TOP

FuelHawk Universal Fuel Gauge

  • 28 Customer Reviews

Reviews for FuelHawk Universal Fuel Gauge

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect

  • By Shawn from Coldwater MI USA on Tuesday, November 10, 2015
  • Pros: simple and easy to use
  • Cons: draining a tank completely to get accurate numbers
  • Review: I loved it so much, I ordered three more, one for each of my other airplanes. If you can see fuel standing in the tank when you look in the cap, this should work for your airplane. One word of caution, when handling with gloves in cold Michigan air, if you relax your grip just a little, the FuelHawk slips very quickly completely into the tank and out of sight/reach. Definitely not a product fault, certainly an operator error, hopefully sharing my mistake will help prevent others from the same dilemma.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

simle calibration

  • By Alex Zolot on Wednesday, November 26, 2008
  • Review: I successfully use it, but instead of documented calibration procedure I just take a calibrated stick, put it on clear narrow of paper and copy gallon marks instead of inches. Then join it to the stick with a rubber ring. All procedure takes 5 min. Instead of this universal stick you can use any other e.g. C-172 stick with external paper scale copied from C-152.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Wished I had not waited so long to get this.

  • By Andrew from Winnsboro TX USA on Friday, January 30, 2009
  • Pros: Cost
  • Cons: Need to calibrate it.
  • Review: Great little gauge, just be sure to calibrate it like the package says. Being used on a C150 but I could use it on any plane. Great value if you fly different aircraft. They do make them for specific models.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

product does exactly what I bought it to do

  • By Leonard from Dallas TX USA on Monday, June 21, 2010
  • Pros: works
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I fly several different models of single engine airplanes in CAP(C172N/P/R, C182Q/R/T, Gippsland GA8) so wanted a single tool for measuring current fuel load during preflight. The generic stick works well for this purpose.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple, effective

  • By Mason from Clovis CA USA on Friday, October 24, 2008
  • Pros: Simple, durable, accurate, cheap!
  • Cons: None significant. You do need to calibrate it on your own, so be accurate!
  • Review: Perhaps no other aspect of flight planning is as important as knowing at all times the amount of fuel you are carrying. Especially in this day of $5+ per gallon AvGas, it does not make financial sense to simply "fill it to the cap" each time we venture off for a cross-country trip, or guesstimate how much fuel we need to add or drain and still be within weight and balance limits. The FuelHawk is a simple, accurate way to know exactly how much fuel you have or need. It's essentially a thick, fluted plastic tube with easy-to-read gradation markings. You place the tube in your tank, put your finger firmly over one end, and pull out a fuel sample, comparing the measured level in the tube to a calibrated card you make using the included instructions. Simple! A word about calibrating: the emptier your tank when beginning the calibration process, the better! Take your time and do it right; you'll be glad you did. Also, those who fly airplanes with smaller tanks (e.g., C150s, PA38s) may wish to calibrate by filling up two or three gallons at a time instead of the recommended five. All in all, this is a great product that goes a long way to maintaining flight safety.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

No more guessing

  • By Jim from fremont CA USA on Monday, October 04, 2010
  • Pros: Fast and easy with no error
  • Cons: Need a calibration chart for different aircraft available.
  • Review: Being a big guy and taking passengers along with me necessitates extra fuel management. Take offs with less than full tanks has advantages. Just using gauges or tank tabs are not a good/safe option for me. A calibrated FuelHawk takes the guesswork out of how much fuel is on board and in each tank.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Peace of Mind!

  • By A Customer from Fort Worth TX USA on Friday, January 25, 2008
  • Pros: Easy to read. No moving parts to wear out.
  • Cons: Haven't found any yet
  • Review: [This review refers to the FuelHawk Cessna 172 Long Range Fuel Gauge version] Ever looked into that deep, dark hole called a fuel tank and wondered just how much fuel is really in there? I always hated that and now there is no more wondering for me. I have a lot more peace of mind knowing exactly how much fuel is in each tank before take-off. I used the "stick method" in the past and all you really know is that you have 5" of fuel but how many gallons is that? How many inches per hour does your airplane use? I didn't know either. The fuel hawk gives you a readout in gallons which is useful information that you can actually use in calculations without having to guess. Great product!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

No More Doubts...

  • By James from Flint TX USA on Thursday, March 25, 2010
  • Pros: Easy to calibrate
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Easy to calibrate for my Jabiru J230SP....now I know very precisely how much fuel I have on board.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great and is inexpensive

  • By Jim from Tucson AZ USA on Monday, April 26, 2010
  • Review: This is a nice product and I was able to get a calibration chart for my Grumman AA-5A and it appears to be very accurate. Good product at a reasonable price. Highly recommended.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Jake from NAGS HEAD NC USA on Thursday, April 29, 2010
  • Review: This universal fuel gauge worked great. I didn't have to calabrate it either. I have a cessna 150L with standard tanks and it showed the gallons in the tank correctly, I only have to remember to subtract the unuseable amount of fuel from the gauge.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A must have

  • By ALEXANDRE MARTON PIMENTA from BELO HORIZONTE Brazil on Tuesday, January 06, 2009
  • Pros: safety , price
  • Cons: none
  • Review: You got to take the time to calibrate it properly but once you did it pays for himself. Nothing safer and priceless than to know the exactly amount of fuel you have before a take off...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Scott the C-182 pilot from Wichita KS USA on Wednesday, September 07, 2011
  • Pros: Very easy to calibrate and use.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This is a great product to help a pilot determine precisely how much fuel he has in the tank. It is easily calibrated to the make and model of aircraft that you are flying.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Takes the guess work out of fueling

  • By Jud: Piper Tomahawk from Olympia WA USA on Wednesday, September 28, 2011
  • Pros: Simple, straight forward operation
  • Cons: Can lose in fuel tank if you drop it
  • Review: Easy to calibrate and reliable to use. This fuel quantity stick works great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

very helpful product

  • By Mark from Bigfork MT USA on Tuesday, October 16, 2012
  • Pros: Easy to calibrate
  • Cons: Aluminum plate backing had sharp edges
  • Review: My fuel tanks are of an unorthodox size, which means that standard model specific gauges don't work. The calibration was simple and the handy card provided with the gauge makes it easy to determine fuel levels.
    The most challenging part of this calibration process was picking an uncrowded period at the fuel dock where I'd be afforded time to sequentially add increments of fuel without holding up other thirsty planes!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect

  • By A Customer from Newberry Springs CA USA on Wednesday, October 05, 2016
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Eazy to lose. So buy two
  • Review: Works just like it should. Very accurate when you take the time to calibrate it to your aircraft.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.