TOP

Reviews for Garmin GLO 2 for Aviation Portable Aviation GPS Receiver

Sort By:
Filter By:

Good...but

  • By A Customer from Van nuys CA on Saturday, October 13, 2012
  • Pros: Size, connectivity flawless, works like you expect
  • Cons:
  • Review: Worked right out of the box. Five stars but for one glaring mistake and two annoyances. The on off switch is in wrong location and can be inadvertently turned on in a pocket or bag so when you need it it is dead. The blue and amber lights are too bright for night operations and reflect off the windshield if it is on top of the glareshield. You can turn the GPS over but there needs to be non skid feet on top and bottom to do this satisfactorily. (Yes I know there is a non skid mount, but why.) Lastly there is no way to know the battery status.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good but no way to monitor battery

  • By Michael from VA USA on Tuesday, October 15, 2013
  • Pros: Very accurate and combined with Garmin Pilot is a very capable FMS.
  • Cons: No way to monitor battery. Extreme oversight by Garmin.
  • Review: The GLO when used with Garmin Pilot is terrific! My only critique is I have no way to determine when it is fully charged or when the battery is getting low in flight. An iOS update caused the GLO not to sync up but I called Garmin and they walked me through an ipad hard reset in about two minutes and it worked great. Flying instrument approaches and seeing the plane flying along on the approach plate was amazing! My instructor said its so good it almost takes the challenge out of flying IFR. GLO battery says good for ten hours but I would limit it to six hours in flight to be safe if you are relying on it running on battery.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Good but has design flaws

  • By Mark Miller from Camarillo, CA on Thursday, April 18, 2013
  • Pros: Does everything it says in the literature
  • Cons: ON switch design is flawed, light is too bright, no battery level indicator, only hooks to one device at a time.
  • Review: The product works as advertised. However, there are some problems. The ON and OFF switch are programed backwards. To prevent accidental turn-on in the flight bag draining the battery, the ON switch should be a push and hold to turn it on rather than momentary (programing flaw). The button should also be recessed to prevent accidental turn on and drain of battery in flight bag (mechanical design flaw). The blue light is also way too bright for night flight. Also, there should be a battery level indicator. These are such problems I inserted a folded business card to protect the switch and hide half of the light (just slide the card back and forth in the rubber dash mount) - kinda mickey mouse but it works. Also, the Bad Elf Pro receiver will hook up 5 units at once so you can use your iphone as a back up to your ipad when using Foreflight which is very nice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product

  • By A Customer from Shirley NY USA on Friday, May 31, 2013
  • Pros: Blue tooth
  • Cons: Have to ensure both GPS and tablet are charged
  • Review: Their are a few things I dislike about this product. One being that Bluetooth drains the battery life prett fast on the ipad mini another is that while flying helicopters there are alot of vibrations and it is hard to find a place for it to get good reception without vibrating and falling to the ground
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Run good with my Minipad

  • By Eric from Auberry CA USA on Tuesday, January 15, 2013
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Does not come with a 110 volt charger, I think it comes as an option. When charging the unit is on you can not turn it off to charge it. At night have to turn it over because of the led light is very bright but it works good upside down. Gets turned on easy when the switch gets bumped then it is dead when you need it. . ited
  • Review: Does the GPS job.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Garmin pilot with garmin glo test drive

  • By John W from Battle Creek MI USA on Saturday, December 20, 2014
  • Pros: Quick link up, easy to use, durable.
  • Cons: Why doesn't someone make an easy to use slider on the mapping screen to dim or switch to night use without having to hunt for it? Sounds like an easy thing to develop.
  • Review: Out of the box this device was ready to go once the Ipilot app was downloaded. It works great with other map apps as well but I wanted to try garmin. The terrain warning feature as well as the drag and drop info ball is becoming a helpful set of tools as I get used to using them. The feature of Bluetooth to up to 3 devices allows me to run the app on my iPhone and iPad at the same time using two features at once is incredibly handy. I've found that the heading bezel is dead on during flight as well as the zoomed in runway depiction feature. You will know exactly where the field is even as you fly over it to enter the pattern. A great feature to have if all else fails during IFR. I'm new to this technology so keep my level of excitement in mind when you do your review.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as Advertised

  • By A Customer from Chester MD USA on Tuesday, March 05, 2013
  • Pros: Ease of use
  • Cons: None noted as of this writing
  • Review: A 4 Star only because of cost , a bit pricey. However, it works well (even in my pocket while flying), is dependable, and easy to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

GARMIN GLO

  • By HAK from California on Sunday, September 15, 2013
  • Pros: Fast boot up speed works well with apps..
  • Cons: No Glonass software, button sequence seems strange.
  • Review: A fantastic little unit!   Wish battery life was longer. Works great with Most apps!  Fast boot up. Never had any  overheat issues. Just keep these out of the sun duh!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.