TOP

Reviews for Video Recorder Audio Adapter - Fixed Wing

Sort By:
Filter By:

Improve your radio skills!

  • By Barmerman from Tallahassee, FL on Saturday, April 21, 2007
  • Pros: It works
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This product is billed as a "video" recorder adapter, but it is basically an audio feed of what you hear in your headphones (you and ATC) to any audio or video recorder. I connect it to a small mp-3 audio recorder, but any recorder will work.

    I record all flights including those with students who review it on the ground and find it useful in building their radio communication skills. You can also easily visualize your flights, what happened and when.

    It is a great gizmo.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great!!

  • By A Customer from Daytona Beach, FL on Wednesday, January 18, 2012
  • Pros: Perfect for inflight videos with comms only.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I have this adapter hooked into my GoPro Hero2 and it works great for recording only the intercom and mic transmissions instead of cabin noise. ATC and traffic calls are also captured while recording. However, there is a little electronic interference noise heard with RPM changes, but nothing too bad that it ruins the video and that also might be from the a/c avionics itself, so I'm not sure.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By Steve McGrory from Montrose CA USA on Tuesday, February 16, 2016
  • Pros: simple and effective
  • Cons: none
  • Review: This cable worked EXACTLY as described. If you own an older GoPro this is exactly what you need to record your ATC comms while filming. Added perk was that it healped clear up some background noise between my headset and the radio inputs.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Purchased for use with Sony video camera

  • By Porqueami from APO AA USA on Thursday, June 02, 2016
  • Pros: Good build quality
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I found the cable to be of very good build quality in comparison to other cables I have bought from other providers. Given the high build quality I would feel confident in buying other cable models from this seller. Sound quality was very clear with no electronic noise or distortion. Shipment was also quick.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent cable

  • By A Customer from Miami, FL, USA on Friday, March 28, 2014
  • Pros: Easy to use, good quality.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Excellent quality. Works as advertised.  It connects (stereo) to your headset and to a digial recorder to allow you to get quality ATC and cockpit audio that you can later edit to your video (GoPro cameras are great but their microphone is not).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for GoPro

  • By Dale from Warner Robins GA USA on Thursday, February 13, 2014
  • Pros: Works perfect. Great sound.
  • Cons: Would be nice to have longer cable lengths to be able record from rear of plane.
  • Review: I purchased this product so I could add audio to my cockpit video recordings. I have an older GoPro Hero2 and this was the cable that worked for it. Works flawlessly and it's an adapter cable, so one of the headsets plugs into the audio cable and that plugs into the radio jack. No need for a separate intercom jack. One thing to note: The original GoPro Hero/Hero2 case does not have openings for the cable. You will either need to cut your housing or purchase a skeleton housing for your camera to use this cable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A bit pricy but good

  • By A Customer from Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio on Thursday, February 12, 2015
  • Pros: Coiled cable, clean sound, easy solution
  • Cons: On the expensive side
  • Review: I hooked this cable up to my GoPro to capture all cockpit sounds and ATC. I have had strange feedback problems with external audio before with my GoPro, but this cable gave me a very clean sound.

    I have it mounted on the copilot's window in the 172, which makes the coiled cord perfect. Very glad I went with the coiled and not the straight cord... I can imagine the mess that could make.

    The price is a little high comparing that you could make a splitter yourself and put a line-in to your iPhone or an audio recorder, but if you would like a nice simple solution to record cockpit audio, this is the perfect cord for you.

    Make sure you have the skeleton case (GoPro Hero 2. I'm not sure about the Frame on the newer ones) or you will not be able to plug this in!

    I am glad I invested in this cable as a nice easy solution, even though it may not be the cheapest option you have for recording cockpit audio.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good product

  • By Joyce from Bloomfield Township MI USA on Monday, August 31, 2015
  • Pros: Nice
  • Cons:
  • Review: Loved the product works perfect no problems
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Al Fatykhov from MARLBOROUGH MA USA on Wednesday, February 16, 2011
  • Pros: Easy to connect and a right length.
  • Cons: None so far.
  • Review: Works a advertized !
    I use it with Cannon HF R10.
    Here is an example of recording:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yGYPQiNSfoE
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Great!!

