Yes, we are open and shipping orders! COVID-19 Update.
TOP

Reviews for Honeycomb Alpha Flight Yoke and Switch Panel

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Revolutionising My Simming Experience

  • By DAVID from Hollywood FL USA on Saturday, November 02, 2019
  • Pros: The quality of the build - metal rod is sturdy. The rubberised grip feels solid, even the plastic that is used on the yoke is not 'hollow' or flimsy in feel or movement. It is also secure to my desk, even without the clamps - the sticky pad really does keep it all in place. I can tell why there is a 5 year warranty on this - you can tell the manufacturer knows how well it has been constructed and that warranty can only give the customer confidence that this product will outlast anything in it's price range, or slightly higher. It is proof you do not need to spend $1500 on a yoke to get a sound product.
  • Cons: If there is a con at all, and it is very slight indeed, I was expecting perhaps a bit more resistance in the roll of the yoke. It is wonderful that it has a full range of motion, I just thought perhaps it might have a small bit of pull to it, when trying to move the ailerons. That said it isn't a deal breaker WHATSOEVER.
  • Review:

    Firstly the yoke came in excellent condition, survived shipping, and was packed to prevent damage.

    I have been a simmer for 20 years but wasn't as serious as many. I just like to fly around and see the sights, and hopefully land and live. I literally used a keyboard and mouse the ENTIRE TIME, for various (lazy?) reasons. I always intended to put down the money for proper kit but never quite did. This made flying difficult, or I should say flying properly, difficult.

    Well, no more. While I waited quite a while to have a sim that would run good old FSX without too much lag, now that I have a system that can easily handle it I no longer had the excuse to not invest in a quality yoke.

    I can't say enough how revolutionizing the Honeycomb Alpha Yoke has been for me. I was overjoyed with its build and feel - pleasantly surprised at the push and pull power needed to move it - and it has made my simming experience one of pleasure rather than work. With this in mind, and the throttle quadrant on the horizon, I am ready to take this whole hobby a whole lot more serious.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By A Customer from Enterprise AL USA on Thursday, October 31, 2019
  • Pros: Quality feel and customization
  • Cons: None yet
  • Review: This much anticipated flight control yoke for the PC live up to the hype. Honeycomb has delivered a quality feel along with added features such as light switches and start switch. You will get more than your monies worth with this yoke.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

AMAZING YOKE!!!

  • By Joe from Puyallup, WA on Thursday, October 31, 2019
  • Pros: Buttery Smooth
  • Cons: Havent found one yet
  • Review: Coming from the Saitek pro flight yoke, this one is like night and day. The roll on the Honeycomb is buttery smooth. There are no detents compared to the saitek. I have a Stay level Aviation flight panel, so the only thing is, I had to adapt the honeycomb for it, since the cutout was made for the saitek. Also, having the switch panel is awesome, since my saitek switch panel dies recently. If you fly X-plane 11, you will have to re-do the switches in the xplane setup because they don't match.

    I love this yoke and the fact that it has full 90 degree rotation is awesome!!!!! If you are on the fence, just jump!!! Go and get it, you wont be disappointed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

AMAZING FLIGHT YOKE!

  • By Daniel from Northeast FL USA on Wednesday, January 15, 2020
  • Pros: QUALITY BUILD, easy to hook up - NO problems!
  • Cons: None...except that I have a LONG way to go before I feel proficient in more complex aircraft than the C-172.
  • Review: I am in a funny situation - my 16 year old son is in training for his PPL and, although I would love to get mine, I don't think it would be a good move with Embry-Riddle tuition and flight training costs coming up!

    I bought the Honeycomb Alpha Flight Yoke to have something to share with him. Before I bought it I tried several other yokes and this is by FAR the most consistent and solid of all the ones I have tried. Having the switch panel adds another level of realism to the flight simulator (X-Plane 11) and the quality of the build is GREAT! MUCH better than the steering wheel and pedals we got for the racing games!

    In my opinion, I find this yoke to be built to a much higher standard than the others and that contributes to a really positive experience for both of us - yeah, he spends a LOT of time using it and has nothing but positive comments for it!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

No Yoke about it.

  • By Shayne from Sherwood Park AB Canada on Wednesday, January 22, 2020
  • Pros: Realistic feel and layout.
  • Cons: Had to order a new throttle quadrant with a USB plug.
  • Review: I am a recreational Flight Sim aficionado. For a number of years I used the Saitek Pro Flight Yoke and I thought it was the best. Don't get me wrong the Saitek is a wonderful flight yoke and has served me well. When the Honeycomb Alpha Flight Yoke hit the market I ordered one. Well what a difference. The new flight yoke actually feels like you are doing something. There is a tension within the unit that offers resistance to the inputs when flying creating a more realistic Flight Sim experience. Pilot friends have tried it and were very impressed with it's realistic feel. The controls are smoother to operate. The layout of the buttons resemble the real thing. Great product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent product

  • By Scott W from Salt Lake City UT USA on Thursday, January 23, 2020
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Highly satisfied with this product. It is rugged and reliable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best Sim equipment ever!

