TOP

Reviews for Bad Elf Pro Bluetooth GPS Receiver for iPad / iPhone

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Good for the $

  • By Rene from Senoia GA USA on Wednesday, July 08, 2015
  • Pros: love the lanyard, its easy to find a place to hang it.
  • Cons: Can easily lose signal with few sct
  • Review: Im a Flight Instructor in GA, and use this daily. So I have lots of experience with this product. Wx is fairly decent these days here, however I have noticed that even a few sct clouds can affect the signal. When I don't see the airplane position, I look up, and have noticed that clouds are nearby. Of course as soon as I fly away from clouds, the signal comes right back. So, not terrible signal coverage.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I absolutely love this product!

  • By Michael from Haverhill MA USA on Monday, August 31, 2015
  • Pros: Accurate and precise. Works as advertised. Works great with ForeFlight Mobile or any other navigation app on your iPhone/iPad, etc.
  • Cons: When you power it on, it sometimes takes several minutes to lock onto satellites. Even if you're standing outside in the open.
  • Review: I bought the Bad Elf Pro GPS to be used with my ForeFlight Mobile app that I run on my iPad Mini when I go flying. It works as advertised, especially when used with ForeFlight. I've already used it on several flights and it actually saved my neck once.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Bad Elf with Surface Tablet

  • By Frank from Fallbrook CA USA on Sunday, August 02, 2015
  • Pros: Accuracy, ease of use. Love that the power switch must be held down for several seconds before powering up. No accidental turn ons while being stored.
  • Cons: Bluetooth connections can be randomly tricky.
  • Review: Very happy with this product. The only issue I have is with the Bluetooth connection. It seems to randomly drop and then reacquire. Sometimes I will have to turn the app or the GPS unit off and then back on for the connection to resume.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well

  • By Crandon- Instrument student from Windsor CA USA on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
  • Pros: Works well, long battery life
  • Cons: Plug cover doesn't stay in without being held in somehow.
  • Review: This GPS has worked well. I have been using it for about a month or two. The plug cover in back is loose and I have to wedge it in with a small piece of plastic to keep it in- poor design. But otherwise I have been very happy with it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By William from Ferndale WA USA on Friday, June 06, 2014
  • Pros: Works
  • Cons: Charger door
  • Review: Tried this after mixed results with the Garmin GLO. This one hooks up to the apps and ipad with no problem. Works faster if you link the device and then open the app. The Garmin GLO was a device that I couldn't trust. Had issues linking to the iPad. No way to know how much battery life was left.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Value

  • By Peter from Wellington, New Zealand on Sunday, August 03, 2014
  • Pros: Low cost, great performance, easy to use.
  • Cons: The cover to the USB port is utterly useless.
  • Review: Great value for money. Locks on to satellites very quickly. Absolutely no hassle getting this device to work with my iPad - it simply could not be easier. Very stable, the displayed values are very smooth, they do not jump all over the place as sometime is the case with the iPad without assistance.
    The only criticism has to be the cover for the USB port, which will not stay in place, no matter what you try. Did no one pick this up in pre-production, or was the cost of getting this right too high. This one dreadful feature detracts from what would otherwise be a brilliant product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent.

  • By Jay from Oakland CA USA on Monday, September 30, 2013
  • Pros: Just works, lasts long, good software integration on i-devices.
  • Cons: Mounting options a bit sparse, usb port cover is slightly loose.
  • Review: I like this device a lot, I'm only dinging it one star as it's not perfect. It's flaw? the usb port cover. As others have noted, it's not quite big enough and tends to fall open, and is unlikely to form a seal even just up to IP 67 (splash proof).

    But other than that, it's painless to run, the battery is long lasting and can be backed up with a usb charger, and the software works.

    The user interface is pretty good, given that it's resource limited (LCD and a few buttons). But generally the only thing I'd ever use that for is turning on tracking. Otherwise it's basically turn on and leave alone. I would check that the LCD backlight isn't on during the day, but that's easy enough.

