TOP

Reviews for IFR Flight File Chart Planner and Organizer

Sort By:
Filter By:

Amazing!

  • By Eric on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
  • Pros: Works very well.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Definitely the best way to be organized in the cockpit when flying VFR or IFR. I say VFR because approach plates have a lot of really useful information and in my opinion it's the best way to have everything you need when you need it. I would suggest getting the yoke clip.  I bought this one and it works really well (In both 172/182). The chart planner is very well built and has lots of handy information on the pages that separate the different sections. It's good to have your approach plate out and in plain view. You don't have to fumble around with your plate on your lap or knee board. It's just one less thing you have to manage when flying IMC. We all know how important single pilot resource management is and this is just one more tool that helps. It allows you to keep your eyes on your gauges with a slight glance down to reference your plate. I highly recommend the chart planner. I don't fly without it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Elgene from South Lyon, MI on Monday, November 10, 2014
  • Review: Perfect way to be totally organized for your IFR flight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product, kind of expensive

  • By Steam Gages and a Prayer from Los Angeles CA USA on Tuesday, October 13, 2015
  • Review: Good quality. Don't leave it out in the AZ sun or it'll be warped and ruined
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This product is a must for and IR pilot

  • By Marcelo from Pittstown NJ USA on Wednesday, August 05, 2015
  • Pros: Large tabs keeps everything at a quick glance
  • Cons: Page could be a bit larger
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By dwilson540 from Topeka, KS on Tuesday, January 30, 2007
  • Review: Great, allows me to organize before I leave the ground. Makes me think alternate.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My Pilot Husband LOVED it

  • By Kari from Coeur D Alene ID USA on Friday, February 19, 2016
  • Pros: He loves adding things to it
  • Cons: NONE
  • Review: I was weary of getting him this for his Birthday, because some of the reviews said it was redundant or worthless. But I did it anyway, because my hubs has been working on getting his IFR for some time and thought it could help. When he got it he was thrilled! He has already filled it up with all of his departure and landing info and there is only one blank page.
    So definitely recommend this for any pilot who likes to be organized. Thank you for not making my bday gift to him suck.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good product

  • By Jerry from Clarkston WA USA on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
  • Pros: Maybe an extra sleeve in the approach and departure
  • Cons:
  • Review: Product is well designed and keeps things organized. If you are using protective sleeves for your plates they may fall out so insert only the paper and you are good to go.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good product

  • By Ronald from Kingman AZ USA on Monday, March 08, 2010
  • Review: I used this organizer for my IFR check ride and the evaluator was so impressed with the way I presented the data that he is now requiring it for all his students and Instructors at his flight school as a means to stay organized.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Todd from Madison, IN on Tuesday, March 23, 2010
  • Review: Great addition to the IFR toolbox. This was the cure for my organization issues when it comes to approach charts.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This is the second one of these that I have owned.

  • By Curt - CFII from Rockford, IL on Wednesday, May 19, 2010
  • Pros: Easy and convinient to use in flight
  • Cons: Expensive. Warps in heat and sunlight
  • Review: I love this product so much, that when the defrost vent on the Arrow destroyed my first one, I ordered a new one after I landed. Great at organizing plates, while making them easy to swap out, find, and view in flight. Unfortunately, the price seems kind of steep, and any heat or direct sunlight will warp and destroy it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

An organized cockpit

  • By Bob from Birmingham AL USA on Wednesday, May 26, 2010
  • Pros: Spiral bound, tabbed sections, clear markings, multiple pouches to hold charts
  • Cons: Charts must be removed to write on and make notes
  • Review: The IFR flight chart organizer is an excellent way to keep a clean cockpit, especially during approach phases. The left side spiral bound book provides ample sleeves to hold airport diagrams, approach charts, and terminal procedures. There are tabs for the departure airport, the destination airport, the alternate, and a miscellaneous tab. The organizer clips nicely to a kneeboard or can be used with yoke clips.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great cockpit organizer

