TOP

Reviews for Pilot USA BluLink Cell Phone to Aviation Headset Adapter

Sort By:
Filter By:

Works Great!

  • By Steven S. from Sacramento, CA on Friday, December 07, 2012
  • Pros: Bluetooth!
  • Cons: Not free!
  • Review: I purchased this adapter to use in my R44 Helicopter. Flying at low levels I have good cell phone service and I wanted an adpater that I could use with the phone without adding a bunch of cables to the mix. The BluLink pairs to my iPhone 5 with no problems and the person on the other end of the call can't even tell I'm in a Helicopter! I can hear them very well even in the noisy craft. All other communications through my ICS system work as normal.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as promised

  • By Marc from Ft Lauderdale, FL on Wednesday, February 20, 2013
  • Pros: Sound quality
  • Cons: Bulky unit for tight cockpits
  • Review: I must admit that I was a bit skeptical of all the claims of this product when I first did my research, but it lives up to the hype. From making the connection via the 'pairing' procedure to taking a call, it all comes together very well in this one product. The quality of the audio and sidetone coming through my headset are very good.

    I highly recommend BluLink for those that want to reach out and touch someone... from a mile or two up.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does what it claims, but it can't spin gold out of straw

  • By East Tex Steve from Carthage TX USA on Friday, December 27, 2013
  • Pros: Does what it says, excellent TX/RX phone sound
  • Cons: Pricey, and the odd shape makes it hard to place in the cockpit
  • Review: Mine works great. But, I only use it as a cell phone interface. I fly a late model Cessna 172R, and use the BluLink with a variety of headphones and a Motorola Razr. Everyone who calls me while I'm using it says the quality of sound is great. However, like others have pointed out, cell phone service tends to fade away once you hit 2,500 ft AGL and higher. That's not the fault of the BluLink though. I set my cell phone where it can "look" out of a side window. That seems to help sometimes. Though, I'm usually flying too high to get cell service, it comes in handy because I travel a lot, and I can now call when I reach 2,500 ft on decent and tell my ride I'm X minutes away. I only have two squawks. My phone uses the Google contact list to make phone calls, and when I issue a voice command to "call Joe Smith" it won't just do it unless I respond to a query on the phone screen first. But, I can tell it to "dial xxx-xxx-xxxx" or "redial" and it jumps right to it. And, the odd shape makes it hard to mount or place in the cockpit. All in all, it's worth the bucks to me. Utilizing your headset to talk on the cell phone is the way to go.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Marcus from Los Angeles, CA on Friday, October 04, 2013
  • Review: It does what it says on the box and does it very well indeed. The only downside is the bulkiness of the combination of the unit and the GA cord assembly, otherwise a good piece of kit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It works great!

  • By Todd from St Petersburg FL USA on Monday, October 10, 2011
  • Pros: Very easy to use, phone and music
  • Cons: I can't seem to get the volume to go up, but sound is clear.
  • Review: So far I am very happy with my cell phone / music adapter.in the helicopter it works great. I'm looking forward to trying in a fixed wing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

works as advertised

  • By Brian from Cornish NH USA on Friday, April 06, 2012
  • Pros: works just fine & a nice addition tot he plane
  • Cons: not cheap
  • Review: Simple to install, easily paired it with my iPhone. Works great for using cellphone thru headsets and for listening to tunes while in cruise.

    Not sure yet on battery life, but I flew from NH to Sun N Fun and back on the same set of batteries. For a bit more installation effort, I believe you can get one that works off aircraft power. I wanted one that I could easily interchange between 2 planes, though, so this is perfect.

    Buttons & controls are simple and intuitive.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Gizmo!

  • By A Customer from St. Paul, MN on Thursday, October 08, 2009
  • Pros: clear Bluetooth communications
  • Cons: makes the total length of cord with my Bose headset kind of long
  • Review: I was happily surprised with this device! I have tried several other cell phone adapters in the past without much luck. I gave the Blulink a try and boy am I glad I did! I love my new gadget and have no complaints.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome! Best device ever!