  • By Bill from Pekin IL USA on Tuesday, November 19, 2019
  • Pros: Easy of use
  • Cons: Mapping the controls could be better
  • Review: The best feel by far....the most accurate by far. My expectations were more than met.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent quality

  • By Travis from Borger TX USA on Wednesday, November 13, 2019
  • Pros: Excellent build quality, beautiful finish, near perfect amount of additional switch control for general aviation aircraft. Perfect 90 turn radius. Pitch tension is good.
  • Cons: The pitch tension can be a little stiff. If not not electronic forced feedback then maybe a way to adjust that tension.
  • Review: The worst part about this product was the pre-order and having to wait for it to be available to ship. Since receiving it, it has been amazing. By for the best yoke on the market for the money and priced very reasonably for what you get. It would be cool to see a forced feedback option and a second ignition switch for twin engine use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome!!

  • By Pilot Ricardo from McKinney TX USA on Thursday, December 05, 2019
  • Pros: Plug and play. No extra set up needed.
  • Cons: None found yet
  • Review: I love this product. I had another brand before but it involved more work to fine tuned. The Honeycomb it was as easy as to plug and play. Great response and sensitivity plus all the extra switches, starter key makes this a more realistic and enjoyable experience.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Superb!

  • By Richard from Marana AZ USA on Tuesday, December 10, 2019
  • Pros: So far everything works as described in their advertising.
  • Cons: Other than it took forever to be released, none I can find. It works almost as described. Total pitch movement is shorter at 4.5” or so than the 6” as initially stated but it is not a deal breaker by any means.
  • Review: Nicely packaged. Easy and intuitive to assemble. I used the supplied clamps. Worked perfectly with X-Plane 11.35. Switches appear to be very positive feel and action.I used a Logitech/Saitek throttle quad.
    I am waiting (im)patiently for the Bravo Quad (Spring of 2020).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Wednesday, October 30, 2019
  • Review: This yoke is miles ahead (nautical miles of course) of my Saitek yoke. 180 degree (90 each way) turn on the roll axis, there's a good amount of resistance on the pitch axis and the quality of the material, mount and design is a great value for <$250. Highly recommend this for flight simmers.
    Used on Lockheed P3D and X-Plane 11.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer on Monday, November 04, 2019
  • Review: Great product. Much better feel than my Saitek yoke. It took me some time to get use to the feel of the yoke and switches. Programming the switches was different. Read the manual
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Stephen from Woodstock IL USA on Thursday, December 05, 2019
  • Review: I absolutely  love this yoke. It has the exact feel of the C-150/172 that I remember from my RW time in general  aviation aircraft. Still waiting for the throttle quadrant to be released next year.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Honeycomb Alpha Flight Yoke and Switch Panel

  • By James from Greeneville TN USA on Tuesday, January 07, 2020
  • Pros: Smooth operation. Switches are crisp
  • Cons: Can’t think of any
  • Review: Fantastic product. Was using CH yoke for years. The Alpha is smooth to operate. The switches give a the extra feel of realism. I recommend this to anyone who is looking for a great yoke at a great value.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good purchase

  • By Victor from Easley SC USA on Thursday, December 19, 2019
  • Pros:
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Wonderful yoke at this price level. Very solid and well built. Elevator axis feels stiff but not being a RW pilot I can't say if that is more realistic then say CH or Saitek. Certainly no buyers remorse what so ever.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best in class

  • By Mark from Minneapolis MN USA on Wednesday, January 15, 2020
  • Pros: Control response, switch options
  • Cons: Led backlight is cool but not necessary
  • Review: Smooth realistic yoke response through 180 degrees. Plenty of switches and controls with 2 mounting options. Puts other yokes to shame.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Very nice Yoke

  • By A Customer from Idaho on Tuesday, October 29, 2019
  • Pros: Responsive, no dead spots, very fluid, user friendly, good instruction.
  • Cons: Forward push a little hard.
  • Review: When I installed this to X-Plane 11, I was able to use it out of the box. I only needed to re-assign a couple of the switches to suit my needs. It also stopped some of the problems I was getting with an older yoke/throttle. It also improved my frame rate by a couple frames a minute. Has improved the landings I was having trouble with . No dead spots. Very fast shipping. I am looking forward to the Bravo Throttle.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Game changer in the flight sim industry

  • By A Customer from Ashland City TN USA on Thursday, December 05, 2019
  • Review: Smooth, precise. Honeycomb knew what they were doing with this one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent yoke.