  • By Paul from Camp Verde Ariz USA on Wednesday, May 30, 2012
  • Pros: Coil audio cord, and 90 degree plug to keep it neat
  • Cons:
  • Review: I am still learning how to use the GoPro HERO2 camera but so far it has not disappointed me. I use it a piper sport low wing that has a dome cab. The suction cup mount works great. The camera is actually upside down, but with a setting in the camera it flips the image right side up. As a student pilot I can't say enough that having the video to review is priceless. I used the audio recorder adapter with the camera, the audio is fantastic. No distortion you hear everything, cockpit and others. I tried recording straight to a voice recorder("pre Gopro cam")and a handy cam without audio input, sitting on a tri pod in the back, then I had to mix the sound later with the video, {BIG pain in the butt} from the intercom and got a lot of noise and distortion. I also picked up a 12 volt power adapter to USB with a USB extension cable so you can record until the card is full and not have to worry about the cameras internal battery going dead. You may not the extension cable depending where you mount the camera. I mounted it just behind our heads in the middle so I can see the entire wind screen instrument panel and both pilots from the mid back up. If you are an instructor please tell your students about this camera, or just buy one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fantastic

  • By Mike from Anacortes WA USA on Monday, June 04, 2012
  • Pros: Easy to use and hook up
  • Cons: A little bit spendy but hey.
  • Review: This was a good buy. I was able to record the audio of myself and other pilots while recording video, and put together a fantastic DVD. Added music along with the recorded audio/video as well. I am quite happy with the results. I recommend this item.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Great for voice recorders

  • By A Customer from San Antonio TX USA on Thursday, March 20, 2008
  • Pros: simple
  • Cons: price
  • Review: This adapter cable works great for recording in-flight audio on a digital voice recorder. I use a $60 Olympus recorder and the sound quality is very good. As a student pilot, I'm finding the recordings of my flights to be a great learning tool.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great quality

  • By Samuel from QC Canada on Wednesday, June 03, 2015
  • Pros: Quality, great lenght
  • Cons: Price
  • Review: It is not cheap for sure, but as I said, the quality is there more than enough to worth the price. Will last long !
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Recommended

  • By jaime from lexington MA USA on Monday, May 23, 2011
  • Review: This has work great for my videos with ATC Coms. I would buy it again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By Steven from Homestead FL USA on Monday, July 01, 2013
  • Review: It cuts out all the engine noise and records all the radio calls!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Daytona Beach FL USA on Monday, July 01, 2013
  • Review: This was a great Audio cable. Very clear recording. You can see some recordings on my youtube video below

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Incredible product. Clean and Crisp audio.

  • By Preston from Plano TX USA on Monday, August 31, 2015
  • Pros: Small, high quality, durable, light weight, plugs into any device with an audio jack, inexpensive.
  • Cons:
  • Review: This product exceeded any expectation I had. The audio quality was incredible and perfect for making videos for YouTube or personal training/review videos.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome product

  • By A Customer from Madison NJ on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
  • Pros: Crisp, clear audio, durable build
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I used it with my audio recorder to get crisp audio during my flights. Haven't seen any downsides yet! I absolutely love it
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well, easy o use, good quality sterio recording.

  • By Dana from Cedar City UT USA on Wednesday, August 27, 2014
  • Pros:
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Works well, easy to use, good quality sterio recording.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Hannes from Illmitz Burgenland Austria on Tuesday, September 30, 2014
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Bunzo from Japan on Wednesday, January 14, 2015
  • Review: Thank you for your quick shipped to japan.  Good audio quality, connect to SONY AV15 handy cam.   And Easy to use
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fantastic

  • By Matthew from USA on Monday, October 28, 2013
  • Pros: everything
  • Cons: nothing
  • Review: Works perfect, exactly how it should. Great tool for pilots who wish to record audio from flights.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great.

  • By GumshoePilot from Auburn, CA on Wednesday, April 26, 2017
  • Review: Works great to patch in a camcorder or other device that accepts a 3.5mm plug (the old 1/8" plug). I bought two of them in fact. Well made also.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Video recorder adabter

  • By Omar from Columbia Heights MN USA on Sunday, March 23, 2014
  • Review: I will buy this adapter again and it worked well for my small camcorder video during the flight. The voice was clear
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product but a bit pricey for what it does

  • By Geoffrey from Switzerland on Monday, February 24, 2014
  • Pros: Does what it says
  • Cons: A bit expensive considering what it does
  • Review: Does a super job splitting the audio. I've used it twice now and am very happy with the quality of the audio recorded. Previously I've tried recording audio from a passengers headset earphone jack but always ended up with clipped audio because the levels were too high. However with this setup I am able to easily monitor the levels and have been very happy with the results.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great with GoPro

  • By Patrick from Kennedy AL USA on Monday, August 05, 2013
  • Review: Cable is plenty long for most mount locations and works as promised!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great audio recorder!

