TOP

Reviews for Bad Elf Pro Bluetooth GPS Receiver for iPad / iPhone

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Seems to meet its expectations

  • By Charles from Goodlettsville TN USA on Monday, January 19, 2015
  • Pros: small and efficient
  • Cons: would like to have a mount for it
  • Review: I'm not the sharpest tack regarding Ipads and GPS's but it does what I wanted.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.

Fantastic product, you won't be disappointed!

  • By Bruce from Grand Junction, CO on Sunday, April 12, 2015
  • Pros: Simple to use. Money well spent.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Easy to set up with my new Ipad Mini. I didn't want the extra cost of buying a mini, with built in GPS, from Verizon and paying for a data plan. The Bad ELf Pro is a great alternative. From what I've read, an external GPS is more reliable and accurate for flying than the built in GPS on the Ipads. The Bad Elf at $149 is a lot cheaper than a 2 year data plan from Verizon.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.

Works great

  • By Colin from Alaska, California on Thursday, July 21, 2016
  • Pros: Works well
  • Cons: Unique power cord means another thing I'm carrying around
  • Review: I bought this and immediately took it on a several day 3000nm trip from Buffalo to Alaska. Battery life lasted the whole trip and I had zero issues with the unit losing gps reception. As long as this receiver continues to work reliably into the future I'll be convinced the iPad/fore flight/bad elf combo is my "go-to" gps solution
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By Curtis from San Clemente CA USA on Wednesday, December 02, 2015
  • Pros: Works great, easy to use, In the air or on the ground
  • Cons: Hard to find a position to make it stay in one place
  • Review: I have used this in many ways, flying, on vacation in Dubai. It works great. If you use with foreflight it's even better. If on vacation download the maps and carry this around and you'll never get lost. It works without wifi to keep your situational awareness at it's peak. I recommend for anyone. I'm an airline pilot and use it with my electronics and it works great there too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Couldn't Be Happier

  • By Frank from Chestertown NY USA on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
  • Pros: Small, light, accurate, fast, no loss of signal. Great battery life.
  • Cons: None. Could use a velcro like bottom to stick it in place
  • Review: Reasonable price, great accuracy, fast acquisition, excellent bluetooth. Interfaces seamlessly with IPad Air and Foreflight. Will lock and interface with Foreflight when carried in your shirt pocket. Would definitely buy again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love it

  • By Timothy from Menifee CA USA on Monday, October 28, 2013
  • Pros: Battery life, fast start up, ease of use
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Works flawlessly. Battery life is excellent. I can connect both my iPad and my iPhone as a back up.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great GPS in Small Package

  • By Lon from Santa Monica CA USA on Wednesday, November 08, 2017
  • Pros: Easy to use. Small, light and convenient. Reasonably priced. It was delivered to me even sooner than mypilotstore's expect-by date.
  • Cons: It has an LCD Display, but it doesn't display distance. If it displayed distance, the Bad Elf would be great for hiking and exercise. As is, it's necessary to download logged data to the Bad Elf app to see how far the user has traveled.
  • Review: I bought this Bad Elf Pro after buying a new iPad Mini 4 that didn't have an internal GPS. The Bad Elf connects to the iPad effortlessly. I put the Bad Elf in my shirt pocket, and it runs the ForeFlight moving map and Track Log, perfectly.

    The Bad Elf also has its own internal Data Logger, so it can be used by itself to record a flight. The recorded flight can then be transferred to my iPad and displayed on the Bad Elf app (available without charge) and on ForeFlight and Google Earth. I used this feature recently while doing transition training in a plane that was new to me. I didn't want to use ForeFlight during that training, because I was concerned it would distract me from what I was being taught. But I did want to have a visual record of the flights I took during that training, and I used the Bad Elf Data Logger to do that.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best GPS receiver ever!

  • By Ratso, F-18 pilot/TopGun instructor from Tampa FL USA on Monday, March 09, 2015
  • Pros: Simple, small, sensitive to Sat frequencies. It has it all.
  • Cons: None found yet.
  • Review: I have owned a GPS receiver since they came out a couple of decades ago. But I have never had one that is this small yet powerful enough to pick up 12 - 15 satellites in seconds. Bluetooth paired with my iPad and I'm off and running, or flying as the case maybe. Truly unbelievable product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.