  • By chimneyliu from San Jose CA USA on Monday, November 04, 2019
  • Review: Barely more expensive than Logitech/CH, but way better feeling! I can land much more smoothly with this!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Amazing Quality for the Price

  • By JPVann from Dallas TX USA on Friday, November 15, 2019
  • Pros: Already Listed
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This is the Yoke I always wanted but never got over the years. Turning radius, quality components, solid feel and materials - all come together to create a wonderful flying experience. This Yoke is worth another $100 it's that good. Highly recommended.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

best yoke

  • By roy from Elmira NY USA on Tuesday, January 21, 2020
  • Pros: works and feels amazing
  • Cons: is a littel higher in price
  • Review: This is the best yoke that I have ever used. I have used meany different yokes before and this is the one that is that best no questions asked.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best buy for the money!

  • By Rod from Las Cruces NM USA on Monday, February 03, 2020
  • Pros: Ease of mounting, Plenty of switches, Very smooth and accurate, Best buy for the price.
  • Cons: The only Con. that I have found so far is that we don,t have the throttle yet.
  • Review: This is a purely an amateur review and I have not had a chance to use the yoke extensively. I can't compare it to the expensive yokes because I can't afford them. It is much smoother and more accurate than my CH yoke.
    The mounting was very easy, I didn't have to glue the back half down to keep it from tipping forward and when you get the Throttle, it will be easy to move. This Yoke has exceeded my expectations. My only problem was the view hat is on the left and I was used to it being on the right. But that was a very small problem that I am quickly getting used to and I think that I actually like it better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Frank from Durham NC USA on Tuesday, December 10, 2019
  • Pros: Realistic back pressure for small aircraft, additional buttons
  • Cons: No throttle set
  • Review: After using the CH Products entry level yoke for years, I am still adjusting to the back pressure when not trimmed. I could hold the back pressure with little effort whereas now it requires greater effort. Transitions to other little things like having the hat button on the left, rather than the right hasn’t been much of a deal.
    Be prepared to buy a throttle set. I purchased the cheapest throttle I could find while I am waiting for the Beta Throttle set.

    Overall, the Alpha Yoke adds to the immersion while simming
    .
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best yoke I've owned

  • By Randy from San Francisco, ca on Thursday, December 05, 2019
  • Pros: Solid feel, quality materials and construction.
  • Cons: None yet.
  • Review: This is by far the best yoke I have owned. Has a solid feel like the real thing. Buttons and switches don't feel cheap like on other yokes I have used. Highly recommend.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best Yoke For the Money! Well Worth It!!!

  • By Russell from Olive Branch MS USA on Monday, January 20, 2020
  • Pros: rugged, good resistance feel, 90 degree turn of the yoke
  • Cons: havent found any yet
  • Review: This is the best of the yokes out there short of a force feed back yoke for 6 times the money.
    I am a PPL ASEL and use my sim to help keep muscle memory and practice IFR and this is the best I have used. Love the full 90 degree each way rotation as well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best upgrade to my sim cockpit!

  • By TB on Sunday, February 16, 2020
  • Pros: Easy to set up and use
  • Cons: None!
  • Review: Exceeded my expectations by far. Sturdy, feels like the real thing, easy to program, worked right out of the box. No complicated set-up. Looking forward to the release of the throttle quadrant!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love this Yoke! Very smooth...

  • By Viperkeeper from Pennsylvania on Wednesday, December 11, 2019
  • Pros: Smooth precise handling and feel.
  • Cons: None as far as I can see
  • Review: Very smooth handling Yoke with great mounting mechanism. Improved handling when fine corrections required. Worth the extra money!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

AWESOME

  • By Eric Mayers on Wednesday, October 30, 2019
  • Pros: Very well made
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Really a great unit. I had been using the Logitech Yoke. Really no comparison between the two. Well made and very precise. Give a true yoke feel.

    Can't wait for the throttle quadrant to come out.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Honeycomb Flight Yoke

  • By dave from Anchorage AK USA on Wednesday, October 30, 2019
  • Pros: feel, accuracy
  • Cons:
  • Review: This Yoke is so good, it don't even need the switches to be first class. The switches are a Plus. It has a good feel and so much more pleasant than using just a stick. I do like sticks for my F-18, but most of my flying is GA planes. This Yoke is made well and don't feel cheap like others I have owned before. I am looking to the throttle quadrant that will go nicely with this Yoke.
    I am so glad i per-ordered this and very happy flying with it. Now my favorite plane with this is the C170B taildragger
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Satisfied Customer!