  • By Geoffrey from St. Albert, AB. Canada on Sunday, March 21, 2010
  • Pros: Simple, easy to connect and works very well. Battery life is great! 30+hrs and I'm still on my first set!
  • Cons: Fwd/back buttons don't work to control my 3G iPod Touch.
  • Review: I am VERY happy with my Blulink Cell Phone Adapter. I had a small problem originally pairing it to my Blackberry 8300 Curve however a quick call to "Pilot USA" solved the problem within 1 minute (the problem... me not reading the instructions fully). My call was answered right away and I was connected to someone who provided the best customer service/support I have ever received in my life. These guys are great! Re-connecting my phone to the device is easy and works every time. Calls sound crisp and clear and I'm told I come across as sounding the same. "like I'm on a land line" no sound the of the helicopter comes across. On the downside, sometimes when I have music playing, it sounds like its playing a little slow and the pitch is off, then it will speed up to normal speed. This is not a big deal for me as playing music is not the most important feature of this device. I tried pairing the the device to my iPod Touch 3G. However the audio controller only worked to pause and play the music. The skip track fwd/back would not work on my iPod. lastly, I would like to see an option in this device that would allow the music to get quieter when the intercom is in use or if radio traffic comes through. As it stands my device mutes the music when someone in the cabin uses the intercom or if there is radio chatter. It would be nice to have a switch that would allow the user to select "mute" or "reduced vol" when music is being played through the device. Thanks guys at Mypilotstore.com! Great job getting this to me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Well

  • By A Customer from CA USA on Tuesday, March 30, 2010
  • Pros: Clear communication.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Better than any other headset adapter for using your cell phone. The manual doesn't tell you everything you need to know, but customer service is knowledgeable and helpful. In order to avoid an echo, make sure you don't have your cell phone too close to the device. A couple of feet apart works well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy it again

  • By Jim from Saint Amant LA USA on Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  • Pros: very clear
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Easy to set up and use
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works perfectly!!

  • By Mike from Agoura Hills CA USA on Monday, June 20, 2011
  • Pros: Good quality sound, easy to operate in the air.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Does everything it promises.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great value for money

  • By Bruce from Quinns Rocks . Australia on Wednesday, March 23, 2011
  • Pros: compact, easy to fit , clear coms
  • Cons:
  • Review: Met all expectations, simple to use, robust, with great clarity
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By John from Kent WA USA on Monday, May 09, 2011
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Works perfectly. Ready to buy another!

  • By Peter from Bend, Oregon on Saturday, October 19, 2013
  • Pros: Bluetooth!
  • Cons: Wish it was less expensive so I could buy 4
  • Review: I purchased the BluLink to use primarily for cell phone calls as I often fly at uncontrolled airports. I also wanted to be able to listen to music from time to time on longer flights. The blulink allowed both phone and music to be streamed to my headset and the audio quality is fantastic. I also like the fact that when I have passengers I can pass on the blulink to any of them to use with the other headsets in my aircraft. We have now tried the blulink with my Bose, a Clarity Aloft headset my wife uses, and the 2 older David Clark's I have in the backseats. It works very well with all of them and makes our flights much more enjoyable. Now it's time to buy another so I don't have to give mine up to my wife all the time!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This product works as advertised and I'd buy it again.

  • By Cessna 182 Pilot from Corona Airport, California on Monday, April 10, 2017
  • Pros: Works very well with my iPhone 7a, just remember to turn the radio volume down when using it. When the BluLink is off the normal communication, radio and intercom, work perfectly through the BluLink with no distortion.
  • Cons: Finding a place to park it when not in use could be a problem.
  • Review: I use it only to contact ATC to pick up my IFR CLEARENCE from non towered airports. The sound is very clear and I haven't had any complaints from the other end. Since I only use the BlueLink on the ground I haven't found it to be combersome, to use, at all. In flight that might be a different story.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It'works only with iphone

  • By Arseniy from Moscow Moscow Russia on Thursday, January 23, 2014
  • Review: It's good but really works with iPhone only :(
    And with iPhone sometimes it is still difficult to answer the phone by pressing the button...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This things sweet!

