TOP

Reviews for Garmin GLO 2 for Aviation Portable Aviation GPS Receiver

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Works as advertised

  • By Marc from Franklin TN USA on Monday, June 01, 2015
  • Pros: works with Mac and Surface 3
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Works well with my iPad and company issued Surface 3. I fly internationally, and have had no issues with reception.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ramon - Sportcrcuiser flyer from Miami FL USA on Tuesday, November 13, 2012
  • Pros: Very fast and accurate, link in a flash with the Sat.
  • Cons: the power on button is very sensitive and could be power on inside a bag and discharge the battery.
  • Review: Excellent, link with the sat inside the apartment, work fast and great.
    Some problem is the power on button is very sensitive and could be power on inside a bag and discharge the battery.
    For the price, it's the best.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Garmin GLO works great

  • By Ross from Redding CA USA on Wednesday, September 17, 2014
  • Pros: Great satellite acquisition battery endurance great
  • Cons: None so far
  • Review: Works like a champ so far, have only used a couple of times, but acquires satellites quickly and stays locked on no matter where it is in the cockpit. The included 6 mos trial for Garmin Pilot is great also, really like the app with iPad mini. I have not tried it with Foreflight yet.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Magic in a tiny box

  • By A Customer from Mount Pleasant SC USA on Monday, April 27, 2015
  • Pros: easy to use, small,great battery time
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Turn it on, set it on the dash,connect to a tablet or ipad.
    Away you go. Simple, easy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

So far, so good

  • By A Customer from Houston TX USA on Wednesday, September 05, 2012
  • Review: Works as advertised with multiple bluetooth devices.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good unit

  • By Martin from West Palm Beach FL USA on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
  • Pros: Works as advertised
  • Cons: Would be good if it sent position data over USB cable
  • Review: Works well where others fail.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best GPS I have tried

  • By MAC from West Palm Beach FL USA on Monday, January 14, 2013
  • Pros: Works 100% time compared to Dual, etc.
  • Cons: Only connects via Bluetooth, Should send NMEA data via USB
  • Review: The only GPS that works 100% of the time on flight deck of large jet
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

GLO is good-to-go

  • By A Customer from Portland, OR on Friday, May 26, 2017
  • Pros: Small, lightweight, simple, replaceable battery
  • Cons: Battery life only 12 hours, no outdoor weather resistant option
  • Review: I use the GLO to extend the GPS strength for an android tablet and it works great. I also use it in the field to collect data, so I placed it in a waterproof container when it rains. Contrary to what others have said, you can connect up to 4 devices to a singe GLO.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great things come in small packages

  • By Lenn the World Traveller from Kota Kinabalu Sabah MALAYSIA on Tuesday, December 12, 2017
  • Pros: Small and works like a charm
  • Cons: Portable friction mount doesn't hold very well. Slides easily.
  • Review: Wonderful piece of technology. Satellite signal acquisition in seconds. Very easy to pair with iPhone and Android devices. I was able to connect to 4 devices simultaneously with no problems. I'm planning to use it with offline GPS map applications for driving in Greece. I tested it at home and it works great for driving and for locating places while on foot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Eu compraria esse produto novamente

  • By milton from sao jose do rio preto SP Brazil on Saturday, May 05, 2018
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Addison TX USA on Tuesday, April 24, 2018
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good...but

  • By A Customer from Van nuys CA on Saturday, October 13, 2012
  • Pros: Size, connectivity flawless, works like you expect
  • Cons:
  • Review: Worked right out of the box. Five stars but for one glaring mistake and two annoyances. The on off switch is in wrong location and can be inadvertently turned on in a pocket or bag so when you need it it is dead. The blue and amber lights are too bright for night operations and reflect off the windshield if it is on top of the glareshield. You can turn the GPS over but there needs to be non skid feet on top and bottom to do this satisfactorily. (Yes I know there is a non skid mount, but why.) Lastly there is no way to know the battery status.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good but no way to monitor battery

  • By Michael from VA USA on Tuesday, October 15, 2013
  • Pros: Very accurate and combined with Garmin Pilot is a very capable FMS.
  • Cons: No way to monitor battery. Extreme oversight by Garmin.
  • Review: The GLO when used with Garmin Pilot is terrific! My only critique is I have no way to determine when it is fully charged or when the battery is getting low in flight. An iOS update caused the GLO not to sync up but I called Garmin and they walked me through an ipad hard reset in about two minutes and it worked great. Flying instrument approaches and seeing the plane flying along on the approach plate was amazing! My instructor said its so good it almost takes the challenge out of flying IFR. GLO battery says good for ten hours but I would limit it to six hours in flight to be safe if you are relying on it running on battery.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product

