TOP

Reviews for Hendricks 9-G Plus High Performance Kneeboard

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Student Pilot Approved

  • By Erik from Duluth MN USA on Monday, August 05, 2013
  • Pros: Adjustable (and it fits), Holds everything I need.
  • Cons: Just a little more expencive than I was looking for.
  • Review: As a student pilot, I wasnt looking for anything too expensive. However, I didnt want to ride the absolute cheap side and end up with an un-adjustable piece of aluminum strapped to my leg either.

    I would say I have made an excellent purchase. My kneeboard holds several writing utensils, IS adjustable, and comfortable. I am 6'3" 165 lbs with skinnier legs and was woried about it not being able to fit properly.

    It has a very strong clip that securely holds my sectional, flight planning information, notepad, and other information I need readably available. The small size is great for small cockpits (I am training in a schweizer 300c).

    Take ten or fifteen dollars off the price tag, and I would give it five stars. But I know that saving money, and getting that bottom line cheap VFR kneeboard would have resulted is dissappointment.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for Helicopters

  • By Norm from Hillsboro, OR USA on Wednesday, June 29, 2011
  • Pros: Small size, No extra fluff, Zero-G strap
  • Cons: none so far
  • Review: This kneeboard is awesome for helicopters where space is limited. I was recommended this kneeboard by my instructor over the "Ultimate Kneeboard" by Harper that we sell in our pilot store. I was glad I took his advice. I have heard other students complain that their kneeboard gets in the way and, especially in the R22 with such a small cockpit, they have hit their kneeboard on the control surfaces before. With the 9-G I haven't had this problem. The Zero-G strap is nice too. Obviously I'm not going inverted in the helicopter but it allows you to hold items down and move them with relative ease by just pulling the velcro up on one side. The webbing on both sides of the kneeboard allows you to add rings if you'd like and the pockets are great for holding pen, pencil, highlighter, and flashlight. I also bought the Flip Pockets, which unfortunately are not available on mypilotstore.com but are relatively cheap (got mine at wings-aviation for $16.50 shipped) and they work perfectly with the 9-G.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

9g+ kneeboard recommended!

  • By eddie from Arvada CO USA on Tuesday, April 09, 2013
  • Pros: small size, adjustable leg strap
  • Cons: doesn't come with rings to attach diagrams. you can buy zip ties.if so buy releasable ones/
  • Review: I really like this kneeboard. It has an adjustable leg strap that also stretches. I have pretty big thighs from cycling so this works great. I can still pull full back and left or right and it barely touches.It is small; which I like also. It holds the small note pads perfectly. I bought some small sleeves for my airport layouts and connected them with some book rings on the side. Works great. The +g strap I don't really use yet being I don't fly with the windows open.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

works very well

  • By doug from aberdeen WA USA on Wednesday, June 23, 2010
  • Review: I am a EMT for a fire dept. I use this product to write all med. info. down when on a call.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Franois from LE LUC France on Monday, September 27, 2010
  • Review: This product is well adapted for cockpits where space is very restricted like jet fighters or combat helicopters. Some charts protectors should be delivered whith to be perfect. The material seems very strong and at least very comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

As advertised

  • By matt from chicago IL USA on Tuesday, January 15, 2013
  • Pros: comfortable, extra strap makes sense for helicopter use
  • Cons: included paper tabs are tough to remove
  • Review: It is comfortable and has extra space for pens. I like the extra strap for flying in the helicopter with the doors off.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Meat and Potatoes

  • By Jacob from Sacramento CA USA on Tuesday, March 08, 2011
  • Pros: MADE IN THE USA, very well made, simple
  • Cons: No pockets for checklist. No biggie tho.
  • Review: Right now I'm a student pilot, so my perspective is still rather narrow.