Tracking and Trekking

  • By David W. Smith, Sr. from Pewaukee (KUES) on Wednesday, November 19, 2014
  • Pros: Bad Elf Utility is also easy to set-up and match with iPad and iPhone.
  • Cons: None noted.
  • Review: Easy, intuitive set-up instructions. Seamless matching with iPad.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By Chris from Colleyville TX USA on Tuesday, November 11, 2014
  • Pros: Easy to use, long battery life
  • Cons: None noted
  • Review: Worked immediately and in different aircraft to include commercial airliners.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Great 99% of the Time

  • By SeaWolf from Key West FL USA on Friday, September 25, 2015
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Occasional Signal link loss
  • Review: I use my Bad Elf flying mounted on the aft cockpit window. Unit works great and lasts all day. I have noticed and occasional loss of position in Jepps FDPro while taxing. Unable to determine if the problem is the bluetooth link or satellite signal. I also use a Bad Elf on my boat for navigation with iNavx. Works very well
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Bad elf pro, A GREAT unit

  • By A Customer from USA on Tuesday, September 02, 2014
  • Pros: Small, Long battery life, will easly last through a 14hr flight
  • Cons: NONE
  • Review: Good, prompt, service from "mypilotstore.com"
    I have used the bad elf from sea level to 40,000 feet,in Europe, Canada, USA, Japan, Korea, China and Australia. Fast to lock on to its position and a snap to pair with. Battery life exceeds 24hr with data logging off. I would recommend the Bad Elf pro!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Product

  • By Rob from RANCHO CUCAMONGA CA USA on Tuesday, June 17, 2014
  • Pros: Quick acquisition of Satellites, holds signal
  • Cons: Rear USB port cover (falls out too easily)
  • Review: Exceeded expectations; was also owner of the Bad Elf dongle GPS and the Pro is much improved and has more features. Worth the extra $$.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very nice item to have anywhere you go.

  • By Jon from Beaufort, NC USA on Thursday, November 21, 2013
  • Pros: Small, compact and reliable.
  • Cons: Need to remember to recharge after prolonged use (>25 hrs)
  • Review: I am very pleased with the Bad Elf Pro. It augments my iPad when I am out of cell coverage with very accurate data. The Bluetooth feature makes it very simple to use anywhere without all the wires. It's a great addition to the cockpit, car or boat.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Check compatibility

  • By Sean from Bend OR USA on Monday, July 20, 2015
  • Pros: Accurate location, outstanding customer service
  • Cons: Waiting for Apple
  • Review: Product works great, unfortunately I could not use it for the first month I had it due to an apple update on my iPad. Once Apple resolved the issue the GPS receiver synced flawlessly with foreflight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Reliable Product

  • By John from Puyallup WA USA on Wednesday, July 29, 2015
  • Pros: Easy and reliable
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I have used this product over 10 times. It is easy to set-up, power on, sync with both my iPad Air 2 and iPhone 6.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It awakened my iPad 2

  • By William from Fernwood ID USA on Thursday, January 23, 2014
  • Pros: What I expect from gps locator/tracker/buy again
  • Cons: A carry case would be a plus
  • Review: It is accurate and out performs gps assist in other iPads.
    The cover is a bit weak.
    Would like to see a more substantial tether.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What a little great GPS!

