TOP

Reviews for Comm1: VFR Radio Simulator CD-ROM

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

GREAT PRACTICE TOOL TO HONE YOUR COMM SKILLS

  • By MARK from SIMI VALLEY CA USA on Tuesday, November 29, 2011
  • Pros: HELPS TO HONE COMM SKILLS IN ALL AIR SPACES
  • Cons: WISH I COULD SHOOT FROM THE HIP AND GET A REACTION WTHOUT PROMPTS
  • Review: While there is nothing out there that is responsive to your voice inputs, this is the closest thing to the real thing to help you communicate the right way with ATC, or other traffic UNICOM,MULTICOM, class A,B,C,D,E, OR G airspace, FSS, towered or non-towered etc. This program covers all the scenerio's from emergency to normal with all the correct terminology. I've been using this program since the moment that I received it. As a result of using this program...my comm skills have become more fluent and correct, and so has my confidence in using the radio's and talking to ATC. I fly out of Van Nuys Ca. "KVNY" a very busy airport, so there is a lot of radio interaction with ATC and So-Cal APP. with mode C active. To sum it up...the money I spent on this program was well worth it, and there is no way I could get as proficient at communications in such a short time without this program. SAFE FLYING TO ALL!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great tool!

  • By Anita from Palm beach gardens FL USA on Monday, October 10, 2011
  • Pros: Teaches solid communication skills - helps eliminate 'mike fright'
  • Cons: Price
  • Review: I have tried other communication courses and this is by far the best for nailing standard radio communication phrases and techniques.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Felix from Keller TX USA on Tuesday, May 22, 2012
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons: Sometimes have to repeat a call
  • Review: Does the job of training very well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Sarah from Sarasota FL USA on Wednesday, December 07, 2011
  • Review: Its a very good training software.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very nice product

  • By Craig from Lucedale MS USA on Monday, June 25, 2012
  • Pros: Works like I expected and more
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I bought the VFR version and it covers everything associated with vfr flying. I think they should come out with a app for the iPad with this software, could use a bluetooth headset then and a lot of pilots and students are using the iPad
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Should be updated for current standards since copyrighted in 1997

  • By Reggie from Gastonia NC USA on Friday, October 12, 2012
  • Pros: Clear and practical examples of communication techniques.
  • Cons: I believe this to be 1997 technology. May need updating
  • Review: I like the practical examples and the different situations where radio use is needed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great tool for learning and practicing

  • By Renato O. from Cambridge MA USA on Thursday, March 19, 2015
  • Pros: Informative. Practical. You can listen to and, if you want, read the lessons.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Great product. There are good and clear explanations and examples, and then you can practice recording your own voice. As English is not my first language it is particularly useful for me. But I really think this product is suitable even for native English speakers, since it is a learning tool for a specific technical subject: radio communication.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again.

  • By ALFRED from Los Angeles CA USA on Tuesday, April 16, 2013
  • Review: It met the expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

I would recomend Comm1 to any student pilot, even if they had a great CFI

  • By Frank W. Dicorte from China Spring, TX on Friday, August 31, 2007
  • Pros: covers every aspect of radio conversation in all airspace.
  • Cons: I am sure there are a few but not to my knowledge
  • Review: The Comm1 Radio simulator surpassed all of my expectations. I highly recommend you purchase the Flight Simulator headphone adapter also, it makes the simulator much more enjoyable.
    I have had my Private pilot Certificate for many years, and never have had the confidence to make me feel at ease talking on the Radio. Comm1 has given me the confidence to fly into a controlled towered airport.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Help me in improve radio communication a lot.

  • By Chumanus from Bangkok Thailand on Thursday, May 15, 2008
  • Pros: Good simulation lesson.
  • Cons: Screen does not adjust according to screen resolution.
  • Review: Easy to install. Good lesson arrangement and pratice simulation lesson. I have improved a lot. My mic fear is gone.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good product, but a tad pricey.

  • By William from Okatie SC USA on Monday, March 01, 2010
  • Pros:
  • Cons: It often didn't think I spoke the whole phrase and I had to repeat it being careful to hold down the mic button extra long.
  • Review: It gets a little tedious after a while, but all-in-all I think it is helpful in reacclimating an older pilot into the current communication styles.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By shaun from fontana CA USA on Monday, February 08, 2010
  • Review: This has been a tremendous help in comunication skills.  Comm1 IFR is next on my list.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best product on the market

  • By Fred V from Norcross GA USA on Monday, June 14, 2010
  • Review: I believe it is the best product on the market. With this product you wil gain confidence. It is not cheap, but it is worth the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A big help!

  • By Christian from Del Mar CA USA on Monday, June 21, 2010
  • Pros: interactive, listen to your own voice and improve it next time
  • Cons: nothing !
  • Review: A big help for student pilot. One of the most difficult part of starting to fly is mastering radio communication. This simulator helped me a lot. It makes it MUCH easier to get familiar and even comfortable with that part of flying. This program explore all of what we need to know and forces you to practice, improve and master the technique.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A definate "Must Have" for every pilot

  • By A Customer from Lawton OK USA on Wednesday, August 04, 2010
  • Pros: Good overall system that covers most any situation
  • Cons: Poor voice interpretation at times, not enough scenarios
  • Review: I have not had the opportunity to fly in some time, so when I got back into it, the thought of communicating with ATC with new phraseology was a bit intimidating. After using ths simulator, the CFI commented on how well I communicated during all aspects of the flight. The CD installs easily (I have Vista Home Ed - 64 bit system) and the program walks you through many scenarios. There were times that I could have said anything and the system would accept my response, then there were some times I said the responses perfectly but the system did not understand. Even with these small "technical difficulties", I would recommend this product if you want to learn to communicate quickly and easily with ATC or other pilots. Wish it had more scenarios to practice...it seemed a little quick, but works effectively.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Chris from Weymouth MA on Sunday, October 10, 2010
  • Review: Very useful, highly recommended during training to get comfortable with radio technique.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product for beginner or for a "brush up"

  • By Ken from Plano TX USA on Monday, March 30, 2009
  • Pros: Works great
  • Cons: The interface could use a little updating
  • Review: Good idea for any student pilot or a more seasoned pilot that wants to brush up on thier radio communication skills.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The best Airplane talk learning tool available

  • By David from Flagler Beach FL USA on Friday, April 17, 2009
  • Review: I actually understood it and found it very very useful as a new pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy again

  • By Charles from Snellville GA USA on Friday, August 14, 2009
  • Pros: clear, concise, gives practice
  • Cons: cost a little high
  • Review: Met and exceeded expetations. Learned a great deal about airspace also.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Anja from Konz Rheinland-Pfalz Germany on Monday, May 20, 2019
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Rather B. Flyin from Baltimore, Maryland on Tuesday, November 14, 2006
  • Review: This software helped me out tremendously with my radio calls when I first started flying, especially since I fly from an non-towered FBO located right in between B.W.I and Washington-Regan airport which are both class B's. I can't stress enough to student and private pilots how great of an investment this software is!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.