TOP

Reviews for Alpha MA-1 Nylon Flight Jacket - Sage Green

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

ma-1 flight jacket

  • By albert from North Carolina on Sunday, May 06, 2018
  • Review: Not the jacket I was issued when in SAC (old air force)
    pockets have no depth---zipper is rough,nothing like the old brass zipper!
    other than that, the jacket works ok.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy again.

  • By Denis from Bronx NY USA on Wednesday, June 21, 2017
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Could be a little thicker
  • Review: I wore one in the AF for 3 years this is about the same.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great jacket

  • By Michael from Wilmington DE USA on Thursday, June 02, 2016
  • Pros: Good price, great fit
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Just like the one that was issued to me in the Air force.Like the pen holder on the sleeve. I added the patches of the commands I served in.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

As good as they get.

  • By Richard from Port Townsend WA USA on Friday, May 04, 2018
  • Pros: Well made from top materials.
  • Cons: Inside pockets don't fit the same gear as my issue jacket, made in China.
  • Review: This flight jacket is well constructed and the materials are top quality. It's not an exact copy of my issue MA-1, the inside pockets are slightly smaller, but I have no doubt this will last as long as my 1972 issue jacket did.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just right for flight jacket

  • By James from Sand Springs OK USA on Wednesday, April 26, 2017
  • Pros: Light weight
  • Cons: To puffy
  • Review: The jacket works fine even in low 50s
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Cathy from Hagerstown MD USA on Tuesday, March 10, 2015
  • Pros: Nice and warm
  • Cons: first one the bottom elastic waist lost its shape. The second one the bottom of the zipper pulled apart so he must be careful when he zips it up. The new one is just fine so far.
  • Review: Mys husband likes the jacket, so much this is the third one he owns.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

NICE FLIGHT JACKET

  • By Steve from Lewisville TX USA on Tuesday, December 04, 2018
  • Pros: Well made, warm good looking and wears well
  • Cons: zipper defective
  • Review: 4 stars only because the zipper was defective. Rest of jacket 5 stars.
    I ordered one size larger as suggested and it fit perfect.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

MA-1 Nylon Flight Jacket a big HIT

  • By A Customer from Naperville IL USA on Tuesday, January 19, 2010
  • Pros: Great design of pockets, Fit is very good.
  • Cons: Rides up the back a bit
  • Review: This jacket was purchased as a gift for my pilot brother-in-law. Little did I realize that he had been looking at them for a long time. He tells me it has become his everyday jacket. He likes the lower inside pockets for holding his maps and claims it is plenty warm in Illinois winters.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By John from Chesapeake Beach MD USA on Monday, January 30, 2012
  • Pros:
  • Cons: No cons
  • Review: Great-just like I had in the Air Force in the 60's.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By DD from Montevideo MN USA on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
  • Pros: Fits good. Looks good. Wears good.
  • Cons: Couild be a little better insulated
  • Review: Fits good. Looks good. Wears good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love it

  • By Gary from Chapel Hill NC USA on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
  • Pros: Very warm.
  • Cons: Dry clean only. Snaps instead of zippers on main pockets
  • Review: Great jacket. Well made. Very comfortable. Sized well. Elastic holds up.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Wonderful jacket,but...

  • By a6bubba from Southern California on Monday, April 15, 2019
  • Pros: unbelievable comfort
  • Cons: wrong color.NOT sage USAF green,but ARMY OD green
  • Review: After searching everywhere,found this superb jacket. It feels good everytime I put it on,but it is the wrong color if you are looking for the USAF version.
    This jacket is OD green,not the true grey sage green of the 1960's USAF.If that's not a problem, it's a must have.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I bought 10 of them for my family

  • By Sam from Van nuys CA USA on Monday, September 29, 2014
  • Review: Last year I bought 1 for my dad and he's love it , when he wear it, my 2 brothers and uncles, brother-in-laws all likes it, that is why I did order 10 for my family, cost me a lot of money but I love to see them wear the nice pilot jacket, the reason I gave 4 stars, one of the jacket the zipper not easy to unzip, that is why 4 stars,
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Back to 1968 RVN

  • By William from Smithtown NY USA on Monday, October 31, 2016
  • Pros: Well made,fair price,good service
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I have been looking for a flight jacket that was well made.  Most are cheep and flimsy. I am very pleased with the quality of the jacket and your company's service. THANK YOU. WHH 1st CAV 68/69
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Close but not the same

  • By Flyboy of the seventies from Maryland, USA on Saturday, March 01, 2014
  • Pros: Looks authentic
  • Cons: Not the same quality
  • Review: I wore this jacket while in the Air Force in the seventies. At the time I received two MA-1 jackets one for cold temperature below 30's and a lighter one for temperature in the 40's and above. They both looked identical but one was heavier built and has wind flap. The zipper was heavier and made of copper with some coating to make it slick. The orange lining one the lighter MA-1 was made of satin cloth shiny and slick easy to slip your hands in and out. The sewing quality was much better you wouldn't be able to identify individual stitch like this one. It was design to make it very comfortable for a pilot sitting in a cramp cockpit therefore it's best when driving as well.

