TOP

RAM Yoke Mount Clamp Base

  • 11 Customer Reviews

Reviews for RAM Yoke Mount Clamp Base

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Rawil from HUNTINGTON BEACH CA USA on Sunday, August 18, 2013
  • Pros: It is as advertised.
  • Cons: It takes 3 pieces to mount the Ipad Mini
  • Review: It fits well on a Mooney yoke, could not have expected a better fit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Floyd from Millsap TX USA on Sunday, February 22, 2015
  • Pros: It and the Mini are perfect, no instrument blockage
  • Cons:
  • Review: I had no problem with the mount slipping on yoke shaft as told by others. (Have a 172) I think it fits perfectly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This is a well made product I have used ram products before, the're great

  • By Vincent from Stratford CT USA on Tuesday, March 10, 2015
  • Pros: rigid construction,good clamping power
  • Cons: none
  • Review: compact,durable,versatile
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Will not fit on a Piper Cherokee yoke...too small

  • By Terry from Ft Myers, FL on Thursday, December 21, 2017
  • Review: If your flying a PA 28 Piper Cherokee get the next bigger mount clamp. It looks like the diameter of the Cherokee yoke is 1.47 inches and this clamp only expands to 1.25 inches.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Solid / Versatile Product

  • By Robert from Jacksonville FL USA on Thursday, February 22, 2018
  • Pros: Positive lock on any yoke shaft, double-quick set-up and take-down
  • Cons: Tightening knob is a bit small, and is slightly challenging to torque if you have large hands.
  • Review: This yoke mount is a perfect, functional solution for anyone who flies several different A/C. Regardless of yoke shaft diameter, this clamp holds-fast and keeps your Tablet in locked in position through all phases of flight and turbulence.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good....as expected

  • By JR from Offutt AFB NE USA on Friday, October 10, 2014
  • Pros: As advertised.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Solid construction. Easy to use, install.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well made, but not perfect

  • By Gene from Mount Holly NJ USA on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
  • Pros: Well made, Durable, Affordable
  • Cons: Needs rubber pad or coating on the clamping mechanism. The shape clamp may be too narrow for other than the one 72 yoke column.
  • Review: It may not be fair for me to rate this product yet as I have not installed on the yoke but I can offer my initial insight. My first thought was that the vise part of the mechanism which is a V-shape appear to be modeled after the 172 yoke which has a very thin yoke column. The V-shape clamp is very narrow, and I am concerned that it will not attach to my aircraft control firmly. Further, I think it would be advisable to apply a rubber coating or pad to the inside of this V-shaped clamps to obtain a better holding force and to mitigate any possible slipping in a rotational fashion. Otherwise the clamp is well-made, durable and is appropriately priced.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Lawrence from Gig Harbor WA USA on Monday, March 25, 2013
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better for bigger planes?

  • By A Customer from Simi Valley CA USA on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Pros: RAM Mounts make sturdy stuff.
  • Cons: Better if you can see it in use before you buy
  • Review: Bought this for use on a C-150 for my iPad Mini; not a good idea. It was too bulky for such tight quarters and added too much weight to the yoke. Better option was the suction mount I also bought mounted on the passage window.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Broke immediately

  • By scott from San Jose CA USA on Thursday, July 23, 2015
  • Pros: RAM makes rock solid products in general
  • Cons: Plastic clamps break. End of story.
  • Review: Normally I would rate any ram product at 5*, and I *love* my RAM mount in general. This particular mount, however, broke almost immediately on use. It is designed to clamp to the yoke from behind. I found it slipping until I tightened it quite a bit, and then it broke on the plastic part of the clamp. I got another one, and it broke immediately.

    Ram makes other types of clamps, I'll be exploring those.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.