TOP

Reviews for Pilot USA BluLink Cell Phone to Aviation Headset Adapter

Sort By:
Filter By:

Works Great!

  • By Steven S. from Sacramento, CA on Friday, December 07, 2012
  • Pros: Bluetooth!
  • Cons: Not free!
  • Review: I purchased this adapter to use in my R44 Helicopter. Flying at low levels I have good cell phone service and I wanted an adpater that I could use with the phone without adding a bunch of cables to the mix. The BluLink pairs to my iPhone 5 with no problems and the person on the other end of the call can't even tell I'm in a Helicopter! I can hear them very well even in the noisy craft. All other communications through my ICS system work as normal.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as promised

  • By Marc from Ft Lauderdale, FL on Wednesday, February 20, 2013
  • Pros: Sound quality
  • Cons: Bulky unit for tight cockpits
  • Review: I must admit that I was a bit skeptical of all the claims of this product when I first did my research, but it lives up to the hype. From making the connection via the 'pairing' procedure to taking a call, it all comes together very well in this one product. The quality of the audio and sidetone coming through my headset are very good.

    I highly recommend BluLink for those that want to reach out and touch someone... from a mile or two up.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does what it claims, but it can't spin gold out of straw

  • By East Tex Steve from Carthage TX USA on Friday, December 27, 2013
  • Pros: Does what it says, excellent TX/RX phone sound
  • Cons: Pricey, and the odd shape makes it hard to place in the cockpit
  • Review: Mine works great. But, I only use it as a cell phone interface. I fly a late model Cessna 172R, and use the BluLink with a variety of headphones and a Motorola Razr. Everyone who calls me while I'm using it says the quality of sound is great. However, like others have pointed out, cell phone service tends to fade away once you hit 2,500 ft AGL and higher. That's not the fault of the BluLink though. I set my cell phone where it can "look" out of a side window. That seems to help sometimes. Though, I'm usually flying too high to get cell service, it comes in handy because I travel a lot, and I can now call when I reach 2,500 ft on decent and tell my ride I'm X minutes away. I only have two squawks. My phone uses the Google contact list to make phone calls, and when I issue a voice command to "call Joe Smith" it won't just do it unless I respond to a query on the phone screen first. But, I can tell it to "dial xxx-xxx-xxxx" or "redial" and it jumps right to it. And, the odd shape makes it hard to mount or place in the cockpit. All in all, it's worth the bucks to me. Utilizing your headset to talk on the cell phone is the way to go.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Marcus from Los Angeles, CA on Friday, October 04, 2013
  • Review: It does what it says on the box and does it very well indeed. The only downside is the bulkiness of the combination of the unit and the GA cord assembly, otherwise a good piece of kit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It works great!

  • By Todd from St Petersburg FL USA on Monday, October 10, 2011
  • Pros: Very easy to use, phone and music
  • Cons: I can't seem to get the volume to go up, but sound is clear.
  • Review: So far I am very happy with my cell phone / music adapter.in the helicopter it works great. I'm looking forward to trying in a fixed wing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

works as advertised

  • By Brian from Cornish NH USA on Friday, April 06, 2012
  • Pros: works just fine & a nice addition tot he plane
  • Cons: not cheap
  • Review: Simple to install, easily paired it with my iPhone. Works great for using cellphone thru headsets and for listening to tunes while in cruise.

    Not sure yet on battery life, but I flew from NH to Sun N Fun and back on the same set of batteries. For a bit more installation effort, I believe you can get one that works off aircraft power. I wanted one that I could easily interchange between 2 planes, though, so this is perfect.

    Buttons & controls are simple and intuitive.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy it again

  • By Jim from Saint Amant LA USA on Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  • Pros: very clear
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Easy to set up and use
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works perfectly!!

  • By Mike from Agoura Hills CA USA on Monday, June 20, 2011
  • Pros: Good quality sound, easy to operate in the air.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Does everything it promises.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Gizmo!

