TOP

Reviews for ASA Instrument Rating Test Prep Book

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Great aid

  • By A Customer from Shoreview MN USA on Tuesday, September 08, 2015
  • Review: Very well organized. The FAA charts are easy to read. Thorough explanations of comtent.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

in addition to the app

  • By Gregor from Brooklyn, NY on Tuesday, February 24, 2015
  • Review: I use it as the final test, studying on the iPad with the app is quicker and easier...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Curtis from Chipley FL USA on Wednesday, September 21, 2011
  • Review: I love this book. Not much to say but you did a great job.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

ASA over Jeppesen for Test Prep

  • By SR20 from Duluth, MN USA on Wednesday, June 25, 2014
  • Pros: Five Practical tests included, better presentation, includes supplement book, rotorcraft friendly
  • Cons:
  • Review: I must not have read the product description carefully enough, but to my surprise the test prep guide includes five Prepware.com practice tests. These practice tests are "tokens" for your registered account so they can be used on any of the certificates or ratings, should you have leftovers remaining. I prefer the ASA over Jeppesen because of the presentation and thoroughness of the sections. Another thing I overlooked when buying the book is that it comes with the actual supplement book with ledgends and figures that you would be provided during the written exam. Also, all questions are marked either "All, Airplane, or Rotorcraft", which makes it a lot more friendly for helicopter pilots. I used Jeppesen for the private certificate and there is a huge difference; it's a great value and I recommend it to everyone now.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Francis from Dover DE USA on Thursday, April 04, 2013
  • Pros: Good concise explainations
  • Cons:
  • Review: The questions were for the most explained very well
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The Key to pass

  • By Simon Cadavid from Miami FL USA on Tuesday, October 27, 2009
  • Pros:
  • Cons: The Supplement Should have the chance to be binded
  • Review: I am preparing for the Avianca Test, its a Colombian Airline and 90 percent of the questions were taken from the Instrument and Commercial test. I feel very happy that i am studying from this valuable source.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Joanne CFI-I from Pine River MN USA on Tuesday, March 02, 2010
  • Review: The Private and Instrument Manuals are treasures of information for an old time pilot. Wow, how the knowledge and skill levels has grown since I first soloes in a J 3 65 horse Cub. I am lending out my manuals to some student pilots up here in the woods and they are essential for them to grow safely as good pilots.Thanks for your good work
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This is a must have

  • By Matthew from Broomfield CO USA on Monday, June 14, 2010
  • Pros: Not just a test question book, but a book to learn from
  • Cons: Hard to cover up answers
  • Review: This is an essential book, enough said. The additional sentences on the correct and incorrect answers were extremely valuable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

very go useful book

  • By Jerry from Hinckley OH USA on Monday, November 08, 2010
  • Pros: what I will be faced with @ the test time
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I like the questions and answers to figure out.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

EXCELLENT PREP BOOK

  • By R DOMEK from APPLE VALEY CALIF on Monday, November 15, 2010
  • Pros: EXPLAINS VERY WELL AND EASY TO UNDERSTAND
  • Cons: NOT ONE!!
  • Review:

    This study prep book prepared me for a 93% pass score. About 98% of the questions were word for word and if you study this manual, you will pass the test on your first try. I highly recommend this prep book.  Again, you will pass the instrument test if you buy and study this book. Guaranteed!!!!!!

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

THE BEST INSTRUMENT BOOK ON THE MARKET

  • By R DOMEK from APPLE VALLEY CA USA on Monday, January 10, 2011
  • Pros: EXPLAINS IT ALL!!
  • Cons: NONE WHATSOEVER.
  • Review: IF YOUR INTERESTED IN INSTRUMENT FLYING, THEN THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU. VERY INFORMATIVE AND EXPLAINS ALL ASPECTS OF FLYING INSTRUMENTS IN A VERY EASY TO UNDERSTAND FORMAT. EVEN GOOD FOR SEASONED INSTRUMENT PILOTS AND BEGINNERS ALIKE. YOU CANT GO WRONG!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great tool for studying

  • By A.J from Baldwinsville NY USA on Monday, October 28, 2013
  • Pros: Updated questions
  • Cons: Answers are at the bottom of the page
  • Review: Easy to use and understand.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By j. noah from Castro Valley CA USA on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
  • Pros: Cites reasons for correct answers.
  • Cons: Miss not having sample test included. Now provided online.
  • Review: Very complete. Like the format and organization.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great study guide

  • By April from South Glastonbury CT USA on Wednesday, May 29, 2013
  • Review: I thought this was one of the best test pep books I have seen!
    Passed the written with flying colors.
    The questions and graphics were just like the real thing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Only Test Prep Book with ALL the questions

  • By Rick from Laurel, MD, USA on Monday, December 10, 2007
  • Pros: This is the only book that has the helicopter questions that are also the ground instrument instructor exam.
  • Cons: One wrong answer: ground based navaids must be operational along the entire route.
  • Review: ASA has a separate test booklet which is good because the figures are more clear, but also bad because you have to carry both books with you when you go somewhere to study, all the Gleim book usually has the figure right next to the question which saves time.

    Gleim only has the airplane questions, ASA has all of the questions. This is good and bad. The ASA book is a lot thicker and thus more overwelming, but if you need to study the helicopter questions, then you need this book.

    There's also one incorrect answer in this book:

    During IFR en route and terminal operations using an approved GPS system for navigation, ground based navigational facilities

    A. are only required during the approach portion of the flight.
    B. must be operational along the entire route.
    C. must be operational only if RAIM predicts an outage.

    The correct answer is "B" for a non-WAAS IFR GPS unit, but this ASA book says it's "C".

    Also, after working through this book test yourself at: www.exams4pilots.org
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good info

  • By Jamie C on Sunday, May 27, 2018
  • Pros: Great study guide
  • Cons:
  • Review: Gives you all the questions and answers with explanations and sources. Everything you could want in a study guide.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great study guide

  • By Jamie C on Wednesday, May 02, 2018
  • Pros: Great study guide
  • Cons: N/A
  • Review: All the questions, All the answers, and the part I love the most is explanations of the answers with source material references
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great study material

  • By A Customer from Escondido CA USA on Monday, June 16, 2008
  • Pros: Concise
  • Cons:
  • Review: This book is a great, easy read to prep for the FAA written. It's concise & easy to get through quickly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By dave from Crown Point IN USA on Tuesday, December 30, 2008
  • Review: great book, tough read though
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.