  • By Garystal from Groveland FL USA on Sunday, March 23, 2014
  • Pros: light, accurate and easy to use.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Great little GPS. Fits great around the neck and not intrusive. Very Accurate. Use it with iPad mini and iPhone (backup) using ForeFlight. Just great. Strap latch was broken upon arrival but fixed it.....no big deal.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By Allan from Santa Margarita CA USA on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
  • Pros: Good price, simple product
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Quick to connect via blutooth. No problems to report.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great product

  • By Len from Troy MI USA on Tuesday, July 08, 2014
  • Pros: works as advertised
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Flew from PTK to ORF at 16,000. Tracked true the entire trip and back again. Worked as described
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent product

  • By A Customer from Plano TX USA on Thursday, January 16, 2014
  • Pros: See above
  • Cons: Cover for charging port fit is loose and does not stay in place.
  • Review: Worked perfectly with the new Ipad Air right out of the box. Excellent reception anywhere in the airplane. Doesn't need to be on the glare shield or on a window.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Vint from Lander, WY, USA on Wednesday, September 10, 2014
  • Pros: Informative display and easy to use with iPad/iPhone
  • Cons: Display lens scratches too easily
  • Review: This is a very nice product and works well on day hikes for recording my path in and out of the forest (desert, etc.). I hang this around my neck so I can easily read the time and altitude but found that the display screen gets light scratches from swinging side-to-side across my shirt or sweatshirt (no buttons). Other than the rare need to reboot my iPad and restart this device, it does everything I expected and all without draining the batteries in my iPhone/iPad to run their gps logging features. :)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent product

  • By Ray from Bath PA USA on Thursday, September 18, 2014
  • Pros: Portability and battery life
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Great battery life, great signal strength. Works perfectly with the non gps iPad minis--
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Stisfied

  • By A Customer from Upper Chichester PA USA on Monday, March 03, 2014
  • Pros: Works, great Service.
  • Cons: None so far.
  • Review: So far the product works perfect and no reason to expect anything different. What's even better as the outstanding service when I ordered the product. I got t two days faster without any additional shipping costs than could have gotten at the much more famous supply store in OH. Very satisfied customer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Let's my iPhone work like a Garmin area

  • By Larry from ORO VALLEY AZ USA on Thursday, July 30, 2015
  • Pros: Right out of the box, easy to set up and works great.
  • Cons: Battery life...carry extras.
  • Review: I wanted to buy a Garmin area 500 for my airplane, but quickly figured out that my iPhone running the ForeFlight app, using the Bad Elf bluetooth GPS was the perfect combination, for much less money. The better solution is an iPad, which will let the software and hardware be fully functional with all options.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By Bruce from Severn MD USA on Saturday, January 28, 2017
  • Pros: light, accurate
  • Cons:
  • Review: Does everything you expect it to do. I've matched it with my iPad and Foreflight and it works great. Matching was easy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Absloutely brilliant.

  • By Wayne from Whangarei Northland New Zealand on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
  • Pros: Does everything they say it does and very easy to use
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Would strongly recommend to anyone
    Terrific battery life
    Use it in my R44 with ipad
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Item!

  • By Rick from Pattersonville NY USA on Thursday, October 06, 2016
  • Pros: Perfect for flying!
  • Cons: The IPhone built in gps is better for local, like GeoCashing.
  • Review: Easy to connect to your IPad. Works great with Jepps FD! Great tool for SA.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great if you you need it but it is a bit pricey!

  • By Jay from Wachapreague VA USA on Tuesday, August 30, 2016
  • Pros: The unit hooks up quick and is accurate....
  • Cons: THE SCREEN IS TOO SMALL and the polarization cf your sunglasses conflict and you cannot read the screen with good sunglasses.
  • Review: It does everything I need it to do. I use it for my IPad for the boat INAV and for the car, Copilot. It might be a little slow once in a while but usually you are where it says you are.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By Ed from Santa Rosa CA USA on Monday, October 10, 2016
  • Review: Excellent performance world wide. Great battery life, over 15 hours on a single charge so far.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Battery life is awesome

  • By ezweepay 172 commando from Nashville TN USA on Monday, June 20, 2016
  • Pros: long battery life, strong bluetooth, perfect for i pad mini w no sim
  • Cons: its not free!
  • Review: i have a red dot and this, this outlasts the red dot 8 times over on battery life. much more raw satellite data for you extraterrestrial satellite fanboys and girls. it looks funny but it works great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By James from Lampasas TX USA on Thursday, March 12, 2015
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Operating buttons are some time hard to tell if they have actually been pressed, rubber coated an no distinct click or action.
  • Review: I uses it with Jeppeson Flight Deck pro loaded on a MS Surface 2, works great. Ran the BE Pro 2200 once for about 21 hours on a single charge, better then advertised.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great GPS. Definately buy again!