  • By A Customer from St. Paul, MN on Thursday, October 08, 2009
  • Pros: clear Bluetooth communications
  • Cons: makes the total length of cord with my Bose headset kind of long
  • Review: I was happily surprised with this device! I have tried several other cell phone adapters in the past without much luck. I gave the Blulink a try and boy am I glad I did! I love my new gadget and have no complaints.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome! Best device ever!

  • By Geoffrey from St. Albert, AB. Canada on Sunday, March 21, 2010
  • Pros: Simple, easy to connect and works very well. Battery life is great! 30+hrs and I'm still on my first set!
  • Cons: Fwd/back buttons don't work to control my 3G iPod Touch.
  • Review: I am VERY happy with my Blulink Cell Phone Adapter. I had a small problem originally pairing it to my Blackberry 8300 Curve however a quick call to "Pilot USA" solved the problem within 1 minute (the problem... me not reading the instructions fully). My call was answered right away and I was connected to someone who provided the best customer service/support I have ever received in my life. These guys are great! Re-connecting my phone to the device is easy and works every time. Calls sound crisp and clear and I'm told I come across as sounding the same. "like I'm on a land line" no sound the of the helicopter comes across. On the downside, sometimes when I have music playing, it sounds like its playing a little slow and the pitch is off, then it will speed up to normal speed. This is not a big deal for me as playing music is not the most important feature of this device. I tried pairing the the device to my iPod Touch 3G. However the audio controller only worked to pause and play the music. The skip track fwd/back would not work on my iPod. lastly, I would like to see an option in this device that would allow the music to get quieter when the intercom is in use or if radio traffic comes through. As it stands my device mutes the music when someone in the cabin uses the intercom or if there is radio chatter. It would be nice to have a switch that would allow the user to select "mute" or "reduced vol" when music is being played through the device. Thanks guys at Mypilotstore.com! Great job getting this to me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Well

  • By A Customer from CA USA on Tuesday, March 30, 2010
  • Pros: Clear communication.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Better than any other headset adapter for using your cell phone. The manual doesn't tell you everything you need to know, but customer service is knowledgeable and helpful. In order to avoid an echo, make sure you don't have your cell phone too close to the device. A couple of feet apart works well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By John from Kent WA USA on Monday, May 09, 2011
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great value for money

  • By Bruce from Quinns Rocks . Australia on Wednesday, March 23, 2011
  • Pros: compact, easy to fit , clear coms
  • Cons:
  • Review: Met all expectations, simple to use, robust, with great clarity
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Works perfectly. Ready to buy another!

  • By Peter from Bend, Oregon on Saturday, October 19, 2013
  • Pros: Bluetooth!
  • Cons: Wish it was less expensive so I could buy 4
  • Review: I purchased the BluLink to use primarily for cell phone calls as I often fly at uncontrolled airports. I also wanted to be able to listen to music from time to time on longer flights. The blulink allowed both phone and music to be streamed to my headset and the audio quality is fantastic. I also like the fact that when I have passengers I can pass on the blulink to any of them to use with the other headsets in my aircraft. We have now tried the blulink with my Bose, a Clarity Aloft headset my wife uses, and the 2 older David Clark's I have in the backseats. It works very well with all of them and makes our flights much more enjoyable. Now it's time to buy another so I don't have to give mine up to my wife all the time!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This product works as advertised and I'd buy it again.

  • By Cessna 182 Pilot from Corona Airport, California on Monday, April 10, 2017
  • Pros: Works very well with my iPhone 7a, just remember to turn the radio volume down when using it. When the BluLink is off the normal communication, radio and intercom, work perfectly through the BluLink with no distortion.
  • Cons: Finding a place to park it when not in use could be a problem.
  • Review: I use it only to contact ATC to pick up my IFR CLEARENCE from non towered airports. The sound is very clear and I haven't had any complaints from the other end. Since I only use the BlueLink on the ground I haven't found it to be combersome, to use, at all. In flight that might be a different story.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.