    I chose the 9G 1st and foremost because it is made in the USA. That being said I also really liked the simplicity. Now that I've used it, I find it very well made. I'm a bigger guy (6'6" 245#) so don't have too much room in a 172, and this works pretty darn good. The only improvement I can see would be to somehow integrate a small pocket along your leg for checklists. No big deal though.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product

  • By Jon from Redmond WA USA on Tuesday, June 21, 2011
  • Pros: Smaller, great adjustabbility on the leg strap
  • Cons: The pen loops on the slides are relatively small, a narrow pen is needed (non-gel grip types)
  • Review: Good product, I bought it to replace a metal knee board that was a little too big and didn't have an adjustable flap. This knee board has been great, I use it all the time now.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good, but needs to be resized in length

  • By Texas Grizz from Yuma AZ USA on Tuesday, June 28, 2011
  • Pros: Quality; light, not too much, straps on nicely
  • Cons: Short in length
  • Review: Perfect for what I needed but - in today's world where you generate your own pilot cards on the computer and print them on standard 8x11" sheet and fold in half, it is an inch short.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Scottsdale AZ USA on Friday, March 24, 2017
  • Pros: Small, rugged, clip is holding the paper.
  • Cons: No velcro on the back, negativ g strap can't use from the other side.
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Albuquerque NM on Wednesday, August 11, 2004
  • Review: Nice. Thought it was going to come with an info card in the back though, like the picture.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

High Quality Knee Board

  • By Steve from Kingfisher OK USA on Monday, November 29, 2010
  • Pros: Comfortable, easy to use and adjust, just the right size
  • Cons: wish it came with the extra cards and rings.
  • Review: I would like to have a specific place for a pen or pencil on the knee board. The flash light opening works for both but would like a separate place for pen.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A UNIQUE APPLICATION

  • By Philip the stickboy from Los Altos CA USA on Wednesday, April 29, 2009
  • Pros: Easy to read off and access materials from
  • Cons: slips down when standing. This is obviously only done when riding enduro motorcycles and not flying !!
  • Review: I used this kneeboard for my entire GS motorcycle Enduro ride across the USA, Canada, and Mexico. It worked perfectly. I took the hard clipboard portion out so it formed better around my leg. It held vital info such as my passport, Emergency contacts and map details not found on my GPS. I wasn't doing Mach 10++ like you fly boys, but it served me very well. I looked at several different kneeboards and the Hendricks 9-G is by far the best!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Kneeboard

  • By Gary from Churchville PA USA on Tuesday, June 02, 2009
  • Pros: Great leg strap
  • Cons: Little small but not a big deal
  • Review: This kneeboard is perfect for any type of pilot. The leg strap is perfect because you dont have to worry about it coming unstrapped which I had a problem with my previous kneeboard. Its a little small but its still great to hold charts good for jotting down those quick notes from ATC.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very nice kneeboard!

  • By A Customer from Hawaii, USA on Wednesday, January 19, 2011
  • Pros: Durability
  • Cons: Might not work with smaller legs
  • Review: Good quality, lasting materials. The only negative is that it doesn't adjust tight enough to fit around my leg so I had to rig it to fit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very nice, but a little small

  • By A Customer from USA on Wednesday, January 07, 2009
  • Pros: Extremely well put together and functional
  • Cons: Too Short for my purposes
  • Review: A very well constructed product that works well. I especially like the clear window that lets you put another sheet behind your main card/scratchpad. The major downside is that it's too short. I fly Attack aircraft and we always use half sheets of 8.5x11 paper to list our flight data and write on. With the 9-G Kneeboard I can't write on the bottom 1/4 to 1/3 of the page because there is no backing. Since my leg is that long anyway I'll probably switch back to a longer kneeboard.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very capable and small

  • By Henry from Berthoud CO USA on Monday, June 01, 2009
  • Pros: Size
  • Cons: Could use more pen pockets on left side.
  • Review: This is a very nice sized kneeboard. I use it both driving to take down random thoughts as well as flying. The size makes it very comfortable to wear and use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's OK

  • By James from Louisville KY USA on Thursday, July 09, 2009
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons: Limited pocket space for maps
  • Review: Generally, this knee board does its job in an open cockpit plane. The limitation is that the plastic pocket that holds the material you want to read is very small but could be larger given the average thigh area of a typical adult. In other words, it's a lot of material and straps for a relatively small usable space for your maps.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product, somewhat expensive