  • By Patrick Herklotz from Colorado Springs, CO on Monday, June 28, 2010
  • Pros: 3-4 pages per tab for the different ypes of approaches you may practice in IFR training each lesson
  • Cons: Labeled section tabs should be before the approach plate pages, not after the section you want!
  • Review: Must have to keep a clean cockpit during approach organization allows for one less activity to perform to stay on top of flying when the workload goes up during approach/decent to landing. The tabs provide ready access to plates for your destination and alternate in a very easy to access format that my CFI recommended and that will undoubtedly be useful for the check ride.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great organizational tool

  • By A Customer from Tampa FL USA on Wednesday, July 07, 2010
  • Review: This product is very easy to use and is a great organizational tool. It is the perfect size to securely hold any airport diagrams, approach plates, enroute charts, etc. The plastic material of the page holders allows the student to use grease pencils or dry erase markers to make notes, draw holding patterns, etc. and then easily wipe them clean. On each of the dividers are printed a wide variety of very helpful "quick reference" information and reminders. My only critique is the number of page holders in each section. It would be helpful to have a couple more in each.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Brad from Poway, CA on Saturday, May 21, 2011
  • Review: Can't say enough about this. Excellent in every way imaginable. Loaded with day-to-day IFR info and you can put more plates in there than I originally thought. You are making a bad decision by not purchasing this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from USA on Sunday, September 07, 2008
  • Pros: It works!!!
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Excellent product! Keeps frequently used plates in an easy to find/use location. Holds many plates. Must have for any IFR pilot/student!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This was a gift to a new pilot, and I was so pleased

  • By Carol S from Groveland FL USA on Monday, September 08, 2008
  • Review: Going through the maps was always such a pain for my husband, so when I saw this book I thought what a great gift to ease stress on any flight. Too many new private pilots fly by-the-sit of their pants, when just a little prep could keep our skies so much safer. I loved it!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Organizing Tool

  • By A Customer on Monday, October 13, 2008
  • Pros: Many pockets, Helpful Information, Great Organization
  • Cons: slips a little
  • Review: This is a great product for IFR flight. It can hold plenty of approach plates for you destination as well as alternates. The section deviders have helpful IFR rules and tips that act as a quick reference to much needed information in flight. It is thin enough to clamp in to my approach plate yoke clip but tends to slip out if the flight is rough.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Workload Reducer

  • By Mooney Pilot from South Alabama on Thursday, December 23, 2010
  • Pros: Reduced pilot workload, durable, sized right
  • Cons:
  • Review: Am working on IFR rating and found this product to be great tool for cockpit management. Durable, easy to manage, plenty of room for multiple approach charts, segmented and tabbed for easy use. If you are fumbling with large bound versions of approach charts, give this a try.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A pilot gadget that really helps!

  • By Ed from Antioch TN USA on Wednesday, December 17, 2008
  • Pros: perfect size, fits on knee board
  • Cons: paper construction will limit life
  • Review: Flying single-pilot IFR is a challenge and the IFR Flight Organizer really helps the busy pilot stay ahead of the game. The IFR Flight Organizer neatly holds your approach plates and enroute charts in the order they're needed. Pre-flight planning is improved too, as you prepare the Organizer you are led through all the information necessary for the departure, enroute, arrival and alternate segments.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Michael from Point Mugu NAWC CA USA on Monday, October 17, 2011
  • Review: This was recommended to me by me instructor. I love it. It keeps everything in place and the order you want. It also has helpful info on the tabs. Perfect for those IFR flights.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Organization at it's best

  • By IFR student bkx from Brookings SD USA on Sunday, October 23, 2011
  • Pros: static cling pages, colored tab dividers
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Static cling pages work amazing. Everything is always right there when you need it- no flipping through hundreds of approach plates.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Extremely Useful

  • By A Customer from Ohio on Wednesday, April 27, 2011
  • Pros: Keeps your organized, and confident in IFR conditions
  • Cons: NONE!
  • Review: Terrific. EVERY IFR Pilot should buy and use this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dennis from Ware MA USA on Tuesday, February 03, 2009
  • Review: Great idea.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent planner