  • By Jimh from Niederwald TX USA on Monday, May 16, 2016
  • Pros: Size, functions, battery life
  • Cons: Cant replace batteries
  • Review: Everything works as described. Battery life is even greater than expected or advertised. Laynard is a lil goofy, the quick disconnect clasp can come loose. Easy fix but moderately annoying while hiking. Great addition to Iphone/pad etc. Highly reccomend MyPilotStore for this purchase, cheapest around by far.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great with iPad and iPhone and Foreflight!

  • By Scott from South GA USA on Thursday, August 21, 2014
  • Review: Much more convenient than Bad Elf. Install and blue tooth sync is a breeze.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does what it said it would.

  • By Mel from Las Vegas NV USA on Monday, September 30, 2013
  • Review: It worked beautifully with an Ipad2 and Rand McNally RV GPS app.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would recommend this GPS.

  • By Andrew from Auckland Auckland New Zealand on Tuesday, September 02, 2014
  • Pros: Small, lightweight, robust, easy to use.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This is a great product, I had it connected with my IPAD minutes after unpacking it and it has worked brilliantly since then. I sit it on the side window of the aircraft and it locks on in minutes and then tracks for the entire flight which is often over 11 hours on oceanic routes. I use the APP Pilot Map ($99) for tracking.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Working fine!

  • By A Customer from Monclova OH USA on Wednesday, February 05, 2014
  • Review: Gave me information needed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Works great

  • By Dan from Broussard, La on Friday, January 18, 2013
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons:
  • Review: Bought this to replace a Dual unit that would not work in our Falcon at altitude. Works like a charm. We have had three devices hooked up at once. Really like the logging function also.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Product - Definitely Recommend

  • By A Customer from Amarillo TX USA on Monday, September 09, 2013
  • Review: Very good GPS! Paired with all my devices! Easy to read display and all information you need! Took several trips without having to recharge! Still don't know how long charge will last! Maybe forever!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does just what you'd expect

  • By Scot from Monterey Park CA USA on Tuesday, September 10, 2013
  • Pros: Easy, accurate, very inexpensive Nav with a WiFi iPad.
  • Cons: So far, just the failed port cover design.
  • Review: Bad Elf's pre-sales support, and then their product were both excellent. I utilize it with my WiFi-only iPad as a motorcycle and automotive Nav system, coupled with TomTom. Easy to setup and use.
    But, sorry Bad Elf, as of Mid-2013, your port-cover is a failure. It is poorly designed and fitted, and will not stay in - and I guarantee that it is pushed in all the way (I use the "Extra Strong" rock-climber finger crunch for hand exercise).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

HAK

  • By HAK from California on Sunday, September 15, 2013
  • Pros: 24 plus hours use, nothing comes close.
  • Cons: Needs a silicone carry boot. Occasional burp.
  • Review: This while not the prettiest unit smokes everything out there. Wish it had a silicone holder for the birds dash. The 24 battery life just blows every ones mind. It puts the original Bad Elf to shame. Had it hiccup once in awhile but a reboot usually fixes the issue. Would buy one again if need be.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

Changing LCD display units.

  • By dennislee from 45.711, -121.888 on Tuesday, February 20, 2018
  • Pros: Great GPS, I have had mine for years.
  • Cons: Display window scratched and a little yellowed, after years
  • Review: Great GPS. Not mentioned that it has barometric altimeter. Not so useful in pressurized cockpit, great in ultralite.
    Martin D from WA said in his review, "I don't like that the latitude and longitude are expressed in decimal form. This makes it difficult to reconcile Bad Elf positions with other devices which display degrees, minutes and seconds" but this is not true. From the app one can setup units displayed on the GPS LCD screen, including DD:MM:SS.
    2nd item down on left (of app) where it has the name one has given their unit>
    >>"Display Settings", on the "Product Details" window that opens on the right>>
    >>>"Coordinates", on the "Display" page that opens>>>
    >>>>DD.dddddd, or DD:MM.mmmm, or DD:MM:SS.ss, as one chooses.
    There is a different place for changing the units in the app.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great!