  • By Rick from Moscow ID USA on Tuesday, June 30, 2015
  • Pros: Perfect size, unobtrusive
  • Cons: Somewhat spendy
  • Review: It works well in my Cessna 172N. Conventional size knee board was always in the way. The size of this kneeboard is just right and the kneeboard is quality built. I don't notice it being there when not using it and it stays out of the way of my yoke. However, I can't tell you how it performs in high G's in my 172 : ) I would buy this again as I find a kneeboard valuable to use for keepin information at hand and using as a small work table to write ATC instructions down
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

my good kneeboard from- mypilot store

  • By vikash from kingsville tx on Wednesday, May 30, 2007
  • Pros:
  • Cons: the thing which i did not like is that i have little hard time to make it tight on my thigh ,my thigh being little thiner.
  • Review: Great product. What i like the most is that u can hang transparent sheets with required info in them either side of the kneeboared (boz some time i put it on my left leg and sometimes on right as per mission).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Works Well

  • By Ryan from Wichita Falls, TX on Friday, June 15, 2007
  • Pros: Buckle snap, wide
  • Cons: Cheap negative G strap
  • Review: It works well for me, although, only tested up to 6.2G positive Gs and 1.5 negative, since I've only flown the T-38 with it. :) I like the buckle, and it sits snug on my leg. Doesn't have any issues with my G-suit expanding. The little plastic end that holds the Negative G strap on did break, but I had the elastic sewn down, with no problems after.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Handy for flight

  • By Darwin N. Barrie from Chandler AZ on Wednesday, June 20, 2007
  • Pros: Light and comfortable
  • Cons: Clear band in middle of board reduces writing space
  • Review: I wanted a kneeboard for CC flying. A friend had this one and I ordered one immediately. I like the soft nature of the product. It is unlike the one I used to use flying helicopters with the hard metal case.

    My only gripe is the clear plastic band across the middle of the board. The bands function is to keep papers in place in high G situations. This reduced writing space. If the band was on the lower edge of the board it would serve the same function and provide more writing space.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Just like it says

  • By Dave from Corpus Christi on Tuesday, July 24, 2007
  • Pros: Small light and doesn't clutter up cockpit
  • Cons: Leg strap doesn't cinch down tight enough
  • Review: Functional, easy to use. I wish the leg strap would fasten tighter. Clear window makes it easy to put helpful gouge while your checklist and notes sit on top.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Small footprint

  • By Bumber from Mt Vernon, IL on Wednesday, August 01, 2007
  • Pros: small, compact,
  • Cons: only holds sheets of
  • Review: Met my expectations and like it very much. Wish it would it had a small flap on one side or the other to hold an approach plate or added gauge for the flight. However, my cockpit is small and not much knee room and this knee board works very well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Works great except...

  • By Austin from Tehachapi CA USA on Monday, December 10, 2007
  • Pros: Fits well, right size, comfortable.
  • Cons: Pencil holder on wrong side.
  • Review: Works great with a singular exception. The pencil holder is on the left, in between the legs for a right handed person. It's a little akward reaching accross the board for my pencil. Other than that, a nice product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Simple and Functional

  • By Craig from OIF 07-09 on Monday, December 03, 2007
  • Pros: Small size fits cramped cockpit, Writing surface size is plenty big
  • Cons: Leg strap doesn't tighten down, strap is a little thin
  • Review: This kneeboard so far has been pretty good. It's small size has been a real plus in a cramped cockpit. The writing surface is not too small and it's not too big. The only improvement would be a wider leg strap that you could tighten down a little more.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A great compact kneeboard

  • By Speed from Woodland Hills CA USA on Monday, June 02, 2008
  • Pros: small, fits with a stick
  • Cons: odd size
  • Review: Finally a kneeboard that works with a stick. Got this for use in a DA42 Twinstar and I find it works well for me. It is an odd size so you need to make custom pages if you want to attach preprinted sheets of diagrams and plates. It is good quality and works as advertised. The sides are not big enough to cover the front when closed so the board is 'open' when in your flight bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.