    The real user interface is via the software app anyway, and it works with foreflight, cloudahoy, and of course the bad elf app, as well as google maps etc.

    I would like to see more mounting options for it, but since I have a 3D printer, I'll probably just make one and post the file.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dave from Modesto CA USA on Saturday, February 06, 2016
  • Review: I wish I have bought the plus version for better Russian satellite reception
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great GPS with one exception

  • By Torben from Fort Lauderdale FL USA on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
  • Pros: Fast boot up and precise.
  • Cons: Over 2000 feet off when flying at cruise on every single flight
  • Review: I am a captain for a major airline and use the GPS with my Ipad so I get a moving symbol on the map on the Ipad. Now, everything is correct exept altitude. Once at say 35000 feet, it always shows an altitude which is at least 2000 feet too high which is not acceptable in my opinion.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product for IPAD

  • By Joseph from KENNESAW GA USA on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
  • Pros: Good quick solid sat lock.
  • Cons: None depending on APP usage.
  • Review: Bought unit to use with IPAD and FLYQ EFB. At outset all worked well. I got a position status of 10 Meters both vertically and horizontally.Things changed after using it with the EFB program after a couple of weeks. Initially, I could not get the EFB program to see the GPS. Later I only got a position of 165M horizontally. I was told to turn on airplane mode and it should help but if I do that it turns off blue tooth. The Bad Elf with blue tooth then does not communicate. Good unit but I guess the plug in unit would be the way to go if you plan on using it with the EFB program.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice

  • By Gary from Rapid City SD USA on Friday, January 25, 2013
  • Pros: The data of the unit is an excellent upgrade
  • Cons: The port cover comes out by itself, kind of a nuisance .
  • Review: It met my expectation so far. It was a bit difficult to pair to my iPad but that may have been operator error.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Pleasant Hill CA USA on Thursday, January 23, 2014
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Should be called the Good Elf

  • By Shaun from Sobieski WI USA on Thursday, January 31, 2013
  • Pros: Great battery life, small size, fast start up and satellite acquisition
  • Cons: No rubberized surface or holder. Slides around the glare shield
  • Review: For a small unit, this product is packed with features. It has a very fast start up and acquires satellites faster than my previous GPS. The data logging is not a feature I use but it is nice to have that option. Battery life is fantastic. The only down side is the lack of a mount or rubberized back so it doesn't slide around the glare shield. You can hang it from your neck or hang it somewhere in the cockpit but I would prefer to have a mount for it. Would give it 5 stars if it had a mount or rubberized back.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

staff is awesome

  • By A Customer from Oshkosh WI USA on Monday, July 01, 2013
  • Pros: staff/ease of use
  • Cons: n/a
  • Review: This product works great!!! I did have a problem with it but you know what the support staff is great, always helped me walk through all the issue I had
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Cool GPS nav aid

  • By A Customer from Stuyvesant NY USA on Monday, March 25, 2013
  • Pros: Easy and long battery life
  • Cons: Does not show location on Jepp approach charts
  • Review: You have to set it up ahead of time so as to not distract you from flying the aircraft. Works great with iPad, but can have a bit of problem keeping up on the map while going plus 500 knots.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Works well and easy to use

  • By Mark from lehigh Valley, PA on Monday, February 25, 2013
  • Pros: Solid construction / GREAT customer support / works as advertised
  • Cons: Needs a non slip holder and the power port cover keeps popping out
  • Review: I bought this to use with foreflight and ipad-3g because my ipad would keep dropping the signal.  I've use the bad elf pro a few times now and it works without any problems. It stays locked on to the signals and I really like the information being shown on the display screen.  I had to contact customer support and they got back to me within minutes, Very pleased with the fast response.  Only thing i would want is a rubber type of holder to keep the unit from slipping around.  Glad to have it , very pleased overall.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.