  • By Jason from Talkeetna AK USA on Monday, July 01, 2013
  • Pros: Great battery consumption rate and easy to pair and re-pair.
  • Cons: It's ugly
  • Review: Works perfectly and does exactly what it's supposed to with my iPhone 4S and my Gallet LH250 helmet. Batteries work a long time too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Daniel from Corning, CA on Sunday, January 09, 2011
  • Review: Okay, so I'm pretty new at flying, 18.2 hours to be exact. That being said, I don't have a lot of experience with the headsets and the sound quality. However, on the solo flight I took today, (yes, I'm still a student) I made a couple of test calls with my new little toy. Sound quality was great both on the ground as well as in the air. I was able to call AWOS at my destination airport prior to my departure from the cockpit. How great is that? Coincidence?, I don't know, but the reason I bought this unit was in the event of a communications error like I had before, I could still get out. I have a HT but I wanted to even double my odds of getting the information I need. Well, today I had communication problems on the C172 I was flying. Although I didn't have to use it, having this gave me a little reassurance that I was going to be okay. I made two calls from the plane while I was airborne. Both reported the sound quality as "Great, just like you're on a regular cell phone". The reason for 4 stars and not 5 is because my headset was making a beep sound every couple of minutes and I can't find anything in the manual that tells me why that is. Great product! Comfort to those of us who need a little codling. :)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best option for cell calls

  • By A Customer from Simi Valley CA USA on Monday, September 16, 2013
  • Pros: Best solution so far.
  • Cons: Could be smaller/less bulky.
  • Review:

    This unit works reasonably well with a BoseX.  It is fairly clear to the person you are calling, with the expected limitations of poor cell reception, etc. I have used it in flight to call WXBrief and also to amend customs appointments with CANPASS.

    It has the advantage of working when an avionics failure takes out a wired or intercom based solution and can be used with any headset on the aircraft.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good choice

  • By Bryan from Turlock CA USA on Monday, August 15, 2011
  • Pros: Good choice.
  • Cons: Would be nice if it had a clip to hang it from.
  • Review: Would be nice if it had a clip to hang it from. The batteries lasted for 18.5 hours. Fits in your hand well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

"Diamond 3AM Turn right heading" ... "Cleveland Approach, stand by, I'm on the phone".....

  • By David from Solon OH USA on Monday, January 16, 2012
  • Pros: Allows easy connection to my headset for phone calls while in flight.
  • Cons: as with all cell calls, signal is inconsistent above 2500 feet.
  • Review: Read the manual first. It makes it much easier to set up (you know who you are). Easy to setup and create the link. Inflight volume is just fine. I have a decent head set, ATF / Tower, etc.. no issues with hearing me. The recipients of my calls had a hard time hearing me. They said it cut out a lot. I was at 2500 feet. Overall I like the product. I wasn't able to hear the tones for an incoming call, but that might just take some getting used to. I will continue to use this as it's convenient. It sure is convenient.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Burien WA USA on Monday, March 07, 2011
  • Pros: Compact & easy to use.
  • Cons: Background noise when talking to the aircraft.
  • Review: This product was given as a gift. It is being used in an experimental aircraft with Bose ANR headsets. Cell phone is a Motorola Razr.
    The pilot has very good reception from the person calling or being called, but the person talking to the pilot has quite a bit of background noise when the pilot talks.
    Not being used for music.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Pleased with the product.

