TOP

Reviews for Dual XGPS160 SkyPro Bluetooth GPS Receiver

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Big improvement

  • By David from Teterboro NJ USA on Wednesday, July 16, 2014
  • Pros: Good design, clear labeling, strong reception.
  • Cons: Still not 100% on position display, and no reason given.
  • Review: Much better than the miserable, persnickety model XGPS150. Only one unit needed for multiple connections. Much better signal acquisition rate, and drops out far less, although it still does drop every so often. Our 150s used to have 8 or 9 satellites, but still have low-accuracy warnings and would not display ownship position. The 160 has not done that yet in a couple months of flying. I can't rate battery life as we keep it plugged in while flying. Overall, a big step up from the high-maintenance 150s.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well for a crew using Jepp FD

  • By Bear from Bangkok Bangkok Thailand on Wednesday, February 26, 2014
  • Pros: Fast to Errect, Fast data updates to applications. Quality product.
  • Cons: Batter life not up to 15hour Aircraft. LED's too birght. IPAD aplication TOO White.
  • Review: We operate with a crew of two sometimes three. All crew have ipads with JeppFD. Even the crew near the crew rest area or the forward galley can keep abreast of the aircraft's position via the strengths of the XGPS160. This unit is very fast to align and faster data updates compared to the older model. So great to have one unit that can take care of all of the ipads at once.
    One wish would be for a 17 hour battery. One of our older GV's does not have AC plugs near the cockpit.
    The other grips is the the LED's on this newer unit are far too bright. At night it seems to be damaging. But, the XGPS160 works fine in its rubber non skid housing upside down to hide the status lights at night. Speaking of night, the XGPS160 Ipad application could use a night mode or just not be all White!
    Other than the little niggles, a quality dependable unit. Out of the box it just works and works well. I would/ will buy another one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.

Fast, accurate, great receiver sensitivity... when it works

  • By AK from Honolulu, Hi on Thursday, September 19, 2013
  • Pros: Fast alignment, very accurate, sensitive antenna, 5 device pairing
  • Cons: Uncertain reliability
  • Review: Quick to setup, capture and align in adverse conditions (indoors, tile roof, partial view of the sky). Works with XGPS150 status tool, GPS enabled iPad/iPhone software capable of simultaneously pairing with 5 devices. Accuracy on par with aircraft systems (A330). Great sensitivity when carried in my pocket while navigating through city streets. In this case it was usually within a block of my actual location and would steadily improve it's accuracy when stopped. Unfortunately, it quit acquiring satellites. The GPS would no longer "search" for signals as displayed on the Dual status tool. Over the course of two days, the bluetooth failed and the unit would shut itself off in a little over a minute.

    Dual tech support communications was adequate. They did receive the unit two weeks ago and I am still waiting for a replacement.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It works, but why not just use the XGPS150

  • By Tom from Walnut Creek CA USA on Wednesday, March 16, 2016
  • Pros: Apps for battery and satellites
  • Cons: expensive, doesn't track with iPad
  • Review: It works great, but the iPad app doesn't like the tracking. Where as the Android app work fine with the tracking. I do like the Dual apps for the xgps150 and 160 to check battery and satellites. Don't spend the extra money on the xgps160 unless you want the Russian satellites. BTW, A lot of the flight apps do there own tracking.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By Michael from Redondo Beach CA USA on Monday, January 19, 2015
  • Pros: both satellite systems supported, multiple devices at one time. works great with Jeppesen app
  • Cons: windows connectivity not so good
  • Review: Great product with easy connectivity to multiple devices.  Still having difficulty though, with Windows 8 devices, but probably haven't found the right app to work with.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Richard from Farmington NM USA on Tuesday, December 31, 2013
  • Review: Easy to use and hooks up quickly to an ipad. The only bad thing I see is the battery doesn't last as long as advertised.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Easy to use

  • By A Customer from CA USA on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
  • Pros: Up to five conections, Great for backup situations or less expensive alternative to ADS products. Loved the "reverse" suction option for the windows. Fast reconnections and easy to update, a big plus in my book
  • Cons: Tendency to skip from an east to north heading with a 30+ degree bank.
  • Review: It allows up to five device connections (as advertised). Great price point considering the functionality of the device. It was easy to update the device via the DUAL utility. Gives concise satellite stations, US and Russian. Operates well if you find the right location on your plane. Has a tendency to "skip" when entering turns beyond 30 degrees from an East to North heading; probably a line of sight issue? Would buy again as an entry level GPS unit or backup. Performed great under direct sunlight and 97F temps.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Definately would buy again!!!!

