Free Shipping on orders over $49! Our Holiday Schedule.
TOP

Reviews for Comm1: VFR Radio Simulator CD-ROM

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

I recommend this to students and rusty pilots

  • By Michael from Kennewick WA USA on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
  • Pros: Good Value
  • Cons:
  • Review: This was helpful getting back into the flying after a 25 year hiatus. I live in a rural area and will be doing a lot of cross country flying, again. Good refresher for me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for Brushing Up!

  • By Amber from Portland OR USA on Monday, February 24, 2014
  • Pros: Really easy to use and straightforward. Simplifies the information.
  • Cons: I wish that the "quizzes" had you talk without seeing the word phrasing to choose from. I feel because of that I don't retain as much of the information.
  • Review: This is a great product for practicing communication and getting a review on different airspace rules, nomenclature, phrasing, etc.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product for new pilots

  • By Ricardo from Durango Durango Mexico on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons:
  • Review: It met my expectations, I get a clear idea about the radio comunication in the difrent class of airports,and it habituate my ear to listen and hear the information, Only some times failure the debriefing, I'll recomend to buy it
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

COMM 1 VFR

  • By A Customer from Columbia MS USA on Saturday, December 03, 2016
  • Review: As a student pilot Comm1 VFR CD was very helpful for a beginner to learn what to say and when to say it. It was very helpful but the program could be updated it's a little slow so it takes some time to go through. That said I would definitely recommend it to anyone it will help get comfortable on the radio no doubt!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy again

  • By Richard from San Tan Valley AZ USA on Sunday, January 31, 2016
  • Review: It helped
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Stephen from Snow Camp NC USA on Monday, January 28, 2013
  • Review: instant feedback, love it
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Burlington NJ USA on Wednesday, January 07, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to use and effective
  • Cons: Outdated interface
  • Review: The interface is not fancy but the product does have excellent content and is organized and effective in conveying the concept of using the radio and was extremely helpful in my quest for my PPL.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good program, easy to set up.

  • By A Customer from Carriere MS USA on Monday, August 19, 2019
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons: Needs tweaking
  • Review: Good program, took some "tweaking".
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Useful tool!

  • By Pam from SantaCruzCAUSA on Wednesday, October 28, 2009
  • Pros: Good learning tool and great way to get to know the terminology.
  • Cons: Can't seem to record my voice.
  • Review: I like this product overall. I am not sure whether I have loaded it properly, but seem to have to put the disc in every time to use it, which I would prefer not doing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By C-152 Pilot from Marlboro, NJ on Thursday, February 15, 2007
  • Pros: Step by step structure, make it very easy to follow.
  • Cons: Exercise not flexible enough.
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By R22 Student Pilot from Brooklyn, NY on Tuesday, March 06, 2007
  • Review: I am currently training for my VFR Helicopter rating and Comm1 VFR training program has been a great help. I use the program before every flight lesson and I found out that it has help me focus more on my flying instead of my radio communications. One thing that I wish that they would improve on Comm1 is to allow me to pick an airport so that all example and training scenarios are of my home airport and region. Besides that, it is a great program that gets me into flying mode when I am getting ready to train on the weekends.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By John from Paso Robles CA USA on Tuesday, January 05, 2010
  • Pros: Informative and simple
  • Cons: Only problems were with my mouse not keying up at times
  • Review: I was very pleased.  It was just what I wanted.  I had been out of the system for years and needed familiarization and repetition...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A little antiquated

  • By A Customer from Pasadena CA USA on Wednesday, February 17, 2010
  • Pros: Informative, Effective
  • Cons: Antiquated, Old Software
  • Review: This product works quite well. It introduces the user to all types of ATC scenarios and instructs you on proper radio opperations...it just does it in a 1990 software environment. :/
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Santiago from Capital Buenos Aires Argentina on Monday, November 10, 2008
  • Review: Very good for training. As a spanish speaker, I can say this product really helps me to train on understanding radio controllers jargon.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product!

  • By Jacques from Timmins, ON, Canada on Tuesday, December 14, 2010
  • Pros: Offers a playback of your voice after each exercise so that you can hear what you sound like.
  • Cons: Ocasionally the voice recognition is too sensitive or ot sensitive enough (but only very occasionally)
  • Review: It met my expectations exactly and does what they say it does very well. It really does help you get over mic fright and lets you focus on flying instead of worrying about radio work.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Product, Could Use some some improvement

  • By Stephen from Cullowhee NC USA on Monday, April 13, 2009
  • Pros: Good Information, Good teaching tool, An example of almost every possible scenario
  • Cons: Could use multiple examples for more complicated topics (clearance delivery, class B airspce), no good self-review method
  • Review: This product does what it advertises, and has helped me with my towered communications. As a new pilot that spends most of my time flying in uncontrolled airspace, venturing into Class B and C airspace was intimidating. Using the practice found in this product, I feel much more comfortable than I would have without it. My one complaint is their presentation method works very well for teaching, not for reviewing or making sure the student has really grasped the information. Each communication has a "scripted" response that must be selected and read back verbatim. While this method is excellent during the learning phase, it does little to insure complete comprehension during review or extra practice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Extremely useful tool for the student pilot

  • By A Customer from Buffalo NY USA on Tuesday, August 25, 2009
  • Pros: Simple, well organized, concise.
  • Cons: Tuning the radio is a nuisance.
  • Review: For a student pilot, the product exceeded expectations. The program is simple to follow and presents the material in a standardized rationale format. It is an introductory product that will get the student pilot off and running. More experienced pilots can also use this product to bolster their radio knowledge. Having the opportunity to practice the calls live is essential in building confidence. Adding some interactive practice flights to towered and non-towered airports would increase the value of this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.