  • By Nathan from Lehi UT USA on Sunday, August 25, 2013
  • Pros: Price, quality
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This is an excellent audio recorder. Provides great sound and is crystal clear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Thursday, January 07, 2016
  • Review: This cable works better than expected. I had an issue with my connection (background fuzz) on a certain plane I rent and, when I plugged in the Video Recorder Audio Adapter, the background noise disappeared. Oh, yeah, it works great with my GoPro2 as well;-)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as advertised

  • By JEFF from Orlando FL USA on Friday, December 02, 2016
  • Review: Just wish it was a bit less bulky.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Gil from Lehigh Acres FL USA on Friday, May 31, 2013
  • Pros: Coiled phone handset type cable allowing it to stretch to about 5' in length.
  • Cons:
  • Review: This product hooks up to the pilot's or a passenger's headphone plug on one end and the aircraft jack on the other. A third (attached) cable plugs into my GoPro Black camera. The ambient sounds from propeller and wind are blocked, and only the sounds of the planes occupants, the tower and transmissions from other aircraft are heard on the video. This does a nice job and sound quality is good. However, if you mount your GoPro inside the plastic protective case, the cable cannot be used, as there is no opening in the case through which the cable can plug into the camera. I solved the problem by drilling a small hole in my GoPro protective case...plugged the cable into the side of the camera...and the problem was solved.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's worth the $40

  • By Gabriela from Miami FL USA on Wednesday, August 08, 2012
  • Pros: Pilot USA brand: 100% recommended
  • Cons: Pricy
  • Review: It's a little bit expensive but attenuates noise very good. I use it with my GoPro Hero2 and records audio perfectly. Just have in mind that everything you hear, including slang conversations or XMRadio will be heard and recorded
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works perfectly and was just what I was looking for!

  • By A Customer from NY USA on Monday, March 25, 2013
  • Pros: Robust and good quality
  • Cons: None really
  • Review: It works very well in a 1998 Cessna 172 SP between my GoPro Hero 3 and Bose A20 Headset (aircraft powered).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Great

  • By David from OH - USA on Wednesday, May 15, 2013
  • Pros: Crisp/ Clear audio
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Purchased the Gopro audio adapter jack for my Hero 3 at the same time.
    Mounted inside w/ suction cup and the Gopro open frame. Very clear audio (intercom and radio) and no engine/cocpit noise.
    As a flight instructor, I have found it is a great way to critique myself in addition to the students' performance.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Buying again!

  • By Paulo from Port Orange FL USA on Sunday, November 11, 2012
  • Review: Perfect fitting and it delivers the expected quality sound for your in flight videos.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Additional info

  • By A Customer from Toronto, Canada on Saturday, November 03, 2012
  • Pros: Does exactly what it says
  • Cons: Costly for a small cable
  • Review: Great product BUT you should also buy a splitter and an additional microphone to catch the ambient sound of the engine . Just using the splitter alone records dead silence between the ATC communications. I would also suggest putting a bit of tape over the mike as you dont want the sound of the engine overpowering the ATC communications
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect with my GoPro hero 2 and Sony HDR-TD10

  • By Sylvain from Ste-Anne-des-Lacs QC Canada on Tuesday, November 06, 2012
  • Pros: Works!
  • Cons:
  • Review: Used these while connected to my Bose headphone and to GoPro HD camera and also works perfectly with Sony Handycam. Got all interrcome and live communication sound recorded with the video. My plane is a Cessna 310Q.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By Yariv from Redmond WA USA on Wednesday, May 09, 2012
  • Pros: good quality
  • Cons: A bit expensive
  • Review: The audio is clear, better than what I expected.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Arvada CO USA on Tuesday, May 14, 2013
  • Pros: quality
  • Cons: would have prefered a straight cord
  • Review: Works great
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

It works

  • By Bill from Lenoir City TN USA on Monday, April 28, 2008
  • Review: I plugged in my digital voice recorder and captured my in-flight audio.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for Video's

  • By GENE from TULARE CA USA on Monday, April 18, 2011
  • Pros: Works as advertised
  • Cons: Another cord in the cockpit.
  • Review: Get rid of the engine sound, and replace with radio traffic and calls.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well

  • By Greg from Madawaska ME USA on Wednesday, December 09, 2009
  • Pros: Long enough cord to reach where you need it.
  • Cons: Non
  • Review: Works well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent product

  • By Martin from Zionsville IN USA on Monday, June 18, 2012
  • Review: Works as. It should and very clean also.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fits the bill

  • By Robert from Edmond OK USA on Monday, June 25, 2012
  • Pros: It works
  • Cons: Depending on how you are mounting things, it might need to be a bit longer
  • Review: Kind of hard to review this product, it either works or it doesn't. In this case it does.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The product worked as advertised