    I would pay whatever the price to get the original quality but this is probably the best replica one can find in the market and since I am only wear it for the memory so I am fine with it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

OK for the price

  • By Henry from Glencoe IL USA on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
  • Pros: Good style; sturdy
  • Cons: Light weight; needs more pockets
  • Review: It's okay. Sparse on pockets, and lighter weight than I expected.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ted from Simi Valley CA USA on Wednesday, February 11, 2015
  • Pros: warm & comfy
  • Cons: none
  • Review:

    I would buy this product again

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Not sure the jacket is the same as my USAF issue

  • By NothingButTheTruth from Southwest Georgia on Thursday, March 22, 2018
  • Pros: Well made jacket.
  • Cons: Flaps with snap buttons appear to be a new featue added. It seems like every jacket nowdays has this feature.
  • Review: I found nothing wrong with the jacket except per my memory, the one I was issued in 1960 by the USAF did not have flaps with snap buttons on the side hand pockets. I believe this is overkill.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Tim from Albuquerque NM USA on Thursday, January 19, 2012
  • Review: Nice product a a good price!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Norman from Temperance MI USA on Wednesday, November 29, 2017
  • Pros: color and warth
  • Cons: pockets need to be deeper
  • Review: Love the jacket but the pockets could have been deeper
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would recommend this item

  • By LEE from WARRENTON OR USA on Monday, January 28, 2013
  • Pros: Close replica, nice fit, good quality.
  • Cons: . The zipper does not seem to be has heavy as the original MA-1.
  • Review: I have enjoyed this jacket from the moment I received it. My father was in the Air Force for 30 years; whenever I could I would wear his MA-1 and always wanted one of my own. This jacket reminds me so much of his, almost the same quality. If you are looking for a close replica this is the one for you. The only complaint I would have would be the zipper. The zipper does not seem to be has heavy as the original MA-1.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best of the best I will buy this product again

  • By Line up from grand haven MI USA on Tuesday, April 10, 2012
  • Pros: Top line jacket, makes me look good
  • Cons: None that I could find
  • Review: The MA-1 Flight Jacket I recently purchased is above average.  The materials,stitching and the man-sized zipper make this a jacket any pilot would wear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ken from Elmira NY USA on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
  • Pros: quality material and workmanship.
  • Cons: Sticky zipper
  • Review: Just like the one I had when I was flying. I had my unit patches sewed onto it and it looks great! I like everything about the coat except for the zipper. If not for that, you would get 5 stars.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Overall Good Value

  • By Dick. from Whitmore Lake MI USA on Thursday, January 13, 2011
  • Pros: Fits well, looks nice, is well made
  • Cons: Metal teeth on zipper are quite sharp where it joins to the cloth, resulting in scratching of skin if not careful.
  • Review: This was just the jacket I hoped I would get. It has worked well in the month that I've had it. Seems to resist staining, appropriately warm, well made. The single negative is that the metal zipper is quite sharp and scratches skin if the zipper is left open a bit, like at the neck area. Hopefully this will diminish with time. I'm about to try using some fine sandpaper to try to dull the back side of the teeth. Other than this it is a good value.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great jacket !

  • By William from Mclean VA USA on Monday, February 14, 2011
  • Pros: very warm with great button pockets
  • Cons: zipper is very hard work properly
  • Review: The zipper machanism is shoddy at best and very hard to zip!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love the Jacket, hate the zipper

  • By Michael from Humble tx USA on Tuesday, January 17, 2012
  • Pros: Good price for the quality of jacket
  • Cons: zippers need to be changed
  • Review: I enjoy the jacket so much, I purchase one in each color. All three jackets are very good in quality, except for the zippers. The zippers are hard to open or close and just don't function properly. I tolerate the zippers because I like the jackets so much
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Zippers are sticky. Other than that, GREAT!

  • By John from Lakewood CO USA on Wednesday, December 08, 2010
  • Pros: Love it!!!
  • Cons: Zipper sticks
  • Review: I've worn this jacket a lot, but the zipper still seems to stick a lot. I had seen some knock-offs with a cheaper zipper, and was very happy to see that the zipper for the jacket was old school. I'm very satisfied.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

very satisfied met expectations

  • By richard from grafton MA USA on Thursday, March 15, 2012
  • Pros:
  • Cons: would have liked the military contractor label
  • Review: Just like the one I had in the USAF.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fits great. Warm...just what I needed. Great MA-1 jacket

  • By Lawrence from Verhalen TX USA on Tuesday, March 12, 2019
  • Review: Well made.....good quality.
    Zippers strong, smooth operating.
    Instantly warm when put on.
    Turns the wind.


  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Would have sized down

  • By Alexander from Hong Kong Hong Kong Hong Kong on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Review: Slightly too big, but good quality
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.