  • By Todd from Westport CT USA on Saturday, June 19, 2010
  • Pros: clear quality
  • Cons: lots of cable
  • Review: Solid product and has proven very useful. Haven't used with an iPod (and don't intend to) but phone connection has been very good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

BlueLink

  • By Rick Gutierrez from Kirkland WA USA on Tuesday, October 26, 2010
  • Pros: Great for Music
  • Cons: So far the phone call experience has not been great
  • Review: Music over Bluetooth works great but the phone portion is not great at all. While I can listen to the person calling me, they cannot hear me. Could be the phone but not sure at this time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not worth the price

  • By bladeslap from Colorado on Wednesday, October 24, 2012
  • Pros: bluetooth is a nice function to have while flying
  • Cons: bluetooth consistently cut out. cords are way to long and bulky.
  • Review: This adapter works ok, but is extremely bulky, very long cords, and doesn't function as well as it should for how much it costs. My unit's bluetooth will disconnect from my phone about every 2-3 minutes. I'm not satisfied. And if you don't have extremely high quality ear phones to use it with, you may as well just listen to music from your external speakers on your phone itself. I give it a 3 out of 5 stars.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as advertised - volume sufficient but not more

  • By Chris from Boulder CO USA on Sunday, July 15, 2018
  • Pros: worked as advertised out of the box.
  • Cons: price, clutter, need to re-connect manually at powerup; ring indicator is faint
  • Review: I use this in a Robinson R22 helicopter with David Clark H10-13H headset and Motorola MotoG 3rd Gen phone. Setup and pairing went smoothly. Sound quality is fine considering the environment. NOTE: muting during radio traffic applies only to music - not phone conversation. Muting of music is complete when phone call occurs, but incomplete with radio traffic (seems about 15-20 dB down - still audible). In this model muting is switched on and off with the phone button (no physical switch) - no way to tell if it's active except by playing some music. According to the mfg. the setting sticks until batteries are changed. Bluetooth requires manual re-connection each time it powers up (why? - my car connects automatically). Volume is adequate but not more. I use it with headphones at max volume and phone at max volume. As others have noted, the cables are long and produce a lot of clutter. The ring indicator for an incoming call is pretty faint - I'll miss it if I'm distracted.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Product, sound quality lacking

  • By A Customer from Woodridge IL USA on Friday, July 07, 2017
  • Pros: Easy Use
  • Cons: Poor sound quality for music.
  • Review: We use Sennheiser good quality NR headsets. The BlueLink works as advertised,easy setup. Sound quality is not what I had hoped for with the money spent.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not as good as I hoped

  • By A Customer from Studio City CA USA on Sunday, November 18, 2012
  • Pros: Can make a call from the cockpit
  • Cons: See review
  • Review: [Helicopter Version]  When plugged in there is a slight distortion and volume reduction sent through the entire avionics system, clarity is reduced in all radios as well as the ICS. When switched on, distortion increases to the point that it is almost unmanageable. If I had it to do over again is opt for a wired system and save 2/3 of my money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

very flakey product, hostile cust svc from mfg

  • By Brian Meyette from Cornish, NH on Monday, October 14, 2013
  • Pros: nice to have music, on the rare occasions when it works
  • Cons: multiple units I tried have multiple problems
  • Review: The Pilot BluLink does not work as advertised.

    At best, it is very finicky about what headphones, aircraft, and radios it will work with. In extensive testing with multiple copies of this product, I found that, in a majority of combinations of headphones, radios , and aircraft, it did not work at all.

    The customer service attitude of the manufacturer, Pilot Communications USA, is quite belligerent.  See my detailed review at www.meyette.us/BluLink.htm

    Response from BluLink Manufacturer
    As with all of our products, the BluLink adapter has a 30 day money back guarantee. It also comes with a 1 year warranty covering the product from any manufacturer defects. We do not recommend waiting over a year to report any problems as this customer decided to do. To view some reviews from a reputable source such as The Aviation Consumer, please visit www.pilotblulink.com/Reviews.html
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.