  • By Scott from Vancouver WA USA on Monday, April 21, 2014
  • Pros: small, aquires fast, free app. for device monitoring
  • Cons: battery life
  • Review: Met all expectations....works well with my "Fly Q" and "Cloud Ahoy"....only reason it didn't get a 5-star is battery life...only about 8 hours...more than enough for daily flights, but have to charge each night/day on cross-country.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fairly good, but should come with dual USB to recharge conjunction with IPAD

  • By Sergio (SENECA II PILOT) from Van Nuys CA USA on Friday, March 21, 2014
  • Pros: good equipment to have. It is like a extra safety feature !
  • Cons: DOES NOT HAVE WEATHER
  • Review: Should come with a double cigarette charger so that you can recharge simultaneously with the IPAD / Foreflight moving map
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent product, easy to connect to an Ipad

  • By Didier from NOUMEA Province Sud New Caledonia on Tuesday, August 18, 2015
  • Review: I was looking for a way to receive GPS inside the cockpit without having to put the Ipad on the top of the instrument panel. This product did the trick perfectly and allowed me to have the Ipad on my knees or on the central pedestal without having to "look" at the satellites. The software to allow the Ipad to receive and Identify the GPS was easy to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy product again

  • By A Customer from Grand Portage MN USA on Sunday, March 16, 2014
  • Review: Reasonable price and size.
    Satellite reliability via bluetooth connect fairly consistent throughout various altitudes. Connection is sometimes lost.
    Primarily used with aviation app with Foreflight on retina mini-ipad [wifi version only].
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Things You Should Know!

  • By Michael from Muskego WI USA on Thursday, June 02, 2016
  • Pros: iPads connect super fast and stay connected
  • Cons: Took awhile to figure it out but the Mac Laptop and PC Laptop do connect but then disconnect if there's no application running that requires GPS sentences. But as soon as you launch your navigation application it does reconnect and works fine. I talked to Dual and Targus but neither could explain why this happens...that's really disappointing considering it's their business.
  • Review: I plan on using this on our boat for daily navigation but haven't yet tried it, so as for the battery life I can't respond to that except to say that I think I'll have the 160 plugged into a usb port for constant power anyway... As far a connecting to devices... I have 3 iPads which connect right away. I have one MacBook Air and one Lenovo PC. I've found out that the Mac will connect to the 160 and then disconnect within 30 seconds... if I then start my Nav. app it reconnects and stays connected....On the PC it does the same exact thing..... One other thing about the PC is that I don't have bluetooth built into the PC. I use a little usb bluetooth dongle which works great and it's made by Targus.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Thomas from Peoria AZ USA on Friday, August 26, 2016
  • Pros: reasonably priced for receiving all satellites. Quick position acquisition if no interference from heated window.
  • Cons: My Dual 150 picks up better under a heated window (but it always looses itself at least once during a long trip. The Dual 160 so far hasn't lost itself on any long trip).
  • Review: Had to return a lemon because it would not even pick up one satellite out in the open. The replacement picks up satellites okay in some airplanes with heated windows and others not at all. Have to put the unit up against a non-heated window in the back. Otherwise, it is doing good so far. Up to 5 other devises connected at the same time does not degrade the position like some other units.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Dual xgps160 GPS

  • By Jim from Kirkland WA USA on Sunday, March 25, 2018
  • Pros: Works great.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: The unit works as expected. Connection is real easy. Bluetooth to my IPad was a snap.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.