TOP

Reviews for Smartphone Digital Audio Adapter for Airplanes

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Works well with iPhone

  • By A Customer from Tempe AZ USA on Thursday, May 03, 2012
  • Pros: Works great
  • Cons: Pricey
  • Review: This works great with my iPhone 4. It's about the size/weight of a push-to-talk cable. A bit heavier than it really needs to be, but it's built solid.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.

Works great with a GoPro 2

  • By Bruce Williams from Seattle, WA on Monday, September 03, 2012
  • Pros: The cable provides a clean audio feed from aircraft intercom systems to devices such as the GoPro camera.
  • Cons: A longer cable would allow more choices in mounting connected cameras.
  • Review: This cable works as advertised. I plug it into a vacant headset socket and connect it to my GoPro camera. I've used it in both my Extra 300L aerobatic aircraft and A36 Bonanza. You can see videos that include cockpit audio using this cable at my YouTube channel: BruceAirFlying (http://www.youtube.com/user/BruceAirFlying).

    -Bruce
    www.BruceAir.com
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Annoying Cord but Great Audio

  • By Bill from Ruckersville VA USA on Wednesday, December 10, 2014
  • Pros: Simple plug into iPhone or iPod
  • Cons: Re-engineer the Y-splice please
  • Review: Plugs right into my iPhone 5 and iPod. Use the Apple Voice Memo app and start recording, very simple. Records all intercom conversation and radio traffic including your transmission out. Coiled cord and jack are stupid and poorly thought out. Just give us a simple Y-Splice off the Aviation plug and stop trying to be fancy. The coiled cord pull the Aviation plug out of the audio jack one time. I've adjusted the distance to my iPod to the cord more slack.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works on Samsung Note II

  • By Bob in St. Louis from Fairview Heights IL USA on Friday, April 17, 2015
  • Pros: Works great, and attenuates noise.
  • Cons: The coiled cable limits routing of cable
  • Review: Because of the coiled cable it would hung right in front of me in the C172 with the phone on a suction mount mid windscreen. I plugged it into the copilot jack to get it out of the way without a headset on that side and it still recorded all of the cockpit audio while attenuating engine noise. I ended up buying a TRRS Extension for a few extra bucks so I can route the cable up onto the dash. That's the only reason for losing a star.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

works great

  • By A Customer from Phoenix AZ USA on Wednesday, October 19, 2016
  • Pros:
  • Cons: could be a little bit longer
  • Review: Great product
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product!

  • By A Customer from Calgary AB Canada on Tuesday, April 09, 2013
  • Pros: Records clearly. Works as described
  • Cons: The cord is a little long and I find myself storing the excess cord length in the pocket
  • Review: Great product. Use it to record flight lessons and it records clearly on my voice memos. Would recommend to any new student. Records everything that goes through the headset. Also found that it will also play music not just in your headset but everyone's.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice quality but overpriced

  • By A Customer from Monterey CA USA on Wednesday, April 24, 2013
  • Pros: Decent sound quality, nice manufacturing quality.
  • Cons: Small cord length and stiff spiral cord, which applies tension on thye camera and tends to put it out of place
  • Review: It has nice manufacturing quality. But it's way overpriced. It does a decent work, not amazing though.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

perfect for Action Cam

  • By Zorro Volare from Oldsmar FL USA on Monday, January 22, 2018
  • Pros: easy as could be
  • Cons: more wires to deal with n the cockpit
  • Review: The cable worked as planned, tapping into the headphone Jack and routing the 1/8th (3.5 mm) plug to the Hero 5. Audio was clear and no more audio to video post process syncing required. Note the hero 5 requires an adapte to provide a 1/8 inch audio input.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Much more than i expected

  • By Nelson from Dar es salaam Ilala Tanzania on Monday, May 21, 2018
  • Review: Does a great job excluding out the engine noises and records high quality sound with great clarity. It's very flexible and can stretch out to different positions regardless of camera position. Very easy to fold and pack in small spaces.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.