  • By cat_pilot from North Wales PA USA on Thursday, July 23, 2009
  • Pros: Size and ability to hold charts
  • Cons: Cover may start to separate after lots of use
  • Review: This is my 2nd chart planner. My 1st lasted several years, then the cover started to come off the binder. It was still useful, but I bought another one because I really liked it. Good size and holds the paper well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from lindale TX USA on Monday, August 10, 2009
  • Review: I require my IFR students to get this and be organized.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good organizer

  • By Albert from Jacksonville FL USA on Friday, July 01, 2011
  • Pros: information is readly available and in order of use/need
  • Cons: the materiel used could be of better grade
  • Review: This is a good product/tool to have in the cockpit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Stephen from Wrangell AK USA on Wednesday, November 14, 2012
  • Pros: A perfect organizer!
  • Cons: Huh?!?
  • Review: Absolutely the most simple method for keeping all the charts you need for a given flight right at your fingertips. In turbulance you don't have to worry about loose leaf pages getting ripped out, bulky books flopping around and closing, and all the reminders for procedures are right there in front of you. A great buy!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good honest product that does what it says

  • By A Customer from Huntsville AL USA on Friday, September 28, 2012
  • Pros: easy to use especially in flight.
  • Cons: none observed so far.
  • Review: Happy with this product. Easy to use in flight. Haven't experienced any sun damage, as I read other reviews and therefore avoid leaving it in the sun. Would buy it again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I Like It - As Advertised

  • By Bob from Portland OR USA on Tuesday, April 19, 2016
  • Pros: It works as expected.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It is what I expected. As advertised. I like it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Monday, March 13, 2017
  • Review: This is really neat and seems to be quite sturdy. I did expect it to be a little bigger, like standard 8.5x11 page. However it is just about the size to fit in an approach chart torn from the procedures manual. I don't know why I expected differently other than I like to print out the approaches I am likely to need so I don't have to squint quite so bad :-). But really it is nicely organized and packed with useful facts and tidbits about IFR that might serve as nice memory joggers some day.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Brian from San Francisco on Monday, March 12, 2007
  • Pros: Best IFR organizational aid ever.
  • Cons: I still have to turn the pages.
  • Review: I've been flying on the gauges for about 25 years and really like the organization the Planner brings to my flying. Almost broke my heart when I lost my planner when visiting Torrance a few months back. First thing I did upon return was buy a replacement Planner.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great for IFR

  • By A Customer from USA on Friday, April 20, 2007
  • Pros: Great
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Perfect for IFR Planning. Quick easy reference of your plates.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Simple and useful

  • By Kyle from Lafayette CO USA on Monday, November 19, 2007
  • Pros: Comprehensive plate holder for XC trips
  • Cons: Pricey for what it actually is
  • Review: As advertised. Good way to keep organized. Like the dividers with "reminder" / checklist items.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Making IFR easy!

  • By Maria from Collierville TN USA on Monday, October 22, 2007
  • Pros: Sturdy, concise super handy organizer for charts, etc
  • Cons: A little expensive
  • Review: I love this organizer. Really helped me along in the beginning of my IFR training and its organization is far better than any clipboard. It's a bit expensive but i find that it was well worth the extra buck for me! Also, it basically has every IFR commandment you need to remember in order of use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

AWESOME

  • By Jonathan from Marysville WA USA on Monday, December 03, 2007
  • Review: Ever since i have had this it has largely increased the affectiveness of my flying. I was always looking for a better way to split my approach and depparture charts. This is a great idea and it has other bits of information on the front of each devider which has proven a good quick reference.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Auburn AL USA on Saturday, May 17, 2008
  • Pros: Keeps everything organized
  • Cons: None yet
  • Review: Exactly what I was looking for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By George from Phoenix AZ USA on Tuesday, July 08, 2008
  • Pros: Solid and organized
  • Cons: Price is too expensive
  • Review: An IFR approach chart holder like this one was very hard to find. With the tabs you can easily find the charts you need quickly. With the cover the pages never get messed up. There's 9 clear holders, which means you can use both sides making it more than enough. Holds both NACO and Jepp charts
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.