  • By john from Marco Island FL USA on Tuesday, February 02, 2016
  • Review: I love it. Thats why I have two. One in the south ie Marco Island and one in the north thats Lake Huron and the North Chanel. You service upon purchase was fast and delivery quick. I would recomend your service to anyone and in fact i have done that already.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Satisfied customer

  • By A Customer from Jefferson City TN USA on Thursday, June 14, 2018
  • Pros: Easy to use and connect via Bluetooth.
  • Cons: A little hard to read info on the device itself.
  • Review: Very easy to use and performs exactly as advertised. Accuracy is very good and it's very easy to connect via Bluetooth. Excellent situational awareness tool that works great with ForeFlight. Highly recommended for a low cost GPS solution.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

AMAZING PRODUCT!

  • By TIMOTHY from NEW CUMBERLAND WV USA on Tuesday, February 05, 2013
  • Pros: Quick Connection. Multiple devices. Wireless. Battery life.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: The Bad Elf Pro is amazing. It locks on to the satelites quick and stays connected. I love the screen on the front too. I like that I can have my ipad and iphone connected at the same time. Battery life is excellent.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Works great!

  • By Chris from Knoxville, TN on Wednesday, May 15, 2013
  • Pros: Works perfectly
  • Cons: None
  • Review: My Pro froze once while flying, but after contacting tech support, they said they knew of the issue and had just released a firmware update. I did that, and now e unit works perfectly all the time. I've had it running for 10 hours one day, and the 12v trickle charger I use to recharge my gel cells had the Bad Elf recharged in less than 4 hours. The app that comes with it really works well. It checks for firmware updates and installs them via Bluetooth, plus the trip can be viewed in google earth or emailed. I couldn't be happier with my Elf!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simply Delivers

  • By A Customer from Midland MI USA on Monday, August 05, 2013
  • Pros: Simple Device Operation; Trip Recorder; Simple Integration to iPad
  • Cons: Power Port Cover
  • Review: This product delivers exactly what it advertises: GPS functionality for my iPad. It is small, has a long battery life, and integrates into the iPad extremely easily. The app has a simple map tool but it integrates into my other mapping tools easily too. I epecially like the trip record mode. It can show me simple things like actual trip routes, traffic patterns, or practice patterns. It is great to see where I am not making proper wind corrections. It is pretty much hands-free during flights and that allows me to focus on other things. The only draw-back is the dumb design for the charger port. The plastic does not grab the opening and is always hanging on its tether. Very minor annoyance though. I have also found it to be fun to use in non-aviation activities (walking, boating, driving) too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome!

  • By Michael from Henderson NV USA on Tuesday, May 14, 2013
  • Review: Had bad elf plug in before and upgraded to iPad mini so decided on bad elf pro is awesome with my garmin pilot program and is also incredible as a stand alone device. Thank you bad elf
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worth the price.

  • By Kenneth from Northport NY USA on Thursday, June 20, 2013
  • Pros: fits in a pocket or hags around your head on a lanyard.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great battery life, especially if left in a flight bag for a month or more.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple, reliable

  • By A Customer from Mountain Home ID USA on Tuesday, August 06, 2013
  • Pros: Simple, reliable
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Easy to use and always works.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Joseph-Remos G3 pilot from Sumter SC USA on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
  • Pros: Has been excellent so far with an IPAD 2, 32 gig.
  • Cons: Instructions are a little meager-could use a tip info sheet.
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does what's expected and more.

  • By A Customer from Medford NY USA on Wednesday, April 10, 2013
  • Pros: Outstanding performance, extra features
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Concerning the things you expect the unit to do, provide a good GPS receiver and feed multiple Bluetooth devices it does very very well. What wasn't expected was how well it provides data as a stand alone logger. Plus it plays well with the very competent mobile device software. All in all I couldn't be happier.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worth the $ !