  • By Chuck from Amarillo TX USA on Tuesday, May 29, 2012
  • Pros: Clear, understandable audio.
  • Cons: More wires, but it accomplished the recording of communications audio well.
  • Review: When I tested this audio adapter, it worked clearly allowing for the audio recording of all voice communications through the plane intercom and my GoPro video camera.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

excellent adapter

  • By Steve ATP pilot from Marcola OR USA on Tuesday, August 09, 2011
  • Review: Performs as it should. I get nice clear audio of everything in my headset for my videos.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By John from Conshohocken PA USA on Wednesday, July 25, 2012
  • Review: Worked great. No problems
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Adapter works great

  • By David from Beresford SD USA on Tuesday, April 09, 2013
  • Pros: Easy simple solution for recording to GoPro
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Adapter cord is good quality and works perfectly. Easy to use. No issues recording to GoPro. Eliminates all recorded noise from the airplane and wind and allows you to record clear radio transmissions or communications within the cabin between occupants. Have been using the product during flight school to record my lessons. Great benefit to being able to listen to your recorded radio transmissions and instructor guidance.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By david from richmond CA USA on Monday, October 01, 2012
  • Review: Does exactly what I needed - plugs in between the standard GA headphone plug and the intercom panel, permits recording of everything a pilot hears in his/hear headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent product

  • By A Customer from Coupeville WA USA on Monday, October 01, 2012
  • Pros: crystal clears coms easy to use
  • Cons: more cords in the cockpit
  • Review: This product has met all expectations. I am a student pilot and record each of my training flights. The recordings are always clear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Tough and excellent quality.

  • By Robert from Olathe KS USA on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
  • Pros: built to last, quality connectors, coiled cable for tidy cockpit
  • Cons:
  • Review: I accidentally slammed the cable in the plane door twice and you can't even tell. No problems. The thing is VERY tough (thick shielding) and well built. The quality is also above average. Actually it was the first thing people noticed with my videos... the audio quality is fantastic. Love this adapter. Highly recommended. Worth the little extra money as compared to other options out there.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best way to get clear audio with GoPro 3

  • By Blake from Kuna ID USA on Wednesday, February 20, 2013
  • Pros: Ability to listen to cockpit audio in an airplane. Replaces poor internal speakers of GoPro.
  • Cons: Another cord running around.
  • Review: Great product to get good audio playback.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice audio quality

  • By John from Eau Claire WI USA on Monday, March 11, 2013
  • Pros: Clean, clear audio. Solid connections.
  • Cons: Cable danges in the way when hanging my camara from the windshield. A suction clip should fix that.
  • Review: This cable works as expected. It provided a way to capture audio from the intercom, as well as with air traffic control. I appreciate how quiet it is - no hum or white noise. Just clean, clear audio to my GoPro Hero.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Adam Odeh from salem NH USA on Thursday, October 18, 2012
  • Review: A+++++
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Michael from Crown Point IN USA on Thursday, November 15, 2012
  • Pros: provides clear audio
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Enhances the video of your flight by allowing you to record the audio. From a student's perspective it enhances training if you have audio capability coupled with a video camera for the purpose of recording your session.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product!

  • By A Customer from Valencia CA USA on Tuesday, November 13, 2012
  • Pros: Crisp clear audio and works with GoPro
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This item works great with my GoPro Hero 2 and I have used it in multiple aircraft. The recorded audio is crisp and clear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dominique from EMERAINVILLE Seine et Marne France on Thursday, May 16, 2013
  • Review: I wanted to record radio communications in a "clean manner"... this cable adapter fully meets my requirements !
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worked As Advertised

  • By Bill from Germantown TN USA on Tuesday, August 07, 2012
  • Pros: Works perfectly!
  • Cons: No problems at all
  • Review: Quality of the product is very good. The plugs are secure and the correct size. Easy to use. The recorded sound quality is very clear with little to no residual (engine or air) noise.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Tulsa OK USA on Tuesday, September 04, 2012
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worked with 172R Bendix and LS Sierra headset

  • By Andrew from Northport NY USA on Monday, June 24, 2013
  • Pros: It works
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I've only used the product twice but it worked well with good clarity both times. Volume of ATC and myself was good with no clipping though I'm not sure if that was a function of my data recorder or comm volumes. I used it with an Olympus digital device. Stores in my headset bag easily.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good. Though a bit expensive.

  • By Binoy from Longmont CO USA on Tuesday, October 08, 2013
  • Pros: Quality of the cable is excellent
  • Cons: Expensive, one socket is a bit more tight. Needs a little more pressure.
  • Review: Very good quality. One socket is a bit more tight than the other.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great !!

  • By Mike from Cordova TN USA on Friday, August 23, 2013
  • Pros: works
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It worked fine. I was only able to use it once due to weather and work. Looking forward to more flights with memories I can share friends and family.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.