  • By A Customer from Shirley NY USA on Friday, May 31, 2013
  • Pros: Blue tooth
  • Cons: Have to ensure both GPS and tablet are charged
  • Review: Their are a few things I dislike about this product. One being that Bluetooth drains the battery life prett fast on the ipad mini another is that while flying helicopters there are alot of vibrations and it is hard to find a place for it to get good reception without vibrating and falling to the ground
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Good but has design flaws

  • By Mark Miller from Camarillo, CA on Thursday, April 18, 2013
  • Pros: Does everything it says in the literature
  • Cons: ON switch design is flawed, light is too bright, no battery level indicator, only hooks to one device at a time.
  • Review: The product works as advertised. However, there are some problems. The ON and OFF switch are programed backwards. To prevent accidental turn-on in the flight bag draining the battery, the ON switch should be a push and hold to turn it on rather than momentary (programing flaw). The button should also be recessed to prevent accidental turn on and drain of battery in flight bag (mechanical design flaw). The blue light is also way too bright for night flight. Also, there should be a battery level indicator. These are such problems I inserted a folded business card to protect the switch and hide half of the light (just slide the card back and forth in the rubber dash mount) - kinda mickey mouse but it works. Also, the Bad Elf Pro receiver will hook up 5 units at once so you can use your iphone as a back up to your ipad when using Foreflight which is very nice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Garmin pilot with garmin glo test drive

  • By John W from Battle Creek MI USA on Saturday, December 20, 2014
  • Pros: Quick link up, easy to use, durable.
  • Cons: Why doesn't someone make an easy to use slider on the mapping screen to dim or switch to night use without having to hunt for it? Sounds like an easy thing to develop.
  • Review: Out of the box this device was ready to go once the Ipilot app was downloaded. It works great with other map apps as well but I wanted to try garmin. The terrain warning feature as well as the drag and drop info ball is becoming a helpful set of tools as I get used to using them. The feature of Bluetooth to up to 3 devices allows me to run the app on my iPhone and iPad at the same time using two features at once is incredibly handy. I've found that the heading bezel is dead on during flight as well as the zoomed in runway depiction feature. You will know exactly where the field is even as you fly over it to enter the pattern. A great feature to have if all else fails during IFR. I'm new to this technology so keep my level of excitement in mind when you do your review.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Run good with my Minipad

  • By Eric from Auberry CA USA on Tuesday, January 15, 2013
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Does not come with a 110 volt charger, I think it comes as an option. When charging the unit is on you can not turn it off to charge it. At night have to turn it over because of the led light is very bright but it works good upside down. Gets turned on easy when the switch gets bumped then it is dead when you need it. . ited
  • Review: Does the GPS job.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as Advertised

  • By A Customer from Chester MD USA on Tuesday, March 05, 2013
  • Pros: Ease of use
  • Cons: None noted as of this writing
  • Review: A 4 Star only because of cost , a bit pricey. However, it works well (even in my pocket while flying), is dependable, and easy to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

GARMIN GLO

  • By HAK from California on Sunday, September 15, 2013
  • Pros: Fast boot up speed works well with apps..
  • Cons: No Glonass software, button sequence seems strange.
  • Review: A fantastic little unit!   Wish battery life was longer. Works great with Most apps!  Fast boot up. Never had any  overheat issues. Just keep these out of the sun duh!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good, but can overheat

  • By Charles from Ridgway CO USA on Wednesday, June 26, 2013
  • Pros: Small size, quick fixes
  • Cons: overheaats and shuts down in sunlight
  • Review: The Garmin GLO can overheat and shut off if placed on the glareshield in sunlight. The skid plate (rubber boot) exacerbates the problem by acting as an insulator. The unit could be improved by making it white to reflect more light; (like the latest Stratus ADB-B receiver). Although the Garmin Pilot software sometimes does not display the GPS position from the GLO when Ipad indicates they are connected, I could not determine if that is a problem with the Pilot software or the GLO.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would likemtontry iPad with an internal gps to compare

  • By A Customer from New Jersey on Tuesday, August 13, 2013
  • Pros: You don't need wireless only GPS to work with foreflight
  • Cons: Requires a lot of battery from iPad. Have to ensure GPS is charged also. Hard to sync at times.
  • Review: Their are a few things I dislike about the glo. The Bluetooth drains the battery. It's hard to find a place Ina helicopter for it to stay without having to readjust throughout the flight. It sometimes is very hard to connect and have a strong enough signal.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

need to read the fine-print before taking it for granted

  • By A Customer from mcallen TX USA on Saturday, February 02, 2013
  • Pros: small, new tech
  • Cons: it is not self-sustained, and you still have to subscribe pay for everything
  • Review: I have 2x430was on my panel,and from your very first handheld,i have had them all,gps10,etrex,etc.and 295,396 where i have paid for xm-weather $50/month for ever. i have an ipad and understood i could do with my new Glo, all i am now doing on the 396 but quit paying.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.