland TX USA on Friday, April 11, 2008
  • Pros: Nice shirt
  • Cons: too short
  • Review: The body of the shirt is too short. I am 6'2". The shirt needs to be longer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Randel from Clearfield UT USA on Tuesday, March 02, 2010
  • Pros: The little patch for wings over the pocket
  • Cons: It is not wrinkle free nor does it have tails as long as the Commoder.
  • Review: I like the Commander shirts better, but they don't have the little patch for wings over the pocket so I tried these.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Shirt, bought more, paid for them, but didn't receive my delivery!

  • By Capt. D M from New York NY USA on Friday, April 02, 2010
  • Pros: Good Shirt from a previous purchase
  • Cons: Paid for a new purchase but didn't receive it.
  • Review: I had bought this shirt before and I was happy with it. I ordered two more, but I never received them, although I paid for them. I had the shirts mailed to me at a hotel by the USPS. USPS confirmed the delivery to my hotel on their system on February 16, but I didn't receive them (I am writing this on April 2). I enquired by email (received an acknowledgment of receipt of the email) with MyPilotstore but did not receive a follow up on my enquiry. I phoned after three weeks and asked to speak with a supervisor who, while courteous, did not offer any solution. I have the integrity not to try to deceive a company of its product, so I am disappointed with how I've been treated.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Solve the "baggy" with european elegance.

  • By ballbearinghostess. from up in the air. on Saturday, May 15, 2010
  • Pros: functional pockets.
  • Cons: Of late, very shabby material. If this continues, count me out.
  • Review: Have your wife or tailor "dart" the rear of shirt. Will look very sharp. http://www.mensflair.com/grooming-abcs/darts-in-your-shirts.php
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Kingston RI USA on Tuesday, June 01, 2010
  • Pros: Good quality
  • Cons: Waist too big
  • Review: Nice shirts. Not much of a taper. I still had to get the shirts tailored to fit my waist.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By paul from farmington UT USA on Thursday, January 20, 2011
  • Review: Not heavy enough material.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This is NOT a tapered shirt!!!!!!

  • By A Customer from Cary NC USA on Wednesday, March 25, 2009
  • Pros:
  • Cons: It is not tapered
  • Review: This shirt is advertised as tapered and it is no where near being tapered. I am an average build and this shirt fit like a potatoe sack!! I will not purchase this shirt again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

What choice do I have?

  • By A Customer from Tallahassee FL USA on Friday, October 26, 2007
  • Review: I agree with some of the other comments about these shirts. Nice, quality shirt but, they do fit like a sack! I will be taking mine to be fitted. I am a big guy; 40 inch waist with what seems like a 60 inch neck. If they fit the neck they are huge every where else. But what other choice do we have? DIET?
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Vancouver WA on Friday, September 10, 2004
  • Review: Nice stitching - but this "tapered" shirt fits like a garbage bag. Unless you weigh 300 pounds. Tapered doesn't mean much - I am taking all my old shirts in to get altered for $8 a shirt instead.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love it BUT

  • By mark from Mullin TX USA on Thursday, September 28, 2017
  • Review: Love the fit and style of this shirt - I bought two shirts. The left hand pocket on both shirts is slightly off level. Not sure I would buy again by mail!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from lithia FL USA on Tuesday, February 28, 2012
  • Review: Too much of a pink hue when you put beside a true whit.  Would not repurchose.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Pilot as shorts

  • By Samuel from McAllen TX USA on Tuesday, September 03, 2013
  • Review: Confortable, good looks, the neck lace a bit large, shorter would be better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.