TOP

Reviews for Oral Exam Guide - Instrument Rating

Sort By:
Filter By:

Comprehensive Book

  • By Jim on Thursday, October 29, 2009
  • Pros: Comprehensive
  • Cons:
  • Review: This book covers almost anything that might come up during the oral portion of the exam. One the best aspects of studying this guide was that I felt relaxed and ready for anything the examiner might have asked. Unfortunately, or not, in my case, he didn't ask that many technical questions. But feeling prepared was worth the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent Resource

  • By Mark from Idaho on Monday, April 12, 2010
  • Pros: Well written, comprehensive.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Very reassuring before the practical oral to have this book handy... it is thorough without being boring.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great tool

  • By Christopher from Richmond TX USA on Tuesday, September 07, 2010
  • Review: Probably the only book you could need to study for the IFR portion of your Insturment test.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Don't try the oral exam without it

  • By CFII from Bridgeport WV USA on Wednesday, August 10, 2011
  • Pros: Easy to read
  • Cons: Quite detailed, but maybe that is a "pro"
  • Review: If you know this book you will ace the oral and will be a more knowledgable instrument pilot.  Without it you are sort of "winging it" when you sit down opposite the designated pilot examiner.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Definitely an asset.

  • By Mike from Cheyenne WY USA on Tuesday, October 13, 2015
  • Pros: Great tool.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Wish I had studied this book prior to taking the written exam. I would have scored higher I am sure. Excellent resource.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Instrument Oral Exam Guide

  • By A Customer from Derby KS USA on Friday, January 25, 2013
  • Pros: Focuses study and check ride prep
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Meets my needs
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The best as always

  • By Chalupa batman from Ripon CA USA on Sunday, December 29, 2013
  • Pros: Has the right info to pass
  • Cons: It's not free
  • Review: Just like all theese books exactly what you need
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I find it very good and still uise jot

  • By Wayne from Grand Junction CO USA on Thursday, August 21, 2014
  • Pros: Excellant
  • Cons: none
  • Review: It has helped me a great deal and will continue to use it as a reference
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Must Have For Instrument Oral Exam Prep

  • By MICHAEL from BALLWIN MO USA on Tuesday, September 29, 2009
  • Pros: Covers everything
  • Cons: none
  • Review: There was nothing that could not be found in at least one format that was on the exam. A great reerence guide to have in prep, as well as for later proficiency checks.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A must for every instrument student

  • By Brian from Humboldt IA USA on Thursday, August 15, 2013
  • Pros: Easy to carry for studying "must know" basics anywhere anytime
  • Cons: Didn't have any.
  • Review: Great pocket reference. Well organized.I like the reference noted for the Far/Aim for more explanation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Thomas from Longwood FL USA on Friday, October 21, 2016
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Comprehensive review of IFR information

  • By Stay Organized from Maineville OH USA on Sunday, January 27, 2013
  • Pros: comprehensive
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Comprehensive coverage of IFR rules and procedures you may be asked on an instrument proficiency check and a good guide to what knowledge you should know cold to fly IFR.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jay from Hays KS USA on Tuesday, September 05, 2017
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very helpful

  • By Evan from Prairie Village KS USA on Thursday, July 20, 2017
  • Pros: Easy to understand and follow, provides lots of information to each chapter and topic
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Great exam guide with easy to understand answers to the example questions it gives. Haven't taken my instrument checkride yet but as i get closer I know this book is helping me a lot!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice overview

  • By A Customer from Random Lake WI USA on Saturday, March 06, 2010
  • Review: This book has the items your DPE is likely to go over. Being an oral, the examiner's questions won't follow the exact format but the items in the book give you a good idea of what is covered
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By J. A. from Honea Path SC USA on Thursday, October 02, 2014
  • Review: Straight forward reading with little fluff. Provides what is necessary and no more.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would recommend this to fellow pilots

  • By Rich from Carlsbad CA USA on Friday, December 05, 2014
  • Review: Lives up to the ASA quality standard with good presentation of materials. Don't expect it to be funny or light reading, it ain't Rod Machado, but it definitely helps in preparing for the oral portion of the checkride.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good book

  • By Robert from Presque Isle MI USA on Monday, October 24, 2016
  • Pros: A complimentary source of info
  • Cons: More is needed, tie to a web site & video coaching
  • Review: Met expectations !!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A great study guide. The Cliff Notes of IFR oral exam prep.

  • By Brian from Great Falls MT USA on Thursday, October 21, 2010
  • Review: Still using it as I not quite finished for the check ride and oral exam. I intend to review the end-of-chapter thought questions with my instructor. I expect it will round out my preparation efforts.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Benjamin from Butler PA on Friday, December 05, 2008
  • Review: Complete Oral Prep. Good for reference after the fact as well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good info

  • By Jamie C from Rio Rancho NM on Sunday, May 27, 2018
  • Pros: Good info
  • Cons:
  • Review: This guide has some good info and worth knowing, But it is generic info at best because every examiner has their own style and hot topics.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good info

  • By Jamie C on Wednesday, May 02, 2018
  • Pros: size, cost, info
  • Cons:
  • Review: Good info but didnt really apply to my checkride. Each DPE goes their own way which would make it hard for any book to adequately prepare you for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.