  • By john from The Hills TX USA on Wednesday, October 30, 2019
  • Review: Perfect tension in the yoke. Adapts very nicely to my desk with the suction mount!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Yoke

  • By Russ from Rio Rancho NM USA on Saturday, October 19, 2019
  • Pros: Well made. Price is right. Looks great.
  • Cons: Switches might need some work to work correctly(could be Xplane)
  • Review: This yoke so much better than the Saitek Yoke. The response is great. I have never tried the $1000 yokes but I think for this price you can't go wrong. The only problem was the switches and starter dial took some time to program. I think it might be the X-Plane interface but all works fine when you get it right.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Summerville SC USA on Thursday, December 05, 2019
  • Pros: Great on the flares while landing
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Great yoke!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great value, but not the best product on the market

  • By Nemo from Jacksonville, FL on Thursday, October 31, 2019
  • Pros: price, solid construction, lots of buttons built in, 5 year warranty, multiple mounting options, very attractive
  • Cons: large aileron deadzone, moderate elevator deadzone, mag switches difficult to program, aileron centering spring is weak, not built for right handed flying.
  • Review:

    Overall - 4 of 5 stars (8.5 out of 10), worth every penny but I would have been happy to pay $25 more to fix the few errors noted in the CONS. The deadzone and weak aileron centering spring are pretty annoying but I'm still happy with the product

    My review is better articulated in the video below.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

As close to the real thing as you can get.

  • By Jon from New Egypt NJ USA on Thursday, October 31, 2019
  • Pros: Very realistic.
  • Cons: Needs two ignition switches for light twin engine aircraft.
  • Review: Really great yolk. 4 stars only because I can’t figure out how to set the ignition switch up for a twin engine like the Baron 58 in X-Plane. Can’t wait for the throttle to be available. I want to be able to get on the pre-order list.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

First impressions

  • By steve from West Hollywood CA USA on Thursday, October 31, 2019
  • Review: Wish it had preset options for different planes. Also wish the power controls were out...cant interface the logitech power controls to this unit due to the round plug and not being USB.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fills the niche for a mid market yoke

  • By Ress from Murfreesboro, TN on Friday, November 15, 2019
  • Pros: Good quality at an affordable price.
  • Cons: Excessive pitch forces, difficult to program for Pd3. Usless panel lights and grill that do not light the panel switches.
  • Review: Much improved over available present day affordable yokes.
    As a former GA pilot I agree with the majority of reviews that the pitch control is excessive even for the 172 it was designed to emulate.
    The software for configuring the switches and buttons for Pd3 is very poor and lacking in information.
    The quality of the yoke itself seems excellent and feels solid, good roll control.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

90% Superlative

  • By James from Newport News VA USA on Wednesday, October 30, 2019
  • Pros: No more herky, jerky landings, it is smooth as butter
  • Cons:
  • Review: Love the Yoke, it improved my landing leaps and bounds. If the Yoko is better I will never know because this is fantastic. If it wasn't for the switches it would be 5*. BUT it does have them and the big problem is the starter key function. It is backwards. When it is off it says start and to start it you have to turn it off. That wouldn't be a big deal but I saw a review of it months ago and the reviewer had the same problem which means they don't correct obvious problems which is worrisome to say the least.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

High Quality and Solid flight yoke and switch panel, however . . .

  • By A Customer from CA USA on Saturday, January 04, 2020
  • Pros: Excellant craftsmanship and design
  • Cons: Mounting limitation due to clamp opening size
  • Review: This is a very high quality and solid flight yoke, can not even compare other plastic or abs flight yokes. However, if you have a desk or table top this is thicker than 2" (inches) the clamps will not work.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

yoke is fine, switch panel not so much

  • By C H from Moselle MS USA on Tuesday, February 11, 2020
  • Review: The yoke gets 5 stars. The minor problem with the yoke is the pitch control. It takes a lot of effort to push the nose down. The main problem is the switch panel. It should have been momentary switches instead of toggle switches. You can't look at the position of the switches and tell whether it is on or off. Sometimes you have to flip the switch twice to get it to position you want. The master battery switch has a glitch. You can be flying along and battery power will go off. The button doesn't move, the power just goes off. To correct this problem I erased the data in the yoke input software. Now the switches(also did this for the master alternator)don't work and the problem is solved.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Honeycomb flight yoke

  • By BubbaB603 - 60 years real pilot, 35 years sim pilot from New Hampshire on Monday, December 16, 2019
  • Pros: Fit and finish is excellent
  • Cons: Pitch movement way too strong.
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Trouble with Prepar3D control setting

  • By jay leboff on Monday, January 20, 2020
  • Pros: rugged and complete
  • Cons:
  • Review: Very nice and rugged design with basic switch panel. I had trouble remembering assignments in P3D v4 even with their download.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.