  • By Carson from Clifton CO USA on Sunday, January 27, 2013
  • Pros: Reliable, Consistent, Inexpensive and worth the investment.
  • Cons: It wasn't free.
  • Review: We operate our C-421C at FL180 to FL240. Before the Bad Ellf Pro, our ForeFlight and Flight Guide iEFB were somewhat unreliable and "Off" at times. With the B.E.P. we now have a very reliable, consistent and GOOD input signal and have experienced NO glitches in our systems. The battery has long life and the B.E.P. has been operating as advertised in all respects.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By XAVIER from ARES GIRONDE France on Monday, March 12, 2018
  • Review: Reliable and helpful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very effective instrument

  • By Martin Daniell from Port Ludlow WA USA on Tuesday, September 19, 2017
  • Pros: Compact and accurate
  • Cons: Speed measurements vary by 1/2 knot while steaming at a steady speed
  • Review: I use it to provide location data to my I pad. It works as advertised.

    I don't like that the latitude and longitude are expressed in decimal form. This makes it difficult to reconcile Bad Elf positions with other devices which display degrees, minutes and seconds.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Satisfied with purchase

  • By Gary from Gilberts IL USA on Thursday, September 21, 2017
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Worked well during flight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Missouri USA on Wednesday, January 25, 2017
  • Pros: price relative to stratus
  • Cons: no ads-b in
  • Review: I haven't used it a lot but it meets expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very helpful assistant

  • By Tom from Bellingham WA USA on Tuesday, May 30, 2017
  • Pros: Long battery life
  • Cons: None so far
  • Review: I purchased the Bad Elf to assist with test flying my Experimental and for it's logging capability. It's first duty, however, was to help me cross the US and back by providing Bluetooth GPS for my iPad for turn by turn guidance. Altitude and bearing was dead on.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Bad Elf GPS

  • By A Customer from Houston TX USA on Thursday, January 24, 2013
  • Pros:
  • Cons: needs mounting hardware
  • Review: Great product easy setup, connects everytime so far
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product a Must have...

  • By David from New Smyrna FL USA on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
  • Pros: Works great
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I used the Bad Elf on a Sailing trip to the Bahamas this year.. It worked great when we where out of cell range.. It was nice to be inside the cabin and be looking at the ipdad on the charts... It would also be very helpful to have it in a Ditch bag..A Must BUY...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works exactly as advertised

  • By Dan from Louisiana USA on Tuesday, March 05, 2013
  • Pros: See above
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It replaced two other GPS units that would not work above about 38,000 ft in our Falcon. Works just as advertised. Long battery life. Multiple devices hooked up at once. Highly recommend.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Performs as advertised

  • By Jeff from Sacramento CA USA on Wednesday, April 03, 2013
  • Review: I love the small size and minimal battery drain. Functions work very well and transition to Bad Elf App gives good an accurate accounting of trip.  The waterproof feature has yet to be tested. The electrical cover on back is a bit loose indicating water could enter unit if not careful. Fantastic customer support.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Bad Elf Is a Great Elf

  • By FLYDIVEMDV from Mililani HI USA on Tuesday, January 17, 2017
  • Pros: Compact, lanyard makes it easy to wear around neck.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I was a skeptic but finally had a chance to use the Bad Elf during a short cross country flight around the Hawaiian Islands. It worked perfect without any signal drops and the battery keeps a strong charge. I highly recommend.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Purchase

  • By Joe from Chattanooga TN USA on Wednesday, October 03, 2018
  • Review: Ordering was easy, product priced right, and easy and delivered. Product works as advertised. The ordering process and product are as promised. I wish everything else in my life is this efficient, proficient, and easy
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best GPS device for pilots

  • By Mark Eaton from Moorpark CA USA (KVNY) on Tuesday, September 12, 2017
  • Pros: All good
  • Cons: Not found one yet; doesn't do weather but for the price, it shouldn't have to
  • Review: Battery lasts forever! Small, tough and works like a charm!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Easy to use

  • By matt from Lincoln NE USA on Thursday, June 29, 2017
  • Review: Took a few minutes to calibrate. After that it syncs great with flight plan.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.