TOP

Reviews for IFR Flight File Chart Planner and Organizer

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Great Trip Binder!

  • By KJ_cinci from CVG on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
  • Pros: Handy
  • Cons: Pricy
  • Review: I'm a professional pilot and mostly I fly to the same airports. I keep those in this handy sized 'binder'. Most time I go fly I leave the two pound Jeppesen binders (reachable) in the flight case, grab this and the headset, good to go!

    There are too few pages for larger airports so I bunch the approach plates in one pocket and put the one I'm going to use up front.

    The price is too high for what you get... it's a convenience thing more than a necessity.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Quick and easy

  • By from Jacksonville FL USA on Tuesday, March 09, 2010
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Great addition to the flight bag!

  • By Chris M from Fort Lauderdale, FL on Monday, December 02, 2013
  • Pros: Securely keeps your approach plates neatly organized
  • Cons: Needs a few more page inserts.
  • Review: I saw my instructor using this product several years ago when I was working on my IR and determined then I had to have it in my flight bag. I strongly recommend using this, it will (literally) make your cockpit workload lighter! It also includes IFR quick reference material inside.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very solid product

  • By Jason from Seattle WA USA on Monday, January 13, 2020
  • Pros: I use it to store backup paper plates for my common airports. It does a great job to organizing all those plates.
  • Cons: The caution note needs a caution note.
  • Review: It would get 5 stars except that the first transparent holder has a stain from the caution note to avoid heat. The stain is right in the middle making seeing the plate underneath tough to read.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Useful IFR info at your fingertips but the material needs some care.

  • By SoCal Flyer from Southern California on Friday, March 06, 2020
  • Pros: Useful IFR rules
  • Cons: Vinyl stains and warps
  • Review: Useful tips at your fingertips and helps organize all the information needed by a student IFR pilot. I do not see this much use after the initial learning curve since one would eventually graduate to a EFB. As for the information, I found it almost complete; only holding patterns are missing.

    The material needs care. As mentioned in other reviews, it comes with a sticker warning about warping. But the sticker should also warn against leaving printouts in the holders because the ink will eventually stain the vinyl. Even the sticker itself left a stain that would not come off with alcohol. I ended up scraping it off with my fingernail. Maybe retailers can do future customers a favor and remove that sticker from their items in inventory.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great addition

  • By JUSTIN from Belleville NJ USA on Thursday, March 11, 2010
  • Pros: Quick and Easy
  • Cons: Wish it held more approach plates
  • Review: Great addition to your flight bag. Easy to keep commonly used plates.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Product

  • By Luke from Liverpool NY USA on Monday, June 28, 2010
  • Pros: Very easy to bring along and its a great organizer.
  • Cons: Could use some more plastic holders.
  • Review: Its a great product and I feel very organized. Not happy with the amount of plastic holders. A lot of airports have more than 3 approach plates, especially the ones with STARs and SIDs.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice quick reference

  • By Heliflyr from Middletown NY USA on Monday, April 18, 2011
  • Pros: Compact, organized, nice refresher
  • Cons: limited to fixed-wing information
  • Review: Great little organizer with handy reminders and refreshers. The only down side for me is that I'm a helicopter pilot and the regs and procedures are limited to fixed wing rules.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This is a great product!

  • By Lew from Huntsville AL USA on Tuesday, June 15, 2010
  • Pros: Well organized information and approach plates.
  • Cons: Not enough clear plastic inserts.
  • Review: This is an outstanding product for the IFR pilot. It keeps your approach plates organized and easily found when needed through the use of dividers. Also, IFR information is printed throughout the booklet as reminders.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Definitly a Necessity

  • By A Customer from Kissimmee FL USA on Thursday, March 26, 2009
  • Pros: Organization, Speed
  • Cons: Needs more plastic holders
  • Review: By far the most helpful organizer for IR flights. Lets you plan out your flight and keep everything in one easy to view organizer. It could use a couple more plastic page holders. Over all a very good product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for my needs.

  • By Chuck from Elk Grove CA USA on Tuesday, August 16, 2011
  • Pros: Light weight and easy to use.
  • Cons: Maybe a couple of more pouches per section would be great.
  • Review: This product holds IFR charts perfectly. The organizer is segmented with arrival, departure, alternate and a fourth section so access is easy and quick.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What I expected

  • By Georges from Denton TX USA on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
  • Pros: Layout with Departure Destination Alternate
  • Cons: None that I can think of at the moment
  • Review: Clear, simple, really neat, definately helps in organizing oneself when scrambling in the cockpit to get the right charts. Just passed my IR test today.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Still getting the thing organized but is soundly made and will be handy

  • By prcaustralia from Bankstown Airport, NSW, Australia on Monday, February 18, 2013
  • Pros: Very well made for rough cockpit use
  • Cons: None yet
  • Review: Being a new IFR graduate I am still getting a system together to fully appreciate items such as this....will be fine in due course.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good product

  • By from Buffalo New York on Tuesday, August 21, 2007
  • Pros: helps organize charts
  • Cons: a little pricy
  • Review: Good product, helps keeps charts organized with good refresh info
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Very Handy

  • By Charlie from San Luis Obispo CA USA on Monday, December 10, 2007
  • Pros: Simple design and easy to use
  • Cons: Very sensitive to heat, keep it off the glare shield!
  • Review: I just got my instrument rating and this chart organizer really helped me get better organized. Transitioning from the departure plates to the approach plates is easy...no more having to pull charts from the binder in flight. I have also found that taking the time to pull the charts and review them before going into the organizer helps begin the process of better understanding the airport you are going to. Finally, having the charts in the organizer before reviewing NOTAMs makes it easy to access and update the information on the chart if necessary.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

good concept

  • By Laurie from Waukesha WI USA on Friday, April 25, 2008
  • Pros: Lightweight, lots of dividers
  • Cons: none really, except a bit pricy
  • Review: I like this for use in the DA40, as cockpit management is a bit tricky for IFR flight in that airplane. It has a stick, instead of a yoke, so there's really nowhere to attach your plates for easy viewing. You really need something for your lap, and this book makes it easy to pull out the charts you may need, and has ample space to put others, for "just in case" scenarios.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

its great but could have been cheaper

  • By carl from fort pierce FL USA on Tuesday, December 11, 2007
  • Pros: convienent
  • Cons: expensive
  • Review: I have given this 4 stars because of the price if it were cheaper it would get 5 stars. It's a very handy thing to have and you can keep the approach plates you need the most with you and easily accesible.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Larry from Lindale TX USA on Wednesday, February 20, 2008
  • Pros: Easly carried organizer. I like it's size.
  • Cons: Would like a binder style so I could add pockets.
  • Review: I would recomend this to help stay organized in the IFR cocpit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Graet way to organize

  • By A Customer from grand rapids MI USA on Sunday, May 04, 2008
  • Pros: Important information at your finger tips.
  • Cons: A little pricey.
  • Review: This binder is a great way to keep everything you will need in one convenient location during the flight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Charles from Appleton, WI on Monday, May 26, 2008
  • Review: A bit expensive but a lot more practical than setting your entire chart binder on your lap or taking each of the flimsy little charts out individually.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Joseph from Rio Grande PR USA on Friday, January 29, 2010
  • Pros: provide you with important information and helps to be organize
  • Cons: N/A
  • Review: If you want to organize yourself and be ahead of the airplane in your training I recommend you to buy this item it will make your life more easy when you're are flying